DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by [Cho et al (Fig. 10); 8,947,165].
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising an input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and an output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), a carrier amplifier (210) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), a peak amplifier (220) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), a first phase shift circuit (410) which is connected between the carrier amplifier (210) and the output terminal (output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), an auxiliary amplifier (200) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and the carrier amplifier (210), and a second phase shift circuit (400) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and the carrier amplifier (210).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the second phase shift circuit (400) which is connected between the input end (input terminal of 210) of the carrier amplifier (210) and a connection point (the node between the elements 200 and 310) between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and an output end (output terminal of 200) of the auxiliary amplifier (200), a first end (upper terminal of 410) of the first phase shift circuit (410) is connected to the output end (output terminal of 210) of the carrier amplifier (210), and a second end (lower terminal of 410) of the first phase shift circuit (410) is connected to a connection point between an output end (output terminal of 220) of the peak amplifier (220) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation recited in claim 11 is intended use of the invention.
Regarding claim 12, Cho et al further comprising a power splitter (the node between the elements 100 and 200) connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and input ends (input terminal of 210, input terminal of 220, input terminal of 200) of the carrier amplifier (210), the peak amplifier (220), and the auxiliary amplifier (200).
Regarding claim 13, wherein a bias voltage (left most output signal of 600) applied to the auxiliary amplifier (200) is equal to a bias voltage (right most output signal of 600) applied to the peak amplifier (220).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the first phase shift circuit (410) is connected between the peak amplifier (220) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT).
Regarding claim 16, Regarding claim 1, Cho et al discloses an amplifier circuit comprising an input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and an output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), a carrier amplifier (210) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), a peak amplifier (220) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), a first phase shift circuit (410) which is connected between an output end (output terminal of 210) of the carrier amplifier (210) and the output terminal (the terminal generating the output signal RF OUTPUT), an auxiliary amplifier (200) which is connected between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and an input end (input terminal of 210) of the carrier amplifier (210), and a second phase shift circuit (400) which is connected between the input end (input terminal of 210) of the carrier amplifier (210) and a connection point (the node between the elements 200 and 310) between the input terminal (the terminal applying the input signal RF INPUT) and an output end (output terminal of 200) of the auxiliary amplifier (200).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art of record, Cho et al does not disclose the following limitation: a third phase shift circuit ------------- input end of the carrier amplifier. Regarding claims 3 and 8, the closest prior art of record, Cho et al does not disclose the following limitation: a transformer including ----------connected to a ground. Regarding claim 9, the closest prior art of record, Cho et al does not disclose the following limitation: the first phase shift circuit -------------- advances an input signal by 90 degrees. Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art of record, Cho et al does not disclose the following limitation: an attenuator ---------- the auxiliary amplifier. Regarding claim 15, the closest prior art of record, Cho et al does not disclose the following limitation: the second phase shift circuit ----------------peak amplifier at the output terminal. Regarding claim 17, the closest prior art of record, Cho et al does not disclose the following limitation: a transformer ------------------------ connected to a ground.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
2024/0,120,886 teaches a Doherty amplifier with the phase shift circuits.
20050280466 also teaches a Doherty amplifier with the phase shift circuits.
/HENRY CHOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843
#2988