DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,031,906. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are anticipated by the patented claims.
Regarding claim 1, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims a method for mapping distribution of chemical compounds in soil (claim 2, col. 13, lines 1-2), the method comprising the steps of:
inserting a probe into the soil at at least one location (line 3);
obtaining spectroscopic data regarding the soil (line 4);
sampling a core of soil adjacent to the at least one probe location (line 5);
dividing the core into multiple depth increments (line 6);
analyzing the core (line 7);
matching each core with a corresponding depth increment of the probe insertion (lines 8-9);
obtaining probe insertion data from the probe insertion (line 10);
dividing the probe insertion data into training, validation, and test categories (lines 11-12);
normalizing the probe insertion data on a spectrum by spectrum basis, utilizing a machine learning normalization algorithm (lines 16-18); and
choosing a model utilizing a test set (line 21).
Regarding claim 2, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising the steps of: resampling spectral variables from the probe insertion data to a wavelength interval longer than a native wavelength interval of an associated spectrometer (claim 1, lines 13-15); and standardizing the spectral variables to a common scale by removing a mean and scaling to unit variance (claim 1, lines 19-20).
Regarding claim 3, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising utilizing a global navigation satellite system to record the location of the probe (claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising measuring a depth the probe was inserted into the soil (claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising measuring a pressure at which the probe was inserted into the soil (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising determining at least one of the group consisting of elevation, slope, surface curvature, relative topographic position, and topographic wetness index of the soil (claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising determining at least one of the group consisting of soil type, soil texture, and parent material type (claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising reducing the number of spectral variables using a Recursive Feature Elimination algorithm with cross-validation and support vector regression (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising generating all possible combinations of spectral normalization, regressors, and regressor parameters (claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising: evaluating each of the combinations using five-fold cross validation; and choosing the combination yielding a lowest root mean square error of cross-validation, wherein the machine learning normalization algorithm is either a standard normal variate or a Savitzky-Golay algorithm (claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims a non-transitory computer readable storage device storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computer controls the computer to perform a method comprising (claim 11, col. 13, lines 54-57):
inserting a probe into soil at at least one location (col. 14, line 1);
obtaining spectroscopic data regarding the soil (line 2);
sampling a core of soil adjacent to the probe location (line 3);
dividing the core into multiple depth increments (line 4);
analyzing the core (line 5);
matching each core with a corresponding depth increment of the probe insertion (lines 6-7);
obtaining probe insertion data from the probe insertion (line 8);
dividing the probe insertion data into training, validation, and test categories (lines 9-10);
normalizing the probe insertion data on a spectrum by spectrum basis, utilizing a machine learning normalization algorithm (lines 14-16); and
choosing a model utilizing a test set (line 19).
Regarding claim 12, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising the steps of: resampling spectral variables from the probe insertion data to a wavelength interval longer than a native wavelength interval of an associated spectrometer (claim 11, col. 14, lines 11-13); and standardizing the spectral variables to a common scale by removing a mean and scaling to unit variance (claim 11, col. 14, lines 17-18).
Regarding claim 13, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising utilizing a global navigation satellite system to record the location of the probe (claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising measuring a depth the probe was inserted into the soil (claim 13).
Regarding claim 15, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising measuring a pressure at which the probe was inserted into the soil (claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising determining at least one of the group consisting of elevation, slope, surface curvature, relative topographic position, and topographic wetness index of the soil (claim 15).
Regarding claim 17, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising determining at least one of the group consisting of soil type, soil texture, and parent material type (claim 16).
Regarding claim 18, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising reducing the number of spectral variables using a Recursive Feature Elimination algorithm with cross-validation and support vector regression (claim 17).
Regarding claim 19, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising generating all possible combinations of spectral normalization, regressors, and regressor parameters (claim 18).
Regarding claim 20, Patent No. 12,031,906 claims further comprising: evaluating each of the combinations using five-fold cross validation; and choosing the combination yielding a lowest root mean square error of cross-validation, wherein the machine learning normalization algorithm is either a standard normal variate or a Savitzky-Golay algorithm (claim 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Viscarra Rossel et al. (US 2018/0188225 A1), hereinafter “Viscarra Rossel”.
Regarding claim 1, Viscarra Rossel discloses a method for mapping distribution of chemical compounds in soil (abstract, Figs. 2, 12, 17, 25), the method comprising the steps of:
inserting a probe into the soil at at least one location (paragraphs [0095], [0167]);
obtaining spectroscopic data regarding the soil (paragraph [0013]);
sampling a core of soil adjacent to the at least one probe location (paragraphs [0095], [0100]);
dividing the core into multiple depth increments (paragraphs [0168]-[0169]);
analyzing the core (paragraphs [0095], [0171]);
matching each core with a corresponding depth increment of the probe insertion (Fig 15, paragraph [0122]; also paragraphs [0152], [0157]-[0160]; Fig. 20-23, paragraphs [0168]-[0169], [0175]);
obtaining probe insertion data from the probe insertion (paragraph [0095]);
dividing the probe insertion data into training, validation, and test categories (paragraph [0133]);
normalizing the probe insertion data on a spectrum by spectrum basis (paragraph [0133]), utilizing a machine learning normalization algorithm (paragraph [0017], [0027]); and
choosing a model utilizing a test set (paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 1, Viscarra Rossel discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage device storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computer controls the computer to perform a method (abstract, Figs. 2, 12, 17, 25), comprising:
inserting a probe into soil at at least one location (paragraphs [0095], [0167]);
obtaining spectroscopic data regarding the soil (paragraph [0013]);
sampling a core of soil adjacent to the probe location (paragraphs [0095], [0100]);
dividing the core into multiple depth increments (paragraphs [0168]-[0169]);
analyzing the core (paragraphs [0095], [0171]);
matching each core with a corresponding depth increment of the probe insertion (Fig 15, paragraph [0122]; also paragraphs [0152], [0157]-[0160]; Fig. 20-23, paragraphs [0168]-[0169], [0175]);
obtaining probe insertion data from the probe insertion (paragraph [0095]);
dividing the probe insertion data into training, validation, and test categories (paragraph [0133]);
normalizing the probe insertion data on a spectrum by spectrum basis (paragraph [0133]), utilizing a machine learning normalization algorithm (paragraph [0017], [0027]); and
choosing a model utilizing a test set (paragraph [0142]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a method for mapping distribution of chemical compounds in soil, the method comprising, among other essential elements, resampling spectral variables from the probe insertion data to a wavelength interval longer than a native wavelength interval of an associated spectrometer; and standardizing the spectral variables to a common scale by removing a mean and scaling to unit variance, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the above claim. Claims 3-10 are dependent from claim 2 and therefore are also included in the allowed subject matter.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a non-transitory computer readable storage device storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computer controls the computer to perform a method, the method comprising, among other essential elements, the steps of: resampling spectral variables from the probe insertion data to a wavelength interval longer than a native wavelength interval of an associated spectrometer; and standardizing the spectral variables to a common scale by removing a mean and scaling to unit variance, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the above claim. Claims 13-20 are dependent from claim 12 and therefore are also included in the allowed subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ben-Dor (US 2014/0012504) teaches soil analysis including dividing data into training, validation, and test categories, and would render claims 1 and 11 obvious.
McEntire (US 11704581) teaches crop analysis, including dividing data into training, validation, and test categories, and would render claims 1 and 11 obvious.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877