DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 6/21/24.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeBeer et al. (US20130063186, hereinafter DeBeer).
Regarding Claim 1, DeBeer discloses (fig. 1, 3) a power supply controller provided in a switching power supply configured to generate an output voltage (Vout) from an input voltage (Vin), the power supply controller configured to control an operation of the switching power supply, the power supply controller comprising: an output stage (S1, S2) including an output element (S1) provided between an application terminal for the input voltage (VIN) and a switch terminal (SW), and a rectifier element (S2) provided between the switch terminal and a reference potential terminal (GND); a control circuit (14, 16) configured to generate a control signal (16 output) according to the output voltage (via FB); and an output element drive circuit (fig. 3) configured to turn on or off the output element according to the control signal by using a drive voltage (HS Drive) for turning on the output element, wherein when switching the output element from an off state to an on state based on the control signal, the output element drive circuit switches the output element from the off state to the on state by using the drive voltage having a first voltage and then increases the drive voltage to a second voltage (¶28, 29)
Regarding Claim 7, DeBeer discloses (fig. 1) the output voltage is generated when a switch voltage generated at the switch terminal (Vsw) is rectified and smoothed by alternately turning on and off the output element based on the control signal (via S1, S2, L1, Cout, ¶17).
Regarding Claim 8, DeBeer discloses a switching power supply (fig. 1), comprising: the power supply controller of Claim 1 (fig 1 and 3 as detailed above); and a rectifying and smoothing circuit connected to the switch terminal and an output terminal, wherein the rectifying and smoothing circuit rectifies and smoothes a switch voltage generated at the switch terminal when the output element is alternately turned on and off based on the control signal, such that the output voltage is generated at the output terminal (via S1, S2, L1, Cout, ¶17).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose: “...wherein a diode having a forward direction from the first node to the second node is disposed in parallel to the switch, wherein when switching the output element from the off state to the on state based on the control signal, the output element drive circuit switches the output element from the off state to the on state by using the drive voltage when the switch is turned off and keeps the output element in the on state by using the drive voltage when the switch is turned on, wherein the first voltage corresponds to the drive voltage when the switch is turned off, and is lower than the second voltage by a forward voltage of the diode, and wherein the second voltage corresponds to the drive voltage when the switch is turned on” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20100072967, Kamishinbara; Takashi et al. discloses a converter control circuit.
US 20100213910, Chen; Wei discloses a method and apparatus for external control mode step down switching regulator.
US 20210167774, Karasawa; Shinya et al. discloses a gate drive circuit and control circuit for switching circuit, and switching power supply.
US 7656143, Nagaya; Yoshihiro et al. discloses a DC-DC converter.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838