Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
“306” in Figure 3.
“e” in Figure 8.
“E1” in Figure 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant claims the term “second wiring” in claim 1 without claiming a “first wiring” term before. Examiner is unsure how the applicant can claim a “second wiring” without claiming a “first wiring” in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, applicant claims the term “second bellows” in claim 3 when the term “first bellows” is not yet claimed. Examiner is unsure how the applicant can claim a “second bellows” without claiming a “first bellows” in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, applicant claims the term “first wiring” in claim 4 after already claiming the term “second wiring” in claim 1. Examiner is unsure why the applicant claimed the “first wiring” after the claiming the “second wiring”.
Regarding claim 14, applicant claims the term “second wiring” in claim 14 without claiming the term “first wiring”. Examiner is unsure how the applicant can claim a “second wiring” without claiming a “first wiring” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takabe et al. (US20210402772A1) in view of Boyd et al. (US 6398329 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Takabe teaches A liquid ejecting head (Figure 3, shown below, displays the “liquid ejecting head 100” described in paragraph [0018].) and a liquid ejecting apparatus (Figure 1, shown below, displays a “liquid ejecting apparatus 300” described in paragraph [0018].) comprising:
a nozzle substrate that is provided with a nozzle for ejecting a liquid (Figure 3, shown below, displays a “nozzle substrate 20” that has “nozzles 21” where the liquid is ejected as described in paragraph [0028].);
a pressure chamber substrate (Figure 3, shown below, displays a “first substrate 10” described in paragraph [0029].) that includes a pressure chamber in which pressure for ejecting the liquid from the nozzle is applied to the liquid (Figure 3, shown below, displays a “pressure chamber 12” described in paragraph [0029].), and
an absorption chamber that is adjacent to the pressure chamber in a second direction and absorbs vibration of the liquid generated when the pressure is applied to the liquid in the pressure chamber (Figure 3, shown below, displays an “absorbing chamber 13” that is adjacent to the “pressure chamber 12” described in paragraph [0032].);
a first vibration plate that is provided corresponding to the pressure chamber and vibrates to apply the pressure to the liquid (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “vibration plate 155” that is provided corresponding to the “pressure chamber 12” described in paragraph [0037]);
a second vibration plate that is provided corresponding to the absorption chamber and vibrates to absorb the pressure of the liquid (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “vibration plate member 205” that is provided for the “absorption chamber 13” described in paragraph [0043].);
a second wiring portion that is provided at a position corresponding to the absorption chamber (Paragraph [0068] describes how a modified embodiment of the “liquid ejection head 100b” where the “absorption member 200b” above the “absorbing chamber 13” can also include the “wiring portion 180”.);
Takabe fails to teach a pressure acquisition portion that acquires the pressure of the absorption chamber based on a resistance value of the second wiring portion.
However, Boyd teaches a pressure acquisition portion that acquires the pressure of the absorption chamber based on a resistance value of the second wiring portion (Figure 2 displays a “strain gauge pressure sensor 22” that includes “four strain-sensing elements 24, 26, 28, and 30” that change their resistance in response to the pressure of the “membrane 23” allowing the sensor to gauge the pressure of the chamber as described in column 4, lines 26-52.)
Takabe and Boyd are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an apparatus with an inkjet printhead. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid ejecting head taught by Takabe to also apply a pressure acquisition portion that acquires the pressure of the absorption chamber based on a resistance value of the second wiring portion taught by Boyd. This would have been done for the purpose of detecting the pressure of the chamber.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Takabe and Boyd teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, Takabe further discloses wherein the pressure chamber substrate is provided with at least a plurality of the pressure chambers arranged in a first direction intersecting the second direction (Figure 4, shown below, displays a plurality of “pressure chamber 12” that are arranged in the X-direction while intersecting the Y-direction described in paragraph [0031]), and one absorption chamber commonly coupled to the plurality of the pressure chambers (Figure 4, shown below, display how the “absorption chamber 13” is commonly coupled to a plurality of “pressure chamber 12” described in paragraph [0031].).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Takabe and Mori teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 1, Takabe further discloses wherein the first vibration plate and the second vibration plate are not separated from each other and are formed by a continuous member (Figure 5, shown below, displays how the “vibration plate 155” and the “vibration plate 205” are the same and a continuous member described in paragraph [00].).
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Takabe et al. (US20210402772A1) in view of Boyd et al. (US 6398329 B1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mori et al. (US 20230249462 A1).
Claims 3-4, 6, 8, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Takabe and Boyd in view of Mori et al. (US 20230249462 A1).
The applied reference of Mori has a common assignee and joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Takabe and Boyd teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 2.
Modified Takabe fails to teach wherein the second wiring portion is configured to have a second bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction.
However, Mori teaches wherein the second wiring portion is configured to have a second bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction (Figure 4, as shown below, displays the “detection resistor TK” as a resistance wiring that is folded and extends in a second direction described in paragraph [0063].).
Modified Takabe and Mori are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving liquid ejection head. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid ejection head taught by modified Takabe to also apply the second wiring portion is configured to have a second bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction taught by Mori. This would have been done for the purpose of increasing the accuracy of the wire by increasing the length and reducing the thickness of the wire (Mori, paragraph [0129]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Takabe and Boyd teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 2, Takabe further discloses further comprising: a first wiring portion that is provided at a position that does not correspond to the absorption chamber (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “wire portion 180” that is only above the “pressure chamber 12” described in paragraph [0039]); and
Modified Takabe fails to teach a temperature acquisition portion that acquires a temperature of the absorption chamber based on a resistance value of the first wiring portion.
However, Mori teaches a temperature acquisition portion (Figure 1, as shown below circled in red, displays the “temperature specifying section 71” described in paragraph [0069].) that acquires a temperature of the absorption chamber based on a resistance value of the first wiring portion (Paragraph [0069] describes how the “temperature specifying section 71” uses the resistance changes of the “detection resistor TK” to determine the temperature of the “pressure chamber CV1”.).
Modified Takabe and Mori are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a liquid ejecting head. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid ejecting head taught by modified Takabe to also apply a temperature acquisition portion that acquires a temperature of the absorption chamber based on a resistance value of the first wiring portion taught by Mori. This would have been done for the purpose of measuring the temperature of the pressure chamber (Mori, paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Takabe, Boyd, and Mori teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 4, Takabe further discloses wherein when viewed in an up-down direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction, the second wiring portion is provided at a position overlapping the absorption chamber (Paragraph [0068] describes how a modified embodiment of the “liquid ejection head 100b” where the “absorption member 200b” above the “absorbing chamber 13” can also include the “wiring portion 180”, this embodiment is displayed in Figure 6.) and the first wiring portion is provided at a position that does not overlap the pressure chamber and the absorption chamber (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “wire portion 180” that is only above the “pressure chamber 12” described in paragraph [0050].).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Takabe, Boyd, and Mori teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 4, Takabe further discloses wherein the first wiring portion is configured to have a first bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the first direction (Figure 5 displays the “wiring portion 180” to be folded and have a zig-zag bellows shape extending in the first direction as shown below.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Takabe, Boyd, and Mori teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 4, Takabe further discloses wherein the first wiring portion and the second wiring portion are formed of the same material (Paragraph [0069] describes how the “wiring portion 180”, that can be included above both the “pressure chamber 12” and “absorbing chamber 13” according to paragraph [0068], contains at least gold.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Takabe, Boyd, and Mori teaches the liquid ejecting head according to claim 4, Takabe further discloses further comprising: a first piezoelectric member that is provided at a position corresponding to the pressure chamber and provided above the first vibration plate (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “piezoelectric substance 175” that is provided above the “vibration plate 155” described in paragraph [0039].); a first electrode that is provided above the first piezoelectric member (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “first electrode 165” that is provided above the “piezoelectric substance 175” described in paragraph [0039].); and a second electrode that is provided below the first piezoelectric member (Figure 5, shown below, displays the “second electrode 170” that is provided below the “piezoelectric substance 175” described in paragraph [0039].)
Modified Takabe fails to teach wherein the first wiring portion and the second wiring portion are formed of the same material as the second electrode.
However, Mori teaches wherein the first wiring portion and the second wiring portion are formed of the same material as the second electrode (Paragraph [0089] describes how the “detection resistor TK” is formed of the same material as the “individual electrode Qc” and the “common electrode Qb”.)
Modified Takabe and Mori are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a liquid ejecting head. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liquid ejecting head taught by modified Takabe to also apply the first wiring portion and the second wiring portion being formed of the same material as the second electrode taught by Mori. This would have been done for the purpose of improving the detection accuracy (Mori, paragraph [0005]).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Figures from reference: Takabe et al. (US 20210402772 A1)
Figures from reference: Mori et al. (US 20230249462 A1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 5 is the inclusion of the pressure acquisition portion acquires the pressure of the absorption chamber based on the resistance value of the second wiring portion and the temperature acquired by the temperature acquisition portion.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 7 is the inclusion of wherein when viewed in the up-down direction, the first wiring portion is provided at a position between the pressure chamber and the absorption chamber in the second direction.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 9 is the inclusion of wherein the second wiring portion is configured to have a second bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction, and the first wiring portion is configured to have a third bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction, the third bellows shape in which a length of a portion extending along the second direction is shorter than that of the second bellows shape.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 10 is the inclusion of wherein the second wiring portion is configured to have a second bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction, and the first wiring portion is configured to have a fourth bellows shape that is folded sequentially while extending along the second direction, the fourth bellows shape in which a length of a portion extending along the second direction is equal to that of the second bellows shape.
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853