Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barone et al. (US 9300004), hereinafter Barone, in view of Kim et al. (US 20160218345), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Barone teaches:
An electrochemical device, comprising (Abstract):
an electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly comprises (Abstract):
a first electrode plate (Abstract, negative electrode sheet);
a second electrode plate (Abstract, positive electrode sheet);
a separator (Abstract, separator);
the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Abstract, separator);
the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound (Abstract, separator, wound);
a plurality of first tabs are disposed on the first electrode plate, and the plurality of first tabs are connected to a region of the first electrode plate other than first inner layers and first outer layers (Abstract, positive/negative electrode tabs);
the first inner layers comprise N layers starting from a start layer of the first electrode plate along a direction from the start layer to an end layer of the first electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6);
the first outer layers comprise M layers starting from the end layer of the first electrode plate along a direction from the end layer to the start layer of the first electrode plate, wherein, M ≥ 1 and N ≥ 3 (Fig. 2A, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the tab placement in view of the winding geometry depicted in Barone, including leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs, in order to accommodate the geometry of the wound assembly and provide the desired tab configuration. Barone explains the integral tabs reduce impedance, improve thermal transfer, and improve overall cell performance. Accordingly, Fig. 2a and 6 teach leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs.
Regarding claim 2, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Barone further teaches:
The first electrode plate comprises (Abstract, negative electrode sheet):
a first current collector ([0016], foil);
the plurality of first tabs are formed by extending the first current collector from one side (Abstract, a plurality of negative electrode tabs which are integral to and extend from the negative electrode sheet);
the plurality of first tabs and the first current collector are formed in one piece (Abstract, a plurality of negative electrode tabs which are integral to and extend from the negative electrode sheet).
Kim additionally teaches a wound electrode (Abstract), with a current collector (Abstract, first electrode).
Barone and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound-type batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate Kim’s current-collector teaching into Barone’s electrode assembly. Doing so would have been a predictable use of a known current collector perform its established function of conducting current from the electrode to the external electrical connection.
Regarding claim 3, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Barone further teaches:
A plurality of second tabs are disposed on the second electrode plate (Abstract, [0017]);
the plurality of second tabs are connected to a region of the second electrode plate other than second inner layers and second outer layers (Abstract, [0017]);
the second inner layers comprise K layers starting from a start layer of the second electrode plate along a direction from the start layer to an end layer of the second electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6),
the second outer layers comprise L layers starting from the end layer of the second electrode plate along a direction from the end layer to the start layer of the second electrode plate, wherein L ≥ 1 and K ≥ 3 (Fig. 2A, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the tab placement in view of the winding geometry depicted in Barone, including leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs, in order to accommodate the geometry of the wound assembly and provide the desired tab configuration. Barone explains the integral tabs reduce impedance, improve thermal transfer, and improve overall cell performance. Accordingly, Fig. 2a and 6 teach leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to implement the first electrode plate using Barone’s integral-tab construction because eliminating separate welded tab connections reduces electrical resistance at the connection, improves thermal transfer, and simplifies battery manufacturing.
Regarding claim 4, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above.
Barone teaches the second electrode plate comprises a second current collector, the plurality of second tabs are formed by extending the second current collector from one side, and the plurality of second tabs and the second current collector are formed in one piece (Abstract, [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to implement the second electrode plate using Barone’s integral-tab construction because eliminating separate welded tab connections reduces electrical resistance at the connection, improves thermal transfer, and simplifies battery manufacturing.
Regarding claim 5, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Barone further teaches the first inner layers satisfy the following condition: 3 ≤ N ≤ 0.6A, N is an integer, and A is a total number of layers of the first electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6). Barone teaches forming integral tabs from the exposed current-collector foil and arranging those tabs in a wound assembly to improve manufacturing and electrical performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the number of inner layers excluded from tab placement in view of the total number of windings, including selecting N within the claimed range, to accommodate the geometry to the wound electrode assembly while retaining sufficient space for the tab arrangement. Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 6, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Barone further teaches the first outer layers satisfy the following condition: 1 ≤ M ≤ 0.6A, M is an integer, and A is a total number of layers of the first electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6). Barone teaches forming integral tabs from the exposed current-collector foil and arranging those tabs in a wound assembly to improve manufacturing and electrical performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the number of outer layers excluded from tab placement in view of the total number of windings, including selecting M within the claimed range, to accommodate the geometry to the wound electrode assembly while retaining sufficient space for the tab arrangement. Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 7, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Barone further teaches at least one first tab is connected to each layer among the layers of the first electrode plate other than the first inner layers and the first outer layers (Fig. 2A, 6). Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 7, as stated above. Barone further teaches a number of first tabs connected to each layer among the layers of the first electrode plate other than the first inner layers and the first outer layers is not greater than 5. (Fig. 2A, 6). Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 9, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Barone further teaches a total number of layers A of the first electrode plate is 5 to 80 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Regarding claim 10, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Barone further teaches a total number of layers A of the first electrode plate is 5 to 80 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 5, as stated above. Barone further teaches a total number of layers A of the first electrode plate is 5 to 80 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Regarding claim 12, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Barone further teaches a total number of layers A of the first electrode plate is 5 to 80 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Regarding claim 13, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Barone further teaches the second inner layers satisfy the following condition: 3 ≤ K ≤ 0.6B, K is an integer, and B is a total number of layers of the second electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6). Barone teaches forming integral tabs from the exposed current-collector foil and arranging those tabs in a wound assembly to improve manufacturing and electrical performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the number of inner layers excluded from tab placement in view of the total number of windings, including selecting N within the claimed range, to accommodate the geometry to the wound electrode assembly while retaining sufficient space for the tab arrangement. Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Barone further teaches the first outer layers satisfy the following condition: 1 ≤ L ≤ 0.6A, M is an integer, and A is a total number of layers of the first electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6). Barone teaches forming integral tabs from the exposed current-collector foil and arranging those tabs in a wound assembly to improve manufacturing and electrical performance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the number of outer layers excluded from tab placement in view of the total number of windings, including selecting M within the claimed range, to accommodate the geometry to the wound electrode assembly while retaining sufficient space for the tab arrangement. Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Barone further teaches at least one second tab is connected to each layer among the layers of the second electrode plate other than the second inner layers and the second outer layers (Fig. 2A, 6). Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 16, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 15, as stated above. Barone further teaches a number of first tabs connected to each layer among the layers of the first electrode plate other than the first inner layers and the first outer layers is not greater than 5. (Fig. 2A, 6). Selecting a suitable number of layer relative to the total number of windings would have been a predictable design choice based on the size and configuration of the wound assembly.
Regarding claim 17, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 13, as stated above. Barone further teaches a total number of layers A of the first electrode plate is 5 to 80 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Regarding claim 18, Barone teaches the limitations of claim 14, as stated above. Barone further teaches a total number of layers A of the first electrode plate is 5 to 80 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barone, in view of Kim, and in further view of Ding et al. (CN 113097572), hereinafter Ding.
Regarding claim 19, Ding teaches a battery module, that comprises an electrochemical device/electrode assembly (Abstract).
Barone teaches:
An electrochemical device, comprising (Abstract):
an electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly comprises (Abstract):
a first electrode plate (Abstract, negative electrode sheet);
a second electrode plate (Abstract, positive electrode sheet);
a separator (Abstract, separator);
the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Abstract, separator);
the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound (Abstract, separator, wound);
a plurality of first tabs are disposed on the first electrode plate, and the plurality of first tabs are connected to a region of the first electrode plate other than first inner layers and first outer layers (Abstract, positive/negative electrode tabs);
the first inner layers comprise N layers starting from a start layer of the first electrode plate along a direction from the start layer to an end layer of the first electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6);
the first outer layers comprise M layers starting from the end layer of the first electrode plate along a direction from the end layer to the start layer of the first electrode plate, wherein, M ≥ 1 and N ≥ 3 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Barone and Ding are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound-type batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate Barone’s electrochemical device and wound electrode assembly into Ding’s battery module. It would have been a predictable substitute for the electrode assembly used in Ding’s battery module and would have led to predictable results.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the tab placement in view of the winding geometry depicted in Barone, including leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs, in order to accommodate the geometry of the wound assembly and provide the desired tab configuration. Barone explains the integral tabs reduce impedance, improve thermal transfer, and improve overall cell performance. Accordingly, Fig. 2a and 6 teach leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs.
Regarding claim 20, Ding teaches an electrical device, that comprises a battery module, that comprises an electrochemical device/electrode assembly (Abstract).
Barone teaches:
An electrochemical device, comprising (Abstract):
an electrode assembly, wherein the electrode assembly comprises (Abstract):
a first electrode plate (Abstract, negative electrode sheet);
a second electrode plate (Abstract, positive electrode sheet);
a separator (Abstract, separator);
the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (Abstract, separator);
the first electrode plate, the separator, and the second electrode plate are stacked and wound (Abstract, separator, wound);
a plurality of first tabs are disposed on the first electrode plate, and the plurality of first tabs are connected to a region of the first electrode plate other than first inner layers and first outer layers (Abstract, positive/negative electrode tabs);
the first inner layers comprise N layers starting from a start layer of the first electrode plate along a direction from the start layer to an end layer of the first electrode plate (Fig. 2A, 6);
the first outer layers comprise M layers starting from the end layer of the first electrode plate along a direction from the end layer to the start layer of the first electrode plate, wherein, M ≥ 1 and N ≥ 3 (Fig. 2A, 6).
Barone and Ding are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound-type batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate Barone’s electrochemical device and wound electrode assembly into Ding’s electrical device. It would have been a predictable substitute for the electrode assembly used in Ding’s electrical device and would have led to predictable results.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the tab placement in view of the winding geometry depicted in Barone, including leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs, in order to accommodate the geometry of the wound assembly and provide the desired tab configuration. Barone explains the integral tabs reduce impedance, improve thermal transfer, and improve overall cell performance. Accordingly, Fig. 2a and 6 teach leaving at least three inner layers and at least one outer layer without tabs.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776