DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are pending.
Claim 5 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but it is not persuasive. See discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neev et al. (US 20190209376 A1, 2019-07-11) (hereinafter “Neev”) in view of Boutoussov et al. (US 20140257254 A1, 2014-09-11) (hereinafter “Boutoussov”) and (Zayhowski, Passively Q-switched Nd:YAG microchip lasers and applications, Journal of Alloys and Compounds, Volumes 303–304, 2000, pp. 393-400).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-10, Neev taches a system for skin treatment comprising: a beam scanning system (257, Fig. 1) operable to scan a solid beam emitted by a laser assembly (200) and form a line of micro-beams across a segment of skin. Neev teaches scanning mirrors (e.g., [0034] of Neev) [N1], sub-nanosecond laser pulses (e.g., [0058]) [N2].
Note that Neev teaches frequency doubling assembly optics. See, e.g., [0036]. See also [0186] (disclosing use of higher-order harmonics). [N3] Official Notice is given that frequency doubling crystals are widely used for double frequency. Official Notice is also given that a dichroic mirrors and beam dump are also widely used to redirect laser beams.
However, Neev does not teach a handpiece or a passively Q-switched laser assembly within the handpiece body operatively connected to a pump laser source to receive a pump diode laser beam having a first wavelength.
Boutoussov teaches a handpiece with a laser source (e.g., [0014]-[0015]) [B1]. Boutoussov also teaches rollers (51, Fig. 2) (e.g., [0021]-[0024]) [B1].
Zayhowski teaches that a passively Q-switched laser assembly within the handpiece body operatively connected to a pump laser source to receive a pump laser beam (Fig. 5 and associated text; p. 396) can be used to target biological tissue with sub-nanosecond high intensity pulses (e.g., Abstract and p. 399) [Z1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zayhowski and Boutoussov with the invention taught by Neev such that the invention further comprises a fractional handpiece for skin treatment comprising: a handpiece body comprising: a passively Q-switched laser assembly within the handpiece body operatively connected to a pump laser source to receive a pump laser beam having a first wavelength [Z1]; and a beam scanning system operable to scan a solid beam emitted by the passively Q-switched laser assembly and form a line of micro-beams across a segment of skin [N1], and a frequency doubling assembly comprising a frequency doubling crystal, a dichroic mirror, and a beam dump [N3], wherein the passively Q-switched laser assembly generates a high-power sub-nanosecond pulsed laser beam having a second wavelength, and wherein the frequency doubling assembly delivers a third wavelength at a second harmonic wavelength of the second wavelength (e.g., p. 395 of Zayhowski), wherein the pump laser source is a diode laser which emits the first wavelength at about 500 nm to about 1000 nm [Z1] (as recited in claim 1); wherein the diode laser emits the first wavelength at about 750 nm to about 980 nm [Z1] (as recited in claim 2); the handpiece body further comprising one or more rollers operable to guide movement of the fractional handpiece and to synchronize with laser pulsing and the beam scanning system (e.g., [0022] of Boutoussov) (as recited in claim 3); wherein the beam scanning assembly comprises at least one scanning mirror which is synchronized with laser pulsing and roller movement [N1] (as recited in claim 4); wherein each micro-beam has an energy of at least 1 mJ (as recited in claim 6); wherein a cavity length of the passively Q-switch laser assembly is less than about 10 mm (e.g., p. 396 of Zayhowski) (as recited in claim 7); wherein the passively Q-switched laser assembly is a monolithic cavity (Abstrac of Zayhowski) (as recited in claim 8); further comprising a homogenizer after the passively Q-switched laser assembly to mitigate beam characteristic variation at different repetition rates as well as deliver uniform beam profile to skin (e.g., [0111] of Neev) (as recited in claim 9); wherein the beam scanning assembly comprises at least one x-y scanning mirror pair which is synchronized with laser pulsing [N1] (as recited in claim 10) in order to satisfy the particular requirements of specific laser-based skin treatments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott Luan
/SCOTT LUAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792