DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on September 29, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 4, 12, 18 - 20 have been amended. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1 and 3 – 21 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 6 – 8 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1 - 9 and 15 - 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (US 2016/0330471 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to wherein the first reference area and the second reference area are is-separate from the video unit, as claimed in the amended Claims 1, 18 ,19 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 4 and 10 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI et al., (US 2023/0075788 A1) referred to as LI hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, LI discloses a method of video processing (Fig. 16 - 18, Par. [0176] during construction of the IBC merge candidate list, in the process of checking validity of each IBC merge candidate, instead using solely the IBC reference region, a template matching search range (Sr) is taking into account with the IBC reference region), comprising:
determining (Fig. 16, intra block copy mode prediction), during a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video (Par. [0052] The encoded video data can be transmitted in the form of one or more coded video bitstreams), a first reference area for intra block copy (IBC) of the video unit (Par. [0180] the IBC reference range, for example, to the position C (i.e. first reference area) that is the closest position inside valid IBC reference range) based on a second reference area for intra template matching (Par. [0179] A rectangular box (1652) around the position A is the template matching search range (i.e. second reference area) that can be denoted by Sr), the video unit (Par. [0178] a current CTB (1615) under reconstruction) being applied with an IBC mode (Par. [0048] FIG. 16 shows an example of prediction in the intra block copy mode), wherein the first reference area and the second reference area are separate from the video unit (As Illustrated in Fig. 16, A rectangular box (1652) around the position A and position C is separate from the current CTB (1615));
determining a block vector for the video unit in the first reference area (Par. [0185] At (S1720), a template matching search is performed based on the initial block vector to determine a refined block vector that points to a reference block in a same picture as the current block); and
performing the conversion based on the block vector (Par. [0186] At (S1730), a reconstructed current block is generated based on the reference block).
Regarding Claim 2, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 3, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein the second reference area for intra template matching is set corresponding to the first reference area for IBC (Par. [0180], To perform template matching search based on the candidate BV (1651), the position A (that is pointed by the candidate BV (1651) is moved into the IBC reference range, for example, to the position C that is the closest position inside valid IBC reference range to the position A (i.e. corresponding)).
Regarding Claim 4, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein a reference area for each IBC block is set to a maximum area including a set of template samples if the video unit is coded in the intra template matching mode (Par. [0177] FIG. 16 shows an example of IBC the CTB size is a maximum CTB size and is equal to a reference memory size. Thus each of the regions (1611)-(1614) and (1616)-(1619) has a size of 64 by 64 samples).
Regarding Claim 10, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses further comprising: determining that a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) row of the video unit are used for IBC reference (Par. [0137] The constraints can also include at least one of the following second conditions: 1) a value of (mvL[0]>>4)+cbWidth is less than or equal to 0, which indicates that the reference block is to the left of the current block and does not overlap with the current block; 2) a value of (mvL[1]>>4)+cbHeight is less than or equal to 0, which indicates that the reference block is above the current block and does not overlap with the current block).
Regarding Claim 11, LI discloses claim 10. LI further discloses wherein the set of reconstructed samples are within a current slice of the video unit, or wherein the set of reconstructed samples are within a current tile of the video unit (Par. [0177], Eqs. (3)-(4) specify that the CTB including the reference block is either in a left CTB column (i.e. slice) of the current CTB or a same CTB column (i.e. slice) as the current CTB.).
Regarding Claim 12, LI discloses claim 11. LI further discloses wherein another set of reconstructed samples outside the current tile are not used as IBC reference (Fig. 16, Par. [0178] An IBC reference region for a current block (1650) to be reconstructed can exclude the collocated region (1611), as illustrated with the “X”).
Regarding Claim 13, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses further comprising: determining that a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) row (Par. [0137] The constraints can also include at least one of the following second conditions: 1) a value of (mvL[0]>>4)+cbWidth is less than or equal to 0, which indicates that the reference block is to the left of the current block and does not overlap with the current block; 2) a value of (mvL[1]>>4)+cbHeight is less than or equal to 0, which indicates that the reference block is above the current block and does not overlap with the current block) and within a current subpicture of the video unit are used for IBC reference (Par. [0125] an IBC reference region for a current block (i.e. current subpicture) under reconstruction in a current CTB (i.e. video unit) is constrained to be within the current CTB).
Regarding Claim 14, LI discloses claim 13. Zhu further teaches wherein another set of reconstructed samples outside the current subpicture are not used as IBC reference (Fig. 16, Par. [0178] An IBC reference region for a current block (1650) to be reconstructed can exclude the collocated region (1611), as illustrated with the “X”).
Regarding Claim 15, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein in the IBC mode (Par. [0048] FIG. 16 shows an example of prediction in the intra block copy mode), prediction samples are derived from blocks of sample values of a same video region as determined by block vectors (Fig. 16, Par. [0184] At (S1710), an initial block vector for predicting a current block in a current coding tree unit (CTU) is determined when the current block is in the IBC mode).
Regarding Claim 16, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream (Fig. 4, Par. [0052] The encoded video data (i.e. encoding) can be transmitted in the form of one or more coded video bitstreams).
Regarding Claim 17, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Fig. 4, Par. [0052] The encoded video data can be transmitted in the form of one or more coded video bitstreams. The terminal device (320) may receive the coded video data from the network (350), decode (i.e. decoding) the coded video data to recover the video pictures and display video pictures according to the recovered video data).
Apparatus claim 18 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above. Claim 18 further recites a processor (See LI, Fig. 4, Par. [0111], the video encoders (403), (603), and (603), and the video decoders (410), (510), and (810) can be implemented using one or more processors that execute software instructions) and a non-transitory memory (See LI, Par. [0030] Aspects of the disclosure also provide a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which when executed by a computer for video decoding cause the computer to perform the method for video decoding).
Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium Claims 19 and 20 have limitations similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) of Claim 1, and are met by the references as discussed above. Claims 19 and 20 further recites storing instructions that cause a processor to perform (See LI, Par. [0030] Aspects of the disclosure also provide a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which when executed by a computer for video decoding cause the computer to perform the method for video decoding), and storing a bitstream of a video (See LI, Par. [0055] The disclosed subject matter can be equally applicable to other video enabled applications, including, for example, video conferencing, digital TV, storing of compressed video on digital media including CD, DVD, memory stick and the like, and so on).
Regarding Claim 21, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein the first reference area for IBC is set corresponding to the second reference area for intra template matching (Par. [0180], To perform template matching search based on the candidate BV (1651), the position A (that is pointed by the candidate BV (1651) is moved into the IBC reference range, for example, to the position C that is the closest position inside valid IBC reference range to the position A (i.e. corresponding)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al., (US 2023/0075788 A1), in view of Zhu et al., (US 2016/0330471 A1) referred to as Zhu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, LI discloses claim 1. LI further discloses wherein the video unit has a first size parameter and a second size parameter (Par. [0116] The IBC mode is applicable to the CUs with both width (i.e. first size parameter) and height (i.e. first size parameter) smaller than or equal to 64 luma samples in some examples), the block vector has a first direction parameter and a second direction parameter (Par. [0123] the BV is a two-dimensional vector including an x and a y component), and if the first direction parameter is equal to a predetermined number, an unsigned integer which depends on the first size parameter represents the second direction parameter.
LI does not explicitly teach if the first direction parameter is equal to a predetermined number, an unsigned integer which depends on the first size parameter represents the second direction parameter.
However, ZHU teaches wherein the video unit has a first size parameter and a second size parameter (Par. [0121], the current block is a CB of a CU having width W (i.e. first size parameter) and height H (i.e. second size parameter)), the block vector has a first direction parameter (Par. [0121], the current block is a CB of a CU having the value of the horizontal BV component BVx (i.e. first direction parameter)) and a second direction parameter (Par. [0123], The value of the vertical BV component BVy (i.e. second direction parameter)), and if the first direction parameter is equal to a predetermined number, an unsigned integer which depends on the first size parameter represents the second direction parameter (Par. [0123], the default BV predictor is a vertical vector (0, BVy) (i.e. first direction parameter BVx is a predetermined number=0). The value of the vertical BV component BVy can be a fixed non-zero value, or the value of BVy can be the height of the current block, when the current block is a CB of a CU having width W and height H).
References LI and Zhu are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding using Intra Block Copy. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying direction parameters as suggested by Zhu in the invention of LI in order that a default BV predictor can be used whenever a regular BV predictor is unavailable or the default BV predictor can be conditionally used depending on the BV value of the current block. (See Zhu, Par. [0123]).
Regarding Claim 6, LI in view of Zhu teaches claim 5. Zhu further teaches wherein if BVx is equal to 0, BVy is represented by coding the unsigned integer which depends on H (Par. [0123], the default BV predictor is a vertical vector (0, BVy) (i.e. BVx =0). The value of the vertical BV component BVy can be a fixed non-zero value, or the value of BVy can be the height (i.e. unsigned integer depends on H) of the current block, which is the smallest value of BVy that avoids overlap between the current block and the reference region).
Regarding Claim 7, LI in view of Zhu teaches claim 6. Zhu further teaches wherein the unsigned integer is represented by h, wherein h≜ ((abs(BVy)) -H) , and BVy is reconstructed as -(h+H) (Par. [0123], when the current block is a CB of a CU having width W and height H, the default BV predictor can be (0, −H) (i.e. reconstructed as -H), where the value of BVy can be the height of the current block. Therefore, for example, if 4x4 block, then h≜ ((abs(4)) -4) = 0, then reconstructed as -(h+H) = -(0+4) = -4 which is the same as -H).
Regarding Claim 8, LI in view of Zhu teaches claim 5. Zhu further teaches wherein if BVy is equal to 0, BVy is represented by coding the unsigned integer which depends on W (Par. [0123], the default BV predictor is a horizontal vector (BVx, 0) (i.e. BVy = 0). The value of the horizontal BV component BVx can be a fixed non-zero value. Or the value of BVx can be the width (i.e. unsigned integer depends on W) of the current block, which is the smallest value of horizontal BV component BVx that avoids overlap between the current block and the reference region.).
Regarding Claim 9, LI in view of Zhu teaches claim 8. Zhu further teaches wherein the unsigned integer is represented by w, wherein w≜ ((abs(BVx)) -W), and BVx is reconstructed as -(w+W) (Par. [0121], when the current block is a CB of a CU having width W and height H, the value of the horizontal BV component BVx for the default BV predictor can be a negative offset equal to the width W of the CU. That is, the default BV predictor can be (−W, 0) (i.e. reconstructed as -W), the value of BVx can be the width of the current block. Therefore, for example, if 4x4 block, then w≜ ((abs(4)) -4) = 0, then reconstructed as -(w+W) = -(0+4) = -4 which is the same as -W).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425