Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant arguments/remarks, filed 05/10/2026, with respect to the previous claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant arguments/remarks, filed 05/10/2026, with respect to the previous 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of independent claim 1 over previously cited Abou-Khousa have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/10/2026 regarding the prior art Gauss have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gauss does not teach “a negative electrode of the first diode is connected to the magnetic resonance transmitter, and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to a positive electrode of the first diode and a negative electrode of the second diode is connected to the one or more coils”.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Gauss teaches a negative electrode of the first diode is connected to the magnetic resonance transmitter [Fig. 2, wherein technically both electrodes of diode 14 are connected to the transmitter C. All elements of Fig. 2 are connected, at least indirectly, because all elements of Fig. 2 are part of the same circuit. See also rest of reference. See also rest of reference.], and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to a positive electrode of the first diode and a negative electrode of the second diode is connected to the one or more coils [Fig. 2, wherein technically both electrodes of diode 14 are connected to the both electrodes of diode 16. Further, both electrodes of diode 16 are also connected to coil through RF coil junction 12. See also Fig. 1. All elements of Fig. 2 are connected, at least indirectly, because all elements of Fig. 2 are part of the same circuit. See also rest of reference.].
Therefore, because all the elements are connected of the circuit in Fig. 2 of Gauss are either directly or indirectly connected, the examiner does not believe that the amendments overcome the previous prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 7-11, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim discloses “a power supply”. However, it is unclear if this is the same or different from the “power supply” disclosed in claim 1.
Claims 5 and 7-11 are rejected for depending on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 12, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauss (US 6,198,288).
Regarding claim 1, Gauss teaches a magnetic resonance system, comprising:
a magnetic resonance transmitter configured to generate one or more radio frequency signals [Fig. 2, see transmit path between input junction 10 and RF coil junction 12. See also rest of reference.];
a magnetic resonance receiver configured to receive one or more magnetic resonance signals collected by one or more coils [Fig. 2, see receiver path between the junction 12 and a junction 24. See also rest of reference.]; and
a magnetic resonance radio frequency power transceiver, including a communication circuit and a control circuit [Fig. 2 and Col. 1, lines 40-67 wherein the RF coil transmits and receives with the circuit of Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.], wherein
the communication circuit provides a first communication circuit and a second communication circuit, the first communication circuit is configured to transmit the one or more radio frequency signals to the one or more coils [Fig. 2, see transmit path between input junction 10 and RF coil junction 12. See also rest of reference.], and the second communication circuit is configured to transmit the one or more magnetic resonance signals to the magnetic resonance receiver [Fig. 2, see receiver path between the junction 12 and a junction 24. See also rest of reference.]; and
the control circuit is configured to send one or more control signals to the communication circuit to control the first communication circuit or the second communication circuit to turn on or cut off [See PIN diodes are used for isolation. Col. 1, lines 40-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-13. See also rest of reference which mentions the driver circuit.], wherein the control circuit includes a power supply, the power supply includes a first direct current power supply, the first direct current power supply is connected to the first communication circuit [See Col. 5, lines 23-32, were DC current is used to bias PIN diodes. See also rest of reference.], wherein,
the first communication circuit includes a first diode and a second diode [See Fig. 2, see diodes 14 and 16. See also rest of reference.], a negative electrode of the first diode is connected to the magnetic resonance transmitter [Fig. 2, wherein technically both electrodes of diode 14 are connected to the transmitter C. All elements of Fig. 2 are connected, at least indirectly, because all elements of Fig. 2 are part of the same circuit. See also rest of reference. See also rest of reference.], and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to a positive electrode of the first diode and a negative electrode of the second diode is connected to the one or more coils [Fig. 2, wherein technically both electrodes of diode 14 are connected to the both electrodes of diode 16. Further, both electrodes of diode 16 are also connected to coil through RF coil junction 12. See also Fig. 1. All elements of Fig. 2 are connected, at least indirectly, because all elements of Fig. 2 are part of the same circuit. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 2, Gauss further teaches wherein the one or more radio frequency signals are a plurality of radio frequency signals corresponding to different kinds of nuclides, the one or more magnetic resonance signals are a plurality of magnetic resonance signals sent by the different kinds of nuclides, and the second communication circuit is configured to transmit the plurality of magnetic resonance signals to the magnetic resonance receiver, respectively [See Col. 5, lines 23-32.].
Regarding claim 3, Gauss further teaches wherein the one or more coils are provided inside or connected to the magnetic resonance system [See Fig. 1. See also rest of reference.] and configured to generate a magnetic field that excites resonance of the different kinds of nuclides and/or to collect the plurality of magnetic resonance signals sent by the different kinds of nuclides [See Col. 5, lines 23-32.].
Regarding claim 4, Gauss further teaches wherein the control circuit includes a power supply, and the power supply is configured to output a turn-on signal and/or a cut-off signal to control the first communication circuit and the second communication circuit to turn on and/or cut off [See biasing. See also See Col. 5, lines 23-32. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 5, Gauss further teaches wherein the power supply includes a second direct current power supply, and the second direct current power supply is connected to the second communication circuit [See biasing. See also See Col. 5, lines 23-32, which teaches using separate DC driving circuits (plural). See also rest of reference.], the second communication circuit includes a third diode and a fourth diode, the third diode is connected to the one or more coils, and one end of the fourth diode is connected to the third diode and another end of the fourth diode is connected to the magnetic resonance receiver [See Diodes 32 and 34, wherein all the components in Fig. 2 are connected. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 7, Gauss further teaches wherein the system further comprises a first inductor, a third inductor, and a fifth inductor, wherein the first inductor is connected between the magnetic resonance transmitter and a ground end [See inductor 18 or 22], the third inductor is connected between the magnetic resonance receiver and the ground end [See inductor 52 or 54], and the fifth inductor is connected between the one or more coils and the ground end [See inductor 22 or 42].
Regarding claim 12, Gauss further teaches further comprising a radio frequency power amplifier, wherein the radio frequency power amplifier is configured to receive the plurality of radio frequency signals and perform a power amplification [See amplifiers in Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 19, Gauss teaches a magnetic resonance circuit applied to a magnetic resonance system, wherein the magnetic resonance system further comprises a magnetic resonance transmitter and a magnetic resonance receiver, and the magnetic resonance circuit includes a communication circuit and a control circuit, wherein:
the communication circuit provides a first communication circuit and a second communication circuit, the first communication circuit is configured to transmit one or more radio frequency signals generated by the magnetic resonance transmitter to one or more coils [Fig. 2, see transmit path between input junction 10 and RF coil junction 12. See also rest of reference.], and the second communication circuit is configured to transmit one or more magnetic resonance signals collected by the one or more coils to the magnetic resonance receiver [Fig. 2, see receiver path between the junction 12 and a junction 24. See also rest of reference.]; and
the control circuit is configured to send one or more control signals to the communication circuit to control the first communication circuit or the second communication circuit to turn on or cut off [See PIN diodes are used for isolation. Col. 1, lines 40-67 and Col. 2, lines 1-13. See also rest of reference which mentions the driver circuit.], wherein the control circuit includes a power supply, the power supply includes a first direct current power supply, the first direct current power supply is connected to the first communication circuit [See Col. 5, lines 23-32, were DC current is used to bias PIN diodes. See also rest of reference.], wherein,
the first communication circuit includes a first diode and a second diode, a negative electrode of the first diode is connected to the magnetic resonance transmitter [Fig. 2, wherein technically both electrodes of diode 14 are connected to the transmitter C. All elements of Fig. 2 are connected, at least indirectly, because all elements of Fig. 2 are part of the same circuit. See also rest of reference. See also rest of reference.], and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to a positive electrode of the first diode and a negative electrode of the second diode is connected to the one or more coils [Fig. 2, wherein technically both electrodes of diode 14 are connected to the both electrodes of diode 16. Further, both electrodes of diode 16 are also connected to coil through RF coil junction 12. See also Fig. 1. All elements of Fig. 2 are connected, at least indirectly, because all elements of Fig. 2 are part of the same circuit. See also rest of reference.].
Regarding claim 20, Gauss further teaches wherein the first communication circuit is configured to transmit a plurality of radio frequency signals corresponding to different kinds of nuclides generated by the magnetic resonance transmitter to the one or more coils, and the second communication circuit is configured to transmit a plurality of magnetic resonance signals sent from different kinds of nuclides collected by the one or more coils to the magnetic resonance receiver, respectively [See Col. 5, lines 23-32. See Figs. 2-4. See also rest of reference.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Gauss, in view of Abou-Khousa (“Wideband RF Transmit-Receive Switch for Multi-Nuclei NMR Spectrometers” first published 19 October 2021).
Regarding claim 8, Gauss teaches the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends from.
Gauss further teaches a second inductor wherein the second inductor is connected between the first direct current power supply and the first communication circuit [See inductor 18. See also rest of reference.].
Gauss is silent in teaching a fourth inductor and the fourth inductor is connected between the second direct current power supply and the second communication circuit
Abou-Khousa, which is also in the field of MRI, teaches a fourth inductor and the fourth inductor is connected between the second direct current power supply and the second communication circuit [See L3].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Abou-Khousa because both references are in the field of T/R switches for MRI and because Abou-Khousa teaches using diodes to switch between a transmit and receive path, similar to Gauss [Abou-Khousa – Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 9, Gauss and Abou-Khousa teach the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends from.
Gauss and Abou-Khousa further teach further comprising a capacitive element, wherein the capacitive element forms a filter circuit with the second inductor and the fourth inductor, the filter circuit is configured to filter out interferences from other signals other than the one or more control signals, the plurality of radio frequency signals, and the plurality of magnetic resonance signals [Gauss – See capacitors in Fig. 2. Abou-Khousa – see capacitors in Fig. 2A. See also rest of reference].
Regarding claim 10, Gauss and Abou-Khousa teach the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends from.
Gauss and Abou-Khousa further teach wherein the capacitive element includes a first capacitor and a second capacitor, the first capacitor is connected to the second inductor, and the second capacitor is connected to the fourth inductor, wherein the first capacitor and the second inductor form a first filter circuit, and the second capacitor and the fourth inductor form a second filter circuit [Gauss – See capacitors in Fig. 2. Abou-Khousa – see capacitors in Fig. 2A. See also rest of reference].
Regarding claim 11, Gauss teaches the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends from.
Gauss further teaches further comprising a third capacitor, a fourth capacitor, and a fifth capacitor, wherein the third capacitor is connected between the magnetic resonance transmitter and the first communication circuit, and the third capacitor is configured to isolate a first direct current output from the first direct current power supply to avoid the first direct current passing through the magnetic resonance transmitter when the first communication circuit is turned on [Col. 2, lines 1-13. See Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.]; the fourth capacitor is connected between the magnetic resonance receiver and the second communication circuit, and the fourth capacitor is configured to isolate a second direct current output from the second direct current power supply to avoid the second direct current passing through the magnetic resonance receiver when the second communication circuit is turned on [Col. 2, lines 14-27. See Fig. 2. See also rest of reference.].
However, Gauss is silent in teaching the fifth capacitor is connected between the one or more coils and the communication circuit, and the fifth capacitor is configured to isolate the first direct current and the second direct current to avoid the first direct current and the second direct current passing through the one or more coils.
Abou-Khousa further teaches further comprising a third capacitor, a fourth capacitor, and a fifth capacitor, wherein the third capacitor is connected between the magnetic resonance transmitter and the first communication circuit, and the third capacitor is configured to isolate a first direct current output from the first direct current power supply to avoid the first direct current passing through the magnetic resonance transmitter when the first communication circuit is turned on [See C8. See also rest of reference.]; the fourth capacitor is connected between the magnetic resonance receiver and the second communication circuit, and the fourth capacitor is configured to isolate a second direct current output from the second direct current power supply to avoid the second direct current passing through the magnetic resonance receiver when the second communication circuit is turned on [See C9/C10. See also rest of reference.]; and the fifth capacitor is connected between the one or more coils and the communication circuit, and the fifth capacitor is configured to isolate the first direct current and the second direct current to avoid the first direct current and the second direct current passing through the one or more coils [See C7. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Abou-Khousa because both references are in the field of T/R switches for MRI and because Abou-Khousa teaches using diodes to switch between a transmit and receive path, similar to Gauss [Abou-Khousa – Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 21, Gauss and Abou-Khousa teach the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends from.
Gauss and Abou-Khousa further teach wherein one end of the second inductor is connected to the first direct current power supply, and another end of the second inductor is respectively connected to the positive electrode of the first diode and the positive electrode of the second diode [Gauss - Fig. 2, see all components of the circuit are connected. Abou-Khousa – all elements in circuit shown in Fig. 2A are connected. See also rest of reference.].
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Gauss, in view of Choi (“Design and construction of a novel 1 H/19F double-tuned coil system using PIN-diode switches at 9.4 T” published 2017).
Regarding claim 13, Gauss teaches the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends from.
Gauss is silent in teaching wherein a broadband power of the radio frequency power amplifier is 1000 W and a bandwidth of the radio frequency power amplifier is within a range of 30 to 405 MHz.
Choi, which is also in the field of MRI, further teaches a broadband power of the radio frequency power amplifier is 1000 W [See page 12 and Methods section] and a bandwidth of the radio frequency power amplifier is within a range of 30 to 405 MHz [See page 13 and Results section].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Choi because both references are in the field of T/R switches for MRI and because Choi teaches it is known to use a 1 kW amplifier for T/R switches in MRI [Choi - See page 12 and Methods section].
Regarding claim 14, Gauss teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends from.
Gauss is silent in teaching wherein the communication circuit further includes a third communication circuit and a fourth communication circuit, and the magnetic resonance transmitter is further configured to output two radio frequency signals with a phase difference of 90 degrees to the magnetic resonance radio frequency power transceiver.
Choi further teaches wherein the communication circuit further includes a third communication circuit and a fourth communication circuit, and the magnetic resonance transmitter is further configured to output two radio frequency signals with a phase difference of 90 degrees to the magnetic resonance radio frequency power transceiver [Fig. 2 and see quadrature disclosed throughout reference. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Choi because both references are in the field of T/R switches for multi-nuclei MRI and Choi teaches it is known in the art to use quadrature components to acquire multi-nuclei signal [Choi - See pages 11-13 and Methods section].
Regarding claim 15, Gauss and Choi teach the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends from.
Gauss further teaches wherein. the first communication circuit is configured to transmit a first radio frequency signal generated by the magnetic resonance transmitter to the one or more coils [Fig. 2, see transmit path between input junction 10 and RF coil junction 12. See also rest of reference.], the second communication circuit is configured to transmit a first magnetic resonance signal sent from the one or more coils to the magnetic resonance receiver [Fig. 2, see receiver path between the junction 12 and a junction 24. See also rest of reference.].
Gauss is silent in teaching the third communication circuit is configured to transmit a second radio frequency signal generated by the magnetic resonance transmitter to the one or more coils, and the fourth communication circuit is configured to transmit a second magnetic resonance signal sent from the one or more coils to the magnetic resonance receiver, wherein a phase difference between the first radio frequency signal and the second radio frequency signal is 90 degrees.
Choi further teaches the first communication circuit is configured to transmit a first radio frequency signal generated by the magnetic resonance transmitter to the one or more coils, the second communication circuit is configured to transmit a first magnetic resonance signal sent from the one or more coils to the magnetic resonance receiver, the third communication circuit is configured to transmit a second radio frequency signal generated by the magnetic resonance transmitter to the one or more coils, and the fourth communication circuit is configured to transmit a second magnetic resonance signal sent from the one or more coils to the magnetic resonance receiver, wherein a phase difference between the first radio frequency signal and the second radio frequency signal is 90 degrees [Figs. 1-2, wherein both circuits include components for transmit and receive paths for both 1H and 19F frequencies. See quadrature disclosed throughout reference. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Choi because both references are in the field of T/R switches for multi-nuclei MRI and Choi teaches it is known in the art to use quadrature components to acquire multi-nuclei signal [Choi - See pages 11-13 and Methods section].
Regarding claim 16, Gauss and Choi teach the limitations of claim 14, which this claim depends from.
Gauss and Choi both further teach wherein the communication circuit includes two radio frequency power switches, the two radio frequency power switches support signal transmission at multiple frequencies and are configured to control an operating mode of the magnetic resonance radio frequency power transceiver [Gauss – See PIN diodes. Choi – See PIN diodes. See also rest of both reference.].
Regarding claim 18, Gauss teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends from.
Gauss is silent in teaching wherein the one or more coils includes multiple groups of coils, each group of coils respectively corresponds to the one or more radio frequency signals or the one or more magnetic resonance signals of the different kind of nuclide.
Choi further teaches wherein the one or more coils includes multiple groups of coils, each group of coils respectively corresponds to the one or more radio frequency signals or the one or more magnetic resonance signals of the different kind of nuclide [See single-tuned coils. See also rest of reference.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Choi because both references are in the field of T/R switches for multi-nuclei MRI and Choi teaches it is known in the art to use multiple single-tuned RF coils for acquiring multi-nuclei signals and have similar signal qualities [Choi – See Abstract].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited Gauss, in view of previously cited Choi, in view of Hetherington (US 2012/0223706).
Regarding claim 17, Gauss and Choi teach the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends from.
Choi further teaches wherein a frequency point supported by each of the two radio frequency power switches is within a range of 100-500 MHz [See page 13 and Results section].
However, Gauss and Choi are silent in teaching a power of the radio frequency power switch is 1000W.
Hetherington further teaches a power of the radio frequency power switch is 1000W [¶0174].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gauss and Choi with the teachings of Hetherington because Heatherington teaches 1 kW is a moderate power for a RF switch [Heatherington - ¶0174], wherein Abou-Khousa and Choi both teach RF switches.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RISHI R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858