DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirayama (JP 2004201459 A)(English Translated).
In Regards to Claim 1:
Hirayama teaches a cable assembly (Fig. 2) comprising a cable (Fig. 1) and a connector (9), wherein the cable (Fig. 1) comprises:
a pair of transmission conductors (1) having conductivity; a dielectric (2) covering the pair of transmission conductors (1); an outer conductor (3) covering a surface of the dielectric (2); and a sheath (4) covering the outer conductor (3), wherein the cable (Fig. 1) comprises
a first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), a second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and a third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) sequentially aligned from a tip of the cable (Fig. 1), wherein in the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the sheath (4), the outer conductor (3), and the dielectric (2) are removed and the pair of transmission conductors (1) are exposed, wherein the second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprises:
a connecting portion (6) in which the sheath (4) is removed and the outer conductor (3) is exposed; and a non-connecting portion (2) covered by the sheath (4), wherein in the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the outer conductor (3) is covered with the sheath (4) entirely over a circumference of the cable (Fig. 1), wherein the connector (9) comprises:
a pair of conductive contacts (91) electrically connected to the pair of transmission conductors (1); and a conductive shell (92) surrounding the pair of conductive contacts (91) and electrically connected to the connecting portion (6).
In Regards to Claim 2:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 1, wherein the connecting portion (6) is adjacent to the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 3:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 1, wherein the non-connecting portion (2) is adjacent to the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 4:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 3, wherein the connecting portion (6) is adjacent to at least a part of the non-connecting portion (2) along the circumference.
In Regards to Claim 5:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 4, wherein the non-connecting portion (2) comprises:
an annular portion adjacent to the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) and extending entirely over the circumference; and a coupling portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) coupling the annular portion to the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and wherein the connecting portion (6) is adjacent to the coupling portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) along the circumference.
In Regards to Claim 6:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 4, wherein each of the connecting portion (6) and the non-connecting portion (2) is adjacent to the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 7:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 6, wherein the connecting portion (6) extends along an array orientation of the pair of transmission conductors (1).
In Regards to Claim 8:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 1, wherein the outer conductor (3) is formed by winding a plate-like member extending along an axial orientation of the cable (Fig. 1) around the dielectric (2), wherein the outer conductor (3) comprises an overlapping portion at which ends of the plate-like member overlap each other, and wherein at least a part of the overlapping portion is covered with the sheath (4) of the non-connecting portion (2) in the second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 9:
Hirayama teaches the cable assembly according to claim 1 comprising a plurality of cables (Fig. 1) including the cable (Fig. 1), each of the plurality of cables (Fig. 1) comprising the pair of transmission conductors (1), the dielectric, the outer conductor (3), the sheath (4), the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), wherein the connector (9) comprises:
a plurality of pairs of conductive contacts (91) including the pair of conductive contacts (91), wherein the plurality of pairs of conductive contacts (91) correspond to the plurality of cables (Fig. 1); and a plurality of conductive shells (7) including the conductive shell (7), wherein the plurality of conductive shells (7) correspond to the plurality of cables (Fig. 1), wherein each of the plurality of conductive shells (7) surrounds a corresponding pair of conductive contacts (91) and connected to the connecting portion (6) of a corresponding cable (Fig. 1).
In Regards to Claim 12:
Hirayama teaches a cable (Fig. 1) comprising:
a pair of transmission conductors (1) having conductivity; a dielectric (2) covering the pair of transmission conductors (1); an outer conductor (3) covering a surface of the dielectric (2); and a sheath (4) covering the outer conductor (3), wherein the cable (Fig. 1) comprises a first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), a second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and a third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) sequentially aligned from a tip of the cable (Fig. 1), wherein in the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the sheath (4), the outer conductor (3), and the dielectric (2) are removed and the pair of transmission conductors (1) are exposed, wherein the second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) comprises:
a connecting portion (6) in which the sheath (4) is removed and the outer conductor (3) is exposed; and a non-connecting portion (2) covered by the sheath (4), wherein in the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), the outer conductor (3) is covered with the sheath (4) entirely over a circumference of the cable (Fig. 1).
In Regards to Claim 13:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 12, wherein the connecting portion (6) is adjacent to the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 14:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 12, wherein the non-connecting portion (2) is adjacent to the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 15:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 14, wherein the connecting portion (6) is adjacent to at least a part of the non-connecting portion (2) along the circumference.
In Regards to Claim 16:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 15, wherein the non-connecting portion (2) comprises:
an annular portion adjacent to the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1) and extending entirely over the circumference; and a coupling portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) coupling the annular portion to the third region (See Reproduced Drawing 1), and wherein the connecting portion (6) is adjacent to the coupling portion (See Reproduced Drawing 1) along the circumference.
In Regards to Claim 17:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 15, wherein each of the connecting portion (6) and the non-connecting portion (2) is adjacent to the first region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
In Regards to Claim 18:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 17, wherein the connecting portion (6) extends along an array orientation of the pair of transmission conductors (1).
In Regards to Claim 19:
Hirayama teaches the cable according to claim 12, wherein the outer conductor (3) is formed by winding a plate-like member extending along an axial orientation of the cable (Fig. 1) around the dielectric (2), wherein the outer conductor (3) comprises an overlapping portion at which ends of the plate-like member overlap each other, and wherein at least a part of the overlapping portion is covered with the sheath (4) of the non-connecting portion (2) in the second region (See Reproduced Drawing 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NADER J ALHAWAMDEH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831