Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 11, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 remain
pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argued that Mimura in view of Rebhan does not teach the features of amended claims 1, 6.
In this office action, Kawate is cited to reject the amended features of the independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 8, 9, “predicted to be a driving lane” should be “predicted to be in a driving lane”. Appropriate correction is required.
((display show represent) SAME vehicle SAME (icon symbol))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura (US 20200079379 A1), which was cited by Applicant in view of Kawate et al. (US 20210155159 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mimura discloses:
An autonomous driving system comprising {paragraph [0038] discloses autonomous driving control. Fig. 1 discloses automated driving control device 100}:
a vehicle detection device for detecting surrounding vehicles present in surroundings of a host vehicle {[0061] and [0062] disclose a recognizer, construed as the vehicle detector, which detects surrounding vehicles. Fig. 1 discloses the camera 10, radar 12 and object recognizing device 16};
a display device for displaying the surrounding vehicles detected by the vehicle detection device as vehicle icons {[0003]: displaying lanes near a subject vehicle and icons representing the subject vehicle and other vehicles on a display screen}; and
a processor configured to: control display content of the display device; control autonomous driving of the host vehicle {abstract: display controller, driving controller};
wherein the processor is configured to control acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle so that the host vehicle does not approach the vehicle necessitating deceleration {[0094]: for deceleration or acceleration for moving the subject vehicle M}.
Mimura does not disclose:
set, as a vehicle necessitating deceleration, a surrounding vehicle present on an adjacent lane of the host vehicle and predicted to be a driving lane of the host vehicle in front of the host vehicle among the surrounding vehicles detected by the vehicle detection device, when a plurality of surrounding vehicles detected by the vehicle detection device are displayed on the display device, the processor is configured to display a vehicle icon of the vehicle necessitating deceleration so that the vehicle necessitating deceleration is emphasized the most among vehicle icons of the plurality of surrounding vehicles.
Kawate teaches setting, as a vehicle necessitating deceleration, a surrounding vehicle present on an adjacent lane of the host vehicle and predicted to be a driving lane of the host vehicle in front of the host vehicle among the surrounding vehicles detected by the vehicle detection device in Fig. 5(B) and paragraph (0091]: In FIG. 5(B), a cut-in vehicle (second object) C2 has appeared. Examiner notes that a cut-in vehicle necessitates deceleration of the own vehicle. Kawate teaches emphasizing most the icon of the vehicle necessitating deceleration among vehicle icons of the plurality of surrounding vehicles in Figs. 5(B) and [0092]: In FIG. 5(B), by lowering the visibility of the first overlaid images C1 a and C1 b according to the distance from the vehicle (host vehicle) 20, a visibility control is executed such that, for example, the visibility of the second overlaid image C2 of the cut-in vehicle (second object) B2 is the highest… paying the greatest attention to the cut-in object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vehicle necessitating deceleration emphasizing feature of Kawate with the described invention of Mimura in order for the driver to pay the greatest attention to the cut-in vehicle.
Similar reasoning applies to claim 6.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura in view of Kawate and in further view of Muraki (JP2017181125A).
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1, modified Mimura does not disclose: wherein the processer is configured to display the vehicle icon of the vehicle necessitating deceleration present on the adjacent lane of the host vehicle at a hue different from the vehicle icons of the remaining surrounding vehicles.
Muraki teaches use of different hue in vehicle display in paragraph [0051] of English translation: the degree of emphasis can be represented by the amount of color change from the basic color. The amount of change in color is at least one of hue, saturation, and lightness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the different hue display feature of Muraki with the described invention of modified Mimura in order to facilitate displaying differently.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 1, Muraki teaches: wherein the processer is configured to display the vehicle icon of the vehicle necessitating deceleration present on the adjacent lane of the host vehicle in a first display mode, and the vehicle icon of a first preceding vehicle positioned in front of the host vehicle in the driving lane of the host vehicle and closest to the host vehicle in a second display mode, which is different in hue from the first display mode {[0051]: change in hue}.
In relation to this limitation, Mimura teaches differently displaying the vehicle necessitating deceleration present on the adjacent lane and the preceding vehicle in Figs. 7 and 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the different hue display feature of Muraki with the described invention of modified Mimura in order to facilitate displaying differently.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 3, Muraki teaches: wherein the first display mode is a chromatic color, and the second display mode is an achromatic color {[0031]: an achromatic color, a chromatic color}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the achromatic color and chromatic color features of Muraki with the described invention of modified Mimura in order to facilitate displaying differently.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 3, Muraki teaches: wherein, when a surrounding vehicle present on the adjacent lane of the host vehicle and displayed on the display device is set to the vehicle necessitating deceleration, the processor is configured to change the display mode of the vehicle icon of the surrounding vehicle to the first display mode {[0051]}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the different hue display feature of Muraki with the described invention of modified Mimura in order to facilitate displaying differently.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661