DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first frame” and “a second frame” (Claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that while these structures are disclosed in [0050] of Applicant’s specification and stated as being in Fig. 3, they do not appear to be shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1, “a driving portion” is recited as causing the rollers to rotate as well as to whirl. However, Applicant’s disclosure appears to assign these functions to two separate drive motors (i.e. M1L, M2L). Therefore, this is considered to be new matter, wherein this driving portion is not particularly defined and the disclosure shows a collection of motors (not a single one) to perform the functions.
Claims 2-14 are rejected by dependency.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, “a driving portion” is recited as causing the rollers to rotate as well as to whirl. However, Applicant’s disclosure appears to assign these functions to two separate drive motors (i.e. M1L, M2L). Therefore, this is considered to be new matter, wherein this driving portion is not particularly defined and the disclosure shows a collection of motors (not a single one) to perform the functions. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claims 2-14 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tharayil (US Pub No. 2010/0327518 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tharayil discloses
a correcting portion provided with (1) a first correcting roller (i.e. left 51 in Fig. 1) rotatable about a first rotational axis (50) and whirlable about a first axis (i.e. the pivot point shown in Fig. 5/6) in a crossing direction crossing a conveyance direction of a sheet and the first rotational axis, the first correcting roller being configured to correct a position of the sheet in the widthwise direction, and (2) a second correcting roller (i.e. right 51 in Fig. 1) disposed at a position different from the first correcting roller in the widthwise direction, rotatable about a second rotational axis (50) and whirlable about a second axis (i.e. the pivot point shown in Fig. 5/6) parallel to the first axis (i.e. both are vertical), and configured to correct the position of the sheet in the widthwise direction;
a driving portion configured to (1) rotatably drive the first correcting roller about the first rotational axis and the second correcting roller about the second rotational axis (i.e. via the motor assembly in [0030], wherein drive force is transmitted to 51 from 41) and (2) whirlably drive the first correcting roller about the first axis and the second correcting roller about the second axis (i.e. via the mechanism inducing lateral movement of 66, [0035]); (it is noted that a driving portion may comprise both of these structures)
a side end detecting portion (22/24) configured to detect a side end of the sheet in the widthwise direction of the sheet; and
a control portion (70) configured to control the driving portion,
wherein based on a detection result of the side end detecting portion, the control portion executes a first correcting control (i.e. first iteration of the feedback loop in Fig. 8) in which the correcting portion corrects the position of the sheet in the widthwise direction and executes a second correcting control (i.e. second iteration of the feedback loop in Fig. 8) in which the correcting portion corrects the position of the sheet in the widthwise direction after the first correcting control (via iterative feedback loop control, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tharayil discloses
(1) a first whirlable driving portion (i.e. a "portion" of the mechanism inducing lateral movement, [0035]) configured to whirlably drive the first correcting roller (51) and (2) a second whirlable driving portion (i.e. another "portion" of the mechanism inducing lateral movement, [0035]) configured to whirlably drive the second correcting roller (51), and
wherein the first correcting roller and the second correcting roller are independently whirlable (i.e. "independently pivoted", [0039]).
Regarding Claim 3, Tharayil discloses
the driving portion is provided with (1) a first rotatable driving portion ([0004], a "portion" of the differential drive system of [0010], also in [0030] a motor assembly is associated with each nip assembly 30) configured to rotatably drive the first correcting roller about the first rotational axis and (2) a second rotatable driving portion ([0004], another "portion" of the differential drive system of [0010], also in [0030] a motor assembly is associated with each nip assembly 30) configured to rotatably drive the second correcting roller about the second rotational axis, and
wherein the first correcting roller and the second correcting roller are independently rotatable (i.e. due to the "differential" drive system, [0003], [0010], [0038]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tharayil discloses
the control portion executes the second correcting control after the first correcting control and before a trailing end of the sheet passes through the first correcting roller and the second correcting roller (i.e. continuous adjustments are made while the sheet remains engaged by 30, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 11, Tharayil discloses
an image forming portion (i.e. printing system, [0001], [0023], [0024], [0026]) configured to form an image on a sheet conveyed by the sheet conveying device.
Regarding Claim 12, Tharayil discloses
wherein the control portion corrects an oblique movement of the sheet by a rotational speed difference between the first correcting roller rotatably driven by the first rotatable driving portion and the second correcting roller rotatably driven by the second rotatable driving portion (i.e. corrects skew [0010], [0038], [0041]).
Regarding Claim 14, Tharayil discloses
the control portion simultaneously corrects the oblique movement of the sheet and the position of the sheet in the widthwise direction ([0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tharayil (US Pub No. 2010/0327518 A1) in view of Nakamura et al. (US Pub No. 2018/0346271 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Tharayil discloses wherein the control portion corrects the oblique movement of the sheet by a rotational speed difference between the first correcting roller rotatably driven by the first rotatable driving portion and the second
correcting roller rotatably driven by the second rotatable driving portion (i.e. corrects skew [0010], [0038], [0041]) but does not disclose first and second oblique movement detecting portions or third and fourth correcting controls.
Nakamura et al. discloses a first oblique movement detecting portion (35) configured to detect oblique movement of the sheet; and a second oblique movement detecting portion (37) disposed downstream of the first oblique movement detecting portion in the conveyance direction and configured to detect the oblique movement of the sheet ([0084], [0085], [0098], [0099]),
wherein the control portion executes a third correcting control (S26, Fig. 5) in which the correcting portion corrects the oblique movement of the sheet and the position of the sheet in the widthwise direction based on a detection result of the side end detecting portion and the first oblique movement detecting portion (S21), and executes a fourth correcting control (S35, Fig. 7) in which the correcting portion corrects the oblique movement of the sheet and the position of the sheet in the widthwise direction based on a detection result of the side end detecting portion and the second oblique movement detecting portion after the third correcting control (S31), for the purpose of correcting sheet skew and lateral position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Tharayil by including the first and second oblique movement detecting portions and third and fourth correcting controls, as disclosed by Nakamura et al., for the purpose of correcting sheet skew and lateral position.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tharayil (US Pub No. 2010/0327518 A1) in view of Wick (US Pub No. 2020/0270084 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Tharayil discloses
a first frame (62, Fig. 5) that supports (1) the first correcting roller, the first frame being whirled about the first axis; and
a second frame (i.e. other 62) that supports (1) the second correcting roller the second frame being whirled about the second axis.
Tharayil does not disclose the frames to support first and second motors.
Wick discloses whirling of alignment rollers (12) and their drive motors (14) about an axis (A), for the purpose of correcting sheet skew and lateral position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Tharayil by including the whirling of alignment
rollers and their drive motors as disclosed by Wick, for the purpose of correcting sheet
skew and lateral position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows placement of the detecting portions (Claim 5) or the controls (Claims 7-10) as claimed, in combination with the remaining elements.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “that Tharayil's driven wheel 40 is rotatably driven by a motor assembly ([0030]) but that Tharayil's left and right idler rollers 51 are not rotatably driven as claimed”, it is noted that Claim 1 does not require the correcting rollers to be directly driven by motors and that the claim requires “a driving portion”. “Portion” may be taken as a partial section of a structure or as an assembly/collection of structures.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Furthermore, it is unclear if Applicant intends to invoke 112(f) with “a driving portion” but if so, it is noted that the specification lacks the necessary support for this interpretation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 February 20, 2026