DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beussink et al. (US 5,519,984).
With regard to claim 1, Beussink discloses An automated system (Fig. 3-7) for assembling a pre-filled syringe (48), said system comprising: a syringe barrel (50) containing a liquid (56); a vent tube (40) configured to place a stopper (36) in the syringe barrel, wherein the vent tube comprises: a body having a transition zone at a distal end thereof, said transition zone (See Fig below) having a taper angle from about 3 degrees to about 15 degrees (while the disclosure does not explicitly state a 3-15 degree taper, the drawings appear to show such a taper within that range and further it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the angle of taper as this would not alter the overall function of the device); and a machine adaptor (38).
With regard to claim 2, Beussink discloses wherein said machine adaptor comprises an alignment flange protruding from a proximal end thereof (see Fig. 1, element 22a that protrudes from a proximal surface of 38 and provides alignment of 38 in the machine).
With regard to claim 3, Beussink discloses wherein the body further includes a placement region at a proximal end thereof (see widenend portion at proximal end of 40).
With regard to claim 4, Beussink discloses wherein the placement region has a substantially flat surface for receiving the stopper (the proximal end is a funnel having a flat open surface for the stopper to be inserted, Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 5, Beussink discloses the placement region for a stopper but does not explicit disclose the diameter between 3mm to 20mm. However, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the size of the placement region as this would not alter the overall function of the device.
With regard to claim 6, Beussink discloses wherein the stopper comprises at least two outwardly extending ribs (See Fig. 3, stopper 36 has three ribs), and wherein the placement region has a size that is larger than a diameter of the largest outer rib of the stopper (Col 1, lines 65 to Col 2, line23; the enlarged proximal end is larger than the size of the stopper as shown in Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 7, Beussink discloses further comprising an insertion pin (30) configured to move the stopper through the vent tube (see between Figs 3-7).
With regard to claim 8, Beussink discloses wherein the machine adapter is positioned in the transition zone (see Fig above).
With regard to claim 9, Beussink discloses wherein the body is sized smaller than an inner diameter of the syringe barrel to allow air to escape between the outside of the vent tube and the syringe barrel (Col 5, lines 19-46).
With regard to claim 10, Beussink discloses wherein the inside of the syringe barrel is free of lubricants (the syringe is pre-filled as described in claim 1, and Beussink does not teach the use of lubricants).
With regard to claim 11, Beussink discloses wherein the liquid is a pharmaceutical substance or a biological substance (56).
Claim 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beussink et al. (US 5,519,984) in view of Ashcroft (US 5,228,476).
With regard to claim 14, Beussink discloses the insertion pin except for the tapered region.
Ashcroft teaches a similar system having a tubing (Fig. 1-3, element 30) with a stopper (2) for insertion into the tube via an insertion pin (20). Ashcroft further teaches the insertion pin (20) comprises a tapered region (22) at the proximal end thereof that interconnects a tip end (23) and the cylindrical member (20).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion pin of Beussink with the insertion pin having a tapered region as taught by Ashcroft for the purpose of tapering towards the tip end that can be inserted into the stopper (Col 2, lines 17-26).
With regard to claim 15, Beussink discloses the stopper but does not disclose a cavity in the stopper.
Ashcroft teaches a stopper having a cavity (Fig. 3, element 6) and further that the tip end (23) configured to fit in the cavity (as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beussink with the stopper cavity and insertion pin tip end as taught by Ashcroft for the purpose of connecting the insertion pin to the stopper for easier insertion into the tube (Col 2, lines 17-26, lines 31-41).
[ALTERNATE INTERPRETATION]
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beussink et al. (US 5,519,984) in view of Zambeaux et al. (US 2017/0081056 A1).
With regard to claim 14, Beussink discloses the insertion pin except for the tapered region.
Zambeaux teaches a similar system having a tubing (Fig. 3a-6b) with a stopper (14-1) for insertion into the tube via an insertion pin (18-8, fig. 3c as well as Fig. 5a). Zambeaux further teaches the insertion pin (18-8/Fig. 5a) comprises a tapered region (see bottom end of Fig. 5a) at the proximal end.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion pin of Beussink with the insertion pin having a tapered region as taught by Zambeaux for the purpose of providing the best shape to avoid accidental resting of the rod onto the carpule which could cause breaking [0110]).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beussink et al. (US 5,519,984) in view of Zambeaux et al. (US 2017/0081056 A1) and in further view of Ashmead et al. (US 2011/0137263 A1).
With regard to claim 15, Beussink/Zambeaux discloses the claimed end except for the stopper cavity.
Ashmead teaches a similar stopper insertion device (Fig. 15) having an insertion tube (170) a stopper (174) and an insertion pin (172) having a tip end that can be inserted into a stopper cavity (as seen in Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Beussink/Zambeaux with the stopper cavity and insertion pin tip end as taught by Ashmead for the purpose of assisting in the insertion of the stopper ([0060]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,395 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present invention is a broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,395 B2 and recite similar subject matter such as a system having a syringe barrel, a vent tube for placing a stopper into a syringe, the vent tube having a body with a transition zone, the transition zone having a taper angle between 3 degrees to about 15 degrees and a machine adapter.
Further, the dependent claims also recite similar subject matter as that of the dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,395 B2.
Present Invention
U.S. Patent No. 12,036,395 B2
2
1
3
1
4
1
5
2
6
3
7
1
8
1
9
1
10
1
11
5
12
1
13
1
14
1
Conclusion
/Lauren P Farrar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783