DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/749,891 filed 06/21/2024 in which claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 16, 18, 22-31 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 7/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See explanation in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 12, 14, 16, 18, 22-27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wallentin et al (US 2025/0374137 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wallentin teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
supporting, by a first network node, a handover for a user equipment (UE) from the first network node to a second network node by (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2002, [0207]; source DU/first network node; cell change/mobility triggering):
sending, by the first network node, a first message for the UE to a third network node, the first message comprising mobility information indicating a list of to-be- switched candidate cells for the UE (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], source DU send L1/L2 mobility information to service CU/third network node),
wherein: the mobility information comprises a L1/L2 mobility information; and the L1/L2 mobility information comprises at least one of the following: a L1/L2 mobility indicator, a list of to-be-switched candidate cells, a new radio (NR) physical cell identifier (PCI), a NR cell global identifier (CGI), or a NR frequency (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], indication to the service CU/third node indicating L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility service cell procedure/L1/L2 mobility indicator. Also Note that step 2003 also discloses L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility serving cell change procedure and step 2005 further indicates identification…).
Regarding claim 22, Wallentin teaches a first network node comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the at least one processor executes the instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the first network node to perform:
supporting a handover for a user equipment (UE) from the first network node to a second network node by (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2002, [0207]; source DU/first network node; cell change/mobility triggering): sending a first message for the UE to a third network node, the first message comprising mobility information for the UE (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], source DU send L1/L2 mobility information to service CU/third network node),
wherein: the mobility information comprises a L1/L2 mobility information; and the L1/L2 mobility information comprises at least one of the following: a L1/L2 mobility indicator, a list of to-be-switched candidate cells, a new radio (NR) physical cell identifier (PCI), a NR cell global identifier (CGI), or a NR frequency (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], indication to the service CU/third node indicating L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility service cell procedure/L1/L2 mobility indicator. Also Note that step 2003 also discloses L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility serving cell change procedure and step 2005 further indicates identification…).
Regarding claim 24, Wallentin teaches a method for wireless communication, comprising:
supporting, by a third network node, a handover for a user equipment (UE) from a first network node to a second network node by (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2002, [0207]; source DU/first network node; cell change/mobility triggering): receiving, by the third network node, a first message for the UE from the first network node, the first message comprising mobility information for the UE (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], source DU send L1/L2 mobility information to service CU/third network node),
wherein: the mobility information comprises a L1/L2 mobility information; and the L1/L2 mobility information comprises at least one of the following: a L1/L2 mobility indicator, a list of to-be-switched candidate cells, a new radio (NR) physical cell identifier (PCI), a NR cell global identifier (CGI), or a NR frequency (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], indication to the service CU/third node indicating L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility service cell procedure/L1/L2 mobility indicator. Also Note that step 2003 also discloses L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility serving cell change procedure and step 2005 further indicates identification…).
Regarding claim 31, Wallentin teaches an apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the at least one processor executes the instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform:
supporting a mobility triggering for a user equipment (UE) from a first network node to a second network node by (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2002, [0207]; source DU/first network node; cell change/mobility triggering): receiving a first message for the UE from the first network node, the first message comprising mobility information for the UE (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], source DU send L1/L2 mobility information to service CU/third network node),
wherein: the mobility information comprises a L1/L2 mobility information; and the L1/L2 mobility information comprises at least one of the following: a L1/L2 mobility indicator, a list of to-be-switched candidate cells, a new radio (NR) physical cell identifier (PCI), a NR cell global identifier (CGI), or a NR frequency (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2005; [0207], indication to the service CU/third node indicating L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility service cell procedure/L1/L2 mobility indicator. Also Note that step 2003 also discloses L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility serving cell change procedure and step 2005 further indicates identification…).
Regarding claims 3 and 25, Wallentin teaches wherein: the first network node comprises a source distributed unit of a base station (gNB- DU); the second network node comprises a candidate gNB-DU; and the third network node comprises a control unit of the base station (gNB-CU) (Wallentin: Fig. 3; Fig. 11; [0084]-[0085], [0207]).
Regarding claims 4, 23 and 26, Wallentin teaches wherein: the handover comprises a layer 1 or layer 2 signaling based mobility (L1/L2 mobility) triggered handover; and the handover comprises an inter-DU and intra-CU handover for the UE (Wallentin: fig. 11:2005; [0207], Table 1; [0042]).
Regarding claims 5 and 27, Wallentin teaches wherein: the first message corresponds to an F1 interface message (Wallentin: Fig. 11; [0209]-[0210]).
Regarding claim 8, Wallentin teaches receiving, by the first network node, a measurement report from the UE; determining, by the first network node, the list of at least one to-be-switched candidate cell[[s]] according to the measurement report; and sending, by the first network node, a command to the UE, the command indicating the list of at least one to-be-switched candidate cell (Wallentin: Fig. 11; [0207]).
Regarding claims 12 and 29, Wallentin teaches wherein: the first message comprises a downlink data delivery status frame; and the first network node receives a first confirmation message from the third network node (Wallentin: Fig. 11; [0209]), wherein, in response to receiving the first message, the third network node sends the first confirmation message to the first network node (Wallentin: Fig. 11:2011; [0207]).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Wallentin teaches wherein: the first message comprises a downlink data delivery status frame; and the first message requires no confirmation message from the third network node (Wallentin: Fig. 11; [0209]).
Regarding claim 16, Wallentin teaches wherein: the first network node receives a first confirmation message from the third network node, wherein, in response to receiving the first message, the third network node sends the first confirmation message to the second network node; and the first network node sends one of the following to the third network node: a downlink data delivery status frame, or a second message comprising the downlink data delivery status frame (Wallentin: Fig. 11; [0207]-[0209]).
Regarding claim 18, Wallentin teaches wherein: the first message requires no confirmation message from the third network node; and the first network node sends one of the following to the third network node: a downlink data delivery status frame, or a second message comprising the downlink data delivery status frame (Wallentin: Fig. 11; [0207]-[0209]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478