CTNF 18/750,318 CTNF 80928 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-13 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The IDSs filed 6/21/2024 and 7/23/2024 have been considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2019/0384894 to Stecklina et al. (hereinafter Stecklina) in view of US PG Pub. No. 2021/0374262 Maximov et al. (hereinafter Maximov) . As to claim 1, Stecklina teaches an electronic data processing device comprising: a. A memory configured to store encrypted program code for a cryptographic algorithm (memory with encrypted instructions) (Stecklina, [0008-0009]). b. A cryptoprocessor unit having a security processor, an interface to the memory (cryptoprocessor setup with non-volatile memory) (Stecklina, [0006-0010]). Stecklina does not expressly mention a volatile memory as part of the cryptoprocessor setup). However, in an analogous art, Maximov teaches an internal volatile memory and a crypto function circuit (cryptoprocessor has volatile memory) (Maximov, [0026]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would have been motivated to implement the cryptoprocessor of Stecklina with the use of internal volatile memory of Maximov in order to better protect the contents of the memory when the cryptoprocessor is rebooted or powered down as suggested by Maximov (Maximov, [0026]). Stecklina as modified further teaches: c. A data processing circuit having an interface to the cryptoprocessor unit (Stecklina, [0006-0010]), wherein the cryptoprocessor unit is configured: i. In a configuration state, to receive the encrypted program code from the memory, to decrypt it by means of the crypto function circuit and to verify the integrity and/or authenticity of the decrypted program code and to store it in the internal volatile memory (each encrypted instruction is individually decrypted sent to the cryptoprocessor for execution using intrinsic code attestation (ICA) to protect the instructions from manipulation) (Stecklina, [0009 and 0073-0074]). ii. In an execution state, to execute the decrypted program code by means of the security processor and at least partially by means of the crypto function circuit (cryptoprocessor executes decrypted instructions) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). d. A path selection circuit which is configured, in the configuration state, to provide a first data path from the memory, via the crypto function circuit, to the internal volatile memory of the cryptoprocessor unit and, in the execution state, to interrupt the first data path and to provide a second data path between the security processor and the internal volatile memory and the crypto function circuit (Instructions are processed instruction by instruction, the decryption unit decrypts a first instruction and then sends the plaintext instruction for execution. No encrypted instruction is decrypted until the previous instruction has been decrypted. While there is no explicit path selection circuit, the instruction by instruction processing closes the path to the decryption circuit until the previous instruction is decrypted and then the plaintext instruction is executed by the processor and only takes the next instruction (closing the path) when the previous instruction has been executed.) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 2, Stecklina as modified teaches the path selection circuit is configured to interrupt the second data path in the configuration state (Nothing is sent to processor while the decryption of an instruction is performed. Instructions are processed instruction by instruction; the decryption unit decrypts a first instruction and then sends the plaintext instruction for execution. No encrypted instruction is decrypted until the previous instruction has been decrypted. While there is no explicit path selection circuit, the instruction by instruction processing closes the path to the decryption circuit until the previous instruction is decrypted and then the plaintext instruction is executed by the processor and only takes the next instruction (closing the path) when the previous instruction has been executed.) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 3, Stecklina as modified teaches the security processor has no read access and no write access to the internal volatile memory in the configuration state (security processor only has access to the processor when a plaintext instruction is sent for execution) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 4, Stecklina as modified teaches the first data path is unidirectional (there is no mention of sending any data from the security processor to memory with the encrypted instructions) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). It is also noted that there are only 2 options for the direction of communications: unidirectional and bidirectional and is viewed as an obvious variation. As to claim 5, Stecklina as modified teaches the security processor has no access to the crypto function circuit in the configuration state (only plaintext instructions are sent to the processor for execution) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 6, Stecklina as modified teaches the data processing circuit has no access to the crypto function circuit and the internal volatile memory of the cryptoprocessor unit in the execution state (the data processing circuit only receives the data word (part of the decryption key) it does not have access to the cryptofunction unit) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 7, Stecklina as modified teaches the path selection circuit has a first path selection circuit which is configured to establish a connection between the data processing circuit and the crypto function circuit in the configuration state and to block it in the execution state (Nothing is sent to processor while the decryption of an instruction is performed. Instructions are processed instruction by instruction; the decryption unit decrypts a first instruction and then sends the plaintext instruction for execution. No encrypted instruction is decrypted until the previous instruction has been decrypted. While there is no explicit path selection circuit, the instruction by instruction processing closes the path to the decryption circuit until the previous instruction is decrypted and then the plaintext instruction is executed by the processor and only takes the next instruction (closing the path) when the previous instruction has been executed.) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 8, Stecklina as modified teaches the path selection circuit has a second path selection circuit which is configured to establish a connection between the security processor and the crypto function circuit in the execution state and to block it in the configuration state (Nothing is sent to processor while the decryption of an instruction is performed. Instructions are processed instruction by instruction; the decryption unit decrypts a first instruction and then sends the plaintext instruction for execution. No encrypted instruction is decrypted until the previous instruction has been decrypted. While there is no explicit path selection circuit, the instruction by instruction processing closes the path to the decryption circuit until the previous instruction is decrypted and then the plaintext instruction is executed by the processor and only takes the next instruction (closing the path) when the previous instruction has been executed.) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 9, Stecklina as modified teaches the path selection circuity is configured to establish a connection between the crypto function circuit and the internal volatile memory in the execution state (Nothing is sent to processor while the decryption of an instruction is performed. Instructions are processed instruction by instruction; the decryption unit decrypts a first instruction and then sends the plaintext instruction for execution. No encrypted instruction is decrypted until the previous instruction has been decrypted. While there is no explicit path selection circuit, the instruction by instruction processing closes the path to the decryption circuit until the previous instruction is decrypted and then the plaintext instruction is executed by the processor and only takes the next instruction (closing the path) when the previous instruction has been executed.) (Stecklina, [0073-0074]). As to claim 11, Stecklina as modified teaches the crypto function circuit is an authenticated encryption module or an authenticated encryption with associated data module (secure cryptographic module runs in a trusted execution environment and is authenticated) (Maximov, at least [0029]). As to claim 13, Stecklina as modified teaches the cryptoprocessor unit is a secure enclave of the electronic data processing device (enclaves are used to protect circuits) (Maximov, [0027]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2019/0384894 to Stecklina et al. (hereinafter Stecklina) in view of US PG Pub. No. 2021/0374262 Maximov et al. (hereinafter Maximov) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 5,359,659 to Rosenthal . As to claim 10, Stecklina as modified does not expressly mention a test value. However, in an analogous art, Rosenthal teaches the memory is configured to store a test value of the decrypted program code and the cryptoprocessor unit is configured to verify the integrity and/or authenticity of the decrypted program code based on the test value (a checksum is used to detect alterations in program code) (Rosenthal, 1:49-64). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would have been motivated to implement the cryptoprocessor of Stecklina as modified with the use of checksum calculations in order to detect any alterations in the program code as suggested by Rosenthal (Rosenthal, 1:49-64) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2019/0384894 to Stecklina et al. (hereinafter Stecklina) in view of US PG Pub. No. 2021/0374262 Maximov et al. (hereinafter Maximov) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub. No. 2013/0212026 to Powell et al. (hereinafter Powell) . As to claim 12, Stecklina as modified does not expressly mention protections against physical attacks. However, in an analogous art, Powell teaches the cryptoprocessor unit belongs to a first area of the data processing device which is more strongly protected against physical attacks than a second area, to which the data processing circuit and the memory belong (employing a tamper-resistant security module which may include hardened casing at varying levels of protection) (Powell, [0033]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would have been motivated to implement the cryptoprocessor of Stecklina as modified with the use of tamper-resistant security modules of Powell in order to protect against physical attacks as suggested by Powell (Powell, [0033]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLIAM S POWERS whose telephone number is (571)272-8573. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-17:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jorge L Ortiz-Criado can be reached at (571) 272-7624. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLIAM S POWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 2 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 4 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 5 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 6 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 7 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 8 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 9 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 10 Art Unit: 2496 Application/Control Number: 18/750,318 Page 11 Art Unit: 2496