DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remark
2. This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on the 28th of May 2026.
(a). The rejection(s) of Claims 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending application No.: 18/737,501 is MAINTAINED because terminal disclaimer has not been filed and/or the claim(s) is/are not amended to obviate the rejection.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments (see pages 6-9), filed on the 28th of May, 2026 with respect to Claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending application No.:18/737,501. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims limitations are transparently found in the instant application claims limitation. Application’s merely broadens the independent claim(s) of the copending application by adding some limitation(s) to arrive claims of instant application. Thus, both set of claims are obvious variant of each other. See table and claim mapping below:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Copending Application: 18/737,501
Instant Application: 18/750,035
Claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication node, a first message requesting a handover of a terminal comprising unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) from the first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node;
wherein the first message includes one or more configuration containers;
wherein the one or more configuration containers include various information associated with a terminal service comprising a UAV service; and
wherein the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node correspond to respectively different Radio Access Technologies (RATs).
Claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication node from a network, a first message including a plurality of configuration containers,
wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT), and
wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service.
The copending application discloses virtually all the limitations of the instant application with the exception of wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to provide ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’ as disclosed by the instant application into the copending application so as to effectively identify subscription based unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) nodes in wireless communication system.
Claim 3: Wherein, prior to sending the first message, the one or more configuration containers have included only one of a RAT_A configuration container or a RAT_B configuration container.
Claim 18: Wherein the RAT_A configuration container is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container, and the RAT_B configuration container is a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 2: Wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes at least one of a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container or a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication node, a first message requesting a handover of a terminal comprising unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) from the first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node;
wherein the first message includes one or more configuration containers;
wherein the one or more configuration containers include various information associated with a terminal service comprising a UAV service; and
wherein the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node correspond to respectively different Radio Access Technologies (RATs).
Claim 4: A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a network to a wireless communication node, a first message including a plurality of configuration containers;
wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes various information associated with a terminal service and
wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT), and
wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service.
The copending application discloses virtually all the limitations of the instant application with the exception of ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to provide ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’ as disclosed by the instant application into the copending application so as to effectively identify subscription based unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) nodes in wireless communication system.
Claim 3: Wherein, prior to sending the first message, the one or more configuration containers have included only one of a RAT_A configuration container or a RAT_B configuration container.
Claim 18: Wherein the RAT_A configuration container is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container, and the RAT_B configuration container is a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 5: Wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes at least one of a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container or a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 1 A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication node, a first message requesting a handover of a terminal comprising unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) from the first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node;
wherein the first message includes one or more configuration containers;
wherein the one or more configuration containers include various information associated with a terminal service comprising a UAV service; and
wherein the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node correspond to respectively different Radio Access Technologies (RATs).
Claim 7: A wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor configured to:
receive, via a receiver from a network, a first message including a plurality of configuration containers,
wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes various information associated with a terminal service and
wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT). and
wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service.
The copending application discloses virtually all the limitations of the instant application with the exception of ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to provide ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’ as disclosed by the instant application into the copending application so as to effectively identify subscription based unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) nodes in wireless communication system.
Claim 3: Wherein, prior to sending the first message, the one or more configuration containers have included only one of a RAT_A configuration container or a RAT_B configuration container.
Claim 18: Wherein the RAT_A configuration container is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container, and the RAT_B configuration container is a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 8: Wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes at least one of a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container or a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication node, a first message requesting a handover of a terminal comprising unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) from the first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node;
wherein the first message includes one or more configuration containers;
wherein the one or more configuration containers include various information associated with a terminal service comprising a UAV service; and
wherein the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node correspond to respectively different Radio Access Technologies (RATs).
Claim 10: A network node, comprising:
at least one processor configured to:
send, via a transmitter to a wireless communication node, a first message including a plurality of configuration containers;
wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes various information associated with a terminal service and
wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT) and
wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service.
The copending application discloses virtually all the limitations of the instant application with the exception of ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to provide ‘wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT)’ as disclosed by the instant application into the copending application so as to effectively identify subscription based unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) nodes in wireless communication system.
Claim 3: Wherein, prior to sending the first message, the one or more configuration containers have included only one of a RAT_A configuration container or a RAT_B configuration container.
Claim 18: Wherein the RAT_A configuration container is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container, and the RAT_B configuration container is a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 11: Wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes at least one of a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container or a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication node, a first message requesting a handover of a terminal comprising unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) from the first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node;
wherein the first message includes one or more configuration containers;
wherein the one or more configuration containers include various information associated with a terminal service comprising a UAV service; and
wherein the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node correspond to respectively different Radio Access Technologies (RATs).
Claim 13: A non-transitory computer-readable program medium having code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the method of claim 1.
Claim 3: Wherein, prior to sending the first message, the one or more configuration containers have included only one of a RAT_A configuration container or a RAT_B configuration container.
Claim 18: Wherein the RAT_A configuration container is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container, and the RAT_B configuration container is a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 14: A non-transitory computer-readable program medium having code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the method of claim 2.
Claim 1: A wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication node, a first message requesting a handover from the first wireless communication node to a second wireless communication node;
wherein the first message includes one or more configuration containers;
wherein the one or more configuration containers include various information associated with a terminal service; and
wherein the first wireless communication node and the second wireless communication node correspond to respectively different Radio Access Technologies (RATs).
Claim 16: A non-transitory computer-readable program medium having code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the method of claim 4.
Claim 3: Wherein, prior to sending the first message, the one or more configuration containers have included only one of a RAT_A configuration container or a RAT_B configuration container.
Claim 18: Wherein the RAT_A configuration container is a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container, and the RAT_B configuration container is a New Radio (NR) configuration container.
Claim 17: A non-transitory computer-readable program medium having code stored thereupon, the code, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the method of claim 5.
6. Claims 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending application No.: 18/737,501, in view of Publication No.: US 2020/0120750 A1 to Liu et al. (Liu) and further in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0053329 A1 to Kim et al. (Kim).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
As to Claims 3, 9 and 15, copending application No.: 18/737,501 discloses all the subject matter with the exception of ‘wherein the network receives a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service’.
However, Liu in view of Kim disclose wherein the network receives a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service (Kim, see ¶s 0069 and 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to provide ‘wherein the network receives a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service’ as disclosed by Liu in view of Kim disclose into the instant application so as to effectively identify subscription based unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) nodes in wireless communication system.
As to Claims 6, 12 and 18, copending application No.: 18/737,501 discloses all the subject matter with the exception of ‘‘wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service’.
However, Liu in view of Kim disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service (Kim, see ¶s 0069 and 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to provide ‘wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service’ as disclosed by Liu in view of Kim disclose into the instant application so as to effectively identify subscription based unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) nodes in wireless communication system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication No.: US 2020/0120750 A1 to Liu et al. (Liu), in view of Publication No.: US 2022/0053329 A1 to Kim et al. (Kim).
As to Claims 1, 7 and 13, Liu discloses a wireless communication node, comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 15, ‘processing unit 302’) configured to:
receive, via a receiver (Fig. 15, ‘receiving unit 301’) from a network, a first message including a plurality of configuration containers (Fig. 1, ‘the SgNB sends the first container and the second container to the MeNB via an X2 interface. The MeNB sends the two containers received from the SgNB, and MeNB air interface configurations generated by the MeNB to a terminal via a Uu interface’, ¶ 0141),
wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT) (Figs.13-15, ‘the receiving unit 301 is configured to receive a first container from the master base station, where the first container includes only the NR PDCP configuration and the identification information of the DRB, the first container is a container generated by the secondary base station, and the NR PDCP configuration has a one-to-one correspondence with the identification information of the DRB. The sending unit 102 is further configured to: send the second container to the terminal. The second container has a one-to-one correspondence with the identification information of the DRB. In other words, the base station shown in Fig. 13 not only sends the NR PDCP configuration to the terminal, but also sends the air interface configuration of the secondary base station to the terminal’, ¶s 0173-0175 and ¶ 0200).
Liu does not expressly disclose wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service.
However, Kim discloses wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service (‘the registration procedure may include the core network devices(s) 325 determining whether a UAV authentication and authorization procedure is required. For example, the core network devices(s) 325 may obtain subscription information associated with the UAV UE 120 to determine if the subscription information indicates that the UAV authentication and authorization procedure is required (e.g., the MME/AMF 330 may obtain the subscription information from the UDM 350 and/or the UDR 355). The core network device(s) 325 may identify the subscription information based at least in part on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) associated with the UAV UE 120. If the subscription information indicates that the UAV authentication and authorization procedure is not required, the core network device(s) 325 may determine whether the UAV UE 120 is authorized for aerial service’, ¶ 0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service’ as disclosed by Kim into Liu so as to effectively trigger unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) authentication and authorization procedure in wireless communication system, Kim ¶ 0006.
As to Claims 2, 8 and 14, Liu further discloses wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes at least one of a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container or a New Radio (NR) configuration container (‘the receiving unit 301 is configured to receive a first container from the master base station, where the first container includes only the NR PDCP configuration and the identification information of the DRB, the first container is a container generated by the secondary base station, and the NR PDCP configuration has a one-to-one correspondence with the identification information of the DRB’, ¶ 0200).
As to Claims 3, 9 and 15, Liu does not expressly disclose wherein the network receives a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service.
However, Kim discloses wherein the network receives a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification (‘the MME/AMF 330 includes one or more network devices, such as one or more server devices, capable of managing authentication, activation, deactivation, and/or mobility functions associated with the UAV UE 120 connected to the core network 320. In some implementations, the MME/AMF 330 may perform operations relating to authentication of the UAV UE 120. The MIME/AMF 330 may maintain a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling connection with the UAV UE 120. The MME/AMF 330 may manage a registration procedure of the UAV UE 120 with the radio access network 305 and/or the core network 320’, ¶ 0069), and
wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service (‘the UAV UE 120 may be associated with an aerial subscription that is stored and maintained by the core network 320. The aerial subscription may be a subscription for aerial services provided by the core network 320. The core network 320 may assign a network level UAV identifier to an aerial subscription (e.g., using an aviation-level mechanism to ensure global-uniqueness of the network level UAV identifier, such as by including a mobile country code (MCC) and/or a mobile network code (MNC) in the network level UAV identifier)’, ¶ 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the network receives a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service’ as disclosed by Kim into Liu so as to effectively trigger unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) authentication and authorization procedure in wireless communication system, Kim ¶ 0006.
As to Claims 4, 10 and 16, Liu discloses a network node, comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 14, ‘processing unit 201’) configured to:
send, via a transmitter (Fig. 14, ‘sending unit 202’) to a wireless communication node, a first message including a plurality of configuration containers (Fig. 1, ‘the SgNB sends the first container and the second container to the MeNB via an X2 interface. The MeNB sends the two containers received from the SgNB, and MeNB air interface configurations generated by the MeNB to a terminal via a Uu interface’, ¶ 0141);
wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT) wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes information associated with a terminal service and wherein each of the plurality of configuration containers corresponds to different radio access technology (RAT) (Figs.13-15, ‘the receiving unit 301 is configured to receive a first container from the master base station, where the first container includes only the NR PDCP configuration and the identification information of the DRB, the first container is a container generated by the secondary base station, and the NR PDCP configuration has a one-to-one correspondence with the identification information of the DRB. The sending unit 102 is further configured to: send the second container to the terminal. The second container has a one-to-one correspondence with the identification information of the DRB. In other words, the base station shown in Fig. 13 not only sends the NR PDCP configuration to the terminal, but also sends the air interface configuration of the secondary base station to the terminal’, ¶s 0173-0175 and ¶ 0200).
Liu does not expressly disclose wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service.
However, Kim discloses wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service (‘the registration procedure may include the core network devices(s) 325 determining whether a UAV authentication and authorization procedure is required. For example, the core network devices(s) 325 may obtain subscription information associated with the UAV UE 120 to determine if the subscription information indicates that the UAV authentication and authorization procedure is required (e.g., the MME/AMF 330 may obtain the subscription information from the UDM 350 and/or the UDR 355). The core network device(s) 325 may identify the subscription information based at least in part on a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) associated with the UAV UE 120. If the subscription information indicates that the UAV authentication and authorization procedure is not required, the core network device(s) 325 may determine whether the UAV UE 120 is authorized for aerial service’, ¶ 0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the information includes unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) subscription information configured to notify the wireless communication node that a wireless communication device is qualified to use an UAV service’ as disclosed by Kim into Liu so as to effectively trigger unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) authentication and authorization procedure in wireless communication system, Kim ¶ 0006.
As to Claims 5, 11 and 17, Liu further discloses wherein the plurality of configuration containers includes at least one of a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) configuration container or a New Radio (NR) configuration container (‘the receiving unit 301 is configured to receive a first container from the master base station, where the first container includes only the NR PDCP configuration and the identification information of the DRB, the first container is a container generated by the secondary base station, and the NR PDCP configuration has a one-to-one correspondence with the identification information of the DRB’, ¶ 0200).
As to Claims 6, 12 and 18, Liu does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service.
However, Kim discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification (‘the MME/AMF 330 includes one or more network devices, such as one or more server devices, capable of managing authentication, activation, deactivation, and/or mobility functions associated with the UAV UE 120 connected to the core network 320. In some implementations, the MME/AMF 330 may perform operations relating to authentication of the UAV UE 120. The MIME/AMF 330 may maintain a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling connection with the UAV UE 120. The MME/AMF 330 may manage a registration procedure of the UAV UE 120 with the radio access network 305 and/or the core network 320’, ¶ 0069 ), and
wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service (‘the UAV UE 120 may be associated with an aerial subscription that is stored and maintained by the core network 320. The aerial subscription may be a subscription for aerial services provided by the core network 320. The core network 320 may assign a network level UAV identifier to an aerial subscription (e.g., using an aviation-level mechanism to ensure global-uniqueness of the network level UAV identifier, such as by including a mobile country code (MCC) and/or a mobile network code (MNC) in the network level UAV identifier)’, ¶ 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message from a wireless communication device that includes an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) identification, and wherein the first message indicates that the wireless communication device has subscribed to an UAV service’ as disclosed by Kim into Liu so as to effectively trigger unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) authentication and authorization procedure in wireless communication system, Kim ¶ 0006.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GBEMILEKE J ONAMUTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463