DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the respective rod". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being disclosed by Lucas (US Patent Application Publication 20060185086).
Regarding claim 1, Lucas teaches an assistive device for removing and replacing a pillowcase on a pillow, the device comprising: a base plate (Figure 1; 50); and a plurality of rods (Figure 1; 16 front and back) protruding upwardly from a top surface of the base plate, wherein the plurality of rods are positioned in a rectangular shape (Figure 1; the rods 16 form a rectangle with the base plate when viewed from the side) forming a perimeter sized to receive a pillow in an upright position within an interior space defined within the perimeter of the plurality of rods (Figure 6; as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Lucas teaches the plurality of rods are slidably adjustable to define different sizes of the interior space (Paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 3, Lucas teaches each of the plurality of rods includes a locking mechanism to fix the respective rod in a selected position (Paragraph 29 and Figure 2; 71).
Regarding claim 4, Lucas teaches distal ends of the plurality of rods are rounded (Figure 1; top of 16 at 42 and 34).
Regarding claim 6, Lucas teaches a device for removing and replacing a pillowcase on a pillow, the device comprising: a base plate (Figure 1; 50); and a plurality of walls extending upwardly from a top surface of the base plate (Figure 1; 16 and 64 back and front), wherein the plurality of walls are positioned in a rectangular shape Figure 1; the rods 16 form a rectangle with the base plate when viewed from the side) forming a perimeter sized to receive a pillow in an upright position within an interior space defined within the perimeter of the plurality of walls (Figure 6; as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Lucas teaches one or more of the plurality of walls are slidably adjustable to define different sizes of the interior space (Paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 8, Lucas teaches one or more of the plurality of walls includes a locking mechanism to fix the respective rod in a selected position (Paragraph 29 and Figure 2; 71).
Regarding claim 9, Lucas teaches the plurality of walls comprise two L-shaped walls (Figure 1; 16 and 64 form an l-shape when in the completely extended position (where 16 would form a right angle with 64, forming the L)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas (US Patent Application Publication 20060185086) in view of Valdez (US Patent 6679462).
Regarding claim 5, Lucas does not teach the base includes at least one handle opening. Valdez teaches the base includes at least one handle opening (Figure 2; at 307). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Lucas (directed to a pillowcase opener) and Valdez (directed to a bag holder with handles on the base panels) and arrived at a pillowcase opener with handles on the base panels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination “to facilitate hanging the in-use stiffener apparatus in different orientations” as taught in Valdez (Column 5; lines 47-49).
Conclusion
/MORGAN J MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3673