DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged.
As a result, claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 3, 12, 15, 16 and dependent claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 12 and 15-17, Claim language stipulates a feature like “a threshold” does not specifically mention the “threshold” make up, limit or any other criteria needed for the invention. As such the claim language is vague.
For the purpose of examination, examiner treated “threshold” as voltage threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho) in view of Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers)
Regarding Claim 1, Cho teaches
A power detector comprising: a forward power detector circuit configured to receive a forward signal from a coupler associated with a transmission path conductor;
(Cho [0050, line 6] in the disclosure, the forward signal may refer to a signal flowing from the PA 262 to the antenna port 268 [0052] FIg 3A, Coupler 310a for detecting forward signal. It detects a forward signal 315a.)
a reverse power detector circuit configured to receive a reverse signal from the coupler associated with the transmission path conductor, wherein the reverse signal is based on a signal reflected from an antenna;
(Cho [0050, line 7] the reverse signal may refer to a signal reflected from the antenna port 268 due to an impedance mismatch. [0052] Fig 3A coupler 310b for detecting a reverse signal. It detects a reverse signal 315b.)
But Cho does not teach
a summing node configured to: receive a first current from the forward power detector circuit;
receive a second current from the reverse power detector circuit;
and sum the first current and the second current into a combined power-detected signal.
However, Ehler teaches
a summing node configured to: receive a first current from the forward power detector circuit;
(Ehler [0025] Referring to FIG. 1, a directional coupling network 100 includes a first transmission path 110 including a first (main) transmission line 111.)
receive a second current from the reverse power detector circuit;
(Ehler [0025, line 3] a second transmission path 120 including a second (coupled) transmission line 122.)
and sum the first current and the second current into a combined power-detected signal.
(Ehler [0025, line 13] The first and second transmission lines 111 and 122 are matched single-mode transmission lines, and may be implemented using coaxial lines, microstrip lines or coplanar waveguide (CPW) lines.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho and by incorporating Ehler for the power detector at the output of an amplifier to be able to combine the measurements of both the forward signal and reverse signal from an antenna and create one output signal.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the power detector to control or calibrate the output signal.
Claims 2, 5-8, 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho) in view of Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers) and in further view of NAKAMOTO (US 20120235733 A1, hereinafter Nakamoto)
Regarding Claim 2, Cho and Ehlers disclose the power detector of claim 1, but fail to teach
a boost circuit configured to receive the forward signal and generate a boosted signal when the forward signal is below a threshold.
In a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches a boost circuit configured to receive the forward signal and generate a boosted signal when the forward signal is below a threshold
(Nakamoto [0029] by coupling the output of a power amplifier, the power of which is to be detected, to the anode of the diode D1, the output power of the power amplifier can be detected.
(Note: Power amplifier in the reference acts as a boost circuit in the claim limitation.)
[0028] FIG. 1 illustrates operation of a power detector circuit using a diode. In this power detector circuit, the high-frequency signal, which is the AC signal for power detection, is supplied to the input terminal RFIN, and when the high-frequency signal voltage exceeds the threshold voltage of the diode D1, the diode D1 becomes conducting and a current occurs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehler by incorporating Nakamoto for the power detector to have a boost circuit to receive a forward signal when it is measured against a threshold.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the power detector to be able to amplify the signal as long as it meets the criteria of “a threshold”.
Regarding Claim 5, Cho and Ehlers disclose the power detector of claim 1, but fail to teach
wherein the forward power detector circuit comprises a plurality of stacked diodes configured to rectify the forward signal to a direct current (DC) signal.
In a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches wherein the forward power detector circuit comprises a plurality of stacked diodes configured to rectify the forward signal to a direct current (DC) signal.
(Nakamoto [0034, line 9] the AC component of the high-frequency signal is applied to node n1. The first diode D1 is a diode which rectifies the AC component applied to node n1, and the second diode D2 is a compensating diode which compensates fluctuation of the diode threshold voltage. Both diodes D1 and D2 are unidirectional elements having PN junctions or similar.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho and Ehler by incorporating Nakamoto to have a detector circuit comprised of plurality of stacked diodes to rectify the forward signal into a DC signal.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit for a efficient control and calibration.
Regarding Claim 6, Cho and Ehlers disclose the power detector of claim 1, but fail to teach
wherein the reverse power detector circuit comprises a plurality of stacked diodes configured to rectify the reverse signal to a direct current (DC) signal.
In a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches wherein the reverse power detector circuit comprises a plurality of stacked diodes configured to rectify the reverse signal to a direct current (DC) signal.
(Nakamoto [0034, line 9] the AC component of the high-frequency signal is applied to node n1. The first diode D1 is a diode which rectifies the AC component applied to node n1, and the second diode D2 is a compensating diode which compensates fluctuation of the diode threshold voltage. Both diodes D1 and D2 are unidirectional elements having PN junctions or similar.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho and Ehler by incorporating Nakamoto to have a detector circuit comprised of plurality of stacked diodes to rectify the reverse signal into a DC signal.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit for a efficient control and calibration.
Regarding Claim 7, Cho and Ehlers disclose the power detector of claim 5, but fail to teach
a bias circuit connected to the forward power detector circuit and configured to bias a transistor serially positioned with the plurality of stacked diodes;
In a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches a bias circuit connected to the forward power detector circuit and configured to bias a transistor serially positioned with the plurality of stacked diodes;
(Nakamoto [0040, line 7] The first current mirror circuit CM1 has an N-channel MOS (NMOS) transistor N10, and, NMOS transistors N11, N12, N13 refer to [Fig 3])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehler and by incorporating Nakamoto to create a bias circuit.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit for an improved accuracy and stability.
Regarding Claim 8, Cho and Ehlers disclose the power detector of claim 7, but fail to teach
wherein the bias circuit comprises a second plurality of stacked diodes, a current source, and a programmable resistor.
In a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches wherein the bias circuit comprises a second plurality of stacked diodes, a current source, and a programmable resistor.
(Nakamoto [0035] A DC voltage VB, which is a power supply voltage and constant bias voltage, is applied, via first and second resistors RP and RR, to the anode terminals n1 and n2 of the first and second diodes D1 and D2. The first resistor RP is a resistor to supply the DC voltage VB to the terminal n1 to which the above-described AC component is applied. The second resistor RR is provided in the reference circuit 22 as well, corresponding to the first resistor RP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehler, and by incorporating Nakamoto to be able to define the formation of the bias circuit.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit for an improved accuracy and stability.
Regarding Claim 10, Cho and Ehlers disclose the power detector of claim 8, but fail to teach
wherein the current source is temperature compensated.
In a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches wherein the current source is temperature compensated.
(Nakamoto [0050] When the threshold voltages of the first and second diodes D1 and D2 change due to process and temperature fluctuations, the absolute values of the currents flowing therewithin change, and the current flowing in the resistor R1 changes to I.sub.AC-I.sub.DC+.DELTA.I, while the current flowing in the resistor R2 similarly changes to I.sub.DC-.DELTA.I.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehler, by incorporating Nakamoto to have the temperature compensated current source.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit to be more stable, efficient and accurate.
Regarding Claim 11 and as applied to Claim 1, Cho further teaches
wherein the reverse power detector circuit further comprises: an input node;
(Cho [0012, line3] detecting a forward signal and a reverse signal at an input terminal of an analog filter; determining a power value of a forward signal and a power value of a reverse signal at an output terminal of the analog filter by applying characteristic parameters of the analog filter to the detected forward signal and reverse signal;)
But Cho and Ehler do not disclose the following limitations
However, Nakamoto discloses
a first current mirror coupled to the input node through a diode;
(Nakamoto [0040] The difference current generation circuit 24 has a first current mirror circuit CM1 which copies the current I.sub.AC-I.sub.DC of the input circuit 20 to the node n4.)
and a second current mirror coupled to the first current mirror and the summing node.
(Nakamoto [0040, line 3] a second current mirror circuit CM2 which copies the current I.sub.DC of the reference circuit 22 to the node n3.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehlers, and by incorporating Nakamoto to have a reverse power detector circuit signal measurement process.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the overall detector circuit to be stable and efficient in control and calibration.
Regarding Claim 13 and as applied to Claim 11, Nakamoto further teaches
wherein the second current mirror comprises a binary array of transistors configured to allow selection of a gain provided by the second current mirror.
(Nakamoto [0041] The second current mirror circuit CM2 has an NMOS transistor N20 coupled to the reference circuit 22, and a transistor N21 the gate of which is coupled to the drain and gate of this NMOS transistor N20. In this current mirror circuit CM2 also, current is copied at a current mirror ratio according to the transistor channel widths of the transistors N20 and N21.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehlers, and by incorporating Nakamoto to allow the selection of a gain.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit to function with improved efficiency.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho) in view of Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers) and in further view of Voor et al. (US 20230421194 A1, hereinafter Voor)
Regarding Claim 3, Cho, Ehlers teach the power detector of claim 1, but fail to teach
wherein the reverse power detector circuit does not generate the second current when the reverse signal is below a threshold.
However, in a similar endeavor, Voor teaches
wherein the reverse power detector circuit does not generate the second current when the reverse signal is below a threshold.
(Voor [0082, line 15] When the value measured by the second peak detector drops below a second threshold (e.g., the out of band blocker finished its transmission), a determination may be made to cause a mode switch back to the rural mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho and Ehler and by incorporating Voor to enable the detector circuit not to have the second current when the reverse signal is below “a threshold”.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit to have an efficient operation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho), Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers), Voor et al. (US 20230421194 A1, hereinafter Voor) and in further view of NAKAMOTO (US 20120235733 A1, hereinafter Nakamoto)
Regarding Claim 4, Cho, Ehlers and Voor teach the power detector of claim 3, but fail to teach
a transistor in the reverse power detector circuit configured to program the threshold.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches
a transistor in the reverse power detector circuit configured to program the threshold.
(Nakamoto [0041] The second current mirror circuit CM2 has an NMOS transistor N20 coupled to the reference circuit 22, and a transistor N21 the gate of which is coupled to the drain and gate of this NMOS transistor N20.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehlers, Voor and by incorporating Nakamoto to enable the detector circuit to have a transistor to program threshold.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit to have efficient operation in control and calibration.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho), Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers), NAKAMOTO (US 20120235733 A1, hereinafter Nakamoto) and in further view of Venkateswaran (US 9973204 B1, hereinafter Venkateswaran)
Regarding Claim 9, Cho, Ehler and Nakamoto teach the power detector of claim 8, but fail to teach
wherein the programmable resistor comprises a digital to analog converter (DAC) connected to a plurality of transistors such that different resistors are activated depending on which of the plurality of transistors are activated by the DAC.
However, in a similar endeavor, Venkateswaran teaches
wherein the programmable resistor comprises a digital to analog converter (DAC) connected to a plurality of transistors such that different resistors are activated depending on which of the plurality of transistors are activated by the DAC.
(Venkateswaran [Col. 4, line 45] In some embodiments, the resistor string DAC 100 includes 2.sup.N resistors 105, where N is a number of bits received by the resistor string DAC as input for controlling a value of an output of the resistor string DAC 100. The resistors 105 may be arranged into a plurality of columns 110A, 110B, 110C, 110D, 110E, and 110F (110A-110F), where each column has a corresponding column output 112A, 112B, 112C, 112D, 112E, and 112F (112A-112F). Each of the column outputs 112A-112F may couple to an output 115 of the resistor string DAC via a respective column switch 120A, 120B, 120C, 120D, 120E, and 120F (120A-120F). Each of the resistors may couple to a column output 112A-112F via a respective row switch 125. [Col.6, line 1] Each of the column switches 120A-120F and the row switches 125 may comprise mechanical switches (e.g., relays) or electrical switches (e.g., transistors or other electrical components, which may sometimes be referred to as solid-state switches). For example, the column switches 120A-120F and the row switches 125 may each comprise bipolar junction transistors (BJTs))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehler, Nakamoto and by incorporating Venkateswaran to have programmable resistors connected with the digital to analog converter.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the converter to function efficiently.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho), Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers), NAKAMOTO (US 20120235733 A1, hereinafter Nakamoto) and in further view of Voor et al. (US 20230421194 A1, hereinafter Voor)
Regarding Claim 12, Cho, Ehler and Nakamoto teach the power detector of claim 11, but fail to teach
wherein the first current mirror is configured to remain off until the reverse signal rises above a threshold.
However, in a similar endeavor, Voor teaches
(Voor [0058] When the signal level of a receive RF signal exceeds a given threshold, the signal could potentially harm LNA performance by overloading its input. When such an overload condition is detected, the controller may reconfigure the FEM to a more protected mode (e.g., one of urban or bypass modes) to protect the LNA.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Cho, Ehler, Nakamoto and by incorporating Voor to enable the detector circuit to have the first current mirror to remain off until “a threshold” kicks in.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit to be stable with improved accuracy.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voor (US 20230421194 A1, hereinafter Voor) in view of CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho) and Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers)
Regarding Claim 14, Voor teaches
a transmission chain comprising: a baseband processor (BBP);
(Voor [0033, line 20] a baseband processor and/or application processor may be present.)
a power amplifier coupled to the BBP;
(Voor [0004, line 3] the receive path comprising at least one low noise amplifier (LNA).)
But Voor does not teach
and a power detector coupled to an output of the power amplifier, the power detector comprising: a forward power detector circuit configured to receive a forward signal from a coupler associated with a transmission path conductor;
a reverse power detector circuit configured to receive a reverse signal from the coupler associated with the transmission path conductor, wherein the reverse signal is based on a signal reflected from an antenna;
However, Cho teaches
and a power detector coupled to an output of the power amplifier, the power detector comprising: a forward power detector circuit configured to receive a forward signal from a coupler associated with a transmission path conductor;
(Cho [0050, line 6] in the disclosure, the forward signal may refer to a signal flowing from the PA 262 to the antenna port 268 [0052] FIg 3A, Coupler 310a for detecting forward signal. It detects a forward signal 315a.)
a reverse power detector circuit configured to receive a reverse signal from the coupler associated with the transmission path conductor, wherein the reverse signal is based on a signal reflected from an antenna;
(Cho [0050, line 7] the reverse signal may refer to a signal reflected from the antenna port 268 due to an impedance mismatch. [0052] Fig 3A coupler 310b for detecting a reverse signal. It detects a reverse signal 315b.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Voor by incorporating Cho to have a Baseband processor in the transmission line to for the forward and reveres power detector circuits to be able to receive forward and reverse signals from the coupler associated with the transmission path.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the power detector to control or calibrate the output signal.
However, Voor and Cho do not teach
receive a first current from the forward power detector circuit;
receive a second current from the reverse power detector circuit; and sum the first current and the second current into a combined power-detected signal.
But Ehler teaches
receive a first current from the forward power detector circuit;
(Ehler [0025] Referring to FIG. 1, a directional coupling network 100 includes a first transmission path 110 including a first (main) transmission line 111.)
Ehler also teaches
receive a second current from the reverse power detector circuit; and sum the first current and the second current into a combined power-detected signal.
(Ehler [0025, line 3] a second transmission path 120 including a second (coupled) transmission line 122.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Voor, Cho and by incorporating Ehler to have a Baseband processer in the transmission chain for the power detector at the output of an amplifier to be able to combine the measurements of both the forward signal and reverse signal from an antenna and create one output signal.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the power detector to control or calibrate the output signal.
Regarding Claim 16, Voor further teaches
wherein the reverse power detector circuit does not generate the second current when the reverse signal is below a threshold.
(Voor [0082, line 15] When the value measured by the second peak detector drops below a second threshold (e.g., the out of band blocker finished its transmission), a determination may be made to cause a mode switch back to the rural mode.)
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voor (US 20230421194 A1, hereinafter Voor), CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho) and Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers) and in further view of NAKAMOTO (US 20120235733 A1, hereinafter Nakamoto)
Regarding Claim 15, Voor, Cho and Ehler teach the mobile communication device of claim 14, but fail to teach
wherein the power detector further comprises a boost circuit configured to receive the forward signal and generate a boosted signal when the forward signal is below a threshold.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches
wherein the power detector further comprises a boost circuit configured to receive the forward signal and generate a boosted signal when the forward signal is below a threshold.
(Nakamoto [0029] by coupling the output of a power amplifier, the power of which is to be detected, to the anode of the diode D1, the output power of the power amplifier can be detected. (Note: Power amplifer in the reference acts as a boost circuit in the claim limitation.) [0028] FIG. 1 illustrates operation of a power detector circuit using a diode. In this power detector circuit, the high-frequency signal, which is the AC signal for power detection, is supplied to the input terminal RFIN, and when the high-frequency signal voltage exceeds the threshold voltage of the diode D1, the diode D1 becomes conducting and a current occurs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Voor, Cho, Ehler and by incorporating Nakamoto for the power detector to have a boost circuit to receive a forward signal when it is measured against a threshold.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the power detector to be able to amplify the signal as long as it meets the criteria of “a threshold”.
Regarding Claim 18, Voor, Cho and Ehler teach the mobile communication device of claim 14, but fail to teach
an autocalibration circuit coupled to the power detector.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches
an autocalibration circuit coupled to the power detector.
(Nakamoto [0031, line 7 and Fig 2] a calibration circuit 14 which performs calibration thereof. The calibration circuit 14 performs an operation to calibrate the power detector circuit by means of an incorporated calibration control circuit 16.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Voor, Cho, Ehler and by incorporating Nakamoto to have a autocalibration circuit with the power detector.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the power detector with improved calibration.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voor (US 20230421194 A1, hereinafter Voor) in view of CHO (US 20200348346 A1, hereinafter Cho) and Ehlers (US 20210302477 A1, hereinafter Ehlers) and in further view of NAKAMOTO (US 20120235733 A1, hereinafter Nakamoto)
Regarding Claim 17, Voor, Cho and Ehler teach the mobile communication device of claim 16, but fail to teach
further comprising a transistor in the reverse power detector circuit configured to program the threshold.
However, in a similar endeavor, Nakamoto teaches
(Nakamoto [0041] The second current mirror circuit CM2 has an NMOS transistor N20 coupled to the reference circuit 22, and a transistor N21 the gate of which is coupled to the drain and gate of this NMOS transistor N20.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Voor, Cho, Ehler, and by incorporating Nakamoto to enable the detector circuit to have a transistor to program threshold.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the detector circuit to have efficient operation in control and calibration.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644