DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated December 11, 2025. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-16 and 18-20 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below. Claims 2, 10 and 17 have been cancelled and claims 1, 3, 9, 11-16 and 18-19 have been amended.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/11/25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed toward subject matter that has not been previously considered and has necessitated a new ground of rejection as outlined below. While the new ground of rejection may rely on some of the previous references applied in the prior rejection of record, new additional references have been added to the combination and introduced for Applicant’s consideration given the amended independent claims as discussed in detail below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §101, amendments made to the claims overcome the rejections. The rejections under 35 USC §101 have been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, the amendments made to the claims have necessitated new grounds of rejections as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US2016/0352992) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0403157) and further in view of Mahfouz (US 2018/0059204A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saika discloses A method for determining the orientation of a drone
(Fig. 2, 110 and see at least para. [0022] of Saika which discloses “an aerial vehicle 110”) that includes a main body (Fig. 2, 230 and see at least para. [0030] of Saika which discloses a “housing 230 for payload (e.g., electronics)”, *Examiner interprets housing 230 to be the main body since it can house components such as a payload, electronics, etc.), a camera device (Fig. 3A, 120 and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “camera 120 can capture images and videos at various frame rates, resolutions, and compression rates. The camera 120 can be connected to the detachable camera frame 130, which mechanically connects to the camera and physically connects to the gimbal 100. FIG. 1 depicts the detachable camera frame 130 enclosing the camera 120”) that is attached to the main body with an attachment structure (Fig. 3A, 310/350/304 and see at least para. [[0032] of Saika which discloses “The base arm 310 may be configured to include a mechanical attachment portion 350 at a first end that allows the gimbal 100 to securely attach to a reciprocal component on another mount platform (e.g., an aerial vehicle” and see at least para. [0043] of Saika which discloses “a mount connector 304 (shown in FIG. 3B, but not in FIG. 3A) which allows the gimbal 100 to electronically couple to the mount platform (e.g., the aerial vehicle 110”) that enables the camera device to be moved in relation to the main body (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “rotates a mounted object (e.g., a detachable camera frame 130 connected to a camera 120) in space”, *Examiner interprets this as enabling the camera 120 to move because of the rotation), and one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”) on the camera device (Fig. 3A, 120 and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “The camera 120 can include a camera body, one or more a camera lenses, various indicators on the camera body … camera 120 can capture images and videos at various frame rates, resolutions, and compression rates. The camera 120 can be connected to the detachable camera frame 130, which mechanically connects to the camera and physically connects to the gimbal 100. FIG. 1 depicts the detachable camera frame 130 enclosing the camera 120”) or the attachment structure (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110”, *Examiner interprets this location near the connection to be on the attachment structure), the method comprising:
retrieving, by a control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit), measurement values from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers” and see at least para. [0025] of Saika which discloses “the IMU of the sensor unit 101 may produce an output indicative of the orientation, angular velocity, and acceleration of at least one point on the gimbal 100”);
retrieving, by the control unit, one or more first measurement values (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “maximum and minimum values for the yaw of the camera 120 relative to the mount platform, then if the aerial vehicle 110 is oriented at a yaw of αav degrees then the preferred roll of the camera αc can be chosen by the gimbal control system 150 so that the angle αc is between the angles (αmin+αav) and (αmax+αav). Similar maximum and minimum values can be defined for the pitch and roll. The maximum and minimum for each of the relative angles can be defined such that the viewing angle of the camera 120 is not obstructed by the gimbal 100 and/or the mount platform at any angle within the valid bounds”, *Examiner interprets the minimum value may be a first measurement value) from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0018] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal may include an inertial measurement unit which can sense the orientation of the camera and three electronic motors which can manipulate the orientation of the camera” and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”, *Examiner interprets one of these measures of rotation, orientation, acceleration, etc. to also be the one or more first measurement values) when the camera device and the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle”, *Examiner interprets this opposite end to be a first position of the gyroscope) are in a first position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a first position” and “The gimbal 100 can be locked with the mount platform in a first position”) in relation to the main body of the drone;
shifting the camera device from the first position to a second position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a second position” and “unlocked in a second position, allowing for detachment of the gimbal 100 from the mount platform“) in relation to the main body of the drone; and
retrieving, by the control unit, one or more second measurement values from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes when the camera device and the one or more MEMS gyroscopes are in the second position (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position” and see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal 100 can be locked with the mount platform in a first position and unlocked in a second position, allowing for detachment of the gimbal 100 from the mount platform”, *Examiner interprets that both the camera device and the MEMS gyroscopes may be moved into the second position).
Saika may not explicitly disclose calculating the orientation of the drone based on at least
the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values and the drone is stationary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thompson discloses calculating the orientation of
the drone (see at least para. [0061] of Thompson which discloses “correct positions and orientations of all the drones may be calculated on an essentially continuous basis”) based on at least the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values (see at least para. [0064] of Thompson which discloses “The drones send also positioning data and orientation data for each drone. The processor, be it a portable device or a separate processing unit or both, will process any raw data that has not 3D model into a 3D model for that drone. Positioning data and orientation data are added to the 3D model for each drone. Using the collective positioning and orientation data from all the drones, and visual markers that are unique to the target area, the processor creates a single 3D map of the target area”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the method for determining the orientation of the drone of Saika to include calculating the orientation of the drone based on at least the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values, as taught in Thompson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective determination of the orientation of the drone in relation to multiple measurement values so that specified routes may be followed if necessary. See para. [0061]-[0064] of Thompson for motivation.
Saika, as modified by Thompson may not explicitly disclose the drone is stationary.
However, Mahfouz discloses a stationary inertial measurement unit (see at least the
abstract of Mahfouz which discloses “collecting data from the inertial measurement unit while stationary” and see at least para. [0009] of Mahfouz which discloses “calibration should involve maneuvering of the IMU around the three orthogonal axes of the IMU, and a stationary period” and see at least para. [0013] of Mahfouz which discloses “Calibrating the gyroscopes of each IMU should provide for the gyroscopes being stationary for a set amount of time”). Mahfouz is directed to the calibration of inertial measurement units (IMUs), including gyroscopes, which are the same type of sensors used in the claimed drone system, as broadly recited. Mahfouz, is therefore reasonably pertinent to the problem of improving orientation determination accuracy using IMU data. See para. [0013] and [0023] of Mahfouz for motivation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Saika, as modified by Thompson, to include a stationary condition for a drone, as taught in Mahfouz with a reasonable expectation of success in order to perform calibration of the MEMS gyroscopes under stationary conditions to eliminate motion induced noise, thereby enabling accurate comparison of measurement values obtained at different positions of the camera and improving the accuracy and reliability of the orientation determination.
Regarding claim 3, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
shifting of the camera device from the first position to the second position comprises rotating the camera device about a rotation axis that is perpendicular to a surface of Earth (see at least para. [0059] of Saika which discloses “the camera's rotation for each axis of rotation can be fixed or unfixed. When the camera's rotation is fixed on an axis, then the camera will maintain that same orientation, relative to the ground, on that axis despite the movement of the handheld grip. Conversely, when the rotation of the camera 120 is unfixed on an axis, then the camera's rotation on that axis can change when the handheld grip 600 is rotated”, *Examiner interprets this as rotating the camera device about a rotation axis that is perpendicular to a surface of the Earth).
Regarding claim 4, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
shifting of the camera device from the first position to the second position comprises rotating the camera device by 180 degrees about the rotation axis (see at least para. [0039] of Saika which discloses “the camera 120 is initially oriented at a pitch, yaw, and roll of 0° and that the axis of the second motor 302 is orthogonal to the axis of the third motor 303 and forms an angle of 0 degrees with the vertical axis, as depicted in FIG. 3A and FIG. 3B. In FIG. 3B, the angle θ is measured clockwise, and is about 16°. A rotation of φ degrees (where −180°≦φ≦180°) by the second motor 302 may also change the pitch, p, of the camera 120“).
Regarding claim 5, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses further
comprising adjusting (see at least para. [0039] of Saika which discloses “may adjust only the roll of the camera 120 and the third motor 303 adjusts only the pitch of the camera 120. The second motor 302 may adjust the yaw primarily, but also may adjust the pitch and roll of the camera 120”) by the control unit, the position of the camera device in relation to the main body (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “move the camera 120 to the preferred orientation or keep the camera 120 in the preferred orientation. In one embodiment, the gimbal control system 150 has a preferred orientation that is configured by the user. The user can input the preferred orientation of the camera 120 with a remote controller which sends the preferred orientation for the camera 120 to the aerial vehicle 110 through a wireless network, which then provides the preferred orientation to the gimbal control logic 150. In some embodiments the preferred orientation can be defined relative to the ground, so that the yaw, pitch, and roll of the camera remain constant relative to the ground. In some embodiments, certain axes of rotation can be unfixed. That is, an unfixed axis of rotation is not corrected by the gimbal control system 150, but rather remains constant relative to the aerial vehicle 110. For example, the yaw of the camera 120 can be unfixed, while the roll and the pitch are fixed. In this case, if the yaw of the aerial vehicle 110 changes the yaw of the camera 120 will likewise change”, *Examiner interprets that this is equivalent to the position of the camera device adjusting relative to the main body).
Regarding claim 6, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
shifting of the camera device from the first position to the second position is performed by the control unit (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “control system 150 to compute a rotation for each motor in order to move the camera 120 to the preferred orientation or keep the camera 120 in the preferred orientation”).
Regarding claim 9, Saika discloses
a memory (Fig. 4, 430 and see at least para. [0049] of Saika which discloses a “system memory 430” and see at least para. [0046] of Saika which discloses “control system 150 can access a non-volatile memory which stores sets of control parameters mapped to identifiers in order to obtain the correct set of control parameters for a given identifier”); and
a control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit) having a processor (see at least para. [0036] of Saika which discloses “processors on the camera” and see at least para. [0074] of Saika which discloses “a computer system (e.g., a processor or a group of processors) may be configured by software (e.g., an application or application portion) as a hardware module that operates to perform certain operations”), the processor connected to the memory (see at least para. [0049] of Saika which discloses “an image processor 416. The camera 120 additionally includes a system controller 420 (e.g., a microcontroller or microprocessor) that controls the operation and functionality of the camera 120 and system memory 430 configured to store executable computer instructions that, when executed by the system controller 420 and/or the image processors 416” and see at least para. [0050] of Saika which discloses “Processed images and video may be temporarily or persistently stored to system memory 430 and/or to a non-volatile storage, which may be in the form of internal storage or an external memory card”) and in relation to a surface of Earth (see at least para. [0035] of Saika which discloses “an earth (global) reference frame”):
retrieve measurement values from one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers”) and see at least para. [0025] of Saika which discloses “the IMU of the sensor unit 101 may produce an output indicative of the orientation, angular velocity, and acceleration of at least one point on the gimbal 100”); of the drone (Fig. 2, 110 and see at least para. [0022] of Saika which discloses “an aerial vehicle 110”) that includes the main body (Fig. 2, 230 and see at least para. [0030] of Saika which discloses a “housing 230 for payload (e.g., electronics)”, *Examiner interprets housing 230 to be the main body since it can house components such as a payload, electronics, etc.), and a camera device (Fig. 3A, 120 and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “camera 120 can capture images and videos at various frame rates, resolutions, and compression rates. The camera 120 can be connected to the detachable camera frame 130, which mechanically connects to the camera and physically connects to the gimbal 100. FIG. 1 depicts the detachable camera frame 130 enclosing the camera 120”) that is attached to the main body with an attachment structure (Fig. 3A, 310/350/304 and see at least para. [[0032] of Saika which discloses “The base arm 310 may be configured to include a mechanical attachment portion 350 at a first end that allows the gimbal 100 to securely attach to a reciprocal component on another mount platform (e.g., an aerial vehicle” and see at least para. [0043] of Saika which discloses “a mount connector 304 (shown in FIG. 3B, but not in FIG. 3A) which allows the gimbal 100 to electronically couple to the mount platform (e.g., the aerial vehicle 110”) that enables the camera device to be moved in relation to the main body (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “rotates a mounted object (e.g., a detachable camera frame 130 connected to a camera 120) in space”, *Examiner interprets this as enabling the camera 120 to move because of the rotation), wherein the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”) are on the camera device (Fig. 3A, 120 and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “The camera 120 can include a camera body, one or more a camera lenses, various indicators on the camera body … camera 120 can capture images and videos at various frame rates, resolutions, and compression rates. The camera 120 can be connected to the detachable camera frame 130, which mechanically connects to the camera and physically connects to the gimbal 100. FIG. 1 depicts the detachable camera frame 130 enclosing the camera 120”) or the attachment structure (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110”, *Examiner interprets this location near the connection to be on the attachment structure),
retrieve one or more first measurement values (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “maximum and minimum values for the yaw of the camera 120 relative to the mount platform, then if the aerial vehicle 110 is oriented at a yaw of αav degrees then the preferred roll of the camera αc can be chosen by the gimbal control system 150 so that the angle αc is between the angles (αmin+αav) and (αmax+αav). Similar maximum and minimum values can be defined for the pitch and roll. The maximum and minimum for each of the relative angles can be defined such that the viewing angle of the camera 120 is not obstructed by the gimbal 100 and/or the mount platform at any angle within the valid bounds”, *Examiner interprets the minimum value may be a first measurement value) from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0018] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal may include an inertial measurement unit which can sense the orientation of the camera and three electronic motors which can manipulate the orientation of the camera” and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”, *Examiner interprets one of these measures of rotation, orientation, acceleration, etc. to also be the one or more first measurement values”), the method comprising: when the camera device and the one or more MEMS gyroscopes are in a first position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a first position” and “The gimbal 100 can be locked with the mount platform in a first position”) in relation to the main body of the drone and the drone is stationary,
shift the camera device from the first position to a second position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a second position” and “unlocked in a second position, allowing for detachment of the gimbal 100 from the mount platform“) in relation to the main body of the drone,
retrieve one or more second measurement values from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes when the camera device and the one or more MEMS gyroscopes are in the second position (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”) and the drone is stationary.
Saika may not explicitly disclose calculate the orientation of the drone based on at least
the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values and the drone is stationary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thompson discloses calculate the orientation of
the drone (see at least para. [0061] of Thompson which discloses “correct positions and orientations of all the drones may be calculated on an essentially continuous basis”) based on at least the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values (see at least para. [0064] of Thompson which discloses “The drones send also positioning data and orientation data for each drone. The processor, be it a portable device or a separate processing unit or both, will process any raw data that has not 3D model into a 3D model for that drone. Positioning data and orientation data are added to the 3D model for each drone. Using the collective positioning and orientation data from all the drones, and visual markers that are unique to the target area, the processor creates a single 3D map of the target area”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the method for determining the orientation of the drone of Saika to include a control unit to calculate the orientation of the drone based on at least the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values, as taught in Thompson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective determination of the orientation of the drone in relation to multiple measurement values so that specified routes may be followed if necessary. See para. [0061]-[0064] of Thompson for motivation.
Saika, as modified by Thompson may not explicitly disclose that a main body does not move
in relation to a surface of Earth and that the drone is stationary.
However, Mahfouz discloses a stationary inertial measurement unit (see at least the
abstract of Mahfouz which discloses “collecting data from the inertial measurement unit while stationary” and see at least para. [0009] of Mahfouz which discloses “calibration should involve maneuvering of the IMU around the three orthogonal axes of the IMU, and a stationary period” and see at least para. [0013] of Mahfouz which discloses “Calibrating the gyroscopes of each IMU should provide for the gyroscopes being stationary for a set amount of time”). Mahfouz is directed to the calibration of inertial measurement units (IMUs), including gyroscopes, which are the same type of sensors used in the claimed drone system, as broadly recited. Mahfouz, is therefore reasonably pertinent to the problem of improving orientation determination accuracy using IMU data. See para. [0013] and [0023] of Mahfouz for motivation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Saika, as modified by Thompson, to include a stationary condition for a drone, as taught in Mahfouz with a reasonable expectation of success in order to perform calibration of the MEMS gyroscopes under stationary conditions to eliminate motion induced noise, thereby enabling accurate comparison of measurement values obtained at different positions of the camera and improving the accuracy and reliability of the orientation determination.
Regarding claim 11, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
processor (see at least para. [0036] of Saika which discloses “processors on the camera” and see at least para. [0074] of Saika which discloses “a computer system (e.g., a processor or a group of processors), when executing instructions on the memory (Fig. 4, 430 and see at least para. [0049] of Saika which discloses a “system memory 430” and see at least para. [0046] of Saika which discloses “control system 150 can access a non-volatile memory which stores sets of control parameters mapped to identifiers in order to obtain the correct set of control parameters for a given identifier” and see at least para. [0049] of Saika which discloses “store executable computer instructions that, when executed by the system controller 420 and/or the image processors 416, perform the camera functionalities”), is further configured to shift the camera device from the first position to the second position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a second position” and “unlocked in a second position, allowing for detachment of the gimbal 100 from the mount platform“) by rotating the camera device about a rotation axis that is perpendicular to the surface of the Earth (see at least para. [0059] of Saika which discloses “the camera's rotation for each axis of rotation can be fixed or unfixed. When the camera's rotation is fixed on an axis, then the camera will maintain that same orientation, relative to the ground, on that axis despite the movement of the handheld grip. Conversely, when the rotation of the camera 120 is unfixed on an axis, then the camera's rotation on that axis can change when the handheld grip 600 is rotated”, *Examiner interprets this as rotating the camera device about a rotation axis that is perpendicular to a surface of the Earth).
Regarding claim 12, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
processor, is further configured to shift the camera device (see at least para. [0039] of Saika which discloses “the angle of the camera 120 to shift on the axis of another motor”) from the first position to the second position by rotating the camera device by 180 degrees about the rotation axis (see at least para. [0039] of Saika which discloses “the camera 120 is initially oriented at a pitch, yaw, and roll of 0° and that the axis of the second motor 302 is orthogonal to the axis of the third motor 303 and forms an angle of 0 degrees with the vertical axis, as depicted in FIG. 3A and FIG. 3B. In FIG. 3B, the angle θ is measured clockwise, and is about 16°. A rotation of φ degrees (where −180°≦φ≦180°) by the second motor 302 may also change the pitch, p, of the camera 120“).
Regarding claim 13, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
processor (see at least para. [0036] of Saika which discloses “processors on the camera” and see at least para. [0074] of Saika which discloses “a computer system (e.g., a processor or a group of processors), when executing instructions on the memory, is further configured to adjust (see at least para. [0039] of Saika which discloses “may adjust only the roll of the camera 120 and the third motor 303 adjusts only the pitch of the camera 120. The second motor 302 may adjust the yaw primarily, but also may adjust the pitch and roll of the camera 120”) the first position or the second position of the camera device in relation to the main body (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “move the camera 120 to the preferred orientation or keep the camera 120 in the preferred orientation. In one embodiment, the gimbal control system 150 has a preferred orientation that is configured by the user. The user can input the preferred orientation of the camera 120 with a remote controller which sends the preferred orientation for the camera 120 to the aerial vehicle 110 through a wireless network, which then provides the preferred orientation to the gimbal control logic 150. In some embodiments the preferred orientation can be defined relative to the ground, so that the yaw, pitch, and roll of the camera remain constant relative to the ground. In some embodiments, certain axes of rotation can be unfixed. That is, an unfixed axis of rotation is not corrected by the gimbal control system 150, but rather remains constant relative to the aerial vehicle 110. For example, the yaw of the camera 120 can be unfixed, while the roll and the pitch are fixed. In this case, if the yaw of the aerial vehicle 110 changes the yaw of the camera 120 will likewise change”, *Examiner interprets that this is equivalent to the position of the camera device adjusting relative to the main body and since the limitation is cited in the alternative, only one position is required, i.e. the first position).
Regarding claim 16, Saika discloses A system comprising:
a drone (Fig. 2, 110 and see at least para. [0022] of Saika which discloses “an aerial vehicle
110”) having a main body (Fig. 2, 230 and see at least para. [0030] of Saika which discloses a “housing 230 for payload (e.g., electronics)”, *Examiner interprets housing 230 to be the main body since it can house components such as a payload, electronics, etc.), a camera device (Fig. 3A, 120 and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “camera 120 can capture images and videos at various frame rates, resolutions, and compression rates. The camera 120 can be connected to the detachable camera frame 130, which mechanically connects to the camera and physically connects to the gimbal 100. FIG. 1 depicts the detachable camera frame 130 enclosing the camera 120”) that is attached to the main body with an attachment structure (Fig. 3A, 310/350/304 and see at least para. [[0032] of Saika which discloses “The base arm 310 may be configured to include a mechanical attachment portion 350 at a first end that allows the gimbal 100 to securely attach to a reciprocal component on another mount platform (e.g., an aerial vehicle” and see at least para. [0043] of Saika which discloses “a mount connector 304 (shown in FIG. 3B, but not in FIG. 3A) which allows the gimbal 100 to electronically couple to the mount platform (e.g., the aerial vehicle 110”) that enables the camera device to be moved in relation to the main body (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “rotates a mounted object (e.g., a detachable camera frame 130 connected to a camera 120) in space”, *Examiner interprets this as enabling the camera 120 to move because of the rotation), and one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”) wherein the one or more MEMS gyroscopes are on the camera device (Fig. 3A, 120 and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “camera 120 can capture images and videos at various frame rates, resolutions, and compression rates. The camera 120 can be connected to the detachable camera frame 130, which mechanically connects to the camera and physically connects to the gimbal 100. FIG. 1 depicts the detachable camera frame 130 enclosing the camera 120” and see at least para. [0023] of Saika which discloses “The camera 120 can include a camera body, one or more a camera lenses, various indicators on the camera body …) or the attachment structure (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110”, *Examiner interprets this location near the connection to be on the attachment structure); and
a control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit) that is configured to:
retrieve measurement values from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers”) and see at least para. [0025] of Saika which discloses “the IMU of the sensor unit 101 may produce an output indicative of the orientation, angular velocity, and acceleration of at least one point on the gimbal 100”),
retrieve one or more first measurement values (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “maximum and minimum values for the yaw of the camera 120 relative to the mount platform, then if the aerial vehicle 110 is oriented at a yaw of αav degrees then the preferred roll of the camera αc can be chosen by the gimbal control system 150 so that the angle αc is between the angles (αmin+αav) and (αmax+αav). Similar maximum and minimum values can be defined for the pitch and roll. The maximum and minimum for each of the relative angles can be defined such that the viewing angle of the camera 120 is not obstructed by the gimbal 100 and/or the mount platform at any angle within the valid bounds”, *Examiner interprets the minimum value may be a first measurement value) from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0018] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal may include an inertial measurement unit which can sense the orientation of the camera and three electronic motors which can manipulate the orientation of the camera” and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”, *Examiner interprets one of these measures of rotation, orientation, acceleration, etc. to also be the one or more first measurement values. And see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”), when the camera device and the one or more MEMS gyroscopes are in a first position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a first position” and “The gimbal 100 can be locked with the mount platform in a first position”) in relation to the main body of the drone,
shift the camera device from the first position to a second position (see at least para. [0044] of Saika which discloses “a second position” and “unlocked in a second position, allowing for detachment of the gimbal 100 from the mount platform“) in relation to the main body of the drone,
retrieve one or more second measurement values from the one or more MEMS gyroscopes when the camera device and the one or more MEMS gyroscopes are in the second position (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”).
Saika may not explicitly disclose calculate the orientation of the drone based on at least
the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values and that a main body does not move in relation to a surface of Earth and that the drone is stationary.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thompson discloses calculate the orientation of
the drone (see at least para. [0061] of Thompson which discloses “correct positions and orientations of all the drones may be calculated on an essentially continuous basis”) based on at least the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values (see at least para. [0064] of Thompson which discloses “The drones send also positioning data and orientation data for each drone. The processor, be it a portable device or a separate processing unit or both, will process any raw data that has not 3D model into a 3D model for that drone. Positioning data and orientation data are added to the 3D model for each drone. Using the collective positioning and orientation data from all the drones, and visual markers that are unique to the target area, the processor creates a single 3D map of the target area”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the method for determining the orientation of the drone of Saika to include a control unit to calculate the orientation of the drone based on at least the one or more first measurement values and the one or more second measurement values, as taught in Thompson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate the effective determination of the orientation of the drone in relation to multiple measurement values so that specified routes may be followed if necessary. See para. [0061]-[0064] of Thompson for motivation.
Saika, as modified by Thompson may not explicitly disclose that a main body does not move
in relation to a surface of Earth and that the drone is stationary.
However, Mahfouz discloses a stationary inertial measurement unit (see at least the
abstract of Mahfouz which discloses “collecting data from the inertial measurement unit while stationary” and see at least para. [0009] of Mahfouz which discloses “calibration should involve maneuvering of the IMU around the three orthogonal axes of the IMU, and a stationary period” and see at least para. [0013] of Mahfouz which discloses “Calibrating the gyroscopes of each IMU should provide for the gyroscopes being stationary for a set amount of time”). Mahfouz is directed to the calibration of inertial measurement units (IMUs), including gyroscopes, which are the same type of sensors used in the claimed drone system, as broadly recited. Mahfouz, is therefore reasonably pertinent to the problem of improving orientation determination accuracy using IMU data. See para. [0013] and [0023] of Mahfouz for motivation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Saika, as modified by Thompson, to include a stationary condition for a drone, as taught in Mahfouz with a reasonable expectation of success in order to perform calibration of the MEMS gyroscopes under stationary conditions to eliminate motion induced noise, thereby enabling accurate comparison of measurement values obtained at different positions of the camera and improving the accuracy and reliability of the orientation determination.
Regarding claim 18, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit) is further configured to shift the camera device from the first position to the second position comprises rotating the camera device about a rotation axis that is perpendicular to a surface of the Earth (see at least para. [0059] of Saika which discloses “the camera's rotation for each axis of rotation can be fixed or unfixed. When the camera's rotation is fixed on an axis, then the camera will maintain that same orientation, relative to the ground, on that axis despite the movement of the handheld grip. Conversely, when the rotation of the camera 120 is unfixed on an axis, then the camera's rotation on that axis can change when the handheld grip 600 is rotated”, *Examiner interprets this as rotating the camera device about a rotation axis that is perpendicular to a surface of the Earth).
Regarding claim 19, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz, discloses wherein the
control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit) is further configured to adjust (see at least para. [0039] of Saika which discloses “may adjust only the roll of the camera 120 and the third motor 303 adjusts only the pitch of the camera 120. The second motor 302 may adjust the yaw primarily, but also may adjust the pitch and roll of the camera 120”) the first position or the second position of the camera device in relation to the main body (see at least para. [0034] of Saika which discloses “move the camera 120 to the preferred orientation or keep the camera 120 in the preferred orientation. In one embodiment, the gimbal control system 150 has a preferred orientation that is configured by the user. The user can input the preferred orientation of the camera 120 with a remote controller which sends the preferred orientation for the camera 120 to the aerial vehicle 110 through a wireless network, which then provides the preferred orientation to the gimbal control logic 150. In some embodiments the preferred orientation can be defined relative to the ground, so that the yaw, pitch, and roll of the camera remain constant relative to the ground. In some embodiments, certain axes of rotation can be unfixed. That is, an unfixed axis of rotation is not corrected by the gimbal control system 150, but rather remains constant relative to the aerial vehicle 110. For example, the yaw of the camera 120 can be unfixed, while the roll and the pitch are fixed. In this case, if the yaw of the aerial vehicle 110 changes the yaw of the camera 120 will likewise change”, *Examiner interprets that this is equivalent to the position of the camera device adjusting relative to the main body and since the limitation is cited in the alternative, only one position is required, i.e. the first position).
Claims 7-8, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saika (US2016/0352992) in view of Thompson (US 2021/0403157) Mahfouz (US 2018/0059204A1) and further in view of Kulik (US 2011/0275408 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz discloses wherein the one
or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”).
Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz may not explicitly disclose the one or more
MEMS gyroscopes are stabilization gyroscopes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kulik discloses stabilization gyroscopes (see at least
para. [0026] of Kulik which discloses “stabilization gyroscopes can be used to emulate a compass” and see at least para. [0082] of Kulik which discloses “a gyroscope (angular rate sensor) can be used. The gyroscope can be, for example, like those placed in devices for the image stabilization”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the gyroscopes of Saika, as modified in by Thompson and Mahfouz to be stabilization gyroscopes as taught in Kulik with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively stabilize the camera device. See para. [0015] of Kulik for motivation.
Regarding claim 8, Saika, as modified by Thompson, Mahfouz and Kulik discloses further
comprising using, by the control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit), the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”) to stabilize the camera device when the drone is in flight (see at least para. [0033] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal 100 may allow for the camera 120 to maintain a particular orientation in space so that it remains relatively steady as the platform to which it is attached moves (e.g., as an aerial vehicle 110 tilts or turns during flight”).
Regarding claim 14, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz discloses wherein the
one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”).
Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz may not explicitly disclose the one or more
MEMS gyroscopes are stabilization gyroscopes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kulik discloses stabilization gyroscopes (see at least
para. [0026] of Kulik which discloses “stabilization gyroscopes can be used to emulate a compass” and see at least para. [0082] of Kulik which discloses “a gyroscope (angular rate sensor) can be used. The gyroscope can be, for example, like those placed in devices for the image stabilization”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the gyroscopes of Saika, as modified in by Thompson and Mahfouz to be stabilization gyroscopes as taught in Kulik with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively stabilize the camera device. See para. [0015] of Kulik for motivation.
Regarding claim 15, Saika, as modified by Thompson, Mahfouz and Kulik discloses wherein
the processor, when executing instructions (see at least para. [0049] of Saika which discloses “executable computer instructions that, when executed by the system controller 420 and/or the image processors 416, perform the camera functionalities”) on the memory (see at least para. [0049] of Saika which discloses “that controls the operation and functionality of the camera 120 and system memory 430 configured to store executable computer instructions”), is further configured to use the one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”) to stabilize the camera device when the drone is in flight (see at least para. [0033] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal 100 may allow for the camera 120 to maintain a particular orientation in space so that it remains relatively steady as the platform to which it is attached moves (e.g., as an aerial vehicle 110 tilts or turns during flight”).
Regarding claim 20, Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz discloses wherein the
one or more MEMS gyroscopes (see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “gyroscopes can be located near the camera 120 (e.g., near the connection to the detachable camera frame 130) and a set of accelerometers and gyroscopes can be placed at the opposite end of the gimbal (e.g., near the connection to the aerial vehicle 110)” and “The sensor unit 101 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) which measures rotation, orientation, and acceleration using sensors, such as accelerometers, gyroscopes”), and wherein the control unit (Fig. 1, 150 and see at least para. [0024] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal control system 150 may detect the orientation of the gimbal 100 and camera 120, determine a preferred orientation of the camera 120, and control the motors of the gimbal in order to re-orient the camera 120 to the preferred position”, *Examiner interprets control system 150 to be a control unit) is further configured to use the one or more MEMS gyroscopes to stabilize the camera device when the drone is in flight (see at least para. [0033] of Saika which discloses “The gimbal 100 may allow for the camera 120 to maintain a particular orientation in space so that it remains relatively steady as the platform to which it is attached moves (e.g., as an aerial vehicle 110 tilts or turns during flight”).
Saika, as modified by Thompson and Mahfouz may not explicitly disclose the one or more
MEMS gyroscopes are stabilization gyroscopes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kulik discloses stabilization gyroscopes (see at least
para. [0026] of Kulik which discloses “stabilization gyroscopes can be used to emulate a compass” and see at least para. [0082] of Kulik which discloses “a gyroscope (angular rate sensor) can be used. The gyroscope can be, for example, like those placed in devices for the image stabilization”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to further modify the gyroscopes of Saika, as modified in by Thompson and Mahfouz to be stabilization gyroscopes as taught in Kulik with a reasonable expectation of success in order to effectively stabilize the camera device. See para. [0015] of Kulik for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nielsen (US 2023/0111932 A1) discloses a drone control technique is provided in which one or more attributes (also referred to herein as metrics) of a flightpath to be followed by a drone is automatically determined based at least in part on a spatial vector defined between the drone and a reference object (e.g., a user of the drone). In some embodiments, one or more of the direction, distance and speed attributes of the drone's flightpath is determined based on a direction and a distance by which the drone is spaced from the reference object, so that the direction, size, and/or speed of the flightpath is variable with variation in the spatial vector. In some embodiments, various combinations of the direction, distance and speed can be determined based on the spatial vector. The reference object is an object relative to which the drone's position is determined in a three dimensional space. Bachrach (US 2016/0327950 A1) discloses by incorporating sensor data from an IMU (or accelerometer(s) or gyroscope(s)) associated with the camera to the tracked features of the image capture, estimations may be made for the position and/or orientation of the camera over time. This technique may be applied at both the FDA 100 and PMD 104 to calculate the position and/or orientation of both systems. Further, by communicating the estimates between the systems (e.g. via a Wi-Fi connection) estimates may be calculated for the respective positions and/or orientations relative to each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662