DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A Request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114 (RCE), including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed June 22, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed with the RCE noted above. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 7, 9, 12, 16, 18 and 20 have been amended, and claims 4 and 19 have been cancelled. Wirth claims 2, 10 and 17 being previously cancelled, claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-16, 18 and 20 are presently pending.
The amendment to the claims noted above are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(a) and (b) rejections from the Office action of March 19, 2026. Those rejections are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“wireless communication module …to be wireless paired with the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus” - in claim 1;
“first data communication module to transmit a pairing signal for pairing” - in claim 3;
“second data communication module to transmit ultrasound raw data ” - in claim 3;
“wireless communication module …to be wireless paired with the wireless ultrasound probe” - in claim 9;
“first data communication module to transmit a pairing signal for pairing” - in claim 11; and
“second data communication module to receive ultrasound raw data ” - in claim 11;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over previously cited UNO US 20180049722 A1 in view of UNO et al. US 20180021025 A1 and in view of previously cited Ragunathan US 20170209127 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 20, UNO discloses a wireless ultrasound probe configurable to be wirelessly connected to an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, associated method and non-transitory computer readable medium (see [abstract], Fig. 1, [0013] “The first device may be a device body and the second device may be a probe. Alternatively, the above-described technique may be applied to individual devices in a system having a first device, a second device, and a third device, in a state where the three devices are docked” [0015] for method and non-transitory medium comprising a program “The method may be realized by a control program for the first device and a control program for the second device. The programs are supplied to the devices via a recording medium, or via a network. Alternatively, the programs are pre-installed in a storage device in each device” comprising:
a battery ([0027] “wireless probe” - a battery is an inherent feature of a wireless probe to provide power); a wireless communication module ([0027] inherent feature to provide wireless communication, note discussion in [0013] when the probe is the second device as noted above or one of the three devices, the probe would have an analogous wireless communicator discussed in [0009]); and a controller configured to control the wireless communication module to transmit a wireless pairing signal to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus be wirelessly paired with the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus ([0015] “establishing exclusive wireless communication using the key information between the first device and the second device every time the first device and the second device are set in a separated state. The method may be realized by a control program for the first device and a control program for the second device. The programs are supplied to the devices via a recording medium, or via a network. Alternatively, the programs are pre-installed in a storage device in each device”, a controller is an inherent feature of this configuration when the probe is the second device as noted above or one of the three devices [0013] and perform wireless pairing with the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus based on the wireless pairing signal ([0055] “ For the pairing, a device ID, an IP address, a network ID (SSID), and other information may be exchanged. All or a part of these data may be exchanged every time the wireless communication is established”[Fig. 9 and [0059]), owing to the wired communication when docked ([0010] and Fig. 6, wired communication when docked with wireless communication suspended and wireless communication when separated with wired communication being suspended), the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus are not wirelessly communicated prior to the pairing noted in [0055].
UNO requires an unfreeze input (a user confirmation) to initiate wireless pairing and therefore does not explicitly disclose automatically control the wireless communication module to transmit a wireless pairing signal to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus be wirelessly paired with the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus without user confirmation.
UNO et al., disclose an analogous system that can be configured to require an unfreeze input (see Fig. 10 @S28 - [0091]) to resume wireless communication (see Fig. 10 @S30 - [0091]) similar to the configuration disclosed by UNO as discussed above, or alternatively, the system may be configured to automatically control of a wireless communication module to transmit a wireless pairing signal to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus be wirelessly paired with the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus without user confirmation wherein establishment of wireless communication is automatic and does not require user confirmation, see e.g., Fig. 12 and associated discussion in [0092] “… Disconnection is determined based on physical and electrical separation between the connector of the FE device and the connector of the BE device” and continuing to discussion in [0094] “… In FIG. 12, the process steps similar to those illustrated in FIG. 11 are designated by the corresponding reference numerals and will not be described. In this example operation, after both devices are placed in the freeze state, in step S52, wireless communication is automatically established”).
In view of these teachings, inasmuch as UNO et al. disclose that an ultrasonic system may be configured to require an unfreeze input to establish wireless connection (Fig. 10 -[0091]) and alternatively automatically establishment of a wireless communication that does not require a user input (no unfreeze input automatic- Fig. 12 - [0094] described as “manual return” as alternative to “automatic return”), at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the exercise art to substitute one for the other, In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982), in the instant case, substitute the configuration that requires an unfreeze input to establish wireless communication with one that is automatic and does not require an unfreeze input as taught by UNO et al, to perform the same function of establishing wireless communication, and for the added advantage of automating the process by eliminating a user input as taught by UNO et al. in [0094].
UNO does not explicitly disclose a charger configured to receive charging power wirelessly, for charging the battery while the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus are not wirelessly communicated, and the controller in response to detecting an electrical state of the charger indicating discontinuation of supply of charging power, perform the wireless pairing.
However, Ragunathan discloses it was known to provide a wireless charging system for wireless charging an ultrasound imaging system in the prior art, that allows for continuous use of the ultrasound probe by enabling remote charging ([abstract], Fig. 3, [0005], [0022], note: Fig. 3 discloses the ultrasound probe 302, docked in charging/docking unit 310 that comprise a charging power supplier for charging, [0030-0031] and Fig. 5 disclose the ultrasound probe comprise an energy storage 502 in the form of a rechargeable battery and secondary coil 500 (i.e. a charger) configured to receive power wirelessly while docketed in the charging/docking unit 310 to charge the battery 502,and detects an electrical state of connection based on proximity e.g., as discussed in [0031] “As the charging unit 310 identifies that the ultrasound probe 302 is within its vicinity and can communicate, the charging unit 310 establishes communication with the ultrasound probe 302. Here the charging unit 310 starts transferring power to the ultrasound probe 302 so as to charge or energize the energy storage 502…. In an embodiment the transfer of power occurs only upon confirmation by a user of the ultrasound probe 302. For instance the user may need to provide a confirmation or trigger from the ultrasound probe 302 for the transfer of power to the energy storage 502 to commence.”
In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified UNO in view of UNO et al. to include a charger configured to receive charging power wirelessly when docketed on a charging case and while remote from the charging case to charge the battery as disclosed by Ragunathan, to allow for remote charging of the ultrasound probe during use as taught by Ragunathan in [0005]. In modified UNO, when the ultrasound probe is docketed on the case, there will be no wireless communication as the ultrasound probe would be connected via a wired connection as taught by UNO and when removed from the case, the ultrasound would be separated from the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (see Fig. 2 of Ragunathan), wireless charging would be discontinued, and wireless pairing would automatically follow without a user input as required by UNO et al, in the event of a separation.
Regarding claim 9, UNO discloses an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus configurable to be wirelessly connected to a wireless ultrasound probe (see [abstract], Fig. 1, [0013] “The first device may be a device body and the second device may be a probe. Alternatively, the above-described technique may be applied to individual devices in a system having a first device, a second device, and a third device, in a state where the three devices are docked” - device body reads on the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, e.g., Fig. 3, combination of “12” and 14” is taken to read on ultrasound diagnostic apparatus), the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising:
a wireless communication module (Fig. 4, wireless communicator “54” and “56”); and
a controller configured to control the wireless communication module to transmit a wireless pairing signal to the wireless ultrasound probe in response to detecting an electrical state of the charging power supplier indicating discontinuation of supply of charging power ([0039], Fig. 4, controller “52”, [0015] “establishing exclusive wireless communication using the key information between the first device and the second device every time the first device and the second device are set in a separated state. The method may be realized by a control program for the first device and a control program for the second device. The programs are supplied to the devices via a recording medium, or via a network. Alternatively, the programs are pre-installed in a storage device in each device” and perform wireless pairing with the wireless ultrasound probe based on the wireless pairing signal l ([0055] “ For the pairing, a device ID, an IP address, a network ID (SSID), and other information may be exchanged. All or a part of these data may be exchanged every time the wireless communication is established”[Fig. 9 and [0059]), owing to the wired communication when docked ([0010] and Fig. 6, wired communication when docked with wireless communication suspended and wireless communication when separated with wired communication being suspended), the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus are not wirelessly communicated prior to the pairing noted in [0055].
UNO requires an unfreeze input for pairing and therefore does not explicitly disclose automatically control the wireless communication module to transmit a wireless pairing signal to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus be wirelessly paired with the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus without user confirmation. However, this limitation would have been obvious for substantially similar rationale in view of UNO et al. as discussed in claim 1, 16 or 20 above and will not be repeated here for brevity sake.
UNO does not explicitly disclose a charger configured to receive charging power wirelessly, for charging the battery while the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus are not wirelessly communicated, and the controller in response to detecting an electrical state of the charger indicating discontinuation of supply of charging power, perform the wireless pairing. However, this limitation would have been obvious for substantially similar rationale in view of Ragunathan as discussed in claim 1, 16 or 20 above and will not be repeated here for brevity sake.
Claims 3, 5, 11-13 and 18 re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan as applied to claim 1, 9 or 16 above, and further in view of previously cited JIN et al., US 20170179774 A1, hereinafter “JIN”.
Regarding claim 3, 11 and 18, UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan discloses the claimed invention as discussed above, UNO further discloses the wireless communication module comprises a first data communication module to transmit the wireless pairing signal (Figs. 4, 5, 7, “wireless communicator (second scheme)”) and a second data communication module to transmit ultrasound data (Fig. 7, “wireless communicator (first scheme)”, [0029] “ The first wireless communication scheme is faster compared to the second wireless communication scheme, and in the present embodiment, ultrasound reception data is transferred … using the first wireless communication scheme”. UNO does not specify that the ultrasound data is “raw”.
JIN discloses in [0137] - [0138] a first data communication module equivalent thereof as disclosed in instant application printed publication in [0050], between the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for pairing the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus and a second data communication module equivalent thereof as disclosed in instant application printed publication in [0050] between the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus for transmitting ultrasound raw data via a 60 GHz wireless communication method ([0141]), to perform the pairing in [0137-0138] and ultrasound raw data transmission, two distinct data communication modules are used and the second data communication module is selected based on bandwidth, for efficiency in data transfer.
In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified the wireless ultrasound probe and ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan with a first and second data communication modules as taught by JIN, for a more effective and efficient connection and raw ultrasound data transfer based on bandwidth, between the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 13, UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan does not explicitly disclose that the controller of the wireless ultrasound probe is configured to control the wireless communication module to transmit at least battery information to the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (claim 5) or the controller of the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (claim 12) is configured to control wireless communication module to transmit or receive ultrasound raw data based on the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus being a cart type or receive remaining battery amount information (claim 13), and configured to control the wireless communication model to perform analog-to-digital conversion of ultrasound raw data to transmit or receive, based on the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus being a portable-type ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.
However, JIN discloses in [0072] wherein the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus may be a cart type or a portable type, and in [0083] discloses wherein ultrasound raw data may be transmitted by the wireless ultrasound probe to a cart-type ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (see Fig. 1), and further wherein the raw data may alternatively be transmitted by performing analog-digital conversion, as per [0083], the latter would refer to portable ultrasound diagnostic apparatus e.g., as discussed in [0110] and [0113-0114], the data transmitted is dependent of whether the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus is equipped with an image processor. Moreover, JIN discloses after pairing of the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus (i.e., during a session [0138]), the wireless ultrasound probe transmits information about the battery to the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus so as to request for charging of the battery of the wireless ultrasound probe [0154-0157].
In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified the controller of the wireless ultrasound probe and the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of UNO in view of Ragunathan to transmit either ultrasound raw data for a cart type ultrasound diagnostic apparatus equipped with an image processor, send battery information to the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus or perform analog-to-digital conversion of ultrasound raw data for transmission to a portable type ultrasound diagnostic apparatus not equipped with image processor, to increase versatility of interaction of the wireless ultrasound probe in sharing ultrasound data with different varieties of ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, and allowing sharing of battery information would allow for the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus to enable wireless charging of the probe during use as needed when the battery level of the wireless ultrasound probe is low.
Claim 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UNO i in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan as applied to claims 1 or 9 above, and further in view of previously cited Poland et al., US 20100168576 A1 (hereinafter "Poland").
Regarding claims 6 and 15, UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan discloses the invention of claims 1 and 9 as discussed above, but does not further disclose the controller of the wireless ultrasound probe or the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus is detect an activation signal indicating at least one of contact between the wireless ultrasound probe and an object, application of a gel with respect to the wireless ultrasound probe, motion of a user holding the wireless ultrasound probe, and a button input with respect to the wireless ultrasound probe, and activate, in response to the activation signal, the wireless ultrasound probe to transmit an ultrasound signal to the object.
Poland discloses in [0026] and Fig. 1c, a wireless user interface “32” that includes an on/off switch for a wireless ultrasound probe to remotely control the wireless ultrasound probe, an activation signal in regards to on/off switch would cause transmission of a beamforming control signal to the wireless ultrasound probe to transmit ultrasound signal to the object. In view of these, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the controller of the wireless ultrasound or the controller of the ultrasound diagnosis apparatus to detect a button input with respect to the ultrasound probe from a switch, so as to facilitate activation and/or deactivation of the ultrasound probe as needed by the controller of either the wireless ultrasound probe or the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Diener et al., US 20080104300 A1 (“Diener”).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, UNO in view of UNO et al. and Ragunathan as discussed in claim 1 discloses wherein the wireless ultrasound probe is mounted in a case including a charging power supplier (Ragunathan, [0022], Fig. 3, charging unit 310 as a docking unit with power source 308), as discussed in claim 1, the controller will control the wireless communication unit to transmit the wireless pairing signal in the event of detecting a separation, i.e. the charger is detached from the case. Uno in view of Ragunathan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the case/charging unit 310 includes a battery.
However, Diener in the same field of endeavor of docking stations for diagnostic medical equipment ([abstract], [0014]) discloses a docking station (“30”) that comprise a battery (“31”, “32”, “33”) to charge a battery of the diagnostic medical device ([0017], [0019]). In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the charging unit of UNO in view of Ragunathan to include a battery to provide power to charge the battery of the wireless ultrasound probe, to increase versatility by allowing use in places without a wired source of power.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UNO in view of UNO et al. Ragunathan and JIN as applied to claims 13 above, and further in view of Poland.
Regarding claim 14, UNO in view of UNO et al. Ragunathan and Jin discloses the invention of claim 13 as discussed above, UNO discloses the ultrasound diagnostic device further comprising a display (see Fig. 1 of UNO, [0032], display panel “30”), however UNO does not explicitly disclose that the display is configured to display a user interface indicating by text or an icon, the probe characteristic information received from the wireless ultrasound probe.
Poland [0026] discloses a wireless user interface “32” and base station for wireless ultrasound probe that read on ultrasound diagnostic apparatus that is wirelessly connected to the wireless probe, Figs. Figs. 2a, 2b or 6a the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprise a display, Fig. 1c discloses probe characteristic information (i.e., signal strength indicator and battery charge indicator) on a control panel and not a display, Fig. 9A discloses similar probe characteristic information (i.e., battery strength indicator “134” and signal strength indicators “132”) in form of icons on a display 136 of a user interface on the wireless ultrasound probe, to provide a user with basic display information when the probe is not tethered ([0044]). Poland thus suggest providing similar information on an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus and the wireless ultrasound probe, the only distinction being that the information on the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus is not inform of icons on a display.
At the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the display of UNO in view of UNO et al. Ragunathan and Jin to include probe characteristic information in the form of icons as taught by Poland, for quick reference when operating from the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11-16, 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot in light of new ground of rejection, further in view of UNO et al. as discussed in details in the rejection section that addresses fills in the gap in regards to “automatically” and “without user confirmation”. Examiner now addresses arguments that do not require “automatically” and without user confirmation” in the arguments.
In response to Argument “A” in page 9-10 of the response, this aspect is taught by combined teaching of UNO and UNO et al (wireless pairing based on physical separation from a docked state) and Ragunathan (wireless charging based on separation from a docked state) as proposed in the rejection section that arrives to the claimed invention, as removing of the probe from the docked state (a separation) would trigger wireless communication as taught by UNO in view of UNO et al. and stopping of wireless charging as taught in Ragunathan. In particular, UNO et al. teaches aspect of wireless pairing based on separation from a docked station in relation to Fig. 12 and associated discussion in [0092] “…Disconnection is determined based on physical and electrical separation between the connector of the FE device and the connector of the BE device” and [0094] “… In FIG. 12, the process steps similar to those illustrated in FIG. 11 are designated by the corresponding reference numerals and will not be described. In this example operation, after both devices are placed in the freeze state, in step S52, wireless communication is automatically established” and Ragunathan teaches in [0030-0031] wireless charging based on separation from a docked state [0031] “As the charging unit 310 identifies that the ultrasound probe 302 is within its vicinity and can communicate, the charging unit 310 establishes communication with the ultrasound probe 302. Here the charging unit 310 starts transferring power to the ultrasound probe 302 so as to charge or energize the energy storage 502…. In an embodiment the transfer of power occurs only upon confirmation by a user of the ultrasound probe 302. For instance the user may need to provide a confirmation or trigger from the ultrasound probe 302 for the transfer of power to the energy storage 502 to commence.” Moreover, this rejection is not based on impermissible hindsight as modification of UNO with the teachings of UNO et al. is a matter of substitution of known alternative, and there is a motivation for the modification in UNO et al. in [0094] that automates the process by eliminating a user input (unfreeze input).
Argument in “B” is moot in light of new ground of rejection further in view of UNO et al. that disclose an alternative embodiment that is not gated by a user operation - see [0094] of UNO et al., “manual return” as alternative to “automatic return”.
Argument in “C” directed to Ragunathan is unpersuasive, as examiner has addressed this argument previously on record in the advisory action of May 27, 2026, as Ragunathan explicitly teaches in [0031] “For instance the user may need to provide a confirmation or trigger from the ultrasound probe 302 for the transfer of power to the energy storage 502 to commence” i.e., in the event a confirmation or trigger is not received, wireless charging remains discontinued.
Conclusion
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797