Response to Amendment
This application is responsive to applicant amendments received 02/12/2026. Claims 1, 6-8, 11 and 13 amended, claims 5 and 10 cancelled and claims 14-15 added. Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-15 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "a set of an NFC chip, an RFiD and an internal antenna RF, all of which forming the capacitive elements..." is confusing—"an RFiD" is incomplete terminology and usually would be referred to as "an RFiD chip/tag". NFC itself is a type/subset of RFiD—listing both separately is confusing. A clearer version would be "a set of an NFC chip, an RFiD chip, and an internal antenna RF...".
Similarly, for claim 7 for including similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tester (US Patent No. 20050231365), in view of Assa Abloy, "Seal Tag edTamper Detect tampering of broken seals without linr of sight", 06/15/2022, HID Global Corporation, pages 1-2 (Year: 2022); hereinafter referred to as ‘Abloy’.
In re claim 1, Tester teaches An electronic seal (1) with system for monitoring the integrity of an object, recipient or container (Abstract: “A battery operated cable security seal for cargo containers and the like includes a housing… a tampered state of a stranded metal locking cable, which has a length sufficient to secure the keeper bars and hasp of a cargo container door.”), the seal comprising a seal body (2) comprising a substrate (5), a trim lock (6) (Para [0087]: “In FIG. 2, the cable 6′ is attached to a robust locking device 14 that is located inside of housing 16 of the seal 4. As best seen in FIG. 4, the seal 4 comprises a metal die cast housing 16, preferably zinc, but may be other metals or molded plastic materials, such as thermoplastic, according to a given implementation.”) and internal circuit (7) (Para [0088]: “A printed circuit board assembly 26 is beneath the optional label support 22.”),
[wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] and initially open capacitive/resistive [circuit] (Para [0159]: “Once the circuit 138 is armed… by the arming of the circuit via contact 146 engaging the cable 6′, FIG. 5a, which is commonly used by others, connects the battery to the circuit 138. The circuit 138 begins transmission of the data on a periodic basis, previously programmed into the circuit, via transmitter 156…”), the capacitive/resistive element of the internal circuit (7) being at least one unique digital identity element (4) (Para [0158]: “In FIG. 12, the circuit 138 RFID tag 170 may include elements of the circuit of FIG. 11 and further including the programmable EPROM or other programmable devices. Transmitter 156 transmits an encoded signal intermittently at random time intervals, preferably hourly, when the wire 104 resistance is measured hourly, or at other intervals or as the R values are being measured, according to a given implementation. The circuit 138 includes a programmable instruction set for programming a given ID (serial no.), and log data including time and date of resistance measurements manifesting a normal signal.” and para [0168]: “The circuit 138, once armed will periodically load its memory with the sealed stated of the cable as determined by the measured resistance of its sensor wire such as wire 104, FIG. 7, and will transmit the programmed seal identification and related data to a local interrogator/reader (not shown) upon interrogation or at other intervals as desired. This provides an audit trail of event data log representing an untampered seal.”);
wherein said electronic seal (1) comprises a resistive locking element (3) (SEE FIGS 1 and 2, Cable 6 and para [0124]: “A preferred wire 104 is according to US Military Specification MIL-W-16878E (type ET) Hook Up Wire, TFE Teflon Insulation, either stranded or solid conductors, and is available in numerous gauges.”) with one end fixedly connected to the seal body (2), at a terminal of the internal circuit (7) and a free end configured to pass through the trim lock (6) and close said internal circuit (7) (Para [0106]: “This is because the locking member always is gripping the cable even when displaced toward and against wall 72, FIG. 5. The gripped cable when pulled in the withdrawal direction opposite to direction 88 pulls the locking member 74 therewith and wedges the locking member against the smaller diameter bore 70 of the lock body 66. This resiliently crushes the locking member radially inwardly against the cable locking the cable to the locking device 14. The more force applied to the cable in the withdrawal direction, the greater the wedging force and thus greater the forces locking the cable to the lock body 66. Thus once the cable free end 92 is inserted in locking engagement with the locking member 74, the cable end 92 can not be withdrawn from the seal 2 without permanently destroying the seal or cable.”); and
wherein the operation of the electronic seal (1) takes place by closing the resistive locking element (3) in the trim lock (6) so that the closing of said resistive locking element (3) additionally closes the internal circuit (7) capacitive with an initial property according to the resistivity of the resistive locking element (3) (Para [0118]: “In the alternative, in the embodiment of FIG. 5a, a contact assembly 28 may be included which comprises a connector element 144, which includes either a metal or thermoplastic block, and is inserted in compartment 52, FIG. 2b. In FIG. 5a, the assembly 28 includes a resilient contact 146, e.g., beryllium copper, connected to the circuit 138 by wire 148 for arming the circuit 138 by closing an ohmic connection to the circuit 138 arming circuit portion as depicted by the arm step 168, FIG. 14. The armed state indicates that a cable is received and locked to the locking device 14. The end 92, FIG. 5a, of the cable 6′ can not engage the contact 146 until the end has passed through the locking member 74 and the cable 6′ engaged in a locked state with the locking member 74. The contact 146 is J-shaped as shown, but may be S-shaped or any other shape with a resilient bent contact leg. The contact 146 only engages the cable outer surface during cable insertion after the cable 6′ is locked.”), which varies according to the point at which it was cut, the material, and the thickness (Para [0121]: “Module 174 periodically measures the resistance R of the tamper indicating wires 104 (FIG. 7) inside the cable 6′ core (or any other cable used therewith) via resistance R measuring circuit 160, FIG. 12, of circuit 138. This resistance R is calibrated for the particular cable wire 104 length used for a given seal…”, para [0122]: “The calibration of the resistance R of the cable sensor wire is provided by a table (not shown) stored in memory 152, which may be a flash memory module as commercially available and commonly used in digital devices. This table comprises resistance values R, measured in micro-ohms (as the wires 104, FIG. 7, are excellent electrical conductors) calibrated for the given length of wire in the cable 6′ associated with the seal 4…” and para [0123]: “The various different seals preferably are provided with cables of standardized lengths associated with corresponding applications, such as for use with keeper bars alone, keeper bars and hasps together or hasps alone, as may be desired for a given implementation. The wires 104 are standardized in gauge for the seals and thus in resistances R to provide predetermined resistances for each cable diameter and length, which may vary for different seals of different sizes intended for different end uses.”); and
on the substrate (5) inside the seal body (2) (Para [0061]: “In a further aspect, the first circuit is electrically connected to the conductor and responsive to the electrical conductivity value of the conductor, the first circuit including a signal generating circuit for sensing the conductivity value of the conductor and for generating a first signal manifesting a cable locked state indicating the cable is locked to locking device and tamper free when the conductor has a first conductivity value and for generating a second signal manifesting a cable tampered condition in response to sensing a change of conductivity of the conductor from the first conductivity value.”, paras [0063]-[0064]: “In a further aspect, an RFID tag is associated with the first circuit, the tag for initializing the first circuit to an armed condition in response to a received arm command signal.” “In a further aspect, the tag includes a relay circuit for relaying electrical signals containing commands and data…”).
Tester fails to teach [wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] a passive [circuit]; and
wherein the unique digital identity element (4) is a set of an NFC chip, an RFiD and an internal antenna RF, all of which forming the capacitive elements of the circuit internal (7),
However, Abloy teaches [wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] a passive (SEE BELOW) [circuit] (SEE BELOW); and
wherein the unique digital identity element (4) is a set of an NFC chip, an RFiD and an internal antenna RF, all of which forming the capacitive elements of the circuit internal (7) (Page 1, paras [0001]-[0004]: “HID Global's Seal Tag edTamper are tamper evident passive contactless Trusted Tag NFC RAIN® RFID UHF transponders allowing detection of their seal status via RFID.” “The NFC label utilizing HID Trusted Tag technology is designed to protect the content of containers like bottles or boxes by indicating an eventual opening of that container along with the secure authentication message the tag provides upon every NFC tap. No special app is required on the tapping phone.” “With RAIN® RFID technology, visualizing the tag is not necessary to identify broken seals. The edTamper tags-provide a digital notification if a sealed tag has been compromised to quickly scan large sets of sealed items for integrity. Typical applications include sensitive and highly-secure items like, aircraft life vests or weapon/equipment racks that require periodic safety and security checks.” “Seal Tag edTamper are easily affixed by closing the robust wire loop through an opening similar to securing a padlock. After being sealed, a bit in the tag's memory indicates this status and can be detected with standard RAIN RFID readers.”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tester to incorporate the teachings of Abloy to provide [wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] a passive [circuit]; and wherein the unique digital identity element (4) is a set of an NFC chip, an RFiD and an internal antenna RF, all of which forming the capacitive elements of the circuit internal (7), with the Electronic security seal of Tester. Doing so enables protecting the content of containers like bottles or boxes by indicating an eventual opening of that container along with the secure authentication message the tag provides, as recognized by Abloy (Page 1, para [0002]).
In re claim 2, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein the seal body (2) is made of injected plastic or metal and arranged around the substrate (5) and the internal circuit (7) (Paras [0087]-[0088]: “In FIG. 2, the cable 6′ is attached to a robust locking device 14 that is located inside of housing 16 of the seal 4. As best seen in FIG. 4, the seal 4 comprises a metal die cast housing 16, preferably zinc, but may be other metals or molded plastic materials, such as thermoplastic, according to a given implementation.” “A printed circuit board assembly 26 is beneath the optional label support 22.”).
In re claim 3, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein said resistive locking element (3) is a malleable cordage (SEE FIGS 1-2 and 4 depicting malleable cable).
In re claim 4, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 3 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein said resistive locking element (3) is made of a metallic material and with predetermined resistivity (Paras [0123]-[0124]: “The wires 104 are standardized in gauge for the seals and thus in resistances R to provide predetermined resistances for each cable diameter and length, which may vary for different seals of different sizes intended for different end uses.” “A preferred wire 104 is according to US Military Specification MIL-W-16878E (type ET) Hook Up Wire, TFE Teflon Insulation, either stranded or solid conductors, and is available in numerous gauges.”).
Method claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as electronic seal claim 4 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
In re claim 6, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein the resistive locking element (3) is between 2.5m and 4.5m in length (Para [0109]: “The cables 6 and 6′ may be about 1.5 meters or any other length as suitable for a given need as discussed below in connection with FIGS. 17-19.”), and is configured to tie a Paras [0208]-[0209]: “The cable 256 may have a length of about 1.5 to 2 meters for this purpose. The cable length may differ according to a given implementation.” “FIG. 18 shows another embodiment in which cable 258 is wrapped about handle 259 pivot bracket 260 associated with keeper bar 262 and wrapped about handle 261 pivot bracket 264 associated with keeper bar 266. The cable free end 257 is pulled taut through the seal 18 to which the other cable end 255 is permanently secured. In this embodiment, neither keeper bar 262 or 266 can rotate due to the taut wrapped state of the cable 258.”).
In re claim 7, Tester teaches A method of monitoring the integrity of an object, recipient or container (Abstract: “A battery operated cable security seal for cargo containers and the like… The cable has an internal conductor whose conductivity, e.g., resistance, manifests a tampered condition when severed and also if reattached, e.g., by a solder or spliced joint and so on. The electrical continuity of the conductor is monitored by a circuit in one embodiment for a severed state, i.e., tampering…”), the method comprising:
(a) providing an electronic seal (1) with an integrity monitoring system for an object, recipient or container (Para [0169]: “An alarm condition, when it occurs, is stored in memory 152, and is transmitted when requested, or in the alternative, at the time of detection, e.g., at an hourly polling time. When the alarm condition is read by reader/interrogator 158, the integrity of that container is assumed to have been breached. The reader/interrogator 158 stores the seal number and time/date stamp of the occurrence of the fault detection of each seal that has been breached.”) comprising a seal body (2) comprising a substrate (5), a trim lock (6) (Para [0087]: “In FIG. 2, the cable 6′ is attached to a robust locking device 14 that is located inside of housing 16 of the seal 4. As best seen in FIG. 4, the seal 4 comprises a metal die cast housing 16, preferably zinc, but may be other metals or molded plastic materials, such as thermoplastic, according to a given implementation.”) and internal circuit (7) (Para [0088]: “A printed circuit board assembly 26 is beneath the optional label support 22.”);
[wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] and initially open capacitive [circuit] (Para [0159]: “Once the circuit 138 is armed… by the arming of the circuit via contact 146 engaging the cable 6′, FIG. 5a, which is commonly used by others, connects the battery to the circuit 138. The circuit 138 begins transmission of the data on a periodic basis, previously programmed into the circuit, via transmitter 156…”), the capacitive element of the internal circuit (7) being at least one unique digital identity element (4) (Para [0158]: “In FIG. 12, the circuit 138 RFID tag 170 may include elements of the circuit of FIG. 11 and further including the programmable EPROM or other programmable devices. Transmitter 156 transmits an encoded signal intermittently at random time intervals, preferably hourly, when the wire 104 resistance is measured hourly, or at other intervals or as the R values are being measured, according to a given implementation. The circuit 138 includes a programmable instruction set for programming a given ID (serial no.), and log data including time and date of resistance measurements manifesting a normal signal.” and para [0168]: “The circuit 138, once armed will periodically load its memory with the sealed stated of the cable as determined by the measured resistance of its sensor wire such as wire 104, FIG. 7, and will transmit the programmed seal identification and related data to a local interrogator/reader (not shown) upon interrogation or at other intervals as desired. This provides an audit trail of event data log representing an untampered seal.”);
wherein said electronic seal (1) comprises a resistive locking element (3) (SEE FIGS 1 and 2, Cable 6 and para [0124]: “A preferred wire 104 is according to US Military Specification MIL-W-16878E (type ET) Hook Up Wire, TFE Teflon Insulation, either stranded or solid conductors, and is available in numerous gauges.”) with one end fixedly connected to the seal body (2) at a terminal of the internal circuit (7) and a free end configured to pass through the trim lock (6) and close said internal circuit (7) (Para [0106]: “This is because the locking member always is gripping the cable even when displaced toward and against wall 72, FIG. 5. The gripped cable when pulled in the withdrawal direction opposite to direction 88 pulls the locking member 74 therewith and wedges the locking member against the smaller diameter bore 70 of the lock body 66. This resiliently crushes the locking member radially inwardly against the cable locking the cable to the locking device 14. The more force applied to the cable in the withdrawal direction, the greater the wedging force and thus greater the forces locking the cable to the lock body 66. Thus once the cable free end 92 is inserted in locking engagement with the locking member 74, the cable end 92 can not be withdrawn from the seal 2 without permanently destroying the seal or cable.”);
wherein the operation of the electronic seal (1) occurs by closing the resistive locking element (3) in the internal circuit (7) so that the closing said resistive locking element (3) closes the internal capacitive circuit (7) with an initial property in accordance with the resistivity of the resistive locking element (3) (Para [0118]: “In the alternative, in the embodiment of FIG. 5a, a contact assembly 28 may be included which comprises a connector element 144, which includes either a metal or thermoplastic block, and is inserted in compartment 52, FIG. 2b. In FIG. 5a, the assembly 28 includes a resilient contact 146, e.g., beryllium copper, connected to the circuit 138 by wire 148 for arming the circuit 138 by closing an ohmic connection to the circuit 138 arming circuit portion as depicted by the arm step 168, FIG. 14. The armed state indicates that a cable is received and locked to the locking device 14. The end 92, FIG. 5a, of the cable 6′ can not engage the contact 146 until the end has passed through the locking member 74 and the cable 6′ engaged in a locked state with the locking member 74. The contact 146 is J-shaped as shown, but may be S-shaped or any other shape with a resilient bent contact leg. The contact 146 only engages the cable outer surface during cable insertion after the cable 6′ is locked.”), which varies according to the point at which it was cut, the material, and the thickness (Para [0121]: “Module 174 periodically measures the resistance R of the tamper indicating wires 104 (FIG. 7) inside the cable 6′ core (or any other cable used therewith) via resistance R measuring circuit 160, FIG. 12, of circuit 138. This resistance R is calibrated for the particular cable wire 104 length used for a given seal…”, para [0122]: “The calibration of the resistance R of the cable sensor wire is provided by a table (not shown) stored in memory 152, which may be a flash memory module as commercially available and commonly used in digital devices. This table comprises resistance values R, measured in micro-ohms (as the wires 104, FIG. 7, are excellent electrical conductors) calibrated for the given length of wire in the cable 6′ associated with the seal 4…” and para [0123]: “The various different seals preferably are provided with cables of standardized lengths associated with corresponding applications, such as for use with keeper bars alone, keeper bars and hasps together or hasps alone, as may be desired for a given implementation. The wires 104 are standardized in gauge for the seals and thus in resistances R to provide predetermined resistances for each cable diameter and length, which may vary for different seals of different sizes intended for different end uses.”);
and the reading of said unique digital identity element (4) is done by an NFC and/or RFID reading terminal (Para [0179]: “This allows an authorized RFID reader/interrogator 158 to initiate a unique transmit audit trail event data log session with the active RFID tag component of the specified seal.”);
(b) closing the electronic seal (1), in which a and/or pallets (Paras [0208]-[0209]: “The cable 256 may have a length of about 1.5 to 2 meters for this purpose. The cable length may differ according to a given implementation.” “FIG. 18 shows another embodiment in which cable 258 is wrapped about handle 259 pivot bracket 260 associated with keeper bar 262 and wrapped about handle 261 pivot bracket 264 associated with keeper bar 266. The cable free end 257 is pulled taut through the seal 18 to which the other cable end 255 is permanently secured. In this embodiment, neither keeper bar 262 or 266 can rotate due to the taut wrapped state of the cable 258.”),
wherein the resistive locking element (3) closes the internal capacitive circuit (7) with a unique property according to the resistivity of the resistive locking element (3) (SEE para [0118] directly above.), which varies according to the point at which it was cut, the material, and the thickness (SEE paras [0121]-[0123] directly above.);
(c) registering the electronic seal, in which a a a or pallet to be sealed by the electronic seal (1) (Para [0117]: “The circuit of printed circuit board assembly 26 (FIG. 4) comprises a circuit board 136 with a programmable circuit 138… providing a programmable transmitting seal command control circuit and an RFID tag circuit 170, FIG. 12… The memory(s) are… programmed by radio transmission into a programmable memory via its receiver. The data programmed into the memory 152 may include some or all of the following: a seal identification code, i.e., a unique number (a serial number) assigned a particular seal, geographic location where the seal is being deployed, e.g., if a port, the port of origin of the container to which the seal is attached, container identification, e.g., a unique number assigned to a cargo container, the shipping carrier for the container, container destination, inventory of the container and other data… The circuit 138 is connected to the conductor terminal ends of the leads 126, FIGS. 4 and 7, to the cable 6′ wire pair 102 (FIG. 7) which completes the circuit. The circuit may be armed by a radio transmission received by the tag 170 from an interrogator 158, FIG. 12 for example, using an encrypted password.”); and
(d) transporting the electronic seal, in which the electronic seal (1) is read through the unique digital identity element (4) by a secondary agent and an Paras [0185]-[0186]: “This recorded date/time event information is particularly important for US Customs, law enforcement and insurance investigation purposes.” “The cable monitoring circuit 138 has a low-power internal calendar/clock (not shown) which is used to build the audit trail event log data. This circuit's two primary functions are to monitor the cable for intrusion events during the seal armed state; and, to create an audit trail event log containing detailed date and time information concerning the seal status (i.e. its integrity), which is read by an authorized RFID interrogator using the RFID tag 170.” and para [0192]: “This simultaneously transmits and receives electronic signals from an authorized RFID interrogator. This function may optionally begin after the normal shutdown of the armed function… When the audit trail event log data download (i.e., from the circuit 138 to the RFID interrogator) is complete, the transceive mode will stop, although the LED light function (either green or red) will continue to flash at other intervals, e.g., eight second intervals, until the reserves of the battery attached to the circuit 138 are gone.”).
Tester fails to teach [wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] a passive [circuit] and
wherein the unique digital identity element (4) is a set of an NFC chip, an RFID, or an internal antenna RF.
However, Abloy teaches [wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] a passive (SEE BELOW) [circuit] (SEE BELOW) and
wherein the unique digital identity element (4) is a set of an NFC chip, an RFID, or an internal antenna RF (Page 1, paras [0001]-[0004]: “HID Global's Seal Tag edTamper are tamper evident passive contactless Trusted Tag NFC RAIN® RFID UHF transponders allowing detection of their seal status via RFID.” “The NFC label utilizing HID Trusted Tag technology is designed to protect the content of containers like bottles or boxes by indicating an eventual opening of that container along with the secure authentication message the tag provides upon every NFC tap. No special app is required on the tapping phone.” “With RAIN® RFID technology, visualizing the tag is not necessary to identify broken seals. The edTamper tags-provide a digital notification if a sealed tag has been compromised to quickly scan large sets of sealed items for integrity. Typical applications include sensitive and highly-secure items like, aircraft life vests or weapon/equipment racks that require periodic safety and security checks.” “Seal Tag edTamper are easily affixed by closing the robust wire loop through an opening similar to securing a padlock. After being sealed, a bit in the tag's memory indicates this status and can be detected with standard RAIN RFID readers.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tester to incorporate the teachings of Abloy to provide [wherein said internal circuit (7) comprises] a passive [circuit] and wherein the unique digital identity element (4) is a set of an NFC chip, an RFID, or an internal antenna RF with the Electronic security seal of Tester. Doing so enables protecting the content of containers like bottles or boxes by indicating an eventual opening of that container along with the secure authentication message the tag provides, as recognized by Abloy (Page 1, para [0002]).
In re claim 11, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 7 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein, during the registering step, the geolocation data of the digital interface terminal that registered the electronic seal (1) and a Para [0117]: “The data programmed into the memory 152 may include some or all of the following: a seal identification code, i.e., a unique number (a serial number) assigned a particular seal, geographic location where the seal is being deployed, e.g., if a port, the port of origin of the container to which the seal is attached, container identification, e.g., a unique number assigned to a cargo container, the shipping carrier for the container, container destination, inventory of the container and other data… The circuit 138 is connected to the conductor terminal ends of the leads 126, FIGS. 4 and 7, to the cable 6′ wire pair 102 (FIG. 7) which completes the circuit. The circuit may be armed by a radio transmission received by the tag 170 from an interrogator 158, FIG. 12 for example, using an encrypted password.”).
In re claim 12, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 7 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein said resistive locking element (3) is a cordage having a length between 0.30m and 7.5m (Para [0109]: “The cables 6 and 6′ may be about 1.5 meters or any other length as suitable for a given need as discussed below in connection with FIGS. 17-19.”), and is configured to tie the rods that close the container door, gates, doors, lots, and pallets (Paras [0208]-[0209]: “The cable 256 may have a length of about 1.5 to 2 meters for this purpose. The cable length may differ according to a given implementation.” “FIG. 18 shows another embodiment in which cable 258 is wrapped about handle 259 pivot bracket 260 associated with keeper bar 262 and wrapped about handle 261 pivot bracket 264 associated with keeper bar 266. The cable free end 257 is pulled taut through the seal 18 to which the other cable end 255 is permanently secured. In this embodiment, neither keeper bar 262 or 266 can rotate due to the taut wrapped state of the cable 258.”).
In re claim 14, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein said unique property of the internal circuit and the unique digital identity element vary according to the point of the resistive locking element at which it was cut, its material, and thickness (Para [0118]: “In the alternative, in the embodiment of FIG. 5a, a contact assembly 28 may be included which comprises a connector element 144, which includes either a metal or thermoplastic block, and is inserted in compartment 52, FIG. 2b. In FIG. 5a, the assembly 28 includes a resilient contact 146, e.g., beryllium copper, connected to the circuit 138 by wire 148 for arming the circuit 138 by closing an ohmic connection to the circuit 138 arming circuit portion as depicted by the arm step 168, FIG. 14. The armed state indicates that a cable is received and locked to the locking device 14. The end 92, FIG. 5a, of the cable 6′ can not engage the contact 146 until the end has passed through the locking member 74 and the cable 6′ engaged in a locked state with the locking member 74. The contact 146 is J-shaped as shown, but may be S-shaped or any other shape with a resilient bent contact leg. The contact 146 only engages the cable outer surface during cable insertion after the cable 6′ is locked.”), para [0121]: “Module 174 periodically measures the resistance R of the tamper indicating wires 104 (FIG. 7) inside the cable 6′ core (or any other cable used therewith) via resistance R measuring circuit 160, FIG. 12, of circuit 138. This resistance R is calibrated for the particular cable wire 104 length used for a given seal…”, para [0122]: “The calibration of the resistance R of the cable sensor wire is provided by a table (not shown) stored in memory 152, which may be a flash memory module as commercially available and commonly used in digital devices. This table comprises resistance values R, measured in micro-ohms (as the wires 104, FIG. 7, are excellent electrical conductors) calibrated for the given length of wire in the cable 6′ associated with the seal 4…” and para [0123]: “The various different seals preferably are provided with cables of standardized lengths associated with corresponding applications, such as for use with keeper bars alone, keeper bars and hasps together or hasps alone, as may be desired for a given implementation. The wires 104 are standardized in gauge for the seals and thus in resistances R to provide predetermined resistances for each cable diameter and length, which may vary for different seals of different sizes intended for different end uses.”).
Method claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as electronic seal claim 14 for having similar limitations and being similar in scope.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tester (US Patent No. 20050231365), in view of Chung (US Patent No. 11507913).
In re claim 8, Tester and Abloy teach all of the limitations of claim 7 stated above where Tester further teaches after the transporting step, a recurring step in which, with each new change of custody of sealed objects, the status of the electronic seal (1) is diagnosed by the new secondary transport agent or by a tertiary agent at the final destination and the unique digital identity element is read (4) (Para [0151]: “In the alternative, later after the container is unloaded and the information is downloaded (transmitted) at step 212, FIG. 14, in response to an interrogation signal from interrogator 158, FIG. 12, to the tag 170 at this stage of the transit of the container, the tamper condition is downloaded (transmitted) to the host system administrator 232, FIG. 16, identifying the tag and container as having a tampered condition, step 214, FIG. 14.”).
The combination fails to teach wherein a an identity of the terminal that read the unique digital identity element (4) are recorded.
However, Chung teaches wherein a an identity of the terminal that read the unique digital identity element (4) are recorded (Abstract: “A system and method for operating a terminal facility handling containers may comprise: a sensor set sensing containers entering and/or exiting the facility for providing container identification data and location data to a relational database; and container handling equipment having a sensor set for providing container identification data and location data to the database when a container is grasped and/or released. Sensors may sense when the equipment grasps and/or releases a container for storing a record thereof in the database, and/or geo-tagged identification data and location data relating to carriers that are to pick up and/or to deliver a container is received and stored as records in the database. The relational database contains records representing the current location of each container and each container handling equipment substantially in real time and can estimate arrival time.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Tester and Abloy to further incorporate the teachings of Chung to provide wherein a an identity of the terminal that read the unique digital identity element (4) are recorded with the Electronic security seal of Tester. Doing so enables real time current location of each container and each container handling equipment and estimated arrival times, as recognized by Chung (Abstract).
In re claim 9, Tester, Abloy and Chung teach all of the limitations of claim 8 stated above where Tester further teaches wherein said diagnosis of the state of the electronic seal (1) of the recurring step comprises:
a first qualitative analysis of the state of the resistive locking element (3), in which it is analyzed to determine (a) if the resistive locking element (3) is broken or the seal body (2) is shattered, whereby the system is informed that the electronic seal (1) is in an non-intact tampered state; or (b) if both the resistive locking element (3) and the seal body (2) are intact, whereby the system is informed that the electronic seal (1) is in a sealed state (SEE para [0151] above and paras [0194]-[0197]: “Due to any number of circumstances (i.e. incidental damage, intentional seal destruction, etc.), a seal control circuit may fail during what was intended to be a normal armed service period. Depending on the severity and exact nature of damage that the specific circuit has sustained, the following possible device operational status conditions have been identified:” “Cable has been damaged (i.e. severed cable) with the seal housing and lock intact and functional.” “Cable is intact and seal housing has been damaged (i.e. smashed or torn open).” “Cable has been damaged and also the housing has been damaged.”); and
a second quantitative analysis in which a reading of the unique digital identity element (4) is carried out, so as to verify the variation in the reading of said unique digital identity element (4), caused by a possible change of the resistive locking element (3) (Para [0139]: “The cable is good R value each 12 hours is stored in memory and becomes an updated logged event at step 202, FIG. 14, which may be, if desired, transmitted at step 204 to a receiver (not shown) via the relay circuit 198, FIG. 12, or directly to a reader/interrogator 158. The fault event is transmitted automatically by the program of module 180, FIG. 13, of the command module 188 of the controller 150 (See also FIG. 12) to the RFID tag 170. In the alternative the tag controller can be programmed to transmit the fault as a result of periodic polling of the tag 170 from the interrogator 158 or internally by the tag 170 controller, as may be desired for a given implementation. Module 186, FIG. 13, of the tag 170 downloads the received fault condition to the transmit event log module 190 of the tag which transmits this information to the reader/interrogator 158 upon interrogation from the interrogator 158 or, automatically as desired under control of controller 172 of the tag 170, FIG. 12.”) or to perform a new seal with the remaining piece of the resistive locking element (3) through the difference in resistivity of the initial resistive locking element (3) at the time of sealing and the current resistive locking element (3), so that (a) if the reading difference of the unique digital identity element (4) is detected, the system determines that the electronic seal (1) is in an non-intact sealed state, and (b) if the reading difference of the unique digital identity element (4) is not detected, the system is informed that the electronic seal (1) is in an intact sealed state (Para [0200]: “When the armed state for the seal has been abnormally interrupted by a cable fault sensed condition, the RFID tag 170 is prompted by the controller 150 to begin broadcasting an instant alarm electronic signal, steps 206, 208, and 210, FIG. 14. This electronic signal contains security data (i.e., seal serial number, date/time of detected cable intrusion event, status code) and is intended to alert any authorized RFID interrogator to the detected cable intrusion event for the specified sensor device. The instant alarm situation described above may occur at any time during the armed device period.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170058565 A1 teaches a method for tamper-proof protection of containers used for shipment of goods. The system contains a lock with electronic and mechanical components and a controller. A sensor is connected to a lock so that if forms a closed loop. The sensor can be an optical fiber or a distributed arrangement with an optical or an electrical shield. The electronics in the lock provide real time monitoring of the status of the lock. The lock cannot be opened or reproduced due to the signature of the closed loop which is stored in a remote server. Intrusions detected are relayed to an authorized recipient via a variety of communication channels. The data and control of the entire system is protected with several programs targeted to provide cybersecurity.
US 6243005 B1 teaches an electronic seal including a housing, alarm circuitry which when actuated provides an alarm signal, a wire extending from the housing and in electrical communication with the alarm circuitry, a locking element which selectively lockingly engages the wire to the housing, and a switch external to the housing in electrical communication with the locking element which selectively unlocks the locking element to release the wire. There is also provided an electronic seal including a housing including alarm circuitry, the alarm circuitry when actuated providing an alarm signal, a wire extending from the housing and in electrical communication with the alarm circuitry, the wire being attached at a first point and at a second point thereof to the housing, a portion of the wire between the first and second points, called a tying portion, being suitable for tying an object, wherein tampering with the tying portion actuates the alarm circuitry, and an adjustment device for adjusting a length of the tying portion.
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2687 05/23/2026