DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to Applicant's arguments dated 07/01/2026. Claim(s) 1-9 is/are pending in the application. Claim(s) 1 has/have been amended.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. In re Tanaka et aI., 193 USPQ 139, (CCPA) 1977.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130258015 to Mizutaki et al. (hereinafter “Mizutaki”).
With respect to claim 1, Mizutaki discloses an ink jet clear ink composition (clear ink composition Summary) comprising: a photoinitiator (photopolymerization initiator [0031], [0074]-[0082]); a fluorescent whitening agent ([0083]-[0086]); and a polymerizable monomer ([0059]-[0066], [0083]-[0086] of Mitzutaki), wherein the photoinitiator includes ethyl phenyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phosphinate ([0074]-[0082]), the polymerizable monomer includes an aromatic ring-containing monomer and a hydroxy group-containing monomer ([0059]-[0066] of Mitzutaki), and the fluorescent whitening agent is present at a content of 0.2 percent by mass or more with respect to a total mass of the ink jet clear ink composition ([0083]-[0086] of Mitzutaki).
However, Mizutaki fails to specifically state that:
the ink jet clear ink composition does not contain a colorant,
Mizutaki does discloses:
the ink jet clear ink composition does not contain a colorant ( “the ink composition does not substantially contain a colorant such as a pigment or a dye.” [0088],
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to leave out the colorant as disclosed by Mizutaki. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain a clear ink composition and not impair the clear ink. ([0088] of Mizutaki).
With respect to claim 2, Mizutaki discloses wherein the photoinitiator is present at a content of 0 to 12.0 percent by mass or less with respect to the total mass of the ink jet clear ink composition ([0081] of Mitzutaki).
With respect to claim 3, Mizutaki discloses wherein the ethyl phenyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phosphinate is present at a content of 2.0 to 8.0 percent by mass with respect to the total mass of the ink jet clear ink composition ([0074]-[0082] of Mitzutaki).
With respect to claim 4, Mizutaki discloses wherein the hydroxy group-containing monomer includes at least one selected from the group consisting of 2-hydroxy-3-phenoxypropyl acrylate, 4-hydroxybutyl acrylate, and 1,4-cyclohexane dimethanol monoacrylate ([0059]-[0065] of Mitzutaki).
With respect to claim 5, Mizutaki discloses wherein the polymerizable monomer includes a monomer having both an aromatic ring and a hydroxy group ([0059]-[0065] of Mitzutaki).
With respect to claim 6, Mizutaki discloses wherein the monomer having both an aromatic ring and a hydroxy group includes 2-hydroxy-3-phenoxypropyl acrylate ([0059]-[0065] of Mitzutaki).
With respect to claim 7, Mizutaki discloses wherein the aromatic ring-containing monomer is present at a content of 31.5 percent by mass or more with respect to the total mass of the ink jet clear ink composition ([0071] of Mizutaki).
With respect to claim 8, Mizutaki discloses further comprising: an urethane acrylate oligomer ([0046] of Mizutaki).
With respect to claim 9, Mizutaki discloses a recording method comprising: an ejection step of ejecting the ink jet clear ink composition according to claim 1 so as to be adhered to a recording medium; and an irradiation step of irradiating the ink jet clear ink composition with radioactive rays ([0020]-[0021] of Mizutaki).
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
1. Applicant's arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the amendment and the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY W THIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853