DETAILED ACTION
Remark
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on June 11,2026, which has been entered into the file.
By this amendment, the applicant has amended claims 1, 8 and 9.
Claims 1-10 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US patent issued to Thelen (PN. 3,423,147) in view of the US patent issued to Nakauchi et al (PN. 8,131,518) and US patent issued to Bradley et al (PN. 6,157,489).
Claims 1, 8 and 9 have been amended to necessitate the new grounds of rejection.
Thelen teaches, with regard to claim 1, a multilayer film (10, Figure 1) covers at least a portion of a base material (12, Figure 1) wherein the multilayer film including color adjusting film that is composed of an oxide layer or a fluoride layer, (such as aluminum oxide, titanium oxide and magnesium fluoride, please see column 3, lines 43-47). It is noted that each of the layer has a refractive index and a physical thickness that imparts an optical phase (based on optical thickness which is a product of the refractive index and physical thickness) to light passes through the layer. The optical phase imparted will create constructive or destructive interference of the light such that only certain wavelength (or color) of the light will passes through. This is the theoretical base of interference filter, which makes each layer a color adjusting layer.
Thelen teaches that the multilayer film includes a first color-adjusting film (C ) having a refractive index of 2.30 (nC) that is more than 2.0, (please see column 3, lines 35-47), a second color-adjusting film (B) having a refractive index of 1.781 (nB) that is more than 1.5 and less than 2.0 and a third color-adjusting film (A) having a refractive index of 1.38, (nA) that is less than 1.5.
This reference has met all the limitation of the claims. This reference does not teach explicitly that the multilayer film having a color adjusting film that is formed by dry plating. However, this feature is considered to be product-by-process limitation that is not given patentable wight since it does not affect the final product of the color adjusting film, (please see MPEP 2173.05(P)). Furthermore, it is known in the art that a dry plating or PVD (physical vapor deposition method) very well-known film deposition method in the art. Such is explicitly taught by Nakauchi et al, wherein dry plating or PVD is used to form multilayer film, (please see column 8, lines 30-34). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the teachings of Nakauchi et al to use art well-known dry plating method to form the color adjusting film layer.
These references further do not teach that the multiplayer film and base are constituted as a watch component. But this feature is considered as a recitation of an intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Madham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 1 has been amended to include the phrase “a pair of color-absorbing films” and the phrase “the pair of color-absorbing films sandwich the second color-adjusting film directly therebetween”.
These references do not teach that the component comprises a pair of color-absorbing films.
Bradley et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a thin film element has an interference layer structure (30, Figure 2) comprises a pair of absorber layers (32 and 36, Figure 2) that sandwich a dielectric layer (34). The interference layer structure has a property of color shifting characteristics, (please see Figure 2 and column 5, line 66 to column 6, line 34). Bradley et al teaches that the dielectric layer may have a refractive index that is greater than 1.65. Bradley et al teaches that the dielectric layer also has certain layer thickness with regard to design wavelength which means that the dielectric layer has color adjusting property. It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the multilayer film of Thelen to provide a pair of absorber layers that sandwich a dielectric layer such as the second color adjusting film having refractive index between 1.5 and 2.0, to create the interference structure of absorber/dielectric/absorber for the benefit of also providing interference structure that has color shifting properties.
With regard to claims 2-4, Thelen teaches that each of the color adjusting films has an optical thickness that measured in relate to a design wavelength of the light, (please see column 1). This reference however does not teach explicitly that the physical thickness of the second color-adjusting film is more than 100 nm or more than 200 nm and the physical thickness of the first and third color-adjusting film have a thickness of 50 nm or more. It also does not teach explicitly that the thickness of the second color-adjusting film is greater than the thickness of the first and third color-adjusting films. Yet, it is known in the art, the optical thickness of each color adjusting layers imparts an optical phase to the light incident upon them and the resulting interference of the phase-imparted lights produces specific spectrum of the light. It is therefore obvious to one skilled in the art to select the specific physical thickness and therefore the optical thickness of the color adjusting films for the benefit of designing the desired optical spectrum of the multilayer film.
With regard to claim 5, Thelen teaches that the first color-adjusting film (C ) is composed of titanium oxide (TiO2, please see column 1, lines 43-47).
With regard to claim 6, Thelen teaches that the second color-adjusting film (B) is composed of aluminum oxide (Al2O3, please see column 1, lines 43-47).
With regard to claim 7, Thelen teaches that the third color-adjusting film (A) is composed of a magnesium fluoride (MgF2, please see column 1, lines 43-47).
With regard to amended claims 8 and 9, Bradley et al teaches that the color-absorbing films are composed of a metal layer such as chromium, (please see column 5, line 45). Thelen teaches that the multilayer unit (11, Figure 1 and column 2, lines 48 an 60-65) has a total of 6 layers and in light of the teachings of Bradley et al with additional of a pair of absorber layers, the total number of the layers may be 8 which is less than 10.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thelen, Nakauchi et al and Bradley et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent application publication by Condo et al (US 2002/0039235 A1).
The multilayer film taught by Thelen in combination with the teachings of Nakauchi et al and Bradley et al as described in claim 1 above has met all the limitations of the claims.
With regard to claim 10, Thelen does not teach explicitly a watch to comprise the watch component with the multilayer film. Condo et al in the same field of endeavor teaches a multilayer optical films that may be utilized in a watch, (please see paragraph [0048]). It would then have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the multilayer film accordingly for the benefit of allowing the multilayer film to be utilized in a watch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly amended claims have been fully considered and they are rejected for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments are mainly drawn to the newly amended features that have been fully addressed in the reasons for rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AUDREY Y. CHANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/AUDREY Y CHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872