DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group I and Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 October 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 20 June 2024, 19 August 2025. and 18 November 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11: “the plurality of second light sources” in line 5 should be “the plurality of the second light sources” and “any of the first light sources is” in line 6 should be “any of the plurality of the first light sources are” for further clarity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a first detection unit configured to…” in claim 9: a time of flight sensor (¶37, The sensor 153 is also referred to as a first detection unit; and ¶31, The sensor 153 and the sensor 163 are also referred to as ToF sensors).
“a second detection unit configured to…” in claim 9: a time of flight sensor (¶37, the sensor 163 is also referred to as a second detection unit; and ¶31, The sensor 153 and the sensor 163 are also referred to as ToF sensors).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, “the optical axis” in line 11 is unclear. To what optical axis is this limitation referring? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to an optical axis around which the light emitters are arranged.
Claims 10-11 are rejected for their dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokizaki et al. (WO 2020235458 A1) in view of Schaefer (U.S. Patent No. 7123351 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Tokizaki teaches an imaging device (¶24, Here, the first TOF sensor 22D-1 and the second TOF sensor 22D-2 are equipped with a two-dimensional image sensor in which light-receiving elements (pixel cells) are arranged in two dimensions) comprising: a first light source (21) configured to emit first irradiation light, the first irradiation light being light having a first wavelength (see figure 3, illumination unit 21; and ¶23, The irradiation unit 21 may, for example, include an infrared LED capable of pulsed emission with a peak emission wavelength near wavelength λ1 = 850 nm, and an infrared LED capable of pulsed emission with a peak emission wavelength near wavelength λ2 = 940 nm); a second light source (21) configured to emit second irradiation light, the second irradiation light being light having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (see figure 3, illumination unit 21; and ¶23, The irradiation unit 21 may, for example, include an infrared LED capable of pulsed emission with a peak emission wavelength near wavelength λ1 = 850 nm, and an infrared LED capable of pulsed emission with a peak emission wavelength near wavelength λ2 = 940 nm); a first detection unit (22D-1) configured to detect first reflected light, the first reflected light being reflected light of the first irradiation light with which a target object (OBJ) is irradiated, wherein the first detection unit (22D-1) is a ToF sensor (see figure 4, first TOF sensor 22D-1; and ¶24, The first TOF sensor 22D-1 has a light-receiving surface equipped with a band-limited filter 22C-1 that transmits light with a wavelength of approximately λ1 = 850 nm from one of the beams separated by the beam splitter 22B); and a second detection unit (22D-2) configured to detect second reflected light, the second reflected light being reflected light of the second irradiation light with which the target object (OBJ) is irradiated, wherein the second detection unit (22D-2) is a ToF sensor (see figure 4, second TOF sensor 22D-2; and ¶24, The second TOF sensor 22D-2 has a light-receiving surface equipped with a band-limited filter 22C-2 that transmits light near the wavelength λ2 = 940 nm from the other light separated by the beam splitter 22B). However, Tokizaki fails to explicitly teach wherein the second light source is disposed at a position closer to the optical axis than the first light source is.
However, Schaefer teaches wherein the second light source (1202c) is disposed at a position closer to the optical axis (1207) than the first light source (1202a) is (see figure 12, LED 1202c (i.e. second light source) located close to reference line 1207 (i.e. optical axis) and LED 1202a (i.e. first light source) located further from optical axis 1207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tokizaki to incorporate the teachings of Schaefer to provide light sources having differing distances from the optical axis in order to take advantage of the offset angle effect (Schaefer, col. 12, line 21). Additionally, see col. 11, lines 3-33 of Schaefer for further details.
Regarding claim 10, Tokizaki as modified by Schaefer teaches the imaging device according to claim 9, wherein the first light source (Tokizaki 21 | Schaefer 1202a) and the second light source (Tokizaki 21 | Schaefer 1202c) are both disposed on a plane intersecting the optical axis (Schaefer 1207) (Schaefer, see figure 12, the plane on which the first light source 1202a and the second light source 1202c are disposed intersects the optical axis 1207).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokizaki et al. (WO 2020235458 A1) in view of Schaefer (U.S. Patent No. 7123351 B1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 110346781 A).
Regarding claim 11, Tokizaki as modified by Schaefer teaches the first light source (Tokizaki 21 | Schaefer 1202a) and the second light source (Tokizaki 21 | Schaefer 1202c); wherein the second light source (Tokizaki 21 | Schaefer 1202c) is disposed at a position closer to the optical axis (Schaefer 1207) than the first light source (Tokizaki 21 | Schaefer 1202a) is (Schaefer, see figure 12). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach a plurality of the first light sources; and a plurality of said second light sources, wherein the plurality of second light sources are disposed at positions closer to the optical axis than any of the first light sources is.
However, Wang teaches a plurality of the first light sources (1011/101n) (see figure 6, laser emitters 1011 and 101n (i.e. first light sources)); and a plurality of said second light sources (1012/1013) (see figure 6, laser emitters 1012 and 1013 (i.e. second light sources)), wherein the plurality of second light sources (1012/1013) are disposed at positions closer to the optical axis than any of the first light sources (1011/101n) is (see figure 6, second light sources 1012 and 1013 disposed closer to light receiving component 102 (which defines optical axis) than first light sources 1011 and 101n).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Tokizaki and Schaefer to incorporate the teachings of Wang to provide a plurality of the first and second light sources because a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04 VI B). Additionally, a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Warren (USPGPub 20230367009 A1): Warren teaches a distance measurement device having a plurality of sensors and light emitters having different arrangements (see figures 1-7).
Rajala (USPGPub 20230384456 A1): Rajala teaches a time-of-flight imaging system that comprises a plurality of light sources arranged around a front lens (see figures 1-4).
Send et al. (USPGPub 20200011995 A1): Send teaches a detector for position determination using an optical fiber system having a plurality of illumination fibers and measuring fibers arranged around a center (see figures 13A-14MM).
Nihei et al. (USPGPub 20170199271 A1): Nihei teaches a distance measurement device having two light sources (L1/L2) arranged at different distances from sensor (21) (see figure 1).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878