Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-13 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/22/2026.
Status of Claims
The action is in reply to the Application filed on 06/21/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 12-13 and 19-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-11 and 14-18 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2022 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a pinch prevention mechanism” and “the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user’s finger” in claim 1, ll. 5-7 and claim 14, ll. 6-8 which is directed to the structural element 204 which includes an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user’s finger, such as via engagement between the user finger and a finger cavity defined by the pinch prevention mechanism as described in paragraph 0040 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“a tool securing element configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body” in claim 1, ll. 9-10 and claim 14, ll. 10-11 which is directed to the structural element 206 which engages with the tool so as to prevent the relative movement of the tool as described in paragraph 0039 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 14-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 12-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,042,923.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 1 of the instant application with the claim 1 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 1:
An anti-pinch device for use with an insulating apparatus, the anti-pinch device comprising:
Claim 1:
An anti-pinch device for use with an insulating apparatus, the device comprising:
a body configured to be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus, wherein the body is configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus;
a body configured to be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus, wherein the body is configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus;
a pinch prevention mechanism attached to the body of the anti-pinch device,
a pinch prevention mechanism attached to the body of the anti-pinch device,
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user’s finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus; and
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user's finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus;
a locking mechanism configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows a variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus; and
a tool securing element configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body.
a tool securing element configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 2 of the instant application with the claim 1 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 2:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 1,
Claim 1: ll. 18-24:
wherein a locking mechanism configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus.
a locking mechanism configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus;
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 3 of the instant application with the claim 4 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 3:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 2,
Claim 4:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 1,
wherein at least a portion of the locking mechanism is movable so as to modify a dimension of an interior at least partially bounded by the body within which the insulating apparatus is disposed.
wherein at least a portion of the locking mechanism is movable so as to modify a dimension of an interior at least partially bounded by the body within which the insulating apparatus is disposed.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 4 of the instant application with the claim 2 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 4:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 1,
Claim 2:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 1,
wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to at least partially encircle a circular body defined by the insulating apparatus.
wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to at least partially encircle a circular body defined by the insulating apparatus.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 5 of the instant application with the claim 3 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 5:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 4,
Claim 3:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 2,
wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to be removably attached with the insulating apparatus.
wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to be removably attached with the insulating apparatus.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 6 of the instant application with the claim 5 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 6:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 1,
Claim 5:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 1,
wherein the tool securing element is configured to move between a retracted position in which the tool securing element is disposed proximate the body and an extended position in which the tool securing element extends beyond a peripheral edge of the body.
wherein the tool securing element is configured to move between a retracted position in which the tool securing element is disposed proximate the body and an extended position in which the tool securing element extends beyond a peripheral edge of the body.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 7 of the instant application with the claim 6 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 7:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 1,
Claim 6:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 1,
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism further comprises an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user’s finger.
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism further comprises an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user's finger.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 8 of the instant application with the claim 7 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 8:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 7,
Claim 7:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 6,
wherein the extension is configured to be disposed between the user’s finger and the input element defined by the insulating apparatus.
wherein the extension is configured to be disposed between the user's finger and the input element defined by the insulating apparatus.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 9 of the instant application with the claim 8 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 9:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 7,
Claim 8:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 6,
wherein a distal end of the extension further defines a finger cavity configured to receive the user’s finger therein.
wherein a distal end of the extension further defines a finger cavity configured to receive the user's finger therein.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 10 of the instant application with the claim 9 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 10:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 9,
Claim 9:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 8,
wherein at least a portion of the extension between the finger cavity and the body defines an adjustable membrane that deflects in response to the actuation by the user’s finger.
wherein at least a portion of the extension between the finger cavity and the body defines an adjustable membrane that deflects in response to the actuation by the user's finger
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 11 of the instant application with the claim 12 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 11:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 1,
Claim 12:
The anti-pinch device according to claim 1,
wherein the body is formed of an elastomeric material.
wherein the body is formed of an elastomeric material.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 14 of the instant application with the claim 13 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 14:
An insulating apparatus comprising:
Claim 13:
An insulating apparatus comprising:
an apparatus body; and
an apparatus body; and
an anti-pinch device comprising:
an anti-pinch device comprising:
a body configured to be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus, wherein the body is configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus;
a body configured to be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus, wherein the body is configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus;
a pinch prevention mechanism attached to the body of the anti-pinch device,
a pinch prevention mechanism attached to the body of the anti-pinch device,
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user’s finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus; and
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user's finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus;
a locking mechanism configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows a variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus; and
a tool securing element configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body.
a tool securing element configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 15 of the instant application with the claim 13 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 15:
The anti-pinch device according to Claim 1,
Claim 13: ll. 29-35:
wherein a locking mechanism configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus.
a locking mechanism configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows a variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus;
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 16 of the instant application with the claim 14 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 16:
The insulating apparatus according to Claim 14,
Claim 14:
The insulating apparatus according to claim 13,
wherein the tool securing element is configured to move between a retracted position in which the tool securing element is disposed proximate the body and an extended position in which the tool securing element extends beyond a peripheral edge of the body.
wherein the tool securing element is configured to move between a retracted position in which the tool securing element is disposed proximate the body and an extended position in which the tool securing element extends beyond a peripheral edge of the body.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 17 of the instant application with the claim 15 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 16:
The insulating apparatus according to Claim 14,
Claim 15:
The insulating apparatus according to claim 13,
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism further comprises an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user’s finger.
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism further comprises an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user's finger.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
A comparison of the subject matter of claim 18 of the instant application with the claim 16 of the Patent shows the following:
Instant Application: 18/750,124
US Patent No. 12,042,923
Claim 18:
The insulating apparatus according to Claim 17,
Claim 15:
The insulating apparatus according to claim 15,
wherein the extension is configured to be disposed between the user’s finger and the input element defined by the insulating apparatus.
wherein the extension is configured to be disposed between the user's finger and the input element defined by the insulating apparatus.
The claims of the instant application appear to have a similar scope of their corresponding clams in the patent, other than a slight re-wording of the claims, that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as being obvious variants of each other. Thus, since the subject matter of the Patent claim anticipates the broader subject matter of the instant claims, the aforementioned nonstatutory Double Patenting is deemed necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher (US Pub. No. 2006/0090605).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher discloses: an anti-pinch device (Figures 1-5 element 26 and see also paragraphs 0016/0019) for use with an insulating apparatus (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)), the anti-pinch device comprising:
a body (element 32) configured to be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the body (element 32) partially disposed about the apparatus (see figures 2 and 4), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the body be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus, as recited.), wherein the body is configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the body (element 32), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the body configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus, as recited.);
a pinch prevention mechanism (element 36) attached to the body of the anti-pinch device (see figure 3A),
wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user’s finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure (i.e. input element) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the pinch prevention mechanism (element 36) that has a cavity with a bottom wall (see figure 3A annotated below Detail A) that is capable of receiving and abutting a tip portion of a user’s finger, and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured of preventing ingress of at least a portion of a user’s finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus, as recited.).
; and
a tool securing element (elements 30/34) configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure (i.e. tool) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the tool securing element (elements 30/34) which engages a tool (element 20) of the apparatus (element 10) as best shown in figure 4, being rotated about a connection point (see figure 5 annotated below Detail B) thereof with respect to the body which allows storage of the tool securing element on the body (see figure 5 annotated below), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein the tool securing element is configured of to engaging a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body, as recited.).
Regarding claim 4, Fisher discloses: the anti-pinch device according to Claim 1, wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to at least partially encircle a circular body defined by the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure (i.e. circular body) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the body (element 32) encircling a body of the apparatus (element 10), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to at least partially encircle a circular body defined by the insulating apparatus, as recited.).
Regarding claim 5, Fisher discloses: the anti-pinch device according to Claim 4, wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to be removably attached with the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the body (element 32), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein the body of the anti-pinch device is configured to be removably attached with the insulating apparatus, as recited.).
Regarding claim 6, Fisher discloses: the anti-pinch device according to Claim 1, wherein the tool securing element is configured to move between a retracted position in which the tool securing element is disposed proximate the body (see figure 5 annotated below showing a retracted position wherein the tool securing element (elements 30/34) is disposed proximate the body (element 32)) and an extended position in which the tool securing element extends beyond a peripheral edge of the body (see figure 3A annotated below showing an extending position wherein the tool securing element (elements 30/34) extends beyond a peripheral edge (Detail A) the body (element 32)).
Regarding claim 11, Fisher discloses: the anti-pinch device according to Claim 1, wherein the body is formed of an elastomeric material (see paragraph 0019 where the prior art discloses element 26 (anti-pinch device) which comprises the body (element 32), is manufactured of “a resilient material such as rubber”, which is well known in the art to be an elastomeric material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US Pub. No. 2006/0090605) in view of Wochnick (US Patent No. 6,685,144).
Regarding claim 2, Fisher discloses: the anti-pinch device according to Claim 1, wherein a locking mechanism (element 38) configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the locking mechanism (element 38) securing the anti-pinch device (element 26) with the apparatus (element 10), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having the locking mechanism be configured to secure the anti-pinch device with the insulating apparatus, as recited.).
However, Fisher appears to be silent wherein the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus.
Wochnick is also concern in providing a device (Figures 7-15 and see also col. 7, ll. 31-52) comprising a body (element 110), a locking mechanism (elements 122/124), and wherein the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions (element 168) and an engagement end (element 166) configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions (see figure 12 and see also col. 9, ll. 31-52), wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the device which includes the locking mechanism (elements 122/124) having the plurality of flanged portions (element 168) and the engagement end (element 166) that accommodates different size apparatus (see col. 9, ll. 31-52, col. 10, ll. 16-19), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fisher to incorporate the teachings of Wochnick to provide the locking mechanism comprising a plurality of flanged portions and an engagement end configured to engage with the plurality of flanged portions, wherein the engagement allows variance of a dimension of the body when the body translates relative the insulating apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an adjustable locking mechanism would necessarily provide the predictable result of properly securing the device onto the apparatus while also providing the additional feature of accommodating different size workpieces, thus enhancing the capabilities of the device.
Regarding claim 3, Fisher modified discloses: the anti-pinch device according to Claim 2, wherein at least a portion of the locking mechanism is movable so as to modify a dimension of an interior at least partially bounded by the body within which the insulating apparatus is disposed (The examiner indicates that the insulating apparatus and any associated structure has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. anti-pinch device). Therefore, given that the prior art discloses the anti-pinch device which includes the locking mechanism being movable (see col. 9, ll. 31-52, col. 10, ll. 16-19 of prior art Wochnick), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein at least a portion of the locking mechanism is movable so as to modify a dimension of an interior at least partially bounded by the body within which the insulating apparatus is disposed, as recited.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 (claims 8-10 depend on claim 7) recites limitations regarding the anti-pinch device, specifically “wherein the pinch prevention mechanism further comprises an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user’s finger”.
The prior art of Fisher discloses all the limitations of claim 1 including having a pinch prevention mechanism (element 36). However, the pinch prevention mechanism (element 36) is disposed within the body (element 32) of the device (see figure 3A), thus the prior art fails to disclose wherein the pinch prevention mechanism further comprises an extension that extends from the body and is configured to receive an actuation by the user’s finger.
Claim 14 (claims 15-18 depend on claim 14) recites limitations regarding “an insulating apparatus comprising: an apparatus body; and an anti-pinch device comprising: a body configured to be at least partially disposed about the insulating apparatus, wherein the body is configured to translate relative the insulating apparatus; a pinch prevention mechanism attached to the body of the anti-pinch device, wherein the pinch prevention mechanism is configured to prevent ingress of at least a portion of a user’s finger into the insulating apparatus in an instance in which the user actuates an input element defined by the insulating apparatus; and a tool securing element configured to engage a tool defined by the insulating apparatus and rotate about a connection point thereof with respect to the body, wherein the rotation allows storage of the tool securing element on the body”.
The prior art of Fisher discloses all the limitations regarding the structure of the anti-pinch device (see rejection of claim 1 above). However, the claim 14 has positively recited an insulating apparatus comprising an apparatus body and an input element in structural relation with the claimed components of the anti-pinch device, thus the of Fisher fails to disclose the combination of the insulating apparatus and anti-pinch device.
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723