DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUING DATA
This application is a CON of 17/888,312 08/15/2022 PAT 12054511
17/888,312 is a CON of 16/623,263 12/16/2019 PAT 11414452
16/623,263 is a 371 of PCT/GB2018/051638 06/14/2018
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
UNITED KINGDOM 1709471.5 06/14/2017
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffith (WO 2016/083830 A1) in view of Yuan (CN106478753A, March 8, 2018). Yuan (US 2018/0244710 A1) is used as an English equivalent.
Griffith teaches the synthesis of NUC-7738 from the phosphochloridate. See page 60. The reaction was done in anhydrous THF for 16 hours. Page 55. The compound is preferably the pure Rp or Sp diastereomer. Stereoisomers can be separated by conventional techniques such as preparative chromatography, enantiospecific synthesis or resolution, or resolved using a chiral HPLC column. Page 29. Preferably, free OH groups on the nucleoside are protected. Page 28. An exemplified protecting group was t-butyldimethylsilyl, which was removed in THF/water. Page 56. Another suitable solvent is isopropanol (paragraph bridging pages 27-28).
Griffith does not teach synthesis of NUC-7738 from Formula IIb, which contains a phenolic leaving group instead of chloride leaving group.
Yuan teaches that a prior art method for preparing NUC-1031 from the phosphochloridate results in a mixture of isomers. To solve this problem, Yuan prepared the following compound and separated the isomers by crystallization to use for preparation of a single diastereomer of NUC-1031. Pages 2-3.
Yuan teaches the reaction of 61502b with the -C(O)O-tBu group-protected nucleoside 61501c as shown on page 4. The reaction was done in THF with t-butylmagnesium chloride at room temperature until the reaction was complete. Finally, the protecting group was removed.
See pages 4-9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify Griffith’s method to use Yaun’s compound 61502 instead of the phosphochloridate. The skilled artisan would have used compound 61502 so that the isomers could be separated before reaction with the compound of claimed Formula IIIb. It would have been obvious to use a protected nucleoside to avoid side reactions, and Griffith and Yuan illustrate exemplary protecting groups for nucleosides. Griffith teaches removal of the protecting group in THF/water and teaches that isopropanol is an alternative suitable solvent. It would have been obvious to carry out deprotection in IPA/water instead of THF/water because Griffith teaches that IPA is a suitable solvent. The skilled artisan would have carried out the reaction until it was complete as taught by Yuan, using Griffith’s time of 16 hours as a guide.
Claims 13-20 are not included in this rejection because neither Griffith nor Yuan teaches claimed step d). The prior art of record does not teach or suggest claimed step d).
Conclusion
Claims 1-12 are rejected. Claims 13-20 are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim.
/LAYLA D BERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693