DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed 06/21/2024. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US Pat. 10,021,970).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a single module refrigeration system (140) located into a room space (100) for controlling a temperature of an air filling the room space, the system comprising: an evaporator unit (195) for allowing the air to flow there through to provide latent heat to a refrigerant circulating within the single module refrigeration system (column 3, lines 28-39); a compressor unit (180) downstream of the evaporator unit for compressing the refrigerant (Fig. 4; column 4, lines 29-32); a condenser unit (190) downstream of the compressor unit (Fig. 4) to remove latent heat from the refrigerant; a pressure reducer unit (189) upstream of the evaporator unit (Fig. 4) for ensuring a gaseous state of the refrigerant entering the evaporator unit; and a housing (135, Fig. 2) for receiving the evaporator unit, the compressor unit, the condenser unit and the pressure reducer unit therein (column 3, lines 28-33); wherein the housing includes inlet (240, Fig. 3) and outlet (250) connectors for allowing a cooling fluid to flow into the condenser unit to receive latent heat from the refrigerant flowing through the condenser unit (column 3, lines 39-49).
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a fan unit (200) located within the housing to flow the air through the evaporator unit (column 3, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 5, Lu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the inlet (240) and outlet (250) connectors are quick-release type connectors (column 4, lines 53-60).
Regarding claim 7, Lu discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the housing (135) is generally closed or is a frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US Pat. 10,021,970) in view of Godecker et al. (US Pat. 9,676,483).
Regarding claim 3, Lu discloses the system of claim 1, and further teaches it is known for an electronic control system is used for controlling the refrigeration system (column 1, lines 53-61) but does not explicitly teach a control unit to control operation of the single module refrigeration system depending on the temperature of the air into the room space.
Godecker teaches the concept of a single module refrigeration system including a control unit (190) to control operation of the single module refrigeration system depending on the temperature of the air into the room space (column 2, lines 8-12) that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize as allowing the temperature to be controlled to a desired temperature for cooling the stored perishables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the refrigeration system of Lu to have a control unit to control operation of the single module refrigeration system depending on the temperature of the air into the room space taught by Godecker in order to allow a user to control the system to provide a desired setpoint temperature within the chilled storage space.
Regarding claim 4, Lu as modified discloses the system of claim 3, and Godecker further teaches the control unit (190) controlling operation of the single module refrigeration system depending on the temperature of the air of the room space just downstream of the evaporator unit (column 2, lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 6, Lu as modified discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the control unit (190) is located within the housing (140, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763