DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (US 20140087456).
With respect to claim 1, Lim discloses a tissue enclosure enabling creation, maintenance and monitoring of tissue. The enclosure includes a core (Figure 3:10) having a cavity (Figure 3:170), at least one monitoring area, and at least one opening into the cavity. The opening is configured to receive tissue cells into the cavity. The core further includes at least one material ingress (Figure 3:50) and at least one material egress (Figure 3:60). A filter assembly (Figure 3:190) is coupled with the core and is positioned in a fluid-flow path between the cavity and the material egress such that fluid flowing between the material ingress and the material egress passes through the tissue-containing cavity and the filter assembly. This is described in paragraphs [0158]-[0170]. Lim expressly states that a pressure differential is applied across the tissue-containing cavity to generate fluid flow (“a pressure differential is generated between sample inlet 50 and waste port 60 to cause a flow through the device generally in direction A”). Lim states that fluorescence from captured cells/tissue is optically detected, and therefore Lim teaches that the tissue is monitored through the monitoring area.
With respect to claim 4, Lim discloses the apparatus as described above. Lim further indicates that the cells are surrounded by a culture medium.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolfinbarger (US 6416995).
With respect to claim 14, Wolfinbarger discloses a system for incubating an organ comprising an organ scaffold (Figure 1:1) hosting the organ. A tube (Figure 1:9) is coupled with the organ scaffold in order to provide a conduit between a fluid source and the organ scaffold. A chamber (Figure 13:16) houses the organ scaffold and includes at least one inlet and at least one outlet for receiving fluids, maintaining the viability of the organ and evacuating wastes. This is shown in Fig. 16 and described in at least column 10, lines 36-63. Column 11, lines 4-14 state that a flow (Figure 1:13) through an internal fluid cavity of the organ scaffold produces a pressure that causes the scaffold to expand (i.e., inflate) and then deflate according to a fill/empty cycle. Furthermore, it is well established that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (here, the application of pressure according to a fill/empty cycle) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim
With respect to claim 15, Wolfinbarger discloses the system as described above. Wolfinbarger shows that at least one pump (Figure 13:17, 17a, 18) is used to apply pressure to pump fluids and wastes through the chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiyama (US 20160281064) in view of Lim (US 20140087456).
With respect to claim 1, Fujiyama discloses a tissue enclosure enabling creation, maintenance and monitoring of tissue comprising an incoming chamber (Figure 1:17) for admitting a first material in response to a differential pressure, a core including a cavity (Figure 1:15) and a filtration zone (Figure 1:11). The core includes a material ingress (Figure 1:9b), a material egress (Figure 1:13a), and a gel layer (Figure 1:25) to maintain a position of tissue in the cavity. The filter 11 of the filtration zone is positioned between the tissue in the gel layer and the material egress, and therefore fluid flowing between the material ingress and the material egress passes through the tissue-containing cavity and the filter. An effluent chamber (Figure 1:19) receives filtered contents from the core cavity and includes a vacuum outlet. Fig.4 shows an example in which a vacuum negative pressure force is applied to the effluent chamber using a pump (Figure 4:41). This is described in paragraphs [0041]-[0055]. Tissue within the cavity may be monitored using at least one monitoring area, especially given that claims 1 and 10 do not contain any requirements for what constitutes a monitoring area. It is unclear, however, if Fujiyama teaches that a pressure differential is applied across the tissue-containing cavity.
Lim discloses a tissue enclosure enabling creation, maintenance and monitoring of tissue. The enclosure includes a core (Figure 3:10) having a cavity (Figure 3:170), at least one monitoring area, and at least one opening into the cavity. The opening is configured to receive tissue cells into the cavity. The core further includes at least one material ingress (Figure 3:50) and at least one material egress (Figure 3:60). A filter assembly (Figure 3:190) is coupled with the core and is positioned in a fluid-flow path between the cavity and the material egress such that fluid flowing between the material ingress and the material egress passes through the tissue-containing cavity and the filter assembly. This is described in paragraphs [0158]-[0170]. Lim expressly states that a pressure differential is applied across the tissue-containing cavity to generate fluid flow (“a pressure differential is generated between sample inlet 50 and waste port 60 to cause a flow through the device generally in direction A”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the pressure differential is applied across the tissue-containing cavity of Fujiyama in the event that this is not already required. Lim teaches that this allows one to effectively control fluid conditions within a cell and tissue culture device (“the control system 20 maintains a desired pressure setting through software control via the computer 110 which drives the programmable syringe pump 120 to apply a pressure differential to the syringes to control fluid flow through the micro-fluidic device 10. In particular, the programmable syringe pump 120 applies a pressure differential to the sample 30 syringe 40 and the waste syringe 70 to control flow from the inlet 50 to the waste outlet 60. The programmable syringe pump 120 may also control the application of reagents into the micro-fluidic device 10 and control the syringes to facilitate the collection of target cells from the micro-fluidic device 10 into the cell collection syringe 80 and facilitate collection of large waste material from the micro-fluidic device 10 into the blockage syringe”). Lim also describes how the pressure differential may be reversed using known pumping means to create a desired effect.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Fujiyama and Lim disclose the combination as described above. Fujiyama indicates that a fluid medium surrounds the tissue disposed in the cavity, and that the tissue cells are disposed on a gel 25.
With respect to claim 8, Fujiyama and Lim disclose the combination as described above. Fujiyama shows that a tissue enclosure top (Figure 1:13) is removably connected to the core.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20140087456) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of O’Mahony (US 20180230423).
Lim discloses the apparatus as described above, however does not state that the core includes a heater and is compatible with 3D printing.
O’Mahony discloses a tissue enclosure for growing tissue cells in a hydrogel matrix. See Fig. 3. O’Mahony teaches in paragraphs [0008]-[0032] that tissues are printed into the enclosure using a 3D printer. O’Mahony further states that a heater (see Fig. 1) is used to maintain the temperature of the cell culture.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Lim device with a heater operable in combination with a multi-dimensional printer. As evidenced by O’Mahony, it is well known in the art that tissue cells are temperature-sensitive and require stabile environmental conditions. O’Mahony additionally teaches in paragraphs [0003]-[0007] that 3D printing techniques improve on two-dimensional techniques that are difficult, expensive and laborious. Furthermore, it is noted that the claim is drawn to a “tissue enclosure” that is not further limited by the recitation of a “multi-dimensional printer”, which is an external, independent structure. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (here, 3D printing) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiyama (US 20160281064) in view of Lim (US 20140087456) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of O’Mahony (US 20180230423).
Fujiyama and Lim disclose the combination as described above, however do not state that the core includes a heater and is compatible with 3D printing.
O’Mahony discloses a tissue enclosure for growing tissue cells in a hydrogel matrix. See Fig. 3. O’Mahony teaches in paragraphs [0008]-[0032] that tissues are printed into the enclosure using a 3D printer. O’Mahony further states that a heater (see Fig. 1) is used to maintain the temperature of the cell culture.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Fujiyama device with a heater operable in combination with a multi-dimensional printer. As evidenced by O’Mahony, it is well known in the art that tissue cells are temperature-sensitive and require stabile environmental conditions. O’Mahony additionally teaches in paragraphs [0003]-[0007] that 3D printing techniques improve on two-dimensional techniques that are difficult, expensive and laborious. Furthermore, it is noted that the claim is drawn to a “tissue enclosure” that is not further limited by the recitation of a “multi-dimensional printer”, which is an external, independent structure. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (here, 3D printing) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Claims 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20140087456) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Llabjani (US 20180371390).
Lim discloses the apparatus as described above, but does not expressly teach a gel medium and a removable top.
Llabjani discloses a tissue enclosure enabling creation, maintenance and monitoring of tissue comprising a core (Figure 2:2) including a cavity. The cavity comprises at least one monitoring area where tissue scaffold blocks (Figure 2:3) are positioned, and paragraphs [0018]-[0036] indicate that the tissue is surrounded by a medium that may include a gel. Paragraphs [0112]-[0117] teach that a plurality of filter assemblies (Figure 2:4) is coupled with the core and may be positioned to surround the tissue scaffold blocks. The pores of the filters are selected to confine the tissue within the cavity. Paragraphs [0088]-[0091] further state that a transparent window is provided along a wall of the core to facilitate optical monitoring of the tissue. Llabjani further states in paragraphs [0018]-[0036] that the tissue is surrounded by a medium that may include a gel. Llabjani shows that the core is mated with a tissue enclosure top (Figure 2:5) that is removable.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Lim enclosure with known cell culture and maintenance systems, such as a gel medium and a removable enclosure lid. Llabjani indicates that the gel provides a biocompatible matrix for continued cell growth and development, and that the removable lid improves detection and material transfer. It is prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfinbarger (US 6416995) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Fuhr (US 20060194309) and Breuer (US 20110281358).
Wolfinbarger discloses the system as described above and indicates that the organ scaffold comprises a fluid cavity for receiving and emitting fluids (Figure 1:13) into an interior of the organ scaffold. Wolfinbarger further states in column 14, line 42 to column 16, line 67 that a plurality of cells is disposed on the scaffold in a manner that is associated with the biology of the organ. Wolfinbarger, however, does not expressly state that the scaffold includes a compliant wrapper and at least one layer of fiber.
Fuhr discloses an organ scaffold comprising a fluid cavity (Figure 1B:31) coupled to a tube (Figure 1A:13). The fluid cavity is configured to receive and emit fluids into and out of the organ scaffold. A compliant wrapper (Figure 1A:12) enables inflation and deflation of the cavity. This is taught in at least paragraphs [0038]-[0044]. Fuhr further states that a plurality of cells (Figure 1C:20, 22) are disposed on an outer layer of the scaffold to mimic the biology of an organ.
Breuer discloses an organ scaffold (Figure 1A:21) having a fluid cavity for receiving and emitting a fluid. At least paragraphs [0079]-[0086] teach that the scaffold is configured as a three-dimensional matrix formed of polymeric fibers that are assembled as a mesh.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Wolfinbarger scaffold with a compliant wrapper and at least one layer of fibrous material. Fuhr teaches that compliant and elastic materials, such as silicone membranes, are useful because they permit stretching and strain forces that mimic in vivo conditions. Breuer teaches that fiber layers are typically incorporated into organ scaffolds because include pores sized to allow cells to adhere, grow and/or differentiate, while also facilitating the diffusion of critical gases, wastes and nutrients.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,939,566.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims of U.S. Pat. No. 11,939,566 include limitations directed to:
A tissue enclosure enabling creation, maintenance, and monitoring of tissue comprising:
a core including a cavity, the core having at least one monitoring area and at least one opening into the cavity, the at least one opening being configured to receive the tissue into the cavity, the core accommodating at least one material ingress and at least one material egress; and
at least one filter assembly operably coupled with the core,
wherein the tissue is confined within the cavity by the at least one filter assembly,
wherein the at least one filter assembly is positioned in a fluid-flow path between the cavity and at least one of the material ingress and the material egress such that fluid flowing between the material ingress and the material egress passes through the tissue-containing cavity and the at least one filter assembly,
wherein the life of the tissue is maintained at least by fluid flowing through the cavity between the at least one material ingress and the at least one material egress under a pressure differential applied across the tissue-containing cavity, and
wherein the tissue is monitored through the at least one monitoring area.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,618,042.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims of U.S. Pat. No. 12,618,042 include limitations directed to:
A tissue enclosure enabling creation, maintenance, and monitoring of tissue comprising:
a core including a cavity, the core having at least one monitoring area and at least one opening into the cavity, the at least one opening being configured to receive the tissue into the cavity, the core accommodating at least one material ingress and at least one material egress; and
at least one filter assembly operably coupled with the core,
wherein the tissue is confined within the cavity by the at least one filter assembly,
wherein the at least one filter assembly is positioned in a fluid-flow path between the cavity and at least one of the material ingress and the material egress such that fluid flowing between the material ingress and the material egress passes through the tissue-containing cavity and the at least one filter assembly,
wherein the life of the tissue is maintained at least by fluid flowing through the cavity between the at least one material ingress and the at least one material egress under a pressure differential applied across the tissue-containing cavity, and
wherein the tissue is monitored through the at least one monitoring area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 1-9 remain rejected according to the double patenting rejections above.
Applicant’s amendment and remarks are sufficient to distinguish these claims from the prior art. Although filter assemblies having a plenum are generally known in the art, it is unclear how a plenum would be introduced into the Lim, Llabjani or Fujiyama devices.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s amendment filed 10 September 2026, the previous rejections of claims 1-9 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the Lim reference.
Applicant's arguments filed 10 September 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 14-16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wolfinbarger does not disclose the required chamber configuration. Wolfinbarger, however, teaches the expressly teaches the required scaffold, tube, fluid source and chamber for the reasons expressed in the rejection above. Applicant's arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
This is a non-final rejection.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799