DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed 17 October 2024.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: For example, in claim 1, line 6 ends without punctuation, and line 7 ends with a comma instead of a semicolon or colon. Similar issues are present in claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, and 7 (line numbers correspond to claim 1),
In line 5, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the term “hardware level”. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as a hardware level of the communication device.
In line 9, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the term “device OS”. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as the third party operating system.
Regarding claims 2, and 8 (line numbers correspond to claim 2),
In line 1, it is not particularly pointed out and distinctly claimed whether “a ‘normal world’” refers to the normal world set forth in claim 1, or whether it refers to a second normal world. It is unclear whether putting the term “normal world” has any significance. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as the normal world of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2-6, and 8-12, they are dependent upon rejected claims, and fail to resolve the deficiencies thereof. They are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. Specifically, the limitation “one or more of a group comprising the device OS, the privileged code, and the mobile application”. MPEP 2173.05(h) states “A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. See In re Kiely, 2022 USPQ2d 532 at 2* (Fed. Cir. 2022).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (mental process) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, in step 1 of the 101 analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the claim recites a system that monitors a third-party operating system and trusted application. A system is one of the four statutory categories of invention.
In step 2A, prong 1 of the 101 analysis set forth in the MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following limitations recite a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process but for recitation of generic computer components:
i. “monitors the device OS” (a person can mentally monitor an operating system by simply observing aspects of the operating system (MPEP 2106.04(a))).
ii. “a trusted OS application that is also monitored” (a person can mentally monitor an operating system application by simply observing aspects of the operating system application (MPEP 2106.04(a)))
If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mental process but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mental process grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim “recites” an abstract idea.
In step 2A, prong 2 of the 101 analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that the following additional elements do not integrate this judicial exception into a practical application:
iii. “A system for remote management of a communication device, the method comprising: a processor of a third party infrastructure” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
iv. “wirelessly transmits a third party operating system (OS) to the communication device” (insignificant extra-solution activity of mere data output (MPEP 2106.05(g))).
v. “the third party operating system is installed at the hardware level, and is not pre-installed or pre-loaded on the communication device” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
vi. “the third-party OS comprising, a sub-OS application including a watchdog application that operates above a level of device firmware” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
vii. “monitored by the watchdog application” (adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
viii. “the trusted OS application operates in a secure execution environment ("secure world") and the device OS operates in a normal world” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
Since the claim does not contain any other additional elements that are indicative of integration into a practical application, the claim is “directed” to an abstract idea.
In step 2B of the 101 analysis set forth in the 2019 PEG, the examiner has determined through reanalysis of the following limitations considered in step 2A prong 2, that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
iii. “A system for remote management of a communication device, the method comprising: a processor of a third party infrastructure” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
iv. “wirelessly transmits a third party operating system (OS) to the communication device” (well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of transmitting information over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II))).
v. “the third party operating system is installed at the hardware level, and is not pre-installed or pre-loaded on the communication device” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
vi. “the third-party OS comprising, a sub-OS application including a watchdog application that operates above a level of device firmware” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
vii. “monitored by the watchdog application” (adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
viii. “the trusted OS application operates in a secure execution environment ("secure world") and the device OS operates in a normal world” (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h))).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination, and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the additional element “a "normal world" that comprises: a mobile application; a privileged code; the device OS; firmware; and a boot loader” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 3, the additional element “a " secure world comprises: secure applications; trusted applications and trusted OS; and a secure execution environment” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 4, the additional element “the watchdog application is available between the device OS and the trusted OS to disable peripherals” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 5, the additional element “peripherals comprise modem and Bluetooth” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claim 6, the additional element “the device is taken over when one or more of a group comprising the device OS, the privileged code, and the mobile application are compromised” does not render the claim patent eligible because under step 2A prong 2, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and under step 2B it does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding claims 7-12, they comprise limitations similar to claims 1-6, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELD, DAVID. “How to Install CyanogenMod Without Google Play.” Accessible at https://www.cnet.com/tech/computing/how-to-install-cyanogenmod-without-google-play/. Available on 4 December 2013 (hereafter NIELD), in view of YING et al. Pub. No.: US 2019/0215696 A1 (hereafter YING), in view of ELLIS Pub. No.: US 2018/0107826 A1 (hereafter ELLIS).
Regarding claim 1, NIELD teaches the invention substantially as claimed, including:
A system for remote management of a communication device, the method comprising:
a processor of a third party infrastructure that wirelessly transmits a third party operating system (OS) to the communication device ([Page 1] A vibrant customisation community has grown up alongside Android, with CyanogenMod at the forefront — this alternative, open source variant of Google’s mobile operating system comes with a stack of extra features and gives you more control over what you can do with your device. [Page 2] Download the Android app by visiting http://get.cm/app on your phone or tablet, or by scanning the QR code on the install page on the CyanogenMod website (i.e., server hosting CyanogenMod wirelessly transmits the third-party CyanogenMod operating system to the mobile communication device))
wherein the third party operating system is installed at the hardware level, and is not pre-installed or pre-loaded on the communication device ([Page 3] Once CyanogenMod has installed itself and rebooted, you can then safely unplug the device from the computer and enjoy your new operating system. You’ll notice CyanogenMod looks like Android Jelly Bean (work is already underway on a KitKat version), but there are plenty of changes under the hood — more audio formats, native theming capabilities, CPU overlocking tools and support for USB, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth tethering. Dive into the CyanogenMod wiki to read more about the operating system.)
While NIELD discusses downloading and installation of a third-party mobile operating system, NIELD does not explicitly teach:
the third-party OS comprising,
a sub-OS application including a watchdog application that operates above a level of device firmware and monitors the device OS and
a trusted OS application…wherein the trusted OS application operates in a secure execution environment ("secure world") and the device OS operates in a normal world
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses installation of a third-party mobile operating system, YING teaches:
the third-party OS comprising,
a sub-OS application including a watchdog application that operates above a level of device firmware and monitors the device OS ([0007] The application processor of the mobile terminal is responsible for running the operating system and various application programs…During ROM flashing, the original operating system is usually replaced with a third-party operating system (i.e., third-party operating system is transmitted, or downloaded and installed from a third party server via a wireless network protocol). [0007] An antitheft module may run on the baseband processor, and the integrity of the operating system running on the application processor is monitored by using the baseband processor); and
a trusted OS application…wherein the trusted OS application operates in a secure execution environment ("secure world") and the device OS operates in a normal world ([0063] The Android OS is a multifunctional operating system. Usually, the Android OS further includes a trusted execution environment (Trusted Execution Environment, TEE), responsible for providing a security service. The TEE has its own execution space and provides a higher security level. The TEE may use a trusted platform module (Trusted Platform Module. TPM) or an ARM TrustZone security technology. The TEE provides a secure execution environment for authorized security software (trusted application, TA) (i.e., trusted application executes within a trusted, or “secure” execution environment, provided by the android device OS, and thus the android device OS operates outside the TEE which represents operating in a non-trusted, or “normal” environment or world)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined YING’s teaching of installing a third-party operating system comprising a sub-OS application monitoring the device operating system and a trusted OS application in a secure execution environment supplied by the operating system, with NIELD’s teaching of downloading and installing a third-party operating system, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that downloads and installs a third-party operating system, as in NIELD, having a sub-OS application monitoring the device operating system and a trusted OS application in a secure execution environment supplied by the operating system, as in YING. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to provide an antitheft method for a mobile terminal that improves security (YING [0005]).
While NIELD and YING teaches executing applications within a trusted execution environment, they do not explicitly disclose:
a trusted OS application that is also monitored by the watchdog application;
However, in analogous art that similarly discloses execution of an application within a trusted execution environment, ELLIS teaches:
a trusted OS application that is also monitored by the watchdog application ([0002] An example method for a trusted application operating in a trusted execution environment of a computing device according to the disclosure includes monitoring performance of the trusted application operating in the trusted execution environment of the computing device. [0027] The secure processing environment 200 can also include a monitoring unit 230 (i.e., “watchdog application”) that is configured to perform the various techniques disclosed herein for monitoring the execution of trusted applications, such as the trusted application 225);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined ELLIS’s teaching of monitoring a trusted application executing within a trusted execution environment, with NIELD and YING’s teaching of executing a trusted application within a trusted execution environment while monitoring a third party operating system, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that executes an application within a trusted execution environment, and which monitors a third party operating system, as in NIELD and YING, as well as the trusted application, as in ELLIS. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to better detect and mitigate attacks on trusted applications (ELLIS [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, it comprises limitations similar to those of claim 1, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 2-3, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELD, in view of YING, in view of ELLIS, as applied to claims 1, and 7 above, and in further view of WANG et al. Pub. No.: US 2009/0228882 A1 (hereafter WANG).
Regarding claim 2, YING further teaches:
a mobile application ([0059] The framework layer 320 may include a mobile application runtime environment that executes an application developed for a mobile OS 130)…
the device OS ([0057] FIG. 3 shows an architecture 300 of an Android OS that can be used for running on an application processor 20 (FIG. 2) of the mobile terminal 10);
firmware ([0115] Functions described in the present invention may be implemented by hardware, software, firmware, or any combination thereof)…
While NIELD, YING and ELLIS discuss execution of an operating system that provides a normal world comprising a mobile application, device OS, and firmware, they do not explicitly teach:
a "normal world" that comprises:
a privileged code;
a boot loader.
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses execution of a native operating system, WANG teaches:
a "normal world" that comprises: a privileged code; a boot loader ([0026] The native service virtual machine 102 may facilitate execution of a native guest operating system (e.g., native guest OS 11.sub.1) supporting the guest system architecture native to the host system architecture, and manage the virtualization of system resources for the native guest operating system at runtime. The native service virtual machine 102 may intercept an operating system boot loader, an interrupt handler, input/output, privileged instructions and procedures dynamically through modifying runtime codes or back-patching).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have simply substituted WANG’s teaching of an operating system providing various components including an operating system boot loader and privileged instructions, with the combination of NIELD, YING and ELLIS’s teaching of a mobile operating system comprising various components, because 1) NIELD, YING and ELLIS contain an operating system that provides, as part of a normal environment, various components, but differs from the claimed operating system in that it does not explicitly include an OS boot loader and privileged instructions, 2) an operating system that includes, among other various components, an OS boot loader and privileged instructions was known in WANG, and 3) a person having ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the OS components of WANG into the OS components of NIELD YING and ELLIS to achieve the predictable result of an OS that provides, as part of a normal environment, various components including an OS boot loader and privileged instructions.
Regarding claim 3, YING further teaches:
secure world comprises: secure applications; trusted applications and trusted OS; and a secure execution environment ([0063] The Android OS is a multifunctional operating system. Usually, the Android OS further includes a trusted (i.e., “secure”) execution environment (Trusted Execution Environment, TEE), responsible for providing a security service. The TEE has its own execution space and provides a higher security level. The TEE may use a trusted platform module (Trusted Platform Module. TPM) or an ARM TrustZone security technology. The TEE provides a secure execution environment for authorized security software (trusted application, TA), and also protects resource and data secrecy, integrity, and access permission of the TA (i.e., applications with protected data secrecy or integrity represent “secure” applications). As shown in FIG. 3, the TEE of the mobile terminal 10 includes a TEE kernel 370 (i.e., TEE kernel represents a “trusted OS”)).
Regarding claims 8-9, they comprise limitations similar to claims 2-3, and are therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Claims 4-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIELD, in view of YING, in view of ELLIS, in view of WANG, as applied to claims 3, and 9 above, and in further view of FRIES et al. Pub. No.: US 2002/0099949 A1 (hereafter FRIES).
Regarding claim 4, YING further teaches:
the watchdog application is available between the device OS and the trusted OS ([0007] An antitheft module may run on the baseband processor, and the integrity of the operating system running on the application processor is monitored by using the baseband processor)...
While NIELD, YING, ELLIS, and WANG discuss a watchdog application, they do not explicitly teach:
the watchdog application is…to disable peripherals
However, in analogous art that similarly discusses execution of a watchdog application, FRIES teaches:
the watchdog application is…to disable peripherals ([0015] Unauthorized changing of the operating system within the memory device often results in the signal sequence on the bus changing from what might be expected if the operating system was not manipulated so as to allow unauthorized access…the conditional access device might disable a network interface device such as a network interface device for a DOCSYS cable modem or a DSL connection device. The conditional access device may also disable a phone line ADSL modem, an analog modem and so forth).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined FRIES teaching of disabling a modem peripheral when monitoring an operating system detects an unauthorized change, with the combination of NIELD, YING, ELLIS, and WANG’s teaching of monitoring an operating system, to realize, with a reasonable expectation of success, a system that monitors an operating system, as in NIELD, YING, ELLIS, and WANG, and upon detection of an unauthorized change, disabling a peripheral modem, as in FRIES. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this combination to reduce or mitigate the effect of compromised operating systems (FRIES [0011]).
Regarding claim 5, FRIES further teaches:
peripherals comprise modem ([0015] Unauthorized changing of the operating system within the memory device often results in the signal sequence on the bus changing from what might be expected if the operating system was not manipulated so as to allow unauthorized access…the conditional access device might disable a network interface device such as a network interface device for a DOCSYS cable modem or a DSL connection device. The conditional access device may also disable a phone line ADSL modem, an analog modem and so forth)…
YING further teaches:
peripherals comprise… Bluetooth ([0049] The mobile terminal 10 may further include a GPS air interface 42 and a Bluetooth air interface 44).
Regarding claim 6, WANG further teaches:
the device is taken over when one or more of a group comprising the device OS, the privileged code, and the mobile application are compromised ([0015] Unauthorized changing of the operating system within the memory device often results in the signal sequence on the bus changing from what might be expected if the operating system was not manipulated so as to allow unauthorized access…the conditional access device might disable a network interface device such as a network interface device for a DOCSYS cable modem or a DSL connection device. The conditional access device may also disable a phone line ADSL modem, an analog modem and so forth).
Regarding claims 10-12, they comprise limitations similar to those of claims 4-6, and is therefore rejected for similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BRIONGOS Pub. No.: US 2022/0284098 A1 discloses monitoring of operations of an application running in a trusted execution environment.
/MICHAEL W AYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195