DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 3-8, 12, 14-20 in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, 14, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oh (US2021/0209807).
To claim 1, Oh teach a method for point cloud coding, comprising:
performing a conversion between a current (obvious) point cloud sample of a point cloud sequence and a bitstream of the point cloud sequence (Fig. 1, paragraph 0295), wherein during the conversion at least one of the following data units comprises an integer number of bytes:
a first data unit indicating an end of a point cloud frame associated with the current point cloud sample, a second data unit comprising attribute values for a single attribute in the current point cloud sample, or a third data unit specifying a single attribute value for all points in the current point cloud sample (Figs. 26-27, 31, 40, paragraphs 0500-0564, 0651).
To claim 12, Oh teach an apparatus for processing point cloud data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, causes the processor to perform acts (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 19, Oh teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform acts (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 20, Oh teach a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a point cloud sequence which is generated by a method performed by a point cloud processing apparatus (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claims 3 and 14, Oh teach claims 1 and 12.
Oh teach wherein a first syntax structure for the first data unit specifies that the first data unit (paragraph 0518) comprises the integer number of bytes, the first syntax structure ends at a byte-aligned bit position, and the byte-aligned bit position is an integer multiple of 8 bits away from the first position in the bitstream (paragraphs 0651, 0988, one byte is inherently 8 bits).
To claims 5 and 16, Oh teach claims 1 and 12.
Oh teach wherein a third syntax structure for the third data unit specifies that the third data unit comprises the integer number of bytes, the third syntax structure ends at a byte-aligned bit position, and the byte-aligned bit position is an integer multiple of 8 bits away from the first position in the bitstream (paragraphs 0651, 0988, one byte is inherently 8 bits, wherein numbering of syntax structure would have been obvious as bitstream being transmitted in series).
To claims 7 and 18, Oh teach claims 1 and 12.
Oh teach wherein a second syntax structure for the second data unit specifies that the second data unit comprises the integer number of bytes, the second syntax structure ends at a byte-aligned bit position, and the byte-aligned bit position is an integer multiple of 8 bits away from the first position in the bitstream (paragraphs 0651, 0988, one byte is inherently 8 bits, wherein numbering of syntax structure would have been obvious as bitstream being transmitted in series).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oh (US2021/0209807).
To claims 4 and 15, Oh teach claims 3 and 4.
Oh teach wherein the first syntax structure comprises a fourth syntax structure for byte-alignment (paragraph 0649), and the fourth syntax structure is located at the end of the first syntax structure (paragraphs 0621, 1178-01179, numbering of syntax structures would be obvious as either directly or indirectly one after another).
To claims 6 and 17, Oh teach claims 5 and 16.
Oh teach wherein the third syntax structure comprises a fourth syntax structure for byte-alignment, and the fourth syntax structure is at the end of the third syntax structure (as explained in response to claim 4 above).
To claim 8, Oh teach claim 7.
Oh teach wherein the second syntax structure comprises a fourth syntax structure for byte-alignment, and the fourth syntax structure is at the end of the second syntax structure (paragraphs 0621, 1178-01179, numbering of syntax structures would be obvious as either directly or indirectly one after another)
Conclusion
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 June 4, 2026