DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-13, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter et al. (US 2023/0382207) in view of Williams (US 2019/0210664), further in view of Al-Saeed (8,794,690).
Salter et al. discloses a pick up truck (10) comprising a cargo space (14) defining a bed, a pair of side walls (18,20), with two ends, extending from the bed, a front wall between the sidewalls (18,20) at one end and a tailgate (22) between the two sidewalls (18,20) at the other end, as shown in Figures 1 and 9. A raisable panel (24,26) is in each side wall (18,20), as shown in Figure 9. Each raisable panel (24,26) moves from a first retracted position inside the side walls (24,26) to a second raised position extending from the side walls, as shown in Figure 9 and disclosed in paragraph [0060]. A cover (28) is located between the panels (24,26), as shown in Figure 9. The cover (28) moves from a position substantially parallel to the bed with the panels (24,26) in a retracted position to an angled position with the panels in a raised position providing improved aerodynamic characteristics, as shown in Figure 9 and disclosed in paragraph [0060].
In reference to claims 2 and 11, the panels (24,26) can be moved manually or automated between raised and retracted positions, as disclosed in paragraph [0045].
In reference to claims 3 and 12, a frame assembly can receive a side panel (24,26) to move the panels (24,26) between the raised and retracted positions, as disclosed in paragraph [0061].
In reference to claims 4 and 13, an actuator is coupled with the frame assembly for moving the frame assembly, as disclosed in paragraph [0017].
In reference to claim 8 and 17, the tailgate (22) functions in the panel (24,26) retracted and raised positions, as shown in Figures 1 and 9. The tailgate prevents objects from falling out of the bed when in the closed position and the panel is in the retracted and raised positions. This meets the broad limitation of functions. If applicant intended to say the tailgate can pivot when the panels are in the retracted and raised positions, then this would either be inherent or obvious. The embodiment shown in Figure 9 does not appear to have a way to access the bed other than through the tailgate.
In reference to claims 9 and 18, the raisable panels (24,26) do not interfere with the bed cargo space, as shown in Figures 1 and 9.
However, Salter et al. does not disclose the front panel.
Williams teaches providing a front panel (104) that moves from a retracted position to a raised position at the front end of the truck bed, as shown in Figures 1-3B, 8A, and 8B.
In reference to claims 6 and 15, the front panel (104) lifts and supports the cover (650), as shown in Figures 8A and 8B.
Al-Saeed teaches providing a telescoping actuator/rail (34a,34b) in a center position in reference to a panel (12a,12b) to obviate any asymmetrical forces during actuation, as shown in Figures 1 and 2 and disclosed on lines 20-45 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a movable front panel connected to the cover of Salter et al., as taught by Williams, with a reasonable expectation for success to prevent rain entering the truck bed when the cover is in the raised position; and,
provide a telescoping center rail to raise the front panel, as taught by Al-Saeed, with a reasonable expectation for success to obviate any asymmetrical forces on the front panel for smooth operation.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of references, as applied to claims 1 and 10, in view of Williams et al. (10,099,730).
Salter et al., as modified, does not disclose the spoiler.
Williams et al. teaches providing a tailgate (120) of a pick-up truck bed with a hinged spoiler (220), as shown in Figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hinged spoiler to the tailgate of the truck bed of Salter et al., as modified, as taught by Williams et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce drag and improve fuel economy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 7/8/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Al-Saeed (8,794,690).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 July 20, 2026