DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amended claims filed on 28 July 2026. Claims 21, 23-26, 28-31, 33-36, 38-40 are pending examination.
Response to Amendments
Claims 21-40 were previously pending the Non-Final Rejection of 05 May 2026.
Claims 21, 23-26, 28-31, 33-36, 38-40 are pending examination.
Claims 22, 27, 32, 37 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 21, 23-26, 28-31, 33-36, 38-40 have been considered. To the extent the arguments concern teachings for which the new rejection relies on Hong rather than Yi, those arguments are moot. A new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Yi in view of Hong is set forth below. Arguments that remain relevant to the teachings relied upon from Yi are addressed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-26, 28-31, 33-36, 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US 20200329523 A1) (hereinafter Yi) in view of Hong et al. (US 20200169898 A1) (hereinafter Hong).
Regarding claims 21 and 31, Yi-Hong teaches a method (Yi, see fig. 21 & 22) / a wireless communication apparatus (Yi, see fig. 3), comprising:
a processor electronic configured to (Yi, fig.3, [0191]-[0215]: [0210] The processor 314 of the wireless device 110 may further be connected to other peripherals 319, which may comprise one or more software and/or hardware modules that provide additional features and/or functionalities.):
receiving, by a wireless device, from a network device of a wireless network, an indication to report a temporary restriction of one or more capabilities of the wireless communication apparatus (Yi, fig. 18A-18C and fig.19-21, [0185]-[0216], [0236]-[0274], [0275]-[0294], [0295]-[0318], [0319]-[0340], [0341]-[0388]: See paragraphs [0349]-[0351], [0349] In an example, a wireless device may inform (e.g., send one or more RRC messages) to a first base station a list of impacted bands after the wireless device may reallocate one or more radio transceivers to a second system. The first base station may request updates on the capability including the list of impacted bands to update the list of capabilities. FIG. 22 illustrates an example. The wireless device may indicate a first UE capability (UE capability #1) at RRC connection setup procedure of supported band of band 1 and band 2, and a supported band combination of band 1 and band 2 to the base station 1. The wireless device may send the related UE capabilities related to the supported band and band combination lists. Based on the configuration, a first base station (the base station 1) may configure a CC1 (in band 1) and a CC2 (in band 2). The wireless device may detect a presence of a base station 2 based on some measurements, and decide to camp-on the base station 2 (e.g., the second system) where the camp-on frequency for the base station 2 is f2 using the second RF (e.g., RF2). With allocating RF2 to the second system, the wireless device may not be able to support band 2 for the base station 1 any longer. The wireless device may inform the impacted band list (e.g., band 2) to the base station 1 after determining a new resource partitioning across multiple systems.);
transmitting, in response to the receiving of the indication, by the wireless device, to the network device of the wireless network, a capability message including restriction information indicative of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless communication apparatus, wherein the restriction information of the capability message indicates a forbidden capabilities set using an explicit indication in which bit fields indicating a first set of capabilities subject to the temporary restriction are included (Yi, fig. 18A-18C and fig.19-21, [0185]-[0216], [0236]-[0274], [0275]-[0294], [0295]-[0318], [0319]-[0340], [0341]-[0388]: [0193] The base station may transmit a MAC CE comprising one or more fields, the values of the fields indicating activation and/or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers. See above for paragraph [0201]. [0204] The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). As part of the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure, NAS dedicated information may be transferred from the network to the wireless device. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may be a command to modify an RRC connection. It may convey information for measurement configuration, mobility control, radio resource configuration (e.g. RBs, MAC main configuration and physical channel configuration) comprising any associated dedicated NAS information and security configuration. If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToReleaseList, the wireless device may perform an SCell release. If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToAddModList, the wireless device may perform SCell additions or modification.); and
wherein the forbidden capabilities set includes at least one of followings: i) one or more forbidden frequency band combinations, or ii) one or more forbidden frequency bands (Yi, fig. 21 [0330]-[0342], [0343]-[0348]: Examiner views temporarily disabled band 2 and band 1 +band 2 as a forbidden frequency band and a forbidden frequency band combination, because the UE reports them as unsupported during the temporary restriction. [0331] In the example, the wireless device may indicate band 2 and band 1+band 2 in the second set of capabilities. The first system may interpret the second capabilities as the temporarily disabled band combinations.).
Thus, the system of Yi does not teach transmitting another indication indicative of a removal of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless device implicitly.
Similar to the system of Yi, Hong teaches that when the UE is no longer overheated, the UE transmits third signaling to the base station (fig. 2, step 205). The third signaling may be UEAssitanceInformation in which the cooling assistance information is empty ([0122]), which can be seen as, transmitting another indication indicative of a removal of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless device implicitly (Hong, fig. 2, [0096]-[0126]: See fig. 2 step 205. Examiner views transmission of UEAssitanceInformation as transmitting another indication implicitly indicating removal of the temporary capability restriction, because the empty assistance information conveys that the previously reported overheating-related restriction no longer applies. [0121] In step 205, if the user equipment state indicated by the user equipment is that the user equipment is no longer overheated, third signaling indicating that the user equipment state is that the user equipment is no longer overheated is sent to the base station. [0122] In an embodiment, the third signaling may be UEAssitanceInformation signaling in which the cooling assistance information is empty…),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi with Hong to use empty assistance information to indicate that a temporary capability restriction has ended, enabling the network to timely restore the UE’s available radio-link configuration and maintain its data rate (Yi, [0326]; Hong, [0122], [0126]).
Regarding claims 26 and 36, Yi- Hong teaches a method (Yi, see fig. 21 & 22) / a wireless communication apparatus (Yi, see fig. 3), comprising:
processor electronics configured to (Yi, fig.3, [0191]-[0215]: [0210] The processor 314 of the wireless device 110 may further be connected to other peripherals 319, which may comprise one or more software and/or hardware modules that provide additional features and/or functionalities.):
receiving, by the network device, from the wireless device, a capability message transmitted in response to the indication and including restriction information indicative of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless device, wherein the restriction information of the capability message indicates a forbidden capabilities set using an explicit indication in which bit fields indicating a first set of capabilities subject to the temporary restriction are included (Yi, fig. 18A-18C and fig.19-21, [0185]-[0216], [0236]-[0274], [0275]-[0294], [0295]-[0318], [0319]-[0340], [0341]-[0388]: Examiner views base station receiving updated UE capability inquiry as receiving the responsive capability message (Yi, fig. 22, [0350]-[0351]). Examiner further interprets the encoded band identifies as bit files identifying the restricted bands, consistent with the NR band-identifier definition and RRC pack encoding rules. [0193] The base station may transmit a MAC CE comprising one or more fields, the values of the fields indicating activation and/or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers. See above for paragraph [0201]. [0204] The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). As part of the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure, NAS dedicated information may be transferred from the network to the wireless device. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may be a command to modify an RRC connection. It may convey information for measurement configuration, mobility control, radio resource configuration (e.g. RBs, MAC main configuration and physical channel configuration) comprising any associated dedicated NAS information and security configuration. If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToReleaseList, the wireless device may perform an SCell release. If the received RRC Connection Reconfiguration message includes the sCellToAddModList, the wireless device may perform SCell additions or modification. [0347] a wireless device may indicate a reduced maxBandwidth for downlink for one or more frequency bands (e.g., from 100 MHz to 0 MHz to indicate no support on that band).); and
wherein the forbidden capabilities set includes at least one of followings: i) one or more forbidden frequency band combinations, or ii) one or more forbidden frequency bands (Yi, fig. 21 [0330]-[0342], [0343]-[0348]: Examiner views temporarily disabled band 2 and band 1 +band 2 as a forbidden frequency band and a forbidden frequency band combination, because the UE reports them as unsupported during the temporary restriction. [0331] In the example, the wireless device may indicate band 2 and band 1+band 2 in the second set of capabilities. The first system may interpret the second capabilities as the temporarily disabled band combinations.).
Thus, the system of Yi does not teach receiving another indication indicative of a removal of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless device implicitly and, transmitting, by a network device of a wireless network, to a wireless device, an indication to report a temporary restriction of one or more capabilities of the wireless device.
Similar to the system of Yi, Hong teaches that the base station detects third signaling from the UE indicating that the UE is no longer overheating (fig. 4, step 406; [0150]). The third signaling may be UEAssitanceInformation with empty cooling assistance information ([0121]-[0122]), which can be seen as, receiving another indication indicative of a removal of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless device implicitly (Hong, fig. 4, [0096]-[0126], [0127]-[0153]: See fig. 4 step 406. Examiner views the base station’s receipt of UEAssitanceInformation with empty cooling assistance information as receiving another indication implicitly indicating removal of temporary capability restriction, because the empty cooling assistance information conveys that the previously reported overheating-related restriction no longer applies.)
Similar to the system of Yi, Hong teaches that when the UE is no longer overheated, the UE transmits third signaling to the base station (fig. 2, step 205). The third signaling may be UEAssitanceInformation in which the cooling assistance information is empty ([0122]), which can be seen as, transmitting, by a network device of a wireless network, to a wireless device, an indication to report a temporary restriction of one or more capabilities of the wireless device (Hong, fig. 2, [0096]-[0126]: See fig. 2 step 205. Examiner views transmission of UEAssitanceInformation as transmitting another indication implicitly indicating removal of the temporary capability restriction, because the empty assistance information conveys that the previously reported overheating-related restriction no longer applies. [0121] In step 205, if the user equipment state indicated by the user equipment is that the user equipment is no longer overheated, third signaling indicating that the user equipment state is that the user equipment is no longer overheated is sent to the base station. [0122] In an embodiment, the third signaling may be UEAssitanceInformation signaling in which the cooling assistance information is empty…),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yi with Hong to use empty assistance information to indicate that a temporary capability restriction has ended, enabling the network to timely restore the UE’s available radio-link configuration and maintain its data rate (Yi, [0326]; Hong, [0122], [0126]).
Regarding claims 23, 28, 33, and 38, Yi teaches a method (Yi, see fig. 21 & 22) / a wireless communication apparatus (Yi, see fig. 3), comprising:
wherein the indication is included in a RRC (radio resource connect) message (Yi, fig. 18A-18C and fig.19-21, [0185]-[0216], [0236]-[0274], [0275]-[0294], [0295]-[0318], [0319]-[0340], [0341]-[0388]: [0351] For example, a wireless device may send information about ‘start time’, ‘duration’ of unavailable time of its resources in one or more bands or one or more band combinations which are impacted from the resource reallocation across multiple systems. In an example, a wireless device may send an indication to request ‘capability update’. The wireless device may indicate ‘update capability’ (e.g., a single bit trigger, a trigger embedded with PHR, a trigger embedded with an RRC message, a MAC CE, etc.) without including detailed information. The base station 1 may send a capability inquiry message in response to the trigger. The wireless device may send a list of impacted bands/frequencies where each band/frequency may indicate at least one of: not support as a PCell or PSCell, not support as an active SCell, not support for a cell configuration, or not support for a measurement. ‘Not support as a PCell or PSCell’ may indicate that the wireless device may not accept handover or SCG configuration on the band or frequency. ‘Not support as an active SCell’ may indicate that the wireless device may not support one or more active SCells in the band or the frequency. ‘Not support for a cell configuration’ may refer that the wireless device may not support one or more cells are configured in the band or the frequency. ‘Not support for a measurement’ may refer that the wireless device may not support an RRM measurement or other measurement(s) in the band or the frequency.).
Regarding claims 24, 29, 34, and 39, Yi teaches a method (Yi, see fig. 21 & 22) / a wireless communication apparatus (Yi, see fig. 3), comprising:
wherein the another indication is transmitted implicitly by omitting any information indicative of the temporary restriction of the one or more capabilities of the wireless communication apparatus in the capability message (Yi, fig. 18A-18C, fig.19-21, fig. 26, [0185]-[0216], [0236]-[0274], [0275]-[0294], [0295]-[0318], [0319]-[0340], [0341]-[0388]: [0193] In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit a MA CE indicating activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating starting and/or stopping one or more Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timers at the wireless device. In an example, the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating one or more timing advance values for one or more Timing Advance Groups (TAGs). [0195] At RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the security input. This cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier (PCC), while in the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC. Depending on wireless device capabilities, Secondary Cells (SCells) may be configured to form together with a PCell a set of serving cells. In a downlink, a carrier corresponding to an SCell may be a downlink secondary component carrier (DL SCC), while in an uplink, a carrier may be an uplink secondary component carrier (UL SCC). An SCell may or may not have an uplink carrier. [0204] The purpose of an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure may be to modify an RRC connection, (e.g. to establish, modify and/or release RBs, to perform handover, to setup, modify, and/or release measurements, to add, modify, and/or release SCells and cell groups). As part of the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure, NAS dedicated information may be transferred from the network to the wireless device. The RRCConnectionReconfiguration message may be a command to modify an RRC connection. It may convey information for measurement configuration, mobility control, radio resource configuration (e.g. RBs, MAC main configuration and physical channel configuration) comprising any associated dedicated NAS information and security configuration. ).
Regarding claim 25, 30, 35, and 40, Yi teaches a method (Yi, see fig. 21 & 22) / a wireless communication apparatus (Yi, see fig. 3), comprising:
wherein the capability message further includes the restriction information on serving cells with or without a request to release or deactivate a Scell (secondary cell), and wherein the capability message further includes MIMO layer information for a serving cell that includes a maximum number of MIMO layers that is supported by the wireless communication apparatus (Yi, fig. 18A-18C and fig.19-21, [0185]-[0216], [0217]-[0274], [0275]-[0294], [0295]-[0318], [0319]-[0340], [0341]-[0388]: [0202] When CA is configured, a wireless device may have an RRC connection with a network. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handover procedure, one serving cell may provide NAS mobility information, and at RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide a security input. This cell may be referred to as the PCell. Depending on the capabilities of the wireless device, SCells may be configured to form together with the PCell a set of serving cells. The configured set of serving cells for the wireless device may comprise one PCell and one or more SCells. [0231] For example, a DM-RS configuration may support one or more DM-RS ports. For example, for single user-MIMO, a DM-RS configuration may support at least 8 orthogonal downlink DM-RS ports. For example, for multiuser-MIMO, a DM-RS configuration may support 12 orthogonal downlink DM-RS ports. A radio network may support, e.g., at least for CP-OFDM, a common DM-RS structure for DL and UL, wherein a DM-RS location, DM-RS pattern, and/or scrambling sequence may be same or different.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babei et al. (US 20200351931 A1) abstract discloses a wireless device may receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising first parameters of a first configured grant configuration of the cell and second parameters of a second configured grant configuration of the cell. The wireless device may trigger a power headroom report. The wireless device may determine one of: a first resource associated with the first configured grant configuration; and a second resource associated with the second configured grant configuration, as a selected uplink resource for transmitting the power headroom report. The wireless device may determine the selected uplink resource based on a first priority of the first configured grant configuration and a second priority of the second configured grant configuration. The first resource and the second resource may overlap in one or more symbols. The wireless device may transmit the power headroom report via the selected uplink resource. (see fig. 10, 12, 15).
/F.L.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /Thomas R Cairns/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468