DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed October 29, 2025, have been noted; however, these arguments are moot in view of a new grounds of rejection discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katagawa (US 2016/0360136 A1, referred to herein as “Katagawa”).
Regarding claim 2, Katagawa discloses: An imaging apparatus comprising:
an imaging element including a plurality of pixels (Katagawa: Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023] – [0024], disclosing an imaging element including pixel units that receive incident light), the plurality of pixels including a first pixel configured to output a first signal generated based on a first condition (Katagaw: paragraph [0027], disclosing that pixel units—e.g., including a first pixel unit—receive input light and output an analog signal obtained by photoelectric conversion; paragraphs [0029] and [0031], disclosing generation of pixel signals based on various conditions—e.g., including a first condition—such as effective pixels, optical black pixels, focus detection, and color filters associated with a Bayer array) and a second pixel configured to output a second signal generated based on a second condition (Katagawa: paragraph [0027], disclosing that pixel units—e.g., including a second pixel unit—receive input light and output an analog signal obtained by photoelectric conversion; paragraphs [0029] and [0031], disclosing generation of pixel signals based on various conditions—e.g., including a second condition—such as effective pixels, optical black pixels, focus detection, and color filters associated with a Bayer array), the imaging element being configured to output image data based on the first signal and the second signal (Katagawa: paragraph [0027], disclosing that an image is output from a photoelectric conversion unit that is an added signal obtained from the pixel units); and
a processing unit configured to perform compression processing on first image data output from the imaging element by using the first condition and the second condition (Katagawa: paragraph [0028], disclosing that image data is processed by first and second compression units; paragraphs [0029] and [0031], disclosing that the compression units may process data obtained for different conditions, such as effective pixels, optical black pixels, focus detection, and color filters associated with a Bayer array; paragraph [0030], disclosing that the compression units generates encoded data).
Regarding claim 3, Katagawa discloses: The imaging apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processing unit performs the compression processing on the first image data by using the first condition, the second condition and second image data output from the imaging element prior to the first image data (Katagawa: paragraph [0037], disclosing schemes where one compression unit performs a compression process while another compression unit does not; paragraph [0040], disclosing switching of output compression unit data—e.g., suggesting a second image data output from the imaging element prior to a first image data).
Regarding claim 17, Katagawa discloses: A moving image compression apparatus comprising:
a communication unit configured to receive image data from an imaging element (Katagawa: Fig. 1, paragraph [0023], disclosing an image pickup apparatus and associated image processing unit that receives image data from an imaging element) including a plurality of pixels (Katagawa: Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023] – [0024], disclosing that the imaging element includes pixel units that receive incident light), the plurality of pixels including a first pixel configured to output a first signal generated based on a first condition (Katagaw: paragraph [0027], disclosing that pixel units—e.g., including a first pixel unit—receive input light and output an analog signal obtained by photoelectric conversion; paragraphs [0029] and [0031], disclosing generation of pixel signals based on various conditions—e.g., including a first condition—such as effective pixels, optical black pixels, focus detection, and color filters associated with a Bayer array) and a second pixel configured to output a second signal generated based on a second condition (Katagawa: paragraph [0027], disclosing that pixel units—e.g., including a second pixel unit—receive input light and output an analog signal obtained by photoelectric conversion; paragraphs [0029] and [0031], disclosing generation of pixel signals based on various conditions—e.g., including a second condition—such as effective pixels, optical black pixels, focus detection, and color filters associated with a Bayer array); and
a processing unit configured to perform compression processing on the image data received from the imaging element by using the first condition and the second condition (Katagawa: paragraph [0028], disclosing that image data is processed by first and second compression units; paragraphs [0029] and [0031], disclosing that the compression units may process data obtained for different conditions, such as effective pixels, optical black pixels, focus detection, and color filters associated with a Bayer array; paragraph [0030], disclosing that the compression units generates encoded data).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Katagawa, either alone or in combination with other prior art of record, does not teach, suggest, or disclose where the processing unit performs block matching on the first image data and the second image data by using the first condition and the second condition in the compression processing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER T. BRANIFF
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/CHRISTOPHER BRANIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484