DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on June 22, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023-002195 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (2023/0082849) in view of Isogawa (2013/0324318). Claim 1, Watanabe discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, an intermediate layer positioned outside the spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the intermediate layer and having a plurality of dimples formed thereon (2023/0082849). A hardness difference S (Hs - Ho) between a center hardness Ho (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core and a surface hardness Hs (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core is 18 [0076]. A material hardness Hm (Shore D hardness) of the intermediate layer is 60 Shore D [0078]. A thickness Tm (mm) of the intermediate layer is 0.9 mm [0076]. A material hardness Hc (Shore D hardness) of the outermost cover 35 [0089]. A thickness Tc (mm) of the outermost cover 0.6 mm [0091]. Watanabe discloses dimples but does not disclose a lower dimple volume less than 300 mm3. Isogawa teaches a lower dimple volume of at least 250 mm3 [0117]. Solving for the equation [S×(Hm×Tm+Hc×Tc)]/(Tm+Tc)×Vi/1000<230 [18x(60x.9)+(35x.6)]/(.9+.6)x(250/1000) = 225. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the dimple volume for the desired flight performance. Claim 2, Watanabe discloses 0.35<(H10-Ho)/S<0.6 is satisfied where H10 is a hardness at a 10 mm point from a center of the spherical core (71-62)/18=0.5 (see fig 3 for H10) [0064]. Claim 3, Watanabe discloses the hardness difference S<20 [0076]. Claim 4, Isogawa teaches Vi = 250 mm3 [0117]. Claim 5, Watanabe discloses the surface hardness Hs (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core < a surface hardness Hms (Shore C hardness) of the intermediate layer > a surface hardness Hcs (Shore C hardness) of the golf ball is satisfied [0104-0105]. Claim 6, Watanabe discloses the outermost cover contains a polyurethane as a resin component [0093]. Claim 7, solving for the equation [S×(Hm×Tm+Hc×Tc)]/(Tm+Tc)×Vi/1000<230 [18x(60x.9)+(35x.6)]/(.9+.6)x(250/1000) = 225.
Claim 8, Watanabe discloses the center hardness Ho of the spherical core ranges from 62 to 72 in Shore C hardness [0064]. Claim 9, Watanabe discloses the surface hardness Hs of the spherical core ranges from 83 to 92 in Shore C hardness [0056]. Claim 10, Watanabe discloses the thickness Tm of the intermediate layer ranges from 0.9 mm to 1.5 mm [0080]. Claim 11, Watanabe discloses the thickness Tc of the outermost cover ranges from 0.3 mm to 1.2 mm [0091]. Claim 12, Watanabe discloses the material hardness Hm of the intermediate layer ranges from 60 to 72 in Shore D hardness [0078]. Claim 13, Watanabe discloses the material hardness Hc of the outermost cover ranges from 35 to 60 in Shore D hardness [0089]. Claim 14, Watanabe discloses a product (Hm×Tm) obtained by multiplying the material hardness Hm (Shore D hardness) of the intermediate layer by the thickness Tm (mm) of the intermediate layer ranges from 50 to 140 (.9x60=54). Claim 15, Watanabe discloses a product (Hc×Tc) obtained by multiplying the material hardness Hc (Shore D hardness) of the outermost cover by the thickness Tc (mm) of the outermost cover ranges from 10 to 45 (35x6=21). Claim 16, Watanabe discloses a total thickness (Tm+Tc) of the thickness Tm of the intermediate layer and the thickness Tc of the outermost cover ranges from 1.4 mm to 2.8 mm [0092]. Claim 17, Watanabe discloses the hardness H10 at the 10 mm point from the center of the spherical core is 71 in Shore C hardness (fig 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
January 26, 2026