DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of A-I, B-I, C-I, D-II in the reply filed on May 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15, 18, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 22, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-13 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davenport (WO1999051398) hereinafter Davenport in view of Suzuki (U.S Patent 6,152,813) hereinafter Suzuki.
Regarding claim 1, Davenport discloses:
A chemical mechanical polishing device {page 1 lines 5-9} comprising:
a frame providing
the frame comprising a flat plate portion {Figure 7, the bottom of (100) is a flat plate portion}
a cleaning assembly arranged in the upper space {Figure 7 (120) and (170) are part of a cleaning assembly (55)}; and
wherein the cleaning assembly comprises:
a plurality of brushes, which are arranged apart from each other in the first horizontal direction {Figure 7 (170) there are a plurality of brush instances in/out of the page 12 lines 15-25}, and
a plurality of nozzles arranged respectively between the plurality of brushes {Figure 7 (122) are between the plurality of brushes (170)}.
Davenport is silent regarding the precise details of the motor configuration which drive the brushes. Davenport does not disclose:
the frame providing a lower space
the flat plate portion separates the lower space and the upper space from each other and has a first hole;
a driving roller arranged in the lower space and configured to rotate in place;
the cleaning assembly configured to reciprocate in a first horizontal direction that is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion;
a driver extending from the upper space to the lower space through the first hole of the flat plate portion,
the driver having one end fastened to a base of the driving roller and another end that is opposite to the one end and connected to the cleaning assembly.
Suzuki pertains to cleaning of chemical mechanical polishing devices. Suzuki teaches:
the frame providing second space {Figures 1/5, (30) is a frame which encloses a second space}
a driving roller arranged in the second space and configured to rotate in place {Figures 5/6, (43) is a driving roller arranged in the second space and rotates in place; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13};
the cleaning assembly configured to reciprocate in a first horizontal direction
a driver extending from a cleaning space to the second space through a first hole {Figures 1/5; (14) extends from the cleaning space where the brushes and nozzles of (2) to the interior of (3)},
the driver having one end fastened to a base of the driving roller and another end that is opposite to the one end and connected to the cleaning assembly {Figures 1/5/6; (14) is fastened to the driving roller (43) via (42) and on the opposite end fastened to the cleaning assembly (2)}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the brush, driver, and space for the motor configuration of Suzuki for the cleaning station configuration of Davenport. It is noted the space for the motor and drive system would need to be underneath the cleaning assembly based on Figures 3B and 7 of Davenport for the washing assembly not be in the way of other stations and the carrier head (80). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as Davenport is silent regarding the details of the motor and one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. Having the motor be a separate space from the upper space which is a wash chamber of Davenport would prevent liquids from affecting components associated with the driving of the brush. Davenport also recognizes that different brush configurations and movements may be substituted {Davenport page 12 15-25 and page 14 lines 9-14}.
The combination of Davenport and Suzuki therefore teaches:
the frame providing a lower space {Suzuki Figures 1/5, (30) is a frame which encloses a second space which is below the upper space of (110) of Davenport based on Figures 3B and 7 of Davenport for the washing assembly not be in the way of other stations and the carrier head (80).}
the flat plate portion separates the lower space and the upper space from each other and has a first hole {Davenport Figure 7, the flat plate portion separates the upper space (110) from the lower space where the drive and motor system based on Suzuki is located below. There is a first hole in this portion to allow driver (14) of Suzuki to transfer the motion to the cleaning portion similar to the opening in (30) of Suzuki};
a driving roller arranged in the lower space and configured to rotate in place {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (43) is a driving roller arranged in the lower space and rotates in place; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13};
the cleaning assembly configured to reciprocate in a first horizontal direction that is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (43) causes a reciprocating horizontal movement; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13. When this configuration is applied to Davenport the horizontal movement is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion of (100)};
a driver extending from the upper space to the lower space through a first hole of the flat plate portion {Suzuki Figures 1/5; (14) extends from the cleaning space (which is the upper space in the combination of Davenport and Suzuki) where the brushes and nozzles of (2) to the interior of (3) (which is the lower space in the combination of Davenport and Suzuki) through the first hole of the flat plate portion which allows the driver (14) of Suzuki to transfer the motion to the cleaning portion similar to the opening in (30) of Suzuki}.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the driver comprises:
a first arm connected with the cleaning assembly and extending in a vertical direction through the first hole {A vertical first arm is required to be connected with the cleaning assembly to have the horizontal reciprocating brush of Suzuki be connected to the drive below as in the configuration of Davenport and discussed in the rejection of claim 1},
the vertical direction being perpendicular to the upper surface of the flat plate portion {Davenport Figure 7, the vertical direction is perpendicular to the upper surface of the flat plate portion at the bottom of (100)};
a second arm connected with the first arm and extending in the first horizontal direction {Suzuki Figures 5/6 (40) extends in the first horizontal direction and is connected with the first arm described above};
a third arm having one end connected with the second arm and another end that is opposite to the one end and connected with the driving roller {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (42) has one end connected to the second arm (40) via (44) and another opposite end that is connected with the roller (43) via (45)}; and
a pivot securing the third arm to the second arm {Suzuki Figures 5/6, pin (44) is a pivot that secures third arm (42) to second arm (40)}, and
wherein the third arm is configured to rotate by using the pivot as a rotation shaft in correspondence with the driving roller that rotates {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (42) rotates at the pivot (44) when the driving roller (43) rotates; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13}.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the cleaning assembly further comprises a fluid supplying tube extending in the first horizontal direction and configured to supply a fluid to the plurality of nozzles {Figure 4 shows (120) most clearly as a fluid supplying tube that extends in the first horizontal directions and supplies the plurality of nozzles (120); this applies to the configuration of Figure 7 as well}.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the driving roller has a shape of a circular plate extending in a second horizontal direction that is perpendicular to the first horizontal direction {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (43) is a circular plate that extends in the second horizontal direction (in/out of the page)}.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki further teaches:
a motor arranged in the lower space and configured to be connected with the driving roller to rotate the driving roller {Suzuki Figure 5, (46) is in the lower space and connected with (43) to drive it; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13}.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the plurality of nozzles are each aimed in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to the upper surface of the flat plate portion {Figure 7 (122) are aimed vertically perpendicular to the upper surface of the flat plate portion (100) at the bottom}.
Regarding claim 12, Davenport discloses:
A chemical mechanical polishing device {page 1 lines 5-9} comprising:
a polishing pad arranged on a polishing platen and configured to be rotatable {Figure 1 (32) is a polishing pad on a polishing platen (30) and is rotatable};
a carrier head assembly configured to provide a wafer onto the polishing pad {Figure 1 (80) is a carrier head that provides a wafer onto the polishing pad};
a temperature adjuster configured to spray, onto the polishing pad {Figure 1 (52) sprays fluid (50) onto the polishing pad either as a slurry or rinse; Column 8 lines 24-32. This necessarily adjusts the temperature of the pad as the pad and fluid are never at exactly the same temperature},
a temperature control fluid for adjusting a temperature of the polishing pad {Figure 1 the fluid (50) is sprayed onto the polishing pad either as a slurry or rinse; Page 8 lines 24-32. This necessarily adjusts the temperature of the pad as the pad and fluid are never at exactly the same temperature}; and
a cleaning device configured to clean a lower surface of the carrier head assembly or a lower surface of the temperature adjuster {Figure 1, cleaning device (55) cleans the lower surface of the carrier head assembly; Page 9 lines 30-32},
wherein the cleaning device comprises:
a frame providing
the frame comprising a flat plate portion {Figure 7, the bottom of (100) is a flat plate portion}
a cleaning assembly arranged in the upper space {Figure 7 (120) and (170) are part of a cleaning assembly (55)}
wherein the cleaning assembly comprises:
a plurality of brushes,
a plurality of nozzles arranged respectively between the plurality of brushes {Figure 7 (122) are between the plurality of brushes (170)}.
The plurality of brushes being arranged apart from each other in the first horizontal direction {Figure 7 (170) there are a plurality of brush instances in/out of the page 12 lines 15-25}, and
Davenport is silent regarding the precise details of the motor configuration which drive the brushes. Davenport does not disclose:
the frame providing a lower space
the flat plate portion separates the lower space and the upper space from each other and has a first hole extending lengthwise in a first horizontal direction;
a driving roller arranged in the lower space and configured to rotate in place;
the cleaning assembly configured to reciprocate in a first horizontal direction;
a driver extending from the upper space to the lower space through the first hole of the flat plate portion,
the driver having one end fastened to a base of the driving roller and another end that is opposite to the one end and connected to the cleaning assembly,
the brushes each comprising a plate having an upper surface that is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion
Suzuki pertains to cleaning of chemical mechanical polishing devices. Suzuki teaches:
the frame providing second space {Figures 1/5, (30) is a frame which encloses a second space}
a driving roller arranged in the second space and configured to rotate in place {Figures 5/6, (43) is a driving roller arranged in the second space and rotates in place; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13};
the cleaning assembly configured to reciprocate in a first horizontal direction {Figures 5/6, (43) causes a reciprocating horizontal movement; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13};
a driver extending from a cleaning space to the second space through a first hole {Figures 1/5; (14) extends from the cleaning space where the brushes and nozzles of (2) to the interior of (3)},
the driver having one end fastened to a base of the driving roller and another end that is opposite to the one end and connected to the cleaning assembly {Figures 1/5/6; (14) is fastened to the driving roller (43) via (42) and on the opposite end fastened to the cleaning assembly (2)}
the brushes each comprising a plate having an upper surface {Figure 4 (13) has an upper surface}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the brush, driver, and space for the motor configuration of Suzuki for the cleaning station configuration of Davenport. It is noted the space for the motor and drive system would need to be underneath the cleaning assembly based on Figures 3B and 7 of Davenport for the washing assembly not be in the way of other stations and the carrier head (80). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as Davenport is silent regarding the details of the motor and one of ordinary skill in the art would have to choose. Having the motor be a separate space from the upper space which is a wash chamber of Davenport would prevent liquids from affecting components associated with the driving of the brush. Davenport also recognizes that different brush configurations and movements may be substituted {Davenport page 12 15-25 and page 14 lines 9-14}.
The combination of Davenport and Suzuki therefore teaches:
the frame providing a lower space {Suzuki Figures 1/5, (30) is a frame which encloses a second space which is below the upper space of (110) of Davenport based on Figures 3B and 7 of Davenport for the washing assembly not be in the way of other stations and the carrier head (80).}
the flat plate portion separates the lower space and the upper space from each other and has a first hole extending lengthwise in a first horizontal direction {Davenport Figure 7, the flat plate portion separates the upper space (110) from the lower space where the drive and motor system based on Suzuki is located below. There is a first hole in this portion to allow driver (14) of Suzuki to transfer the motion to the cleaning portion similar to the opening in (30) of Suzuki. Therefore, it also extends lengthwise in the first horizontal direction.};
a driving roller arranged in the lower space and configured to rotate in place {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (43) is a driving roller arranged in the lower space and rotates in place; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13};
the cleaning assembly configured to reciprocate in a first horizontal direction {Suzuki Figures 5/6, (43) causes a reciprocating horizontal movement; Column 5 line 55 – Column 6 line 13. When this configuration is applied to Davenport the horizontal movement is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion of (100)};
a driver extending from the upper space to the lower space through a first hole of the flat plate portion {Suzuki Figures 1/5; (14) extends from the cleaning space (which is the upper space in the combination of Davenport and Suzuki) where the brushes and nozzles of (2) to the interior of (3) (which is the lower space in the combination of Davenport and Suzuki) through the first hole of the flat plate portion which allows the driver (14) of Suzuki to transfer the motion to the cleaning portion similar to the opening in (30) of Suzuki}.
the brushes each comprising a plate having an upper surface that is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion {Suzuki Figure 4 (13) has an upper surface that is parallel to an upper surface of the flat plate portion (100) of Davenport}
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki teaches the chemical mechanical polishing device of claim 12, but does not teach:
wherein each of the plurality of brushes comprises a nodule protruding from the upper surface of the plate and extending in an oblique direction with respect to the first horizontal direction.
Suzuki teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of brushes comprises a nodule protruding from the upper surface of the plate and extending in an oblique direction with respect to the first horizontal direction {Figure 13 (25) is oblique to the first horizontal direction}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the scraper (nodule) of the combination of Davenport and Suzuki be oblique to the first horizontal direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as different brush configurations may be used and angled nodules are known to be used in different configurations as a possibility for the brush to direct the objects brushed off directionality {Davenport page 12 15-25 and page 14 lines 9-14; Suzuki Column 8 lines 14-34}.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Davenport and Suzuki further teaches:
wherein the cleaning assembly comprises a brush fastener having a brush fastening groove to which one of the plurality of brushes is fastened {Suzuki Figure 4, (13a/b) are bolted to brush base (14); the brush fastening groove accommodates the bolt; Column 5 lines 5-12}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-8, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 recites, “wherein the driving roller comprises a plurality of fastening holes arranged apart from a center of the base of the driving roller in a radial direction, wherein the driver further comprises a fourth arm extending in a second horizontal direction from the third arm, the second horizontal direction being perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the fourth arm is fastened to one of the plurality of fastening holes.” The closest prior art to the claimed invention are Davenport and Suzuki used in the rejections above. Davenport does not provide teachings related to the driving roller and driver. Suzuki teaches concepts related to the driver and driving roller, but does not teach the inclusion of a plurality of fastening holes. In contrast there is only one fastening hole. There is insufficient evidence to add additionally fastening holes on a single drive wheel. Also, there is no fourth arm in Suzuki as the third arm is pinned to the driving roller.
Claim 5 recites, “a plurality of first rollers arranged between the flat plate portion and a lower portion of the cleaning assembly and each having a rotation axis in a second horizontal direction that is perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, wherein the cleaning assembly is configured to slide by the plurality of first rollers that rotate.” The closest pieces of art Davenport and Suzuki do not teach rollers as claimed. There is insufficient evidence to add rollers as claimed.
Claim 6 recites, “wherein the frame further comprises a cover separating the upper space from the outside of the frame and providing a second hole by which the plurality of brushes and the plurality of nozzles are exposed.” Figure 7 of Davenport has a seal structure (102). There is insufficient evidence to suggest adding a cover to the upper space. Additionally, modifications to add a cover may cause additional changes to the seal structure of davenport as well as the brush layout and orientation.
Claims 7 and 8 are dependent from claim 6 and therefore also contain allowable subject matter.
Claim 17 recites, “wherein the cleaning assembly comprises a brush cleaning nozzle passing through an inside of the brush fastener and exposed by a groove, the brush cleaning nozzle being configured to spray a fluid for cleaning each of the plurality of brushes.” Neither Davenport or Suzuki teaches the claimed configuration of the cleaning nozzle passing through the brush fastener. Other art such as Denda et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20020053358) teaches a nozzle in the interior of brushes as shown in Figure 5. Denda also does not teach the claimed configuration. There is insufficient evidence to modify the prior art to have the claimed configuration.
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 19 recites, “A chemical mechanical polishing device comprising: a polishing pad arranged on a polishing platen and configured to be rotatable; a carrier head assembly configured to provide a wafer onto the polishing pad; a temperature adjuster configured to spray, onto the polishing pad, a temperature control fluid for adjusting a temperature of the polishing pad; a first cleaning device configured to clean a lower surface of the carrier head assembly; and a second cleaning device configured to clean a lower surface of the temperature adjuster, wherein each of the first cleaning device and the second cleaning device comprises: a frame providing a lower space and an upper space in the frame, the frame comprising a flat plate portion that separates the lower space and the upper space from each other and has a first hole extending lengthwise in a first horizontal direction; a driving roller arranged in the lower space and configured to rotate in place; a cleaning assembly arranged in the upper space and configured to reciprocate in the first horizontal direction; and a driver comprising a first arm, which is connected with the cleaning assembly and extends through the first hole in a vertical direction that is perpendicular to an upper surface of the flat plate portion, a second arm connected with the first arm and extending in the first horizontal direction, a third arm having one end connected with the second arm and another end that is opposite to the one end and connected with the driving roller, and a pivot securing the third arm to the second arm, and wherein the cleaning assembly comprises a plurality of brushes and a plurality of nozzles arranged respectively between the plurality of brushes, the plurality of brushes being arranged apart from each other in the first horizontal direction and each comprising a plate having an upper surface that is parallel to the upper surface of the flat plate portion.” In particular the combination of Davenport and Suzuki does not teach “a second cleaning device configured to clean a lower surface of the temperature adjuster”. There is insufficient evidence to suggest configuring the cleaning device and/or temperature adjuster to clean the temperature adjuster.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Denda et al. (U.S Pre-Grant Publication 20020053358) discloses a horizontal reciprocating brush and nozzle system for cleaning a chemical mechanical polishing device.
/MICHAEL K. REITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3745