DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 6/21/2024.
The Examiner notes claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 & 5 are formed of multiple sentences. Please revise into a single sentence form. See MPEP 608.01(m) for information relating to the proper format of claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGAWA et al. (US 2023/0054027) in view of Chesnut (US 5240596) further in view of Chen et al. (US 6202677), hereinafter Ogawa, Chesnut, & Chen, respectively.
Regarding claim 1. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Ogawa discloses a water exchanger [Fig 1], characterized by comprising a pressing balloon [30], …, a communicating pipe [Fig 2; 2A], a connecting pipe [1], a cleaning … head [Fig 1-2; S] and a water outlet joint [Fig 2; 2B]. The pressing balloon is connected to the top of the … valve [Fig 1-2; 30 is connected to the top of the one-way valve (Vu)], and the communicating pipe is an L-shaped three-way pipe [Fig 2; 2A is an L-shaped, three-way pipe]. … The connecting pipe is connected to the bottom of the communicating pipe [Fig 1-2], and the cleaning … head is set at the bottom of the connecting pipe [Fig 1-2]. One side of the communicating pipe is connected to the water outlet joint [Fig 1-2]. The cleaning … head is equipped with … water inlet holes [Fig 2-5; S has 63 which has multiple opens to communicate with 60], the end of the water outlet joint far away from the communicating pipe is connected to a hose [Fig 1-2].
Ogawa may not explicitly disclose a switch valve, wherein pressing balloon is connected to the top of the switch valve, wherein the switch valve rotates and is set at the top of the communicating pipe; or a cleaning brush head; wherein the cleaning brush head is equipped with multiple cleaning bristles.
However Chesnut teaches a water exchanger [Fig 1 & 3] with a switch valve [Fig 1, 3, & 12-14; 82 includes a switch valve (106)], wherein pressing balloon is connected to the top of the switch valve [Fig 1, 3, & 12-14; the balloon of Ogawa would be connected to the top of 82]; wherein the switch valve rotates and is set at the top of the communicating pipe [Fig 1, 3, & 12-14; 82 is set on top of a communication pipe (26) and 106 of 82 rotates].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water exchanger as disclosed by Ogawa to have a switch valve, wherein the switch valve rotates and is set at the top of the communicating pipe as taught by Chesnut for the purpose of having a fluid control structure [Chesnut: Col10:line60-61].
Further Chen teaches a water exchanger [Fig 1 & 7; 20] with a cleaning brush head [Fig 7-8; Col3:line40-41; 22 can be a cleaning brush head (222)]; wherein the cleaning brush head is equipped with multiple cleaning bristles [Fig 8; 222 has multiple cleaning bristles]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning head as disclosed by Ogawa as modified to have a cleaning brush head; wherein the cleaning brush head is equipped with multiple cleaning bristles as taught by Chen for the purpose of an alternative cleaning head with brushing capabilities to provide additional cleaning means than only scraping [Chen: Col3:line40-41].
Regarding claim 2. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 1, characterized in that the switch valve comprises a rotating handle [Chesnut: 114] which is rotatably connected to the communicating pipe [The rotating handle of Chesnut would also rotate in the communication pipe of Ogawa], and the bottom of the rotating handle is provided with a water control joint located inside the communicating pipe [Chesnut: Fig 1 & 12-14; the end of 114 connected to 108 is the bottom end of the handle and is provided with a water control joint (124)].
Regarding claim 3. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 2, but may not explicitly disclose characterized in that the water control joint is a single hole joint or a double hole joint.
However the water control joint of Chesnut is triple hole joint as at 90, 180, & 270 degrees the valve is open [per the Applicant’s specification ¶29].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hole joint as taught by Ogawa as modified to be a single or double hole joint as per MPEP 2143(E), choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success supports a conclusion of obviousness. In the instant case, the finite number of identified predictable solutions are: a single hole joint (allowing water to flow only at 0 degrees), double hole joint (allowing water to flow at 0 and 90 degrees), or triple hole joint (allowing water to flow at 0, 90, & 180 degrees). Therefore, since modifying hole joint to have a single or double hole construction can be made without any change in the operation of switch valve hole joint, there will be reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 4. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 2, characterized in that the water control joint comprises a water blocking end and a water circulating end [Figure 1 of this action & Fig 14 of Chesnut].
Figure 1: Annotated Fig 14 of Chesnut
Regarding claim 5. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 1, characterized in that: the connecting pipe is an expansion pipe [Fig 1-2; 1 is an expansion pipe], but may not explicitly disclose and a fixing nut is threaded on the connecting pipe. The expansion and fixation of the connecting pipe are achieved by turning the fixing nut.
However Chesnut further teaches a fixing nut [Fig 1; 28] is threaded on the connecting pipe [Fig 1 & 5-6; 28 is threaded onto 28 via the connection of 34 & 36]. The expansion and fixation of the connecting pipe are achieved by turning the fixing nut [Col5:line1-16; the expansion pipe (12) is telescopically expanded and fixed by the turning of the fixing nut (28)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the expansion pipe as taught by Ogawa as modified to be a telescoping pipe using a fixing nut as taught by Chesnut for the purpose of allowing a user to clean larger/deeper tanks of water without having to immerse their hands in the fluid [Chesnut: Col5:line1-6].
Regarding claim 6. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose characterized in that: a fixing clip is provided on the outer side of the communicating pipe, and a fastening bolt is threaded on the fixing clip.
However Chen further teaches that a fixing clip [Fig 1-3; 14] can be used to secure a pipe to the sides of a tank [Fig 1-3; 14 secures a pipe to the tank]; characterized in that: a fixing clip is provided on the outer side of the communicating pipe [Fig 1-3; 14 can be provided on the outer side of a pipe (i.e. the communication pipe of Ogawa)], and a fastening bolt is threaded on the fixing clip [Fig 2-3; 141 is threaded onto the fixing clip].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication pipe as taught by Ogawa as modified to have a fixing clip is provided on the outer side of the communicating pipe, and a fastening bolt is threaded on the fixing clip as taught by Chen for the purpose of having a mounting structure on the pipe to hold the pipe in place [Chen: Col2:line46-47].
Regarding claim 7. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 1, characterized in that: the connecting pipe is connected to the bottom of the communicating pipe through a first one-way valve [Ogawa: Fig 2; Vu connects to the connecting pipe at the bottom of the communicating pipe], and one side of the communicating pipe is connected to the water outlet joint through a second one-way valve [Ogawa: Fig 2; Vd is between the communicating pipe and the water outlet joint].
Regarding claim 8. Ogawa as modified teaches the water exchanger according to claim 1, Ogawa as modified may not explicitly disclose characterized in that: the pressing balloon and the rotating handle, the rotating handle and the communicating pipe, and the connecting pipe and the communicating pipe are all sealed by the sealing rings.
However Chesnut teaches the use of sealing rings at pipe connection [Fig 1, 12, & 14; sealing rings (98 & 112) are provided at the pipe connections to prevent leaking [Col7:line22-23].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe connections as taught by Ogawa to have the pressing balloon and the rotating handle, the rotating handle and the communicating pipe, and the connecting pipe and the communicating pipe are all sealed by the sealing rings as taught by Chesnut for the purpose of ensuring a water-tight seal at these locations [Chesnut: Col7:line22-23].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723