DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on January 23, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 7, 9, 13 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on October 22, 2025 and December 17, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s submitted Amendments to the Specification have overcome the abstract and title objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on October 23, 2025. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections. Accordingly, the objections and rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 14 – 16 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-9 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al (US 2016/0330471 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on pages 9 – 11 that “Zhu is silent about intra template matching. In addition, Zhu fails to disclose, suggest or teach any content about "reference area for intra template matching" recited in the feature (1).”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhu clearly discloses the claimed limitation a first reference area for intra block copy (IBC) of the video unit based on a second reference area for intra template matching in Par. [0111] The BV (761) indicates a displacement (or offset) from the current block (760) (i.e. second reference area) to a region (762) (i.e. first reference area) of the picture that includes the sample values used for prediction. Zhu further discloses in Par. [0111] that the intra-frame prediction region (762) indicated by the BV (761) is sometimes termed the “matching block” for the current block (760). The matching block can be identical to the current block (760), or it can be an approximation of the current block (760). In addition, Zhu discloses in Par. [0173] The encoder selects (1620) one of the multiple BV predictor candidates to use for the current intra-BC-predicted block. For example, when the current block will be encoded using intra BC prediction with the selected BV predictor candidate, the encoder selects the BV predictor candidate for which the referenced intra-prediction region most closely matches the current block by some metric (e.g., sum of absolute difference, mean squared error). Or, when the current block has a BV value (identified through BV estimation) that will be used for intra BC prediction, the encoder selects the BV predictor candidate that most closely matches the BV value for the current block. This selection results in the smallest BV differential, which tends to improve the efficiency of entropy coding.
Therefore, Zhu discloses the limitations as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 9 and 15 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2016/0330471 A1) referred to as Zhu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu discloses a method of video processing (Par. [0108] A. Intra BC Prediction Mode, BV Values and BV Prediction), comprising:
determining, during a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video (Par. [0109] For intra BC prediction, the sample values of a current block (i.e. video unit) of a picture are predicted using sample values in the same picture. A BV value indicates a displacement from the current block to a region of the picture that includes the sample values used for prediction. The sample values used for prediction are previously reconstructed sample values. The BV value can be signaled in the bitstream, and a decoder can use the BV value to determine the region of the picture to use for prediction, which is also reconstructed at the decoder), a first reference area for intra block copy (IBC) of the video unit based on a second reference area for intra template matching (Par. [0111] The BV (761) indicates a displacement (or offset) from the current block (760) (i.e. second reference area) to a region (762) (i.e. first reference area) of the picture that includes the sample values used for prediction), the video unit being applied with an IBC mode (Par. [0024], intra BC prediction (i.e. IBC mode) for a block (i.e. video unit) of a picture);
determining a block vector for the video unit in the first reference area (Par. [0111] The intra-frame prediction region (762) indicated by the BV (i.e. block vector) (761)); and
performing the conversion based on the block vector (Par. [0113] For BV prediction, the BV value for the given block is predicted using a BV predictor. The difference (or BV differential) between the BV value for the given block and the BV predictor is then entropy coded).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein the first reference area for IBC is set corresponding to the second reference area for intra template matching (Par. [0111], The intra-frame prediction region (762) indicated by the BV (761) is sometimes termed the “matching block” for the current block (760). The matching block can be identical (i.e. template matching) to the current block (760)).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein the second reference area for intra template matching is set corresponding to the first reference area for IBC (Par. [0111], The intra-frame prediction region (762) indicated by the BV (761) is sometimes termed the “matching block” for the current block (760). The matching block can be identical (i.e. template matching) to the current block (760)).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein a reference area for each IBC block is set to a maximum area including a set of template samples if the vide unit is coded in the intra template matching mode (Par. [0111], The intra-frame prediction region (762) indicated by the BV (761) is sometimes termed the “matching block” for the current block (760). The matching block can be identical (i.e. set maximum area) to the current block (760) of a current frame (710) (i.e. set of template samples)).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein the video unit has a first size parameter and a second size parameter (Par. [0121], the current block is a CB of a CU having width W (i.e. first size parameter) and height H (i.e. second size parameter)), the block vector has a first direction parameter (Par. [0121], the current block is a CB of a CU having the value of the horizontal BV component BVx (i.e. first direction parameter)) and a second direction parameter (Par. [0123], The value of the vertical BV component BVy (i.e. second direction parameter)), and if the first direction parameter is equal to a predetermined number, an unsigned integer which depends on the first size parameter represents the second direction parameter (Par. [0123], the default BV predictor is a vertical vector (0, BVy) (i.e. first direction parameter BVx is a predetermined number=0). The value of the vertical BV component BVy can be a fixed non-zero value, or the value of BVy can be the height of the current block, when the current block is a CB of a CU having width W and height H).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhu discloses claim 5. Zhu further discloses wherein if BVx is equal to 0, BVy is represented by coding the unsigned integer which depends on H (Par. [0123], the default BV predictor is a vertical vector (0, BVy) (i.e. BVx =0). The value of the vertical BV component BVy can be a fixed non-zero value, or the value of BVy can be the height (i.e. unsigned integer depends on H) of the current block, which is the smallest value of BVy that avoids overlap between the current block and the reference region).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhu discloses claim 6. Zhu further discloses wherein the unsigned integer is represented by h, wherein h≜ ((abs(BVy)) -H) , and BVy is reconstructed as -(h+H) (Par. [0123], when the current block is a CB of a CU having width W and height H, the default BV predictor can be (0, −H) (i.e. reconstructed as -H), where the value of BVy can be the height of the current block. Therefore, for example, if 4x4 block, then h≜ ((abs(4)) -4) = 0, then reconstructed as -(h+H) = -(0+4) = -4 which is the same as -H).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhu discloses claim 5. Zhu further discloses wherein if BVy is equal to 0, BVy is represented by coding the unsigned integer which depends on W (Par. [0123], the default BV predictor is a horizontal vector (BVx, 0) (i.e. BVy = 0). The value of the horizontal BV component BVx can be a fixed non-zero value. Or, the value of BVx can be the width (i.e. unsigned integer depends on W) of the current block, which is the smallest value of horizontal BV component BVx that avoids overlap between the current block and the reference region.).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhu discloses claim 8. Zhu further discloses wherein the unsigned integer is represented by w, wherein w≜ ((abs(BVx)) -W), and BVx is reconstructed as -(w+W) (Par. [0121], when the current block is a CB of a CU having width W and height H, the value of the horizontal BV component BVx for the default BV predictor can be a negative offset equal to the width W of the CU. That is, the default BV predictor can be (−W, 0) (i.e. reconstructed as -W), the value of BVx can be the width of the current block. Therefore, for example, if 4x4 block, then w≜ ((abs(4)) -4) = 0, then reconstructed as -(w+W) = -(0+4) = -4 which is the same as -W).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein in the IBC mode, prediction samples are derived from blocks of sample values of a same video region as determined by block vectors (Par. [0003], For intra BC prediction mode, the sample values of a current block of a picture are predicted using previously reconstructed sample values in the same picture. A block vector (“BV”) indicates a displacement from the current block to a region of the picture that includes the previously reconstructed sample values used for prediction Also Par. [0073]).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream (Par. [0003], The BV is signaled in the bitstream).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream (Par. [0013] A corresponding decoder receives from a bitstream an index value. The decoder determines a set of multiple BV predictor candidates for a current block of a picture and, based on the index value, selects one of the BV predictor candidates to use for the current block. The decoder decodes the current block (i.e. decoding the video unit) using the selected BV predictor candidate).
Apparatus claim 18 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using same as claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above. Claim 18 further recites a processor and a non-transitory memory (See Zhu, Par. [0037], A processing unit can be a general-purpose central processing unit (“CPU”), processor in an application-specific integrated circuit (“ASIC”) or any other type of processor. The tangible memory (120, 125) may be volatile memory (e.g., registers, cache, RAM), non-volatile memory (e.g., ROM, EEPROM, flash memory, etc.), or some combination of the two, accessible by the processing unit(s). The memory (120, 125) stores software (180) implementing one or more innovations for block vector prediction, in the form of computer-executable instructions suitable for execution by the processing unit(s)).
Non-transitory computer-readable storage medium Claims 19 and 20 have limitations similar to those treated in the above rejection(s) of Claim 1, and are met by the references as discussed above. Claims 19 and 20 further recites storing instructions that cause a processor to perform” and “storing a bitstream of a video (See Zhu, Par. [0016] a computing device adapted to perform the method or as part of a tangible computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions for causing a computing device to perform the method. Par. [0039] The tangible storage (140) may be removable or non-removable, and includes magnetic disks, magnetic tapes or cassettes, CD-ROMs, DVDs, or any other medium which can be used to store information and which can be accessed within the computing system (100). The storage (140) stores instructions for the software (180) implementing one or more innovations for block vector prediction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2016/0330471 A1) in view of Tourapis et al., (US 2016/0360234 A1) referred to as Tourapis hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses further comprising: determining that a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) of the video unit are used for IBC reference (Par. [0111] the top left position of a current block).
Zhu does not specifically teach a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) row. Therefore, Zhu fails to explicitly teach determining that a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) row of the video unit are used for IBC reference.
However, Tourapis teaches determining that a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) row of the video unit are used for IBC reference (Par. [0035] the height threshold may define a search area in terms of a number of pixel rows. In the example shown in FIG. 3B, the height threshold is five blocks, i.e. LCUs. In an alternative embodiment, the current LCU row may not be included in the threshold (i.e. samples above CTU row))
References Zhu and Tourapis are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding using Intra Block Copy. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying samples above the current CTU row as suggested by Tourapis in the invention of Zhu in order to restrict coding according to the capabilities of the encoding and decoding devices, such as memory and processing power (See Tourapis, Par. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhu in view of Tourapis teaches claim 10. Zhu further teaches wherein the set of reconstructed samples are within a current slice of the video unit, or wherein the set of reconstructed samples are within a current tile of the video unit (Par. [0143], as another example for HEVC implementations in which a picture includes multiple tiles or multiple slices, BV values (and default BV predictors) may be constrained to reference a location with the current tile (and/or current slice)).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhu in view of Tourapis teaches claim 10. Tourapis further teaches wherein another set of reconstructed samples outside the current tile are not used as IBC reference (Par. [0035] the height threshold may define a search area in terms of a number of pixel rows. In the example shown in FIG. 3B, the height threshold is five blocks, i.e. LCUs. In an alternative embodiment, the current LCU row may not be included in the threshold (i.e. samples not used)).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhu discloses claim 1. Zhu further discloses further comprising: determining that a set of reconstructed samples within a current coding tree unit (CTU) (Par. [0111] the top left position of a current block) are used for IBC reference (Par. [0033], In the embodiments of FIG. 3A, 3B, and 3C, IBC operates on pixel blocks that are a subset of an LCU. For example, current pixel block 306 (indicated with stripes) (i.e. video unit) is the lower right corner of current LCU 310 (indicated with a dark boarder) Par. [0034], FIG. 3B shows a partially reconstructed picture 320 having a shaded portion 322 that is coded (e.g., LCUs 0-54) and a portion 324 that is not yet coded (shown as the blank boxes)).
Zhu does not specifically teach a set of reconstructed samples within a current coding tree unit (CTU) row. Therefore, Zhu fails to explicitly teach determining that a set of reconstructed samples above a current coding tree unit (CTU) row of the video unit are used for IBC reference.
However, Tourapis teaches determining that a set of reconstructed samples within a current coding tree unit (CTU) row of the video unit are used for IBC reference (Par. [0035] the height threshold may define a search area in terms of a number of pixel rows. In the example shown in FIG. 3B, the height threshold is five blocks, i.e. LCUs. In an alternative embodiment, the current LCU row may not be included in the threshold (i.e. samples within CTU row)).
References Zhu and Tourapis are considered to be analogous art because they relate to video coding using Intra Block Copy. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying samples above the current CTU row as suggested by Tourapis in the invention of Zhu in order to restrict coding according to the capabilities of the encoding and decoding devices, such as memory and processing power (See Tourapis, Par. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhu in view of Tourapis teaches claim 13. Zhu further teaches wherein another set of reconstructed samples outside the current subpicture are not used as IBC reference (Par. [0035] the height threshold may define a search area in terms of a number of pixel rows. In the example shown in FIG. 3B, the height threshold is five blocks, i.e. LCUs. In an alternative embodiment, the current LCU row may not be included in the threshold (i.e. samples not used)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425