DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, fifth-twelfth paragraphs, filed June 5, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hsueh et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0025549).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsueh et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0025549).
With regard to independent claim 1, although Hsueh et al teaches an imaging lens system (page 1. Paragraph [0002] and Figure 21) comprising: a first lens (Figure 21, element 1110), a second lens (Figure 21, element 1120), a third lens (Figure 21, element 1130), a fourth lens (Figure 21, element 1140), a fifth lens (Figure 21, element 1150), a sixth lens (Figure 21, element 1160), and a seventh lens (Figure 21, element 1170) spaced apart from each other and sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 21), wherein the second lens has negative refractive power (page 24, paragraph [0220], lines 1-2); wherein the third lens has a convex image-side surface (page 24, Paragraph [0221], lines 3-4 and Figure 21, element 1132), wherein TTL/2IH < 0.730, where TTL is a distance along the optical axis from an object-side surface of the first lens to the imaging plane and 2IH is a diagonal length of the imaging plane (page 26, paragraph [0229], wherein TL/ImgH = 1.40 and TTL/2IH = (TL/ImgH)/2 = 0.720), and wherein the seventh lens has a focal length within a range of -7.0 mm to -3.0 mm (page 25, Table 21, wherein f7 = -4.59), Hsueh et al fails to explicitly teach, in this embodiment, an imaging lens system wherein the fifth lens element has negative refractive power. However, Hsueh et al does teach that the fifth lens may have negative refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0048]), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the imaging lens system, s taught by Hsueh et al, with the fifth lens as having negative refractive power to shorten the back focal length and decrease the total track length (page 3, paragraph [0048]).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0219], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1111).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0220], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1121).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0222], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1141).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0223], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1151).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 25, paragraph [0224], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1161).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface (page 25, paragraph [0225], lines 7-9 and Figure 21, element 1171, wherein surface 1171 is concave in an off-axis region).
With regard to independent claim 8, although Hsueh et al teaches an imaging lens system (page 1. Paragraph [0002] and Figure 21) comprising: a first lens (Figure 21, element 1110), a second lens (Figure 21, element 1120), a third lens (Figure 21, element 1130), a fourth lens (Figure 21, element 1140), a fifth lens (Figure 21, element 1150), a sixth lens (Figure 21, element 1160), and a seventh lens (Figure 21, element 1170) spaced apart from each other and sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis from an object side toward an imaging plane (Figure 21), wherein the second lens has negative refractive power (page 24, paragraph [0220], lines 1-2); wherein TTL/2IH < 0.730, where TTL is a distance along the optical axis from an object-side surface of the first lens to the imaging plane and 2IH is a diagonal length of the imaging plane (page 26, paragraph [0229], wherein TL/ImgH = 1.40 and TTL/2IH = (TL/ImgH)/2 = 0.720), wherein the seventh lens has a focal length within a range of -7.0 mm to -3.0 mm (page 25, Table 21, wherein f7 = -4.59), and wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens (page 25, Table 21, wherein the radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens = 6.209; the radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fifth lens = -2.096, such that 6.209 > -2.096), Hsueh et al fails to explicitly teach, in this embodiment, an imaging lens system wherein the fifth lens element has negative refractive power. However, Hsueh et al does teach that the fifth lens may have negative refractive power (page 3, paragraph [0048]), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the imaging lens system, s taught by Hsueh et al, with the fifth lens as having negative refractive power to shorten the back focal length and decrease the total track length (page 3, paragraph [0048]).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0219], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1111).
With regard to dependent claim 10, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0220], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1121).
With regard to dependent claim 11, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0222], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1141).
With regard to dependent claim 12, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface (page 24, paragraph [0223], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1151).
With regard to dependent claim 13, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface (page 25, paragraph [0224], lines 2-3 and Figure 21, element 1161).
With regard to dependent claim 14, Hsueh et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 8, and further teaches such an imaging lens system wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface (page 25, paragraph [0225], lines 7-9 and Figure 21, element 1171, wherein surface 1171 is concave in an off-axis region).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. You et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0231925) and Tang et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0285030) both teach imaging lens systems comprising seven lenses wherein the fifth lens has negative refractive power.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRYL J COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
16 July 2026