DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s reply, filed on 08/12/2026, to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 06/09/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 15, 27, 30, 33, 35, 36, and 37 are amended. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 15, and 27-39 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 15, 27, 29-30, 32-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG; Daet al US 20250350981 A1, hereinafter WANG, in view of Da Silva; Icaro Leonardo et al US 20250365594 A1, hereinafter Icaro.
Regarding claim 1, 27, 30 and 37, WANG teaches, a method for wireless communication, comprising:
modifying, by a first network node, at least one candidate cell (CC) for an inter-cell mobility by: sending, by the first network node, a CC modification message to a second network node, the CC modification message comprising a modified CC list (WANG Fig. 1D, [76] describes inter-cell mobility; Fig. 2, Fig. 3; “CU-Initiated Configuration for Intra-DU Scenario” and [88] “As shown in FIG. 2, the CU 141 may transmit 210, to a source DU (e.g., the DU 151), a message (for convenience, also referred to as a first message herein) for initializing, modifying or cancelling of a configuration for a lower-layer signaling based cell change or addition (i.e., L1/L2 based mobility). For example, the first message may be a UE context modification request message.”, [89] “In some embodiments, the first message may comprise first L1/L2 based mobility information (also referred as information L1/L2 based intra-DU mobility information). In some embodiments, the first L1/L2 based mobility information may comprise an indication of the initialization, modification or cancellation of the configuration for L1/L2 based mobility. In other words, the indication indicates whether the first message concerns an initialization of L1/L2 based mobility, a modification of L1/L2 based mobility, or a cancellation of L1/L2 based mobility. In some embodiments, the first message may comprise ID information of a set of candidate cells of the DU 151 for L1/L2 based mobility.”, [92] “the first message concerns a modification of L1/L2 based mobility, …”; “CU-Initiated Configuration for Inter-DU Scenario” and [97], teaches, modifying candidate cell list for L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility by sending a modification request message by CU (=a first network node) to DU (=a second network node), see [77] for network device).
WANG does not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, Icaro teaches,
receiving, by the first network node, a modified RRCReconfiguration message that is sent from the second network node in response to the second network node receiving the CC modification message, the modified RRCReconfiguration message comprising a modified CC configuration based on the modified CC list (Icaro: Fig. 5, steps 3 and 4; [0159] “… if one or more L1/L2 inter-cell mobility candidates (possible encoded in F1AP with an IE (e.g., Candidate L1/L2Cell List IE) is included in the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message and the DU (e.g., gNB-DU) accepts a subset of these candidates, the DU (e.g., gNB-DU) shall, if it can support L1/L2 inter-cell mobility, respond including the accepted subset (e.g., a list of accepted cells, possibly encoded in an IE of F1AP (e.g., L1/L2Cell List IE)) comprising the subset of the cells (e.g., in the Candidate L1/L2Cell List IE) that can be accepted and possibly additional cells that the DU decided to add for L1/L2 inter-cell mobility in the UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message and the CU (e.g., gNB-CU) shall take this into account.”, [0166] “In a particular embodiment, the third message is a UE Context Modification Response (F1AP message) transmitted by the DU in response to the second message. The CU receives the third message.”, teaches DU (i.e., a network node) sending UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message, in response to UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message from CU (i.e., another network node), with a modified CC list. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message is functionally identical to modified RRCReconfiguration message of the instant claim. Fig. 5, step 5 validates this by generating a RRC Reconfiguration from the information in the received UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message. A modified RRCReconfiguration configuration message is interpreted, under BRI, as a RRC reconfiguration message with modified information).
forwarding, by the first network node, the modified RRCReconfiguration message to a user equipment (UE) (Icaro: Fig. 5, steps 5 and 6; [0167] “5. Upon reception of the third message (e.g., UE Context Modification Response) the CU transmits to the DU a fourth message comprising an RRC Reconfiguration to be transmitted to the UE, wherein the RRC Reconfiguration comprises the one or more of: … [0170] The least one configuration of a L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility candidate cell;”, [0174] “6. The DU transmits to the UE the RRC Reconfiguration message (which has been encapsulated in the fourth message), for configuring the one or more L1/L2 inter-cell mobility candidates.”);
receiving, by the first network node, a modified RRCReconfigurationComplete message from the UE (Icaro: Fig.5, step 7; [0178] “7. The UE sends RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the DU (e.g., gNB-DU). The DU receives the message.”); and
forwarding, by the first network node, the modified RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the second network node (Icaro: Fig.5, step 8; [0179] “8. The DU (e.g., gNB-DU) encapsulates the RRC message in the UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message and send it to the CU (e.g., gNB-CU). The CU receives the message and considers the UE configured with L1/L2 inter-cell mobility.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of WANG to include the features as taught by Icaro above to provide methods for configuring Layer 1 (L1)/Layer 2 (L2) mobility based on measurements reports while in a connected state (Icaro [0001]).
With respect to claim 27, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding apparatus. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 30, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 37, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding inter-working receiving side apparatus. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claims 4, 29, 32 and 39, WANG, in view of Icaro, teaches the method/node/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1, 27, 30 and 37.
WANG further teaches, wherein: the inter-cell mobility comprises a layer 1 or layer 2 signaling based mobility (L1/L2 mobility) (WANG [0057] “In one aspect, embodiments of the present disclosure provide solutions for preparing candidate cells for L1/L2 based mobility under a CU-DU scenario.”).
Regarding claims 5 and 33, WANG, in view of Icaro, teaches the methods, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 30.
Icaro further teaches, the first network node sends a second message to the second network node, the second message comprising the modified CC list (Icaro: [186] “… according to certain embodiments, the CU transmits multiple second message(s) to the DU of the RAN (e.g. gNodeB-DU), each of the second messages indicating a request for the DU to configure the UE with one L1/L2 based inter-cell mobility candidate cell, …”).
Regarding claims 6 and 34, WANG, in view of Icaro, teaches the methods, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 30.
WANG further teaches, wherein: the CC modification message belongs to an F1 interface message (WANG [73] “The gNB-CU terminates a F1 interface connected with the gNB-DU.”, [93], [98] teaches, F1 interface between CU and DU, that carries modification message disclosed in [88]); and
the modified CC list comprises at least one of the following: a to-be-cancelled CC list, a to-be-added CC list, a DU-suggested CC list (WANG [89] “In some embodiments, the first message may comprise first L1/L2 based mobility information (also referred as information L1/L2 based intra-DU mobility information). In some embodiments, the first L1/L2 based mobility information may comprise an indication of the initialization, modification or cancellation of the configuration for L1/L2 based mobility. In other words, the indication indicates whether the first message concerns an initialization of L1/L2 based mobility, a modification of L1/L2 based mobility, or a cancellation of L1/L2 based mobility. In some embodiments, the first message may comprise ID information of a set of candidate cells of the DU 151 for L1/L2 based mobility.”).
Regarding claims 8 and 35, WANG, in view of Icaro, teaches the methods, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 30.
WANG further teaches, wherein: the inter-cell mobility belongs to an intra-DU inter-cell mobility (see WANG “CU-Initiated Configuration for Intra-DU Scenario” and [88]).
Regarding claims 15 and 36, WANG, in view of Icaro, teaches the methods, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 30.
WANG further teaches, wherein: the inter-cell mobility belongs to an intra-CU inter-DU inter-cell mobility between the first network node and a third network node (see WANG “CU-Initiated Configuration for Inter-DU Scenario” and [97]).
Claims 3, 28, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG, in view of Da Silva; Icaro Leonardo et al US 20250351040 A1, hereinafter Da Silva.
Regarding claims 3, 28, 31 and 38, WANG, in view of Icaro, teaches the method/node/apparatus, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1, 27, 30 and 37.
WANG and Icaro do not expressly teach, however, in the same field of endeavor, Da Silva teaches, wherein:
in response to the inter-cell mobility belonging to an intra-distributed unit (intra-DU) inter-cell mobility, the first network node comprises a distributed unit of a base station (gNB- DU); and the second network node comprises a control unit of the base station (gNB-CU) (Da Silva [0026] “These exemplary methods can include sending, to a CU of the RAN node, configurations associated with each of at least one candidate cell for L1/L2-based inter-cell mobility by a UE from a serving cell provided by a first DU of the RAN node.”, [74] “… FIGS. 1 and 3-4, including for intra-DU and inter-DU/intra-CU cell changes …”).
in response to the inter-cell mobility belonging to an inter-distributed unit (inter-DU) inter-cell mobility, the first network node comprises a source gNB-DU (Da Silva [0023] “These exemplary methods include receiving, from a second DU of the RAN node, configurations associated with each of at least one candidate cell for L1/L2-based inter-cell mobility by a UE from a serving cell provided by a first DU of the RAN node. The at least one candidate cell is provided by the second DU”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of WANG and Icaro to include the features as taught by Da Silva above in order to improving mobility of user equipment (UEs) across multiple cells in a wireless network, specifically to cells provided by different distributed units (DUs) that may be associated with a single centralized unit (CU) (Da Silva [0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guo; Yi US 20230388871 A1, MOBILITY FEATURES FOR NEXT GENERATION CELLULAR NETWORKS.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475