DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 4366919).
Claim 1, Anderson discloses a container having a first chamber for holding a first component (FIG 7; chamber limited by wall 57) and a second chamber for holding a second component (FIG 7; chamber limited by walls 57 and 58), wherein the first chamber is fluidly isolated from the second chamber (FIG 7), and wherein the first chamber and second chamber are secured to and laterally adjacent to one another (FIG 7 and 8; the first and second chamber share wall 57 thereby being secured and laterally adjacent to each other);
an injector configured to receive the container (FIG 9), the injector including a first plunger and a second plunger wherein the first plunger aligns with the first chamber and the second chamber aligns with the second plunger when the container is positioned in the injector (121,123; FIG 11; Col 9, lines 8-22); and
a nozzle configured to engage a distal end of the container, the nozzle positioned to fluidly communicate with the first chamber and the second chamber when attached to the container (FIG 9; Col 8, lines 49-68), the nozzle having an internal labyrinth passage configured to fluidly connect to the first chamber and the second chamber (69; FIG 9; Col 8, lines 49-68),
wherein actuation of the injector causes the first plunger and the second plunger to force the first component and the second component out of the container and into the nozzle wherein the first component and the second component are mixed to form the expandable sealant for injection into the electrical fitting (Col 9, lines 1-7).
Claims 3 and 9, Anderson discloses the injector comprising a trigger (144, 161; FIG 11, 13) for actuating the first plunger and the second plunger (Col 9, line 57 to Col 10, line 3; Col 10, lines 37-62).
Claims 4 and 10, Anderson discloses wherein the trigger (144, 161; FIG 11, 13) is indexed to incrementally displace the first plunger and the second plunger (Col 9, line 57 to Col 10, line 3; Col 10, lines 37-62).
Claims 5 and 11, Anderson discloses a cap (61; FIG 7) configured to engage the container to seal both the first chamber and the second chamber when the nozzle is disconnected from the container.
Claim 7, Anderson discloses attaching the container to an injector (FIG 9), the injector including a first plunger and a second plunger wherein the first plunger aligns with the first chamber and the second plunger aligns with the second chamber when the container is positioned in the injector (121,123; FIG 11; Col 9, lines 8-22), and wherein the first chamber and second chamber are secured to and laterally adjacent to one another (FIG 7 and 8; the first and second chamber share wall 57 thereby being secured and laterally adjacent to each other);
attaching a nozzle to a distal end of the container, the nozzle positioned to fluidly communicate with the first chamber and the second chamber when attached to the container (FIG 9; Col 8, lines 49-68), the nozzle having an internal labyrinth passage configured to fluidly connect to the first chamber and the second chamber (69; FIG 9; Col 8, lines 49-68); and
actuating the injector to cause the first plunger and the second plunger to force the first component and the second component out of the container and into the nozzle wherein the first component and the second component are mixed to form an expandable sealant for injection into an electrical fitting used in a hazardous or harsh environment (Col 9, lines 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson as applied to claims 1 and 7 above.
Claims 6 and 12, Anderson substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on a first valve attached to the first chamber and a second valve attached to the second chamber, the first valve and the second valve configured to be normally closed and to open when the first chamber and the second chamber, respectively, reach a predetermined internal pressure.
Anderson teaches a first valve attached to the first chamber and a second valve attached to the second chamber, the first valve and the second valve configured to be normally closed and to open when the first chamber and the second chamber, respectively, reach a predetermined internal pressure (48-50; FIG 6; Col 7, lines 34 to 61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Anderson with first and second valve as taught by Anderson in order to limit after-flow or drainage of compositions from the ends of the neck passageways.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s argument regarding the newly amended claims are addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754