DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 of claim 1, it is believed --an-- is missing after “between”.
In line 2 of claim 3, it is believed --a-- is missing after “comprising”.
In line 1 of claim 9, it is believed --an-- is missing after “between”.
In line 2 of claim 11, it is believed --a-- is missing after “comprising”.
In line 1 of claim 19, it is believed --an-- is missing after “between”.
In lines 12-13 of claim 19, it is believed the second instance of “said lift mast assembly configured” should be removed.
In line 1 of claim 20, it is believed that “Claim 9” should be changed to “Claim 19”. When applying prior art, Examiner interprets this claim to be dependent on claim 19.
In line 2 of claim 21, it is believed --a-- is missing after “comprising”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herring, Jr (US Pat 3,537,745) in view of Ishii et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0105750).
Regarding claim 1, Herring, Jr discloses an aircraft boarding vehicle to transport passengers between airport gate area 20 and to a front door or a rear door of an aircraft P positioned on a tarmac of an airport without impeding a ground transportation vehicle and airplane traffic, said vehicle comprising: a platform 49 to support a passenger compartment 11 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 21-40); a single lift mast assembly 13 centrally positioned therein said platform, said single lift mast assembly 13 configured to support a lift mechanism 17, 19 positioned in said passenger compartment 11 to raise and lower said passenger compartment 11 to match a height of the airport gate area 20 and the door of the airplane P (see Figures 1-2 and 4-5; Col. 2, lines 21-40, lines 62-69; Col. 3, lines 10-36); one or more turning drive hubs 14, 15 affixed to said platform 49 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 21-40, 62-69); and a power supply M to power said one or more turning drive hubs 14, 15 and said single lift mast assembly 13 (see Col. 3, lines 37-44). The single lift mast assembly is a single assembly comprising lift masts, meeting the limitation of a “single lift mast assembly”. The single lift mast assembly is positioned centrally in a transverse direction of the vehicle.
Herring, Jr fails to disclose said turning drive hubs are configured to drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about the tarmac.
Ishii et al. disclose a vehicle having a passenger platform 20 and a plurality of turning drive hubs 11, 13 that drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about a ground surface (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 28 and 36). The turning drive hubs 11 and 13 are omni-directional wheels, meaning that they can turn in any direction, including turning 360+ degrees (see Paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more drive hubs of Herring, Jr. to drive in either direction and be omni-directional, or “turn 360+ degrees”, to enable navigation about the tarmac, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Ishii et al., to allow the vehicle to easily move about the tarmac and avoid or dodge obstacles without delay.
Regarding claim 2, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1, wherein said passenger compartment 11 further comprising an aircraft loading door 22 positioned on an end of passenger compartment 11 to enable the passenger to deplane and board between the airport gate area 20 and the aircraft P (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 3, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1, wherein said passenger compartment 11 further comprising a terminal boarding vehicle gate 24 (25) positioned on a side of passenger compartment 11 to enable the passenger to transition between said passenger compartment 11 and the airport gate area 20 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 4, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1, wherein said one or more turning drive hubs 14, 15 further comprising a steering motor M, wherein said steering motor M engages an energy chain 170 affixed to a rotational drive axis 171 to rotate said turning drive hub 14, 15 (see Figures 3 and 7; Col. 5, lines 35-51).
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose the steering motor having a drive controller.
Ishii et al. disclose a vehicle having a passenger platform 20 and a plurality of turning drive hubs 11, 13 that drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about a ground surface (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 28 and 36). The turning drive hubs 11, 13 are powered by a power supply 40 attached to a steering motor 44 having a drive controller 43 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 41). The drive controller 43 acts to control the steering motor 44 autonomously (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39 and 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the steering motor with a drive controller, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for the vehicle to be driven autonomously, as taught by Ishii et al..
Regarding claim 5, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1.
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose a guidance system.
Ishii et al. disclose a vehicle 2 having a passenger platform 20 and a plurality of turning drive hubs 11, 13 that drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about a ground surface (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 28 and 36). The turning drive hubs 11, 13 are powered by a power supply 40 attached to a steering motor 44 having a drive controller 43 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 41). The drive controller 43 acts to control the steering motor 44 autonomously (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39 and 41). The vehicle 2 has an autonomous traveling ECU 41 that acts as a guidance system to control the vehicle 2 and allow it to travel autonomously (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the vehicle of Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., with a guidance system, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the vehicle to be driven autonomously without the need for an operator, as taught by Ishii et al..
Regarding claim 7, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1, further comprising a lift system 91, 109, said lift system 91, 109 is selected from a group comprising hydraulic cylinders, electric motors M, pneumatic systems and combinations thereof (see Col. 3, line 37-Col. 4, line 6; Col. 5, lines 52-58).
Regarding claim 9, Herring, Jr. discloses an aircraft boarding vehicle to transport passengers between airport gate area 20 and to a front door or a rear door of an aircraft P positioned on a tarmac of an airport without impeding a ground transportation vehicle and airplane traffic, said vehicle comprising: a mobile platform 49 to support a passenger compartment 11 thereabove (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 21-40); a lift mast assembly 13 having a first lift mast 17 and a second lift mast 19 extend vertically from opposite corners of said mobile platform 49, and a horizontal lift structure 70 configured horizontally and connected to upper ends 79, 80 of said first lift mast 17 and said second lift mast 19, said lift mast assembly 13 configured to support a lift mechanism 17, 19 positioned between said lift mast assembly and said passenger compartment 11 to raise and lower said passenger compartment 11 to match a height of the airport gate area 20 and the door of the airplane P (see Figures 1-2 and 4-5; Col. 2, lines 21-40, lines 62-69; Col. 3, lines 10-36); one or more turning drive hubs 14, 15 affixed to said platform 49 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 21-40, 62-69); and a power supply M to power said one or more turning drive hubs 14, 15 and said single lift mast assembly 13 (see Col. 3, lines 37-44). The platform 49 is mobile in that it moves with the turning hubs 12 along the tarmac. A corner is defined as “the point where converging lines, edges or sides meet”; the first lift mast 17 and second lift mast 19 are positioned at opposite corners in that they oppose one another at a point at which the mobile platform 49 meets a channel 57, 67 of each respective lift mast 17, 19 (see Figure 3A; Col. 3, lines 9-17). The horizontal lift structure 70 is a horizontal structure attached to the first and second lift masts to assist in supporting a roof of the passenger compartment 11 as it is lifted (see Col. 3, lines 9-36).
Herring, Jr fails to disclose said turning drive hubs are configured to drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about the tarmac.
Ishii et al. disclose a vehicle having a passenger platform 20 and a plurality of turning drive hubs 11, 13 that drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about a ground surface (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 28 and 36). The turning drive hubs 11 and 13 are omni-directional wheels, meaning that they can turn in any direction, including turning 360+ degrees (see Paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more drive hubs of Herring, Jr. to drive in either direction and be omni-directional, or “turn 360+ degrees”, to enable navigation about the tarmac, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Ishii et al., to allow the vehicle to easily move about the tarmac and avoid or dodge obstacles without delay.
Regarding claim 10, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9, wherein said passenger compartment 11 further comprising an aircraft loading door 22 positioned on an end of passenger compartment 11 to enable the passenger to deplane and board between the airport gate area 20 and the aircraft P (see Figures 1-2; Col. 2, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 11, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9, wherein said passenger compartment 11 further comprising a terminal boarding vehicle gate 24 (25) positioned on a side of passenger compartment 11 to enable the passenger to transition between said passenger compartment 11 and the airport gate area 20 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 29-40).
Regarding claim 12, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9, wherein said lift mast assembly 17, 19 raises said passenger platform 11 to enable the ground transportation vehicles to drive and park underneath (see Figures 1-2). The passenger platform 11 is high enough off the ground when in the raised position that ground transportation vehicles are able to pass through the area between the turning drive hubs 14, 15 to park parallel or perpendicular to the chassis 13 (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., disclose the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9, further comprising a stationary support platform 31 having at least one vertical structure connected to at least one horizontal structure, said stationary support platform 31 configured to support said passenger compartment 11 when said passenger compartment 11 is parked (see Figures 1-2 and annotated Figure 1 below; Col. 2, lines 41-61). The support platform 31 is stationary relative to the lift mast assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9, wherein said one or more turning drive hubs 14, 15 further comprising a steering motor M, wherein said steering motor M engages an energy chain 170 affixed to a rotational drive axis 171 to rotate said turning drive hub 14, 15 (see Figures 3 and 7; Col. 5, lines 35-51).
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose the steering motor having a drive controller.
Ishii et al. disclose a vehicle having a passenger platform 20 and a plurality of turning drive hubs 11, 13 that drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about a ground surface (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 28 and 36). The turning drive hubs 11, 13 are powered by a power supply 40 attached to a steering motor 44 having a drive controller 43 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 41). The drive controller 43 acts to control the steering motor 44 autonomously (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39 and 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the steering motor with a drive controller, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for the vehicle to be driven autonomously, as taught by Ishii et al..
Regarding claim 15, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9.
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose a guidance system.
Ishii et al. disclose a vehicle 2 having a passenger platform 20 and a plurality of turning drive hubs 11, 13 that drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about a ground surface (see Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 28 and 36). The turning drive hubs 11, 13 are powered by a power supply 40 attached to a steering motor 44 having a drive controller 43 (see Figure 4; Paragraph 41). The drive controller 43 acts to control the steering motor 44 autonomously (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39 and 41). The vehicle 2 has an autonomous traveling ECU 41 that acts as a guidance system to control the vehicle 2 and allow it to travel autonomously (see Figure 4; Paragraphs 39-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the vehicle of Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., with a guidance system, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow the vehicle to be driven autonomously without the need for an operator, as taught by Ishii et al..
Regarding claim 17, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9, further comprising a lift system 91, 109, said lift system 91, 109 is selected from a group comprising hydraulic cylinders, electric motors M, pneumatic systems and combinations thereof (see Col. 3, line 37-Col. 4, line 6; Col. 5, lines 52-58).
Claims 6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., in view of Eggert, Jr. (US Pat 3,554,320).
Regarding claim 6, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1.
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose the passenger platform has a staircase deployable from the passenger platform to the tarmac, said staircase having a transition platform extendable from said passenger compartment and a ground access staircase pivotable therefrom.
Eggert, Jr. discloses an aircraft transfer vehicle 10 having a passenger platform 15 and a stair ladder 21, or “staircase” (see Figures 1-3; Col. 3, lines 11-37). The staircase 21 extends to the tarmac and has a transition platform 23 extendable from the passenger platform 15 and a ground access staircase 31 pivotable therefrom (see Figures 1-3; Col. 2, lines 29-58). The stair ladder 21, or “staircase”, is used in the event of an emergency such that passengers are not able to deplane via the gangway 19 (see Col. 2, lines 19-39). The staircase 21 pivots from the passenger compartment 15 (see Figure 3; Col. 2, lines 40-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the passenger platform of Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., with a staircase deployable from the passenger platform to the tarmac with a transition platform extendable from said passenger compartment and a ground access staircase pivotable therefrom, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable passengers to deplane in the event of an emergency, as taught by Eggert, Jr..
Regarding claim 16, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9.
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose the passenger platform has a staircase deployable from the passenger platform to the tarmac, said staircase having a transition platform extendable from said passenger compartment and a ground access staircase pivotable therefrom.
Eggert, Jr. discloses an aircraft transfer vehicle 10 having a passenger platform 15 and a stair ladder 21, or “staircase” (see Figures 1-3; Col. 3, lines 11-37). The staircase 21 extends to the tarmac and has a transition platform 23 extendable from the passenger platform 15 and a ground access staircase 31 pivotable therefrom (see Figures 1-3; Col. 2, lines 29-58). The stair ladder 21, or “staircase”, is used in the event of an emergency such that passengers are not able to deplane via the gangway 19 (see Col. 2, lines 19-39). The staircase 21 pivots from the passenger compartment 15 (see Figure 3; Col. 2, lines 40-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the passenger platform of Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., with a staircase deployable from the passenger platform to the tarmac with a transition platform extendable from said passenger compartment and a ground access staircase pivotable therefrom, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable passengers to deplane in the event of an emergency, as taught by Eggert, Jr..
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., in view of Motohashi et al. (US Pat 7,836,536).
Regarding claim 8, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 1.
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose an auxiliary lift system positioned in said passenger compartment and having an auxiliary lift compartment configured to be raised and lowered from said passenger compartment to enable emergency evacuation of the passengers from said passenger compartment to the tarmac.
Motohashi et al. disclose an aircraft boarding vehicle 10 to transport passengers between an airport gate area and a front or rear door of an aircraft 2 positioned on a tarmac 1 of an airport and having a platform 22 to support a passenger compartment 21 (see Col. 4, lines 46-67). The aircraft boarding vehicle 10 includes a lift system 35 and an auxiliary lift system 72 (see Col. 4, lines 61-67; Col. 7, lines 43-53), said auxiliary lift system 72 is positioned in said passenger compartment 21, said auxiliary lift system 72 having an auxiliary lift compartment 81 configured to be raised and lowered from said passenger compartment 21 to enable emergency evacuation of the passengers from said passenger compartment to the tarmac (see Figure 10; Col. 7, lines 44-53; Col. 8, lines 30-45). The auxiliary lift system 72 allows physically handicapped individuals to use the of the passenger compartment 21 (see Col. 7, lines 50-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the aircraft boarding vehicle of Herring, Jr., as modified byIshii et al., to include an auxiliary lift system positioned in the passenger compartment and having an auxiliary lift compartment configured to be raised and lowered from the passenger compartment to enable emergency evacuation of the passengers from the passenger compartment to the tarmac, with a reasonable expectation, to also allow physically handicapped persons to use the passenger compartment, as taught by Motohashi et al..
Regarding claim 18, Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., discloses the aircraft boarding vehicle of Claim 9.
Herring, Jr., as modified by Ishii et al., fails to disclose an auxiliary lift system positioned in said passenger compartment and having an auxiliary lift compartment configured to be raised and lowered from said passenger compartment to enable emergency evacuation of the passengers from said passenger compartment to the tarmac.
Motohashi et al. disclose an aircraft boarding vehicle 10 to transport passengers between an airport gate area and a front or rear door of an aircraft 2 positioned on a tarmac 1 of an airport and having a platform 22 to support a passenger compartment 21 (see Col. 4, lines 46-67). The aircraft boarding vehicle 10 includes a lift system 35 and an auxiliary lift system 72 (see Col. 4, lines 61-67; Col. 7, lines 43-53), said auxiliary lift system 72 is positioned in said passenger compartment 21, said auxiliary lift system 72 having an auxiliary lift compartment 81 configured to be raised and lowered from said passenger compartment 21 to enable emergency evacuation of the passengers from said passenger compartment to the tarmac (see Figure 10; Col. 7, lines 44-53; Col. 8, lines 30-45). The auxiliary lift system 72 allows physically handicapped individuals to use the of the passenger compartment 21 (see Col. 7, lines 50-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the aircraft boarding vehicle of Herring, Jr., as modified byIshii et al., to include an auxiliary lift system positioned in the passenger compartment and having an auxiliary lift compartment configured to be raised and lowered from the passenger compartment to enable emergency evacuation of the passengers from the passenger compartment to the tarmac, with a reasonable expectation, to also allow physically handicapped persons to use the passenger compartment, as taught by Motohashi et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 21-28 are allowed.
Claim 20 is objected to, but would be allowable if amended to correct the objection addressed in paragraph 2 above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 19 recites an aircraft boarding vehicle to transport passengers between airport gate area and to a front door or a rear door of an aircraft positioned on a tarmac of an airport without impeding a ground transportation vehicle and airplane traffic, said vehicle comprising: a first mobile platform and a second mobile platform to support a passenger compartment thereabove; a lift mast assembly having a first lift mast, said first lift mast extends vertically from said first mobile platform, a second lift mast, said second lift mast extends vertically from said second mobile platform, a horizontal lift structure configured horizontally and connected to an upper end of said first lift mast, a C-shaped support structure connected to an upper end of said second lift mast, said C-shaped support structure configured to slidably connect to said horizontal lift structure, said C-shaped support structure configured to provide linear motion of said second mobile platform and said second lift mast along said horizontal lift structure, said lift mast assembly configured said lift mast assembly configured to support a lift mechanism positioned between said lift mast assembly and said passenger compartment to raise and lower said passenger compartment to match a height of the airport gate area and the door of the airplane; one or more turning drive hubs affixed to said first mobile platform and a second mobile platform, said turning drive hubs configured to drive in either direction and turn 360+ degrees to enable navigation about the tarmac; and a power supply to power said one or more turning drive hubs and said lift mast assembly. Herring, Jr. (US Pat 3,537,745) and (US Pat 3,537,723) and Eggert, Jr. (US Pat 3,554,320) disclose an aircraft boarding vehicle having a platform, a first lift mast, a second lift mast, and a horizontal lift structure; however, Herring, Jr. and Eggert, Jr. fail to disclose a C-shaped support structure connected to the second lift mast and slidably connected to the horizontal lift structure. O’Neill (US Pat 3,419,164) discloses an aircraft boarding vehicle having a platform, a first lift mast, a second lift mast, and a horizontal lift structure; however, O’Neill fails to disclose a C-shaped support structure connected to the second lift mast and slidably connected to the horizontal lift structure. Zuckerman et al. (US Pat 12,337,875) disclose a vehicle having a first mobile platform with a first lift mast, a second mobile platform with a second lift mast, and a horizontal lift structure; however, Zuckerman et al. fail to disclose a C-shaped structure connected to the second lift mast and the passenger compartment is positioned above the mobile platforms. Shults (US PG Pub 2017/0015531) discloses a vehicle having a first mobile platform with a first lift mast, a second mobile platform with a second lift mast, and a horizontal lift structure; however, Zuckerman et al. fail to disclose a C-shaped structure connected to the second lift mast, a passenger compartment is positioned above the mobile platforms, and the mobile platforms move relative to one another. Cox et al. (US Pat 4,629,369) disclose a vehicle having two mobile platforms and a horizontal structure; however, Cox et al. fail to disclose the mobile platforms move along the horizontal structure relative to one another. Reymann (EP 1277681) and (EP 1325878) discloses a mobile aircraft loading vehicle having first and second lift masts, a horizontal lift structure, and turning hubs; however, Reymann fails to disclose a C-shaped support structure connected to the second lift mast. The prior art does not properly teach or suggest the recited configuration, making claim 19 allowable.
Claim 20 is interpreted as being dependent on claim 19 and would be allowable because it is dependent claim 19.
Claims 21-28 are allowable because they are dependent on claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wearmouth (US Pat 10,988,938) discloses a staircase having a transition platform. Behrmann (US Pat 3,658,377) disclose a aircraft boarding vehicle having a single lift mast assembly. Sherman (US Pat 3,606,250) disclose an aircraft boarding vehicle having first and second lift masts.
/VERONICA M CONDO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612