DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Romig US PG Pub No. 2007/0260370).
Regarding claim 1, Romig teaches A driving and steering control system to be employed in an autonomous ground vehicle that is capable of running without a driver in/on the vehicle, the autonomous ground vehicle including:
a plurality of wheels including a targeted wheel, (101 figure 1)
a propulsion motor that rotates the targeted wheel around an axle of the targeted wheel, (108 figure 2 paragraph 19)
a steering motor that steers the targeted wheel to left and right of the autonomous ground vehicle, (107 figure 2 paragraph 19)
a steering shaft that: (124 steering tube figure 3 paragraph 21)
is connected to the steering motor, (107 figure 2 paragraph 21)
is configured to steer the targeted wheel by operation of the steering motor, and
is positioned in such a manner to have a scrub radius relative to the targeted wheel, and (figure 6 paragraph 33+34 scrub radius 606 figure 3 paragraph 42)
an upper-level control section that is configured to output:
propulsion motor actuation instruction information for actuating the propulsion motor, and (figure 7)
steering motor actuation instruction information for actuating the steering motor, (figure 7)
the driving and steering control system comprising:
an acquisition device (paragraph 37 steering logic may reside in controller) that is configured to acquire the propulsion motor actuation instruction information and the steering motor actuation instruction information from the upper-level control section; and (paragraph 38)
a motor information processing device that is configured to concurrently actuate the propulsion motor and the steering motor in such a manner to:
concurrently change an operation parameter of the steering motor and an operation parameter of the propulsion motor based on the steering motor actuation instruction information acquired by the acquisition device, and (602 figure 7 desired angle velocity -> 604)
concurrently change the operation parameter of the propulsion motor and the operation parameter of the steering motor based on the propulsion motor actuation instruction information acquired by the acquisition device (603 figure 7 desired linear velocity -> 604).
Regarding claim 2, Romig teaches wherein the motor information processing device is further configured to, while actuating both the steering motor and the propulsion motor, in response to receipt by the acquisition device a new piece of information that provides a change in only one, but not both, of the steering motor actuation instruction information and the propulsion motor actuation instruction information, concurrently change the operation parameters of both the steering motor and the propulsion motor (paragraph 41 605 figure 7 each wheel).
Regarding claim 3, Romig teaches wherein the motor information processing device is further configured to, when the acquisition device receives the steering motor actuation instruction information and the propulsion motor actuation instruction information, concurrently actuate the propulsion motor and the steering motor, such that the propulsion motor is inhibited from interfering with the steering motor in steering of the targeted wheel, and such that a change in the steering angle caused by the propulsion motor is inhibited by the steering motor (paragraph 39 vector desired velocity).
Regarding claim 4, Romig teaches wherein the targeted wheel, the propulsion motor, the steering motor, and the steering shaft constitute a built-in driving and steering unit that is attachable to the autonomous ground vehicle (figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Romig teaches wherein the steering motor actuation instruction information and the propulsion motor actuation instruction information are configured without information on the scrub radius and free of any information on the scrub radius (figure 2 motors have no instruction when built in factory).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romig US PG Pub No. 2007/0260370) in view of Hanchett (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0355855)
Regarding claim 6, Romig does not explicitly teach however Hanchett teaches wherein both the propulsion motor and the steering motor are in-wheel motors mounted to the targeted wheel (figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Romig based on the teachings of Hanchett to teach wherein both the propulsion motor and the steering motor are in-wheel motors mounted to the targeted wheel. The motivation would be to improve packaging.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747