DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daly et al. (US 9,875,078 B1), hereinafter “Daly.”
As to claim 1, Daly discloses an audio processing module for a vehicular audio system (Col. 1 lines 5-6. “This invention relates to the field of motor vehicle entertainment and warning systems.”), comprising:
a housing (Col. 12 lines 24-27, Fig. 11. “Amplifier interface module 60 is provided as a standalone unit. It may be mounted behind the dash near the head unit.” Housing shown.);
a first processor that performs additional audio signal processing for at least one of an electronic control unit of the vehicular audio system or an amplifier of the vehicular audio system and is disposed within the housing (Col. 8 lines 41-43 and 59-61, Col. 9 lines 7-10 and Col. 10 lines 31-51, Figs. 7-8. “The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66. The output of signal conditioner 66 is fed to interface amplifier output 108 and then out to the aftermarket amplifier.” “FIG. 8 provides a detailed view of signal conditioner 66 and its functionality. In this embodiment, each of the six input channels feeds into an independently controlled equalizer.” “Each of the equalizers shown in FIG. 8 is preferably capable of boosting the signal gain, cutting the signal gain, and providing desired equalization functions.”);
a second processor that performs additional control signal processing for at least one of the electronic control unit of the vehicular audio system or the amplifier of the vehicular audio system and is disposed within the housing (Col. 8 lines 44-58 and Col. 10 lines 13-15, Figs. 7 and 10. “The amplifier interface module includes an internal processor 68 and an associated memory 70. Power supply 72 conditions the incoming power and supplies it to the various components. CAN port 74 is connected to CAN bus input 62. The CAN port may assume many forms. In the preferred embodiments it converts the difference signals on the two CAN conductors into binary signals and then into hexadecimal code that is fed to processor 68.” “Processor 68 also receives line out controller feed 52 so that it can receive external instructions (typically from the head unit).”);
a first communication bus that is disposed within the housing and is communicatively coupled to the first processor and a first communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 11-14 and 39-43, Col. 9 lines 40-45, Figs. 6-7. “Head unit output lines 54 are fed in via interface head unit input 104. The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66.” “OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104.”); and
a second communication bus that is disposed within the housing and is communicatively coupled to the second processor and a bus of a second communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 19-21 and 44-51, Fig. 7. “It also includes its own CAN bus input 62. The amplifier interface module uses its CAN bus input to monitor the messages traveling on the CAN bus.” “The amplifier interface module includes an internal processor 68 and an associated memory 70. Power supply 72 conditions the incoming power and supplies it to the various components. CAN port 74 is connected to CAN bus input 62. The CAN port may assume many forms. In the preferred embodiments it converts the difference signals on the two CAN conductors into binary signals and then into hexadecimal code that is fed to processor 68.”).
As to claim 2, Daly discloses wherein the first communication network comprises a network for handling audio signals within the vehicular audio system (Col. 7 lines 62 – Col. 8 line 17, Figs. 6-7. “OEM head unit 36 has multiple head unit output lines 54. The head unit output lines are typically conductor pairs configured to drive an individual speaker.” “OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104.”).
As to claim 3, Daly discloses wherein the second communication network comprises a network for handling control signals within the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 19-21 and 47-51, Fig. 7. “It also includes its own CAN bus input 62. The amplifier interface module uses its CAN bus input to monitor the messages traveling on the CAN bus.” “CAN port 74 is connected to CAN bus input 62. The CAN port may assume many forms. In the preferred embodiments it converts the difference signals on the two CAN conductors into binary signals and then into hexadecimal code that is fed to processor 68.”).
As to claim 4, Daly discloses wherein the first communication network comprises a network for handling audio signals within the vehicular audio system and the second communication network does not handle the audio signals (Col. 4 lines 41-50 and Col. 8 lines 11-21 and 47-51, Figs. 6-7. “The OEM head unit typically includes CAN bus input 56, antenna input 41, and power input 39. Output lines 54 facilitate connection to right-front speaker 43, left-front speaker 45, right-rear speaker 46, and left-rear speaker 48. The audio signals that are amplified and sent to the speakers originate within the OEM head unit. These may come from an external source (such as the radio receiver) or an internal source (such as reading a CD). As explained previously, the OEM head unit is also used to play various chimes and warning tones (audio notification signals).” “OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104.” “It also includes its own CAN bus input 62. The amplifier interface module uses its CAN bus input to monitor the messages traveling on the CAN bus.” “CAN port 74 is connected to CAN bus input 62. The CAN port may assume many forms. In the preferred embodiments it converts the difference signals on the two CAN conductors into binary signals and then into hexadecimal code that is fed to processor 68.”).
As to claim 5, Daly discloses a first physical audio interface that is disposed at least partially within the housing, is communicatively coupled to the first communication bus, and accommodates a first number of conductors equal to a number of conductors included in a bus of the first communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 11-17 and Col. 12 lines 28-30, Figs. 6 and 11. “In the example of FIG. 6, OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104. In the preferred embodiment the interface head unit input is an array of several connectors, with each connector being configured to receive one of the head unit output lines (with two wires per output line).” “In the version shown, input jacks 87 are provided to receive the signals from the head unit.”).
As to claim 6, Daly discloses wherein the first communication bus communicatively couples the first physical audio interface to the first processor ((Col. 8 lines 11-14 and 39-43, Col. 9 lines 40-45, Figs. 6-7 and 11. “Head unit output lines 54 are fed in via interface head unit input 104. The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66.” “OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104.”)).
As to claim 7, Daly discloses a third communication bus that is disposed within the housing and communicatively couples the second processor to the first physical audio interface (Col. 9 lines 50-51 and Col. 10 lines 11-14, Figs. 9-11 “Line out controller signal 52 may be carried on a second conduit or may be carried on the CAN bus.” “Each equalizer is also controlled by processor 68. Processor 68 also receives line out controller feed 52 so that it can receive external instructions (typically from the head unit).”).
As to claim 8, Daly discloses a second physical audio interface that is disposed at least partially within the housing and is communicatively coupled to the second communication bus (Col. 8 lines 18-19 and Col. 12 lines 36-38, Figs. 7 and 11. “Amplifier interface module 60 includes its own power input 39. It also includes its own CAN bus input 62.” “CAN bus input 62 allows the interface module to be connected to the vehicle CAN bus.”).
As to claim 9, Daly discloses wherein the second physical audio interface accommodates a second number of conductors equal to a number of conductors included in a bus of the second communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 18-19, Col. 9 lines 50-51 and Col. 12 lines 36-38, Figs. 7 and 10-11. “Amplifier interface module 60 includes its own power input 39. It also includes its own CAN bus input 62.” “Line out controller signal 52 may be carried on a second conduit or may be carried on the CAN bus.” “CAN bus input 62 allows the interface module to be connected to the vehicle CAN bus.”).
As to claim 10, Daly discloses wherein the second communication bus communicatively couples the second physical audio interface to the second processor (Col. 8 lines 18-19, Col. 10 lines 11-14 and Col. 12 lines 36-38, Figs. 7 and 10-11. “Amplifier interface module 60 includes its own power input 39. It also includes its own CAN bus input 62.” “Each equalizer is also controlled by processor 68. Processor 68 also receives line out controller feed 52 so that it can receive external instructions (typically from the head unit).” “CAN bus input 62 allows the interface module to be connected to the vehicle CAN bus.”).
As to claim 11, Daly discloses wherein the first communication bus includes a first number of conductors equal to a number of conductors included in a bus of the first communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 11-17 and Col. 12 lines 28-30, Figs. 6 and 11. “In the example of FIG. 6, OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104. In the preferred embodiment the interface head unit input is an array of several connectors, with each connector being configured to receive one of the head unit output lines (with two wires per output line).”).
As to claim 12, Daly discloses wherein the second communication bus includes a second number of conductors equal to a number of conductors included in a bus of the second communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 18-19, Col. 9 lines 50-51 and Col. 12 lines 36-38, Figs. 7 and 10-11. “Amplifier interface module 60 includes its own power input 39. It also includes its own CAN bus input 62.” “Line out controller signal 52 may be carried on a second conduit or may be carried on the CAN bus.” “CAN bus input 62 allows the interface module to be connected to the vehicle CAN bus.”).
As to claim 13, Daly discloses vehicular audio system (Col. 1 lines 5-6. “This invention relates to the field of motor vehicle entertainment and warning systems.”)), comprising:
at least one loudspeaker (Col. 8 lines 26-29, Figs. 5-6. “Various speakers over amplifier output lines 66.” Figs. 6 and 8.);
an amplifier communicatively coupled to the at least one loudspeaker (Col. 8 lines 29-33, Fig. 6. “The reader will thereby perceive that amplifier interface module 60 lies between OEM head unit 36 (or a suitable aftermarket head unit) and aftermarket amplifier 84. It passes the signals from the head unit to the aftermarket amplifier.”);
an electronic control unit communicatively coupled to the amplifier (Col. 8 lines 29-33, Fig. 6. “The reader will thereby perceive that amplifier interface module 60 lies between OEM head unit 36 (or a suitable aftermarket head unit) and aftermarket amplifier 84. It passes the signals from the head unit to the aftermarket amplifier.”); and
an audio processing module that is communicatively coupled to the amplifier and the electronic control unit (Col. 8 lines 29-33, Fig. 6. “The reader will thereby perceive that amplifier interface module 60 lies between OEM head unit 36 (or a suitable aftermarket head unit) and aftermarket amplifier 84. It passes the signals from the head unit to the aftermarket amplifier.”) and includes:
a housing (Col. 12 lines 24-27, Fig. 11. “Amplifier interface module 60 is provided as a standalone unit. It may be mounted behind the dash near the head unit.” Housing shown.);
a first processor that performs additional audio signal processing for at least one of the electronic control unit or the amplifier and is disposed within the housing (Col. 8 lines 41-43 and 59-61, Col. 9 lines 7-10 and Col. 10 lines 31-51, Figs. 7-8. “The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66. The output of signal conditioner 66 is fed to interface amplifier output 108 and then out to the aftermarket amplifier.” “FIG. 8 provides a detailed view of signal conditioner 66 and its functionality. In this embodiment, each of the six input channels feeds into an independently controlled equalizer.” “Each of the equalizers shown in FIG. 8 is preferably capable of boosting the signal gain, cutting the signal gain, and providing desired equalization functions.”);
a second processor that performs additional control signal processing for at least one of the electronic control unit or the amplifier and is disposed within the housing (Col. 8 lines 44-58 and Col. 10 lines 13-15, Figs. 7 and 10. “The amplifier interface module includes an internal processor 68 and an associated memory 70. Power supply 72 conditions the incoming power and supplies it to the various components. CAN port 74 is connected to CAN bus input 62. The CAN port may assume many forms. In the preferred embodiments it converts the difference signals on the two CAN conductors into binary signals and then into hexadecimal code that is fed to processor 68.” “Processor 68 also receives line out controller feed 52 so that it can receive external instructions (typically from the head unit).”);
a first communication bus that is disposed within the housing and is communicatively coupled to the first processor and a first communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 11-14 and 39-43, Col. 9 lines 40-45, Figs. 6-7. “Head unit output lines 54 are fed in via interface head unit input 104. The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66.” “OEM head unit 36 produces an input signal on six separate head unit output lines 54. Amplifier interface module 60 includes interface head unit input 104.”); and
a second communication bus that is disposed within the housing and is communicatively coupled to the second processor and a bus of a second communication network of the vehicular audio system (Col. 8 lines 19-21 and 44-51, Fig. 7. “It also includes its own CAN bus input 62. The amplifier interface module uses its CAN bus input to monitor the messages traveling on the CAN bus.” “The amplifier interface module includes an internal processor 68 and an associated memory 70. Power supply 72 conditions the incoming power and supplies it to the various components. CAN port 74 is connected to CAN bus input 62. The CAN port may assume many forms. In the preferred embodiments it converts the difference signals on the two CAN conductors into binary signals and then into hexadecimal code that is fed to processor 68.”).
As to claim 14, Daly discloses wherein the audio processing module is communicatively coupled to an audio network of the vehicular audio system as an additional node (Col. 9 lines 54-58, Figs. 6 and 9. “Thus, amplifier interface module 60′ takes in signals through signal lines 85 and produces a multi-channel analog output signal on interface output lines 64 (which are connected to aftermarket amplifier 84).”).
As to claim 15, Daly discloses wherein the audio processing module is communicatively coupled to a control network of the vehicular audio system as an additional node (Col. 9 lines 50-53 and Col. 10 lines 11-14, Figs. 6-10. “Line out controller signal 52 may be carried on a second conduit or may be carried on the CAN bus. Amplifier interface module 60′ is configured to receive and process the incoming signals.” “Each equalizer is also controlled by processor 68. Processor 68 also receives line out controller feed 52 so that it can receive external instructions (typically from the head unit).”).
As to claim 16, Daly discloses wherein the audio processing module is communicatively coupled to a first sub-network of the first communication network and a second sub-network of the first communication network (Col. 8 lines 39-43 and Col. 9 lines 50-58, Figs. 7-10. “In this example, head unit output lines 54 are fed in via interface head unit input 104. The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66. The output of signal conditioner 66 is fed to interface amplifier output 108 and then out to the aftermarket amplifier.” “Signal lines 85 carry the signals (which the reader will recall are actually analog signals). Line out controller signal 52 may be carried on a second conduit or may be carried on the CAN bus. Amplifier interface module 60′ is configured to receive and process the incoming signals.”).
As to claim 17, Daly discloses wherein the audio processing module further comprises a first physical audio interface that is communicatively coupled to the first sub-network and a second physical audio interface that is communicatively coupled to the second sub-network (Col. 8 lines 11-17 and Col. 9 lines 46-58, Figs. 6 and 9. “head unit output lines 54 are fed in via interface head unit input 104.” “Signal lines 85 carry the signals (which the reader will recall are actually analog signals). Line out controller signal 52 may be carried on a second conduit or may be carried on the CAN bus.” Fig. 9 shows multiple interfaces instead of singular interface 104.)
As to claim 18, Daly discloses wherein the first communication bus communicatively couples the first physical audio interface to the first processor and a third communication bus within the audio processing module communicatively couples the second physical audio interface to the first processor (Col. 8 lines 39-43 and Col. 10 lines 11-14, Figs. 6-7 and 9-10. “In this example, head unit output lines 54 are fed in via interface head unit input 104. The signals are fed into signal conditioner 66. The output of signal conditioner 66 is fed to interface amplifier output 108 and then out to the aftermarket amplifier.” “Each equalizer is also controlled by processor 68. Processor 68 also receives line out controller feed 52 so that it can receive external instructions (typically from the head unit).”).
As to claim 19, Daly discloses wherein the first sub-network is communicatively coupled to the electronic control unit and the second sub-network is communicatively coupled to the amplifier (Figs. 6 and 9. 52 and 85 are communicatively couple to Head unit 36 and Amp 84 via Amp interface module 60.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daly, as applied to claim 19 above.
As to claim 20, Daly does not expressly disclose an additional audio processing module that is communicatively coupled to the amplifier and the electronic control unit.
However, Daly (Figs. 6 and 9) discloses one audio processing module communicatively coupled to the amplifier and head unit (ECU). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found using two audio processing modules instead of one an obvious design choice. The motivation would have been that using two processing modules would have had the same expectation of success as using only one.
Conclusion
/JAMES K MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695