DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the top surface extending linearly about a first plane…” and “the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how each of the “a first plane” relate to one another as use of the same terminology in the form of “a first plane”, appears to state that the “a first plane” for each of the top and bottom surfaces is the same “plane”? For purposes of examination, the examiner assumes that the “the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane…” is meant to recite “the bottom surface extending linearly about a second plane…”
Claim 10 recites “the top surface extending linearly about a first plane…” and “the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how each of the “a first plane” relate to one another as use of the same terminology in the form of “a first plane”, appears to state that the “a first plane” for each of the top and bottom surfaces is the same “plane”? For purposes of examination, the examiner assumes that the “the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane…” is meant to recite “the bottom surface extending linearly about a second plane…” Claim 11 recites “the top surface extending linearly about a first plane…” and “the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how each of the “a first plane” relate to one another as use of the same terminology in the form of “a first plane”, appears to state that the “a first plane” for each of the top and bottom surfaces is the same “plane”? For purposes of examination, the examiner assumes that the “the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane…” is meant to recite “the bottom surface extending linearly about a second plane…”
Claim 11 appears to have a page 5 which contains an extra paragraph that appears to be part of claim 11? However, the subject matter of this paragraph also appears to already be present in claim 11 which already contains “providing at least one attachment mechanism…” Therefore, it is indefinite and unclear as to whether the paragraph on page 5 of the claims is actually meant to be part of claim 11?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2,277,490 (Klein).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9, Klein teaches: Claim 1 - a handheld device, comprising: a base (34) having top surface and a bottom surface that is spaced from the top surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being delimited by a plurality of sidewalls (seen in Figure 5) that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls; and at least one attachment mechanism (10 or 22) that is configured to be releasably fixed to the base (34), extend beyond an outer periphery of one of the sidewalls of the base (34) and house an item with the sidewalls being devoid of a permanent connection thereto, (Figures 1-5); Claim 2 - wherein the at least one attachment mechanism (10 or 22) includes at least one of a first attachment mechanism, a second attachment mechanism, a third attachment mechanism, and a fourth attachment mechanism (at least page 2, Lines 27-28 describe their being two or more of the mechanisms (10 and 22)), (Figures 1-5); Claim 4 - wherein the first attachment mechanism (10) includes a housing that includes a base (20), a first arm (14) extending from the base (20) and a second arm (14 or 16) that is spaced from the first arm (14), the first arm (14) and the second arm (14 or 16) together configured to receive and releasably fix the tool therebetween, (Figures 1-5); Claim 8 - wherein the third attachment mechanism (10) includes a main body (20) that includes a first arm (14) and a second arm (14) that is spaced from the first arm (14), extending from a distal end of the first arm (14) is a first flange that delimits the first arm (14) and extending from a distal end of the second arm (14) is a second flange that delimits the second arm (14), the first arm (14) and the second arm (14) together are configured to house the tool, (Figures 1-5); Claim 9 - wherein the at least one attachment mechanism (10 or 22) is configured to at least one of extend over and be fixed to one of the sidewalls and extend over and be fixed to a corner between two adjacent sidewalls, (Figures 1-5).
Regarding Claim 10, Klein teaches: Claim 1 - a kit, comprising: a handheld tool including a base (34) having top surface and a bottom surface that is spaced from the top surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being delimited by a plurality of sidewalls (seen in Figure 5) that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls; and a plurality of attachment mechanisms (10 or 22) that are each configured to be releasably fixed to the base (34), extend beyond an outer periphery of one of the sidewalls of the base (34) and house an item with the sidewalls being devoid of a permanent connection thereto, (Figures 1-5).
Regarding Claim 11, Klein teaches: Claim 1 - a method of assembling and using a handheld tool, comprising: providing a handheld tool comprising a base (34) having top surface and a bottom surface that is spaced from the top surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being delimited by a plurality of sidewalls (seen in Figure 5) that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls with the sidewalls being devoid of a permanent connection thereto; providing at least one attachment mechanism (10 or 22) that extends beyond an outer periphery of one of the sidewalls of the base (34); fixing the at least one attachment mechanism (10 or 22) to the base (34) of the handheld tool; and arranging an item (such as tubes of paint as describe on page 4, Lines 1-9) to be housed within or in contact with the at least one attachment mechanism (10 or 22), (Figures 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 3,188,036 (Sprung) in view of GB 2,277,490 (Klein).
Regarding Claims 1, 2 and 9, Sprung teaches: Claim 1 - a handheld device, comprising: a base (10) having top surface and a bottom surface that is spaced from the top surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being delimited by a plurality of sidewalls; and at least one attachment mechanism (11) that is configured to be releasably fixed to the base (10), extend beyond an outer periphery of one of the sidewalls of the base (10) and house an item with the sidewalls being devoid of a permanent connection thereto, (Figures 1-4); Claim 2 - wherein the at least one attachment mechanism includes at least one of a first attachment mechanism (11), a second attachment mechanism (11), a third attachment mechanism (11), and a fourth attachment mechanism (11), Figures 1-4); Claim 9 - wherein the at least one attachment mechanism (11) is configured to at least one of extend over and be fixed to one of the sidewalls and extend over and be fixed to a corner between two adjacent sidewalls, (Figures 1-4).
Sprung does not explicitly teach: a plurality of sidewalls, that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls (Claim 1). However, Klein teaches: Claim 1 – a handheld device/tool (34) including a plurality of sidewalls (seen in at least Figure 5), that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls, (Figures 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sprung to have a plurality of sidewalls, that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls (Claim 1) as taught by Klein for the purposes of a base which is easy to find and manufacture.
Regarding Claim 10, Sprung teaches: Claim 10 - a kit, comprising: a handheld tool including a base (10) having top surface and a bottom surface that is spaced from the top surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being delimited by a plurality of sidewalls; and a plurality of attachment mechanisms (11) that are each configured to be releasably fixed to the base (10), extend beyond an outer periphery of one of the sidewalls of the base (10) and house an item with the sidewalls being devoid of a permanent connection thereto, (Figures 1-4).
Sprung does not explicitly teach: a plurality of sidewalls, that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls (Claim 10). However, Klein teaches: Claim 10 – a handheld device/tool (34) including a plurality of sidewalls (seen in at least Figure 5), that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls, (Figures 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sprung to have a plurality of sidewalls, that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls (Claim 10) as taught by Klein for the purposes of a base which is easy to find and manufacture.
Regarding Claim 11, Sprung teaches: Claim 11 - a method of assembling and using a handheld tool, comprising: providing a handheld tool comprising a base (10) having top surface and a bottom surface that is spaced from the top surface, the top surface and the bottom surface being delimited by a plurality of sidewalls; providing at least one attachment mechanism (11) that extends beyond an outer periphery of one of the sidewalls of the base (10); fixing the at least one attachment mechanism (11) to the base (10) of the handheld tool; and arranging an item to be housed within or in contact with the at least one attachment mechanism (11), (Figures 1-4).
Sprung does not explicitly teach: a plurality of sidewalls, that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls (Claim 11). However, Klein teaches: Claim 11 – a handheld device/tool (34) including a plurality of sidewalls (seen in at least Figure 5), that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls, (Figures 1-5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sprung to have a plurality of sidewalls, that uniformly extend between the top surface and the bottom surface with the sidewalls not extending above or below the top surface or the bottom surface, the top surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls and the bottom surface extending linearly about a first plane to the sidewalls (Claim 11) as taught by Klein for the purposes of a base which is easy to find and manufacture.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2,277,490 (Klein) in view of U.S. Patent No. 682,761 (Smith).
Regarding Claim 3, Klein teaches the device as described above, but does not teach: wherein the at least one attachment mechanism includes a recess that extends over one of the sidewalls and a fastener that is configured to extend through the recess and releasable fix the at least one attachment mechanism to the base (Claim 3). However, Smith teaches: Claim 3 - at least one attachment mechanism (AA) includes a recess (BB) that extends over a sidewalls and a fastener (CC) that is configured to extend through the recess (BB) and releasable fix the at least one attachment mechanism (AA) to a base, (Annotated figure 2 Below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Klein to have wherein the at least one attachment mechanism includes a recess that extends over one of the sidewalls and a fastener that is configured to extend through the recess and releasable fix the at least one attachment mechanism to the base (Claim 3) as taught by Smith for the purposes of having the attachment mechanism including a fastener which is easy to find and manufacture.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB 2,277,490 (Klein) in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,305,100 (Barbee).
Regarding Claim 5, Klein teaches the device as described above, but does not teach: wherein the first arm and the second arm of the first attachment mechanism are elastically deformable (Claim 5). However, Barbee teaches: Claim 5 – an attachment mechanism (10) includes multiple arms (13-15) that are elastically deformable, (Figures 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Klein to have wherein the first arm and the second arm of the first attachment mechanism are elastically deformable (Claim 5) as taught by Barbee for the purposes of having arms which will more securely hold items.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, and 8-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642