DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) (1-10) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golsch et al (10839627, hereinafter – Golsch) in view of Kamlah (2002/0024429).
Regarding claims 1 and 4: Golsch discloses a device for activating/(enabling) a vehicle as depicted (in figures 5a and 5b of Golsch and see associated descriptions for details) with ultra-wide band phase control devices (col. 4, lines 25-63 of Golsch). However, Golsch is silent on the phase antenna on the surface of the vehicle and/or the handle. Kamlah is relied on the antenna on the surface of the vehicle (as shown an element 6 in figure 5 of Kamlah and see associated descriptions for details, and see para.[0026] of Kamlah).
It would be obvious to artisan of the art at time of the invention includes the surface antenna to surface as taught by Kamlah. The rationale as follows: an artisan would have motivated to activated functional features of the vehicle as suggested in para. [0005] of Kamlah.
Regarding claims 2 and 5: the combination of Golsch and Kamlah discloses wherein the means for comparing values of the phase of the reflected waves compare said values with a phase rotation comprised between −180° and −270° during the predetermined length of time (col. 9, lines 44-64 of Golsch).
Regarding claims 3 and 6: the combination of Golsch and Kamlah discloses wherein the means for comparing values of the amplitude compare said values with an increase in amplitude above a threshold during the predetermined length of time (col. 9, lines 44-48 of Golsch).
Regarding claim 7: the combination of Golsch and Kamlah discloses a non-transitory computer program product comprising program code instructions for executing the steps of the method as claimed in claim 1 when said program is executed on a computer (col. 13, line 58 to col. 14, line 5 of Golsch).
Regarding claim 8: the combination of Golsch and Kamlah a motor vehicle, comprising an activation device as claimed in claim 4 (see figure 1 of Golsch and figure 5 and associated descriptions for details, respectfully).
Regarding claims 9 and 10: the combination of Golsch and Kamlah discloses wherein the means for comparing values of the amplitude compare said values with an increase in amplitude above a threshold during the predetermined length of time (col. 11, lines 9-33 of Golsch).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Godet et al (2024/0034274), Kost et al (11836290), Kosugi (12326030), Leong et al (9082241), Shostak et al (2005/0192727), Singh et al (12007470) and Wardlaw et al (11536758) are cited for phase detection management control of devices.
/K. WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689