DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 1-5, 7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Debates in view of Nyalamadugu (US 11775795 B2).
As to claim 1, Debates discloses in on-demand activation of radio frequency identification (rfid) tag having claimed:
a. a carrier structure, comprising: a carrier read on Col. 4, Lines 17-32 and Col. 8, Lines 56-67, (example RFID environment 100 includes a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag 102 having an integrated circuit (IC) 104 and an antenna 106, an electronic device 108 having an RFID reader 110, an interrogation signal 112, and a response signal 114. FIG. 3-2 depicts additional example RFID tag implementations for on-demand activation of RFID tags in accordance with one or more embodiments. For example embodiments, RFID tag 102(1)-2 includes (i) an RFID substrate 202 having a first RFID substrate side 202(1) and a second RFID substrate side 202(2) and (ii) a removable temporary adhesive protector 304-1. Second RFID substrate side 202(2) includes an antenna 106 having a first antenna end 206(1) and a second antenna end 206(2));
b. an antenna structure on the carrier; a reception region designed for removable reception of an RF chip, the reception region being arranged relative to the antenna structure in such a way that inductive coupling to the antenna structure is enabled when the RF chip is arranged in the reception region read on Col. 6, Lines 30-35 and Col. 8, Lines 56-67, (an RFID substrate of an RFID tag may be adhered to another object, such as in a shipping or product label usage scenario; may be incorporated into another object, such as packaging material or a medical implement; may comprise an object having another purpose, such as for storage or shipping; and so forth. FIG. 3-2 depicts additional example RFID tag implementations for on-demand activation of RFID tags in accordance with one or more embodiments. For example embodiments, RFID tag 102(1)-2 includes (i) an RFID substrate 202 having a first RFID substrate side 202(1) and a second RFID substrate side 202(2) and (ii) a removable temporary adhesive protector 304-1. Second RFID substrate side 202(2) includes an antenna 106 having a first antenna end 206(1) and a second antenna end 206(2));
c. an inductive blocking element on the carrier, which in a first position of the inductive blocking element blocks communication with the RF chip using the antenna structure and in a second position of the inductive blocking element enables communication with the RF chip using the antenna structure read on Col. 6, Line 54 – Col. 7, Line 7, (disable tab 304 is detachably attached to RFID tag 102(1). RFID tag 102(1) is in an inactive state if disable tab 304 is attached, but RFID tag 102(1) is in an active state if disable tab 304 is detached from RFID tag 102(1). Activation circuitry 302, based at least partially on if disable tab 304 is attached to RFID tag 102(1), places RFID tag 102(1) in, or causes RFID tag 102(1) to be in, an active state or an inactive state. With an active state, RFID tag 102(1) is responsive to an interrogation signal. With an inactive state, RFID tag 102(1) is not responsive to an interrogation signal. In operation, RFID tag 102(1) may be manufactured to be in an inactive state due to the presence of disable tab 304. To activate RFID tag 102(1) on-demand, a person or end-user may detach disable tab 304. Detachment of disable tab 304 (e.g., separation, tearing, removal, etc. of disable tab 304 from RFID tag 102(1)) may be partial or may be complete. Detachment of disable tab 304 (e.g., dislocation, peeling back, withdrawal, etc. of disable tab 304 from RFID tag 102(1)) may be permanent or may be subject to re-attachment to deactivate RFID tag 102(1)). Debates does nor explicitly disclose he antenna structure in such a way that wireless inductive coupling to between the RF chip and the antenna structure.
However, Nyalamadugu in RFID switch tag that can be used for multiple applications cures this deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial wherein
d. the antenna structure in such a way that wireless inductive coupling to between the RF chip and the antenna structure Read on Col. 5, Line 59 – Col. 6, Line 8, (the at least one UHF RFID module included in detachable component 220 is coupled with UHF booster antenna 230 included in base component 210 to form an UHF RFID system of desire performances. For example, the desired performances include a desired operating range for the UHF RFID system. In one embodiment, an UHF coupling antenna within the at least one UHF RFID module in detachable component 220 is positioned in a manner to ensure a sufficient amount of coupling, such as an inductive coupling, a capacitive coupling, or both, between the UHF coupling antenna in detachable component 220 and UHF booster antenna 230 in base component 210. The at least one UHF RFID module and the HF RFID tag, such as an NFC tag included in the detachable component 220 can be active, passive, or battery-assisted passive without departing from the scope of the inventive concept of this disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to incorporate the detachable radio frequency identification switch tag of Nyalamadugu into Debates in order to provide a wireless communication devices incorporating HF and/or UHF RFID reader capabilities and provide greater read distances and faster data transfer rates, and are thus commonly deployed in electronic toll collection systems.
As to claim 2, Debates further discloses:
a. wherein the inductive blocking element contains an electrically conductive surface, in particular a metal surface read on Col. 7, Line 62 – Col. 8, Line 12, (temporary adhesive protector 304-1 is an example implementation of a disable tab 304 (e.g., of FIG. 3). Temporary adhesive protector 304-1 includes at least one conductive element 314 and is adapted to cover adhesive 310, at least until a person wishes to adhere RFID tag 102(1)-1 to another object. Alternatively, a disable tab 304 may be attached to an RFID tag using a different mechanism than an adhesive, such as a perforated tear-able material, a break-away material, and so forth. A circuit element 312 may comprise, for example, a pad, a connective circuit element, a one or two-dimensional conductive element, an electrical contact, or some combination thereof. Operability input 316 may comprise, for example, a reset input, a chip enable input, a standby input, or some combination thereof. Connective circuit element 320 may comprise, for example, a conductive material connecting two or more other circuit elements, a trace, a lead line, a wire, a portion of a bus, or some combination thereof).
As to claim 3, Debates further discloses:
a. wherein the inductive blocking element includes an electrically closed turn, which in the first position is positioned so that it blocks communication with the RF chip using the antenna structure and in a second position of the inductive blocking element enables communication with the RF chip using the antenna structure read on Col. 6, Line 56 – Col. 7, Line 7, (disable tab 304 is detachably attached to RFID tag 102(1). RFID tag 102(1) is in an inactive state if disable tab 304 is attached, but RFID tag 102(1) is in an active state if disable tab 304 is detached from RFID tag 102(1). Activation circuitry 302, based at least partially on if disable tab 304 is attached to RFID tag 102(1), places RFID tag 102(1) in, or causes RFID tag 102(1) to be in, an active state or an inactive state. With an active state, RFID tag 102(1) is responsive to an interrogation signal. With an inactive state, RFID tag 102(1) is not responsive to an interrogation signal. In operation, RFID tag 102(1) may be manufactured to be in an inactive state due to the presence of disable tab 304. To activate RFID tag 102(1) on-demand, a person or end-user may detach disable tab 304. Detachment of disable tab 304 (e.g., separation, tearing, removal, etc. of disable tab 304 from RFID tag 102(1)) may be partial or may be complete. Detachment of disable tab 304 (e.g., dislocation, peeling back, withdrawal, etc. of disable tab 304 from RFID tag 102(1)) may be permanent or may be subject to re-attachment to deactivate RFID tag 102(1)).
As to claim 4, Debates further discloses:
a. wherein the inductive blocking element has a single low-resistance closed turn, electromagnetic energy is drawn from the antenna structure in the first position read on Col. 6, Lines 43-54, (FIG. 3 illustrates an example RFID tag 102(1) for implementations of on-demand RFID tag activation in accordance with one or more embodiments. As illustrated in logical or block diagram form, example RFID tag 102(1) includes an RFID substrate 202, an IC 104, an antenna 106, activation circuitry 302, and a disable tab 304. IC 104 is coupled to antenna 106 or activation circuitry 302; antenna 106 is coupled to IC 104 or activation circuitry 302; and activation circuitry 302 is coupled to IC 104 or antenna 106. Disable tab 304 may be included as part of or may be separate from RFID substrate 202).
As to claim 7, Debates further discloses:
a. wherein the antenna structure has two respectively spiral antenna parts read on Col. 8, Line 56 – Col. 9, Line 6, (an RFID substrate 202 having a first RFID substrate side 202(1) and a second RFID substrate side 202(2) and (ii) a removable temporary adhesive protector 304-1. Second RFID substrate side 202(2) includes an antenna 106 having a first antenna end 206(1) and a second antenna end 206(2). First RFID substrate side 202(1) includes an IC 104, at least one adhesive portion 310, at least one circuit element 312 that is part of activation circuitry 302 (e.g., of FIG. 3), a ground node 318, and a connective circuit element 320).
As to claim 9, Debates further discloses:
a. wherein the carrier is folded in the first position, while the carrier is not folded in the second position Col. 6, Lines 54-67, (For example embodiments, disable tab 304 is detachably attached to RFID tag 102(1). RFID tag 102(1) is in an inactive state if disable tab 304 is attached, but RFID tag 102(1) is in an active state if disable tab 304 is detached from RFID tag 102(1). Activation circuitry 302, based at least partially on if disable tab 304 is attached to RFID tag 102(1), places RFID tag 102(1) in, or causes RFID tag 102(1) to be in, an active state or an inactive state. With an active state, RFID tag 102(1) is responsive to an interrogation signal. With an inactive state, RFID tag 102(1) is not responsive to an interrogation signal).
As to claim 11, Debates further discloses:
a. wherein the reception region is adapted to receive a chip card, which has the RF chip read on Col. 6, Lines 30-35 and Col. 8, Lines 56-67, (an RFID substrate of an RFID tag may be adhered to another object, such as in a shipping or product label usage scenario; may be incorporated into another object, such as packaging material or a medical implement; may comprise an object having another purpose, such as for storage or shipping; and so forth.
6. Claim 6, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Debates in view of Nyalamadugu and further in view of Harney (CA 3147212 A1).
As to claim 6, Debates does not explicitly recite where a reception apparatus for a cellphone.
However, Debates in view of Nyalamadugu in RFID signal repeater system includes a RFID repeater circuit and a housing body cures this deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial wherein a reception apparatus for a cellphone read on page 46, (database via a network. It should be noted that the external RFID device may be any device configured with an appropriate controller, memory and RFID interface (i.e. RFID and or NFC) for reading and or writing to an RFID device, and preferably also configured with a mobile network interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to incorporate the radio frequency signal repeater system of Harney into Debates in view of Nyalamadugu in order to provide external RFID repeater can be tuned to transmit and receive RFID communications to and from RFID antenna contained within an electromagnetically shielding
metal housing of a pluggable transceiver through an aperture.
As to claim 8, Harney further teaches:
a. wherein the antenna parts are electrically connected to one another by a connecting line read on Page 99, (a plane defining the first housing portion and a plane defining the second housing portion further define a non-zero angle therebetween. The electrical circuit 160 can be curved and/or flexed to make the electrical connection between the non-planar first and second housing portions).
As to claim 10, Harney further teaches:
a. wherein the carrier is cellulose-based read on Page 91, ( the substrate 110 can be a substantially rigid assembly, such as a single layer, or multi-layer, fiber glass epoxy based PCBA that includes dielectric materials and containing and/or supporting RFID antenna electrical circuits. For example, the thickness of a typical 2-layer PCB substrate can be approximately 1.6mm. In an alternative embodiment, the substrate 110 can be a flexible assembly, for example an assembly consisting of flexible plastic film or sheet materials such as polyester (polyethylene terephthalate PET or PETE), polyimide, etc., laminated together containing and or supporting RFID antenna electrical circuits. For example, the thickness of a typical 2-layer flex substrate can be approximately in a range of 0.12mm to 0.22mm. Note: Harney teaches the claimed invention except for cellulose-based material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select any material from commonly know material since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material, textured, on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice.
As to claim 12, Harney further teaches:
a. n envelope comprising an inductive blocking instrument operable to block an antenna structure that has been introduced into the envelope read on Page 51, (the designated area can be located on the PCBA 32 and provides an RF interface for the external RFID reader 40, said area being configured to enable RFID communications therefrom with the RFID antenna 39 and RFID memory or reader 36. The RF interface may include at least one dielectric interface surrounded by an electromagnetically shielding material such as to create a path for RFID communications between an interior and an exterior of the housing 12. Preferably, the dielectric interface is sized and configured to attenuate and/or block unintended electro-magnetic waves passing through the interface. In the present embodiment, the dielectric interface comprises air, and is defined by aperture 26 formed in a sidewall of the housing 12. In this configuration, the shielding material surrounding the dielectric interface is the metal forming housing. Note: The shielding material attenuates electromagnetic signals regardless of whether the antenna is enclosed within the envelope. Harney teaches a shielding material the claimed invention except for the antenna is enclosed within the envelope. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to enclose the antenna in an envelope and place the shielding material outside of the envelope, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 5 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4 & 6-12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection that was necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Citation of pertinent Prior Arts
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
i. Lee (KR 20090064026 A) discloses in an external battery pack is provided to reduce the number of parts and manufacturing costs, to ensure excellent processing efficiency by patterning a loop antenna or a protection circuit on a pack case itself. An external battery pack has a patterned loop antenna(200) for transmitting and receiving of radio frequency inside a pack case(100) for receiving a battery cell and protecting an exterior of the battery cell. Also, the external battery pack contains a patterned or mounted safety device and/or a protection circuit for preventing overheating, overcurrent, overcharging or over discharging, and
ii. Keller (US 11069952 B2) discloses in diagnostic apparatus for analysis, testing, inspecting and/or screening an integrated and assembled electrically powered equipment rack and its populated cards and devices for measurement of degree of device aging, improper operation, degradation, condition, and/or Remaining Useful Life (RUL). The device includes an antenna card with a detachably attachable antenna module that can be positioned at a distance from the electrically devices under test and a signal receiver or sensor for examining a signal from the electrically powered device, but especially applied to rackmount supported electronics and/or chassis based electronics. The receiver or sensor collects unintended and/or intended RF energy components emitted by the electrically powered device and performs the above analysis in a response to the acquired signal input while the electrically powered device is active or powered.
Conclusion
10. If the claimed invention is amended, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification, which dictate(s) the structure/description relied upon to assist the Examiner in proper interpretation of the amended language and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fekadeselassie Girma whose telephone number is (571) 270-5886. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday, 8:30 – 5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached on (571) 272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Fekadeselassie Girma/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2689