DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 1/13/2026.
Continued Examination
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/19/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 21, the term “the lens of the intermediate group” (line 2) and “the second lens of the intermediate group” (line 4) should be “a lens of the intermediate group” (line 2) and “a second lens of the intermediate group” (line 4).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake (US20100033836) in view of Ogata (US20150168697)
Regarding claim 1, Ohtake teaches a zoom lens (Ohtake, abstract, a variable focal length lens system; paragraph [0016], in a zoom lens,) comprising, in order from a position closest to an object side to an image side (Ohtake, figs.1-2, paragraph [0168], in order from the object side): a first lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, first lens group G1) that has a positive refractive power (Ohtake, fig.2, paragraph [0168], first lens group G1 having a positive refracting power); a second lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, a second lens group G2) that is disposed subsequent to the first lens group (fig.2, the G1) and has a negative refractive power (paragraph [0168], a second lens group G2 having a negative refracting power); an intermediate group (Ohtake, fig.2, an intermediate group has been referred as lens group G3 and lens group G4) that includes at least one lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, the G3) and has a positive refractive power (see paragraph [0178], data of table 1, number 14-20, the intermediate group G3+G4, has a positive refracting power --is about 1/5.5); and a subsequent group (Ohtake, fig.2, a subsequent group has been referred as lens group G5) that includes at least one lens group (the G5) and has a negative refractive power (paragraph [0168] fifth lens group G5 having a negative refracting power),
wherein during zooming (Ohtake, paragraph [0169] upon power variation from the wide angle end state to the telephoto end state), the first lens group moves along an optical axis (paragraph [0169], the first lens group G1 first moves), a distance between the first lens group and the second lens group changes (paragraph [0169] distance between the first and second lens groups G1 and G2 increases), and a distance between the second lens group and the intermediate group changes (paragraph [0169] the distance between the second and third lens groups G2 and G3 decreases, the distance between the third and fourth lens groups G3 and G4 increases), and a distance between the intermediate group and the subsequent group changes (paragraph [0169], the distance between the fourth and fifth lens groups G4 and G5 decreases),
the first lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, the G1) consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first cemented lens (fig.2, lens L11) that has a positive refractive power (see Ohtake, fig.2, paragraph [0178], data of table 1, lens L11 has a positive refractive power, focal length of lens L11 value is approximately 137), and a positive meniscus lens (Ohtake, fig.2, lens L12) having a surface convex toward the object side (paragraph [0171], a positive lens L12 having a convex face directed to the object side),
the first cemented lens of the first lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, Lens L11) is formed by cementing a negative lens and a biconvex lens, in order from the object side to the image side (see Ohtake, fig.2, in order from the object side to the image side, paragraph [00171], The first lens group G1 includes a cemented lens L11 of a negative lens of a meniscus shape having a convex face directed to the object side and a positive lens having a convex face directed to the object side),
wherein assuming that a radius of curvature of the lens surface (Ohtake, fig.2, the lens L12) closest to the image side in the first lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, the first lens group has been referred as first lens group G1) is R1r (Ohtake, fig.2, paragraph [0178], data of table 1, a radius of curvature of the lens surface is face number 5, R1r = 32.60152), and a radius of curvature of the lens surface (Ohtake, fig.2, the lens L21) closest to the object side in the second lens group (Ohtake, fig.2, the second lens group has been referred as second lens group G2) is R2f (Ohtake, fig.2, paragraph [0178], data of table 1, a radius of curvature of the lens surface is face number 6, R2r= 11.5479), Conditional Expression (15-4) is satisfied, which is represented by
2.09≤(R1r+R2f)/(R1r-R2f)<4 (2.1; Ohtake, fig.2, described above).
Ohtake does not explicitly teach wherein the second lens group includes exactly two positive lenses, one of which is an uncemented single lens, and a negative lens and a second cemented lens, in which a negative lens and a positive lens are cemented in order from the object side to the image side, are disposed successively in order from the position closest to the image side to the object side in the second lens group; wherein assuming that a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw, and a focal length of the second lens group is f2, Conditional Expression (30) is satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|<5 (fw/|f2| = 0.5; fw = 1, f2=-2.01).
However, Ogata teaches the analogous zoom lens (Ogata, abstract, a zoom lens includes in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens unit having a positive refractive power, a second lens unit having a negative refractive power, a third lens unit having a positive refractive power, and a fourth lens unit. At a telephoto end, with respect to a wide angle end, a distance between the first lens unit and the second lens unit widens, and a distance between the second lens unit and the third lens unit narrows), and further teaches wherein the second lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G2) includes exactly two positive lenses (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0240], a positive meniscus lens L4; a positive meniscus lens L6), one of which is an uncemented single lens (Ogata, fig.2, the positive meniscus lens L4), and
a negative lens (Ogata, fig.2, the lens L7, paragraph [0240], a biconcave negative lens L7) and a second cemented lens (Ogata, fig.2, second cemented lens has been referred as lenses L5+L6, paragraph [0240], the biconcave negative lens L5 and the positive meniscus lens L6 are cemented), in which a negative lens and a positive lens are cemented in order from the object side to the image side (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0240], the biconcave negative lens L5 and the positive meniscus lens L6 are cemented), are disposed successively in order from the position closest to the image side to the object side in the second lens group (see Ogata, fig.2, lens L7, lens L6 and lens L5 are disposed successively in order from the position closest to the image side to the object side in the second lens unit G2); wherein assuming that a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, fw = focal length of WE = 40.81), and a focal length of the second lens group is f2 (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0067], f2 denotes a focal length of the second lens unit G2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, f2 = -37.01), Conditional Expression (30) is satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|<5 (1.1; fw/|f2| =40.81/|-37.01| = 1.1, see Ogata, fig.2, described above).
Ogata also teaches the first lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G1) consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first cemented lens (Ogata, fig.2, lenses L1+L2) that has a positive refractive power (see Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, lenses L1+L2 that has a positive refractive power), and a positive meniscus lens (Ogata, fig.2, lens L3) having a surface convex toward the object side (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0239] a positive meniscus lens L3 having a convex surface directed toward the object side), the first cemented lens of the first lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lenses L1+L2) is formed by cementing a negative lens and a biconvex lens, in order from the object side to the image side (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0239], a negative meniscus lens L1 having a convex surface directed toward an object side, a biconvex positive lens L2).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ohtake have a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw, and a focal length of the second lens group is f2 as taught by Ogata to have conditional Expression is satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|<5; that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness; and making a focusing lens unit light-weight, and facilitating correction of chromatic aberration (Ogata, paragraph [0191], [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein the negative lens (Ogata, fig.2, lens L5) of the second cemented lens (Ogata, fig.2, lenses L5+L6) of the second lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G2) has a surface concave toward the image side (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0240], biconcave negative lens L5).
But Ogata of fig.2 does not explicitly teach wherein the negative lens disposed closest to the image side in the second lens group is a meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the image side.
However, Ogata of fig.1 teaches wherein the negative lens (Ogata, fig.1, the negative lens has been referred as lens L7, paragraph [0228] a negative meniscus lens L7) disposed closest to the image side in the second lens group (Ogata, fig.1, lens unit G2) is a meniscus lens (Ogata, fig.1, paragraph [0228] a negative meniscus lens L7) having a surface convex toward the image side. (see Ogata, fig.1, paragraph [0228], a negative meniscus lens L7 having a convex surface directed toward the image side), and
the negative lens (Ogata, fig.1, the negative lens has been referred as the lens L5, paragraph [0228], biconcave negative lens L5) of the second cemented lens of the second lens group (Ogata, fig.1, paragraph [0228], a second lens unit G2; biconcave negative lens L5 and the positive meniscus lens L6 are cemented) has a surface concave toward the image side (Ogata, fig.1, paragraph [0228], biconcave negative lens L5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Ogata of fig.2 with the specific group as taught by Ogata of fig.1 for a purpose of having a small-sizing of the zoom lens (Ogata, paragraph [0009]).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative lens disposed closest to the image side in the second lens group of Ohtake to have meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the image side as taught by Ogata that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 7, combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein the negative lens (Ogata, fig.2, lens L7, paragraph [0240], negative lens L7) disposed closest to the image side in the second lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G2) has a surface concave toward the object side (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0240], a biconcave negative lens L7), and
the negative lens (Ogata, fig.2, lens L5) of the second cemented lens (Ogata, fig.2, lenses L5+L6) of the second lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G2) is a biconcave lens (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0240], biconcave negative lens L5).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the negative lens disposed closest to the image side in the second lens group of Ohtake to have a surface concave toward the object side, and the negative lens of the second cemented lens of the second lens group is a biconcave lens as taught by Ogata that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 8, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein the zoom lens includes exactly one cemented lens (Ogata, fig.2, lenses L12+L13), in which a positive lens and a negative lens are cemented in order from the object side to the image side (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0242], the biconvex positive lens L12 and the biconcave negative lens L13 are cemented), closer to the image side than the second lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G2).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens includes exactly one cemented lens of Ohtake to have a positive lens and a negative lens are cemented in order from the object side to the image side, closer to the image side than the second lens group as taught by Ogata that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 9, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Ogata of fig.2 does not explicitly teach wherein the zoom lens includes exactly one cemented lens, in which a positive lens and a negative lens are cemented in order from the object side to the image side, closer to the image side than the intermediate group.
However, Ogata of fig.1 teaches wherein the zoom lens (Ogata, fig.1, the zoom lens) includes exactly one cemented lens (Ogata, fig.1, paragraph [0231], the positive lens L16 and the negative lens L17 are cemented), in which a positive lens and a negative lens are cemented (Ogata, fig.1, paragraph [0231], the positive lens L16 and the negative lens L17 are cemented), in order from the object side to the image side, closer to the image side than the intermediate group (Ogata, fig.1, the intermediate group has been referred as the lens units G3+G4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Ogata of fig.2 includes exactly one cemented lens as taught by Ogata of fig.1, in which a positive lens and a negative lens are cemented, in order from the object side to the image side, closer to the image side than the intermediate group that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for a purpose of having a small-sizing of the zoom lens (Ogata, paragraph [0009]).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Ohtake includes exactly one cemented lens as taught by Ogata of fig.1, in which a positive lens and a negative lens are cemented, in order from the object side to the image side, closer to the image side than the intermediate group that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for a purpose of having a small-sizing of the zoom lens (Ogata, paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 10, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, and Ohtake further teaches wherein a biconvex lens (Ohtake, fig.2, the lens L32, paragraph [0173], positive lens L32 of a biconvex shape) is disposed closest to the image side in the intermediate group (Ohtake, fig.2, the intermediate group has been referred as the third lens group G3).
Regarding claim 15, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein assuming that an average value of Abbe numbers of all the positive lenses (Ogata, fig.2, lens L2 and Lens L3; paragraph [0239], a positive lens L2; a positive lens L3) in the first lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G1) based on a d line is νave1p (see Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, νave1p = (74.69+94.93)/2 = 84.81), Conditional Expression (26) is satisfied, which is represented by 65<νave1p<85 (84.81, Ogata, fig.2, described above).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the average value of Abbe numbers of all the positive lenses in the first lens group of Ohtake as taught by Ogata to be satisfied, which is represented by 65<νave1p<85, that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 16, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein assuming that an average value of Abbe numbers of all the positive lenses (Ogata, fig.2, lens L2 and Lens L3; paragraph [0239], a positive lens L2; a positive lens L3) in the first lens group (Ogata, fig.2, lens unit G1) based on a d line is νave1p (see (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, νave1p = (74.69+94.93)/2 = 84.81), Conditional Expression (26-2) is satisfied, which is represented by 70<νave1p<85 (84.81, Ogata, fig.2, described above).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the average value of Abbe numbers of all the positive lenses in the first lens group based on a d line is νave1p of Ohtake as taught by Ogata to be satisfied, which is represented by 70<νave1p<85 that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 18, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein assuming that a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, fw = focal length of WE = 40.81), and a focal length of the second lens group is f2 (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0067], f2 denotes a focal length of the second lens unit G2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, f2 = -37.01), Conditional Expression (30-2) is satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|≤2.57 (1.1; fw/|f2| =40.81/|-37.01| = 1.1, see Ogata, fig.2, described above).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw, and a focal length of the second lens group is f2 of Ohtake as taught by Ogata to be satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|≤2.57 that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 19, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ogata further teaches wherein assuming that a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, fw = focal length of WE = 40.81), and a focal length of the second lens group is f2 (Ogata, fig.2, paragraph [0067], f2 denotes a focal length of the second lens unit G2, paragraph [0314], data of table 2, f2 = -37.01), Conditional Expression (30-3) is satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|≤2.13 (1.1; fw/|f2| =40.81/|-37.01| = 1.1, see Ogata, fig.2, described above).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide angle end in a state where an object at infinity is in focus is fw, and a focal length of the second lens group is f2 of Ohtake as taught by Ogata to be satisfied, which is represented by 1<fw/|f2|≤2.13 that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness (Ogata, paragraph [0191]).
Regarding claim 20, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ohtake further teaches wherein an imaging apparatus (Ogata, paragraph [0004]In related art, a method is known wherein an image pickup device which uses a photoelectric conversion element such as a CCD (Charge Coupled Device) element or a CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) element as recording means for a camera is used such that the amount of light of an image of an image pickup object formed on a face of the image pickup element is converted into and recorded as an electric output.) comprising the zoom lens according to claim 1 (described in claim 1).
Claims 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake (US20100033836) in view of Ogata (US20150168697), and further in view of Masugi (US20150241672).
Regarding claim 2, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Ohtake does not explicitly teach wherein a surface closest to the object side in the second lens group is convex toward the object side.
However, Masugi teaches the analogous zoom lens (Masugi, fig.3, paragraph [00120], the zoom lens ZL2 according to Example 2 comprises, in order from an object along the optical axis, a first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, a second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, a third lens group G3 having positive refractive power, a fourth lens group G4 having positive refractive power, and a fifth lens group G5 having negative refractive power…), and further teaches
wherein a surface (Masugi, fig.3, the surface R6) closest to the object side in the second lens group (Masugi, fig.3, the second lens group has been referred as the second lens group G2) is convex toward the object side (see Masugi, fig.3, paragraph [0128], the surface R6 is convex toward the object side).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a surface closest to the object side in the second lens group is convex toward the object side of Ohtake as taught by Masugi that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for a purpose to achieve bright, have a high zoom ratio, and provide a high quality image (Masugi, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 4, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Ohtake does not explicitly teach wherein a surface closest to the image side in the subsequent group is convex toward the image side.
However, Masugi teaches the analogous zoom lens (Masugi, fig.3, paragraph [00120], the zoom lens ZL2 according to Example 2 comprises, in order from an object along the optical axis, a first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, a second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, a third lens group G3 having positive refractive power, a fourth lens group G4 having positive refractive power, and a fifth lens group G5 having negative refractive power), and further teaches
wherein a surface (Masugi, fig.3, the surface R24) closest to the image side in the subsequent group (Masugi, fig.3, the subsequent group has been referred as the fifth lens group G5 having negative refractive power) is convex toward the image side (see Masugi, fig.3, paragraph [0128], the surface R24 is convex toward the image side).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens of Ohtake with the specific group as taught by Masugi for a purpose to achieve bright, have a high zoom ratio, and provide a high quality image (Masugi, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, combination Ohtake-Ogata-Masugi discloses the invention as described in Claim 4, Ohtake does not explicitly teach wherein an uncemented meniscus lens is disposed closest to the image side in the subsequent group.
However, Masugi teaches the analogous zoom lens (Masugi, fig.3, paragraph [00120], the zoom lens ZL2 according to Example 2 comprises, in order from an object along the optical axis, a first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, a second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, a third lens group G3 having positive refractive power, a fourth lens group G4 having positive refractive power, and a fifth lens group G5 having negative refractive power), and further teaches wherein an uncemented meniscus lens (Masugi, fig.3, the lens L51, paragraph [0125], a meniscus lens L51) is disposed closest to the image side in the subsequent group (Masugi, fig.3, the fifth lens group G5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an uncemented meniscus lens is disposed closest to the image side in the subsequent group of Ohtake as taught by Masugi that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for a purpose to achieve bright, have a high zoom ratio, and provide a high quality image (Masugi, paragraph [0006]).
Claim 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtake (US20100033836) in view of Ogata (US20150168697), and further in view of Hayakawa (US20100321791).
Regarding claim 3, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Ohtake does not explicitly teach wherein a lens closest to the object side in the intermediate group is a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side.
However, Hayakawa teaches the analogous zoom lens (Hayakawa, fig.22, paragraph [0122], FIG. 22 is a diagram depicting a configuration and zoom locus of the lens according to Example 4. As FIG. 22 shows, a variable magnification optical system according to Example 4 has, in order from an object, a first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, a second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, a third lens group G3 having positive refractive power, a fourth lens group G4 having negative refractive power, a fifth lens group G5 having positive refractive power, and a sixth lens group G6 having negative refractive power), and further teaches
wherein a lens (Hayakawa, fig.22, the lens L31) closest to the object side in the intermediate group (Hayakawa, fig.22, the intermediate group has been referred as the lens groups G3+G4) is a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side (Hayakawa, fig.22, paragraph [0123], a positive meniscus lens L31 having a convex surface facing the object).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a lens closest to the object side in the intermediate group is a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side of Ogata as taught by Hayakawa that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for a purpose easier to correct the curvature of field and distortion (Hayakawa, paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 21, Combination Ohtake-Ogata discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, and Ogata further teaches the second lens (Ogata, fig.2A, lens L9) of the intermediate group (G3+G4)) from the object side is a meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side (Ogata, paragraph [0241] a negative meniscus lens L9 having a convex surface directed toward the object side).
Thus it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ohtake to have the second lens of the intermediate group from the object side is a meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side as taught by Ogata for the purpose to provide a zoom lens apparatus which includes a small-size zoom lens which is advantageous for securing both namely, the zooming ratio and the brightness; and making a focusing lens unit light-weight, and facilitating correction of chromatic aberration (Ogata, paragraph [0191], [0015]).
Ohtake does not explicitly teach wherein the lens of the intermediate group closest to the object side is a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side.
However, Hayakawa teaches the analogous zoom lens (Hayakawa, fig.22, paragraph [0122], FIG. 22 is a diagram depicting a configuration and zoom locus of the lens according to Example 4. As FIG. 22 shows, a variable magnification optical system according to Example 4 has, in order from an object, a first lens group G1 having positive refractive power, a second lens group G2 having negative refractive power, a third lens group G3 having positive refractive power, a fourth lens group G4 having negative refractive power, a fifth lens group G5 having positive refractive power, and a sixth lens group G6 having negative refractive power), and further teaches
the lens (Hayakawa, fig.22, the lens L31) of the intermediate group (Hayakawa, fig.22, the intermediate group has been referred as the lens groups G3+G4) closest to the object side is a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side (Hayakawa, fig.22, paragraph [0123], a positive meniscus lens L31 having a convex surface facing the object).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a lens closest to the object side in the intermediate group is a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side of Ogata as taught by Hayakawa that the modified zoom system will still work as intended for a purpose easier to correct the curvature of field and distortion (Hayakawa, paragraph [0072]).
Response to Amendment / argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 6-7 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.&103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Applicant contends that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest the features recited in claim 1. In this regard, Applicant respectfully notes that the zoom lens of claim 1 satisfies Conditional Expressions (15-4) and (30) simultaneously. By satisfying Conditional Expressions (15-4) and (30) at the same time, it becomes possible to obtain a zoom lens that achieves a high optical performance in which aberrations are effectively suppressed over the entire zooming range, while being small in size and having a high zoom ratio.
In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
The test for obviousness is not whether the features may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Ohtake and Ogata both disclose related embodiments having primary power of function of lens groups, and the first lens group consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first cemented lens that has a positive refractive power, and a positive meniscus lens having a surface convex toward the object side, described in claim 1. The motivation to combine Ohtake and Ogata as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein. Also, claim 1 doesn’t indicate the zoom lens of claim 1 satisfies Conditional Expressions (15-4) and (30) simultaneously. By satisfying Conditional Expressions (15-4) and (30) at the same time. (note: the limitations of “By satisfying … at the same time” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II).)
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872