DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4, “downlink transmission” should be -- uplink transmission -- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (US 2023/0208774 A1) hereinafter Fang.
Regarding claim 1 – Fang discloses receiving a downlink transmission from an AP wireless device on a first wireless link, refer to Figure 5E – CTS transmission from the AP on first wireless link, and paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
transmitting preemption signaling to the AP wireless device on a second wireless link, wherein the preemption signaling indicates to preempt the downlink transmission on the first wireless link, refer to Figure 5E – PR signal from the STA1 on second wireless link, also paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
Regarding claim 4 – Fang discloses claim 1. Fang discloses wherein the preemption signaling is transmitted based at least in part on arrival of low latency uplink data at a baseband layer of the first wireless device, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting the low latency uplink data to the AP wireless device after the preemption signaling is transmitted, refer to Figure 5E – PR signal from the STA1 on second wireless link, also paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
Regarding claim 5 – Fang discloses claim 1. Fang discloses wherein the preemption signaling is transmitted based at least in part on a coexistence event for the first wireless device, wherein the method further comprises performing coexistence communication with another wireless device during the coexistence event, refer to Figure 5E and paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. (Coexistence) If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
Regarding claim 6 – Fang discloses claim 1. Fang discloses wherein the non-AP wireless device is a recipient of the downlink transmission, refer to Figure 5E – CTS transmission from the AP on first wireless link, and paragraph [0079] shown above.
Regarding claim 7 – Fang discloses claim 1. Fang discloses wherein another non-AP wireless device is a recipient of the downlink transmission, refer to Figure 3B - TF frame to STA2.
Regarding claim 8 – Fang discloses determine that a first wireless link is occupied by a downlink transmission from a wireless device, refer to Figure 5E – RTS transmission from STA1 on first wireless link, and paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
generate preemption signaling for transmission to the wireless device on a second wireless link, wherein the preemption signaling is associated with the downlink transmission occupying the first wireless link, refer to Figure 5E – Cont. signal to STA1 on second wireless link, also paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
Regarding claim 9 – Fang discloses claim 8. Fang discloses wherein the preemption signaling is generated based at least in part on arrival, at the processor, of low latency uplink data, refer to Figure 5E and paragraph [0079] shown above.
Regarding claim 10 – Fang discloses claim 8. Fang discloses wherein the preemption signaling is generated based at least in part on a coexistence event, refer to Figure 5E and paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. (Coexistence) If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
Regarding claim 14 – Fang discloses one or more antennas; a radio operably coupled to the one or more antennas; and a processor operably coupled to the radio; Refer to Figure 12 and paragraph [0134] - In some of these multicarrier embodiments, radio architecture 105A, 105B may be part of a Wi-Fi communication station (STA) such as a wireless access point (AP), a base station or a mobile device including a Wi-Fi device. In some of these embodiments, radio architecture 105A, 105B may be configured to transmit and receive signals in accordance with specific communication standards and/or protocols, such as any of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) standards including, 802.11n-2009, IEEE 802.11-2012, IEEE 802.11-2016, 802.11n-2009, 802.11ac, 802.11ah, 802.11ad, 802.11ay and/or 802.11ax standards and/or proposed specifications for WLANs, although the scope of embodiments is not limited in this respect. Radio architecture 105A, 105B may also be suitable to transmit and/or receive communications in accordance with other techniques and standards.
wherein the AP wireless device is configured to:
transmit a downlink transmission to a non-AP wireless device on a first wireless link, refer to Figure 5E – CTS transmission from the AP on first wireless link, and paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
receive signaling from the non-AP wireless device on a second wireless link during the downlink transmission, refer to Figure 5E – PR signal from the STA1 on second wireless link, also paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
preempt the downlink transmission based at least in part on the signaling from the non- AP wireless device on the second wireless link, refer to Figure 5E – PR signal from the STA1 on second wireless link, also paragraph [0079] - In one or more embodiments, a low latency preemption system may facilitate that the AP STA has several behaviors that it can exhibit. Firstly, it may indicate whether it supports preemption or not in either the beacon or association process. It may then select and indicate which non-AP STAs are allowed to perform preemption. To allow UL STA to continue the next PPDU transmission or not, the AP STA may send a short control frame that could be, for example, marked as “cont.” frame in FIG. 5E. The AP STA may also indicate when or under which conditions the non-AP STA is allowed to perform preemption. Additionally, the AP STA may define the maximum PPDU length limitation. It is important to note that the AP STA may take over a non-AP STA’s TXOP and initiate DL or UL transmission with other STAs. If the PR frame can be a short common waveform, which can be transmitted within Tg time before the next PPDU, it can be sent during any time gap following the PPDU sent by the AP. If preemption within the TXOP is allowed, then the AP may schedule the LL packet transmission in the rest of the TXOP.
Regarding claim 16 – Fang discloses claim 14. Fang discloses wherein the signaling received from the non-AP wireless device on the second wireless link during the downlink transmission comprises a preemption indication frame explicitly indicating that the non-AP wireless device has terminated reception of the downlink transmission, refer to Figure 5E and paragraph [0079] shown above.
Regarding claim 17 – Fang discloses claim 14. Fang discloses wherein the signaling received from the non-AP wireless device on the second wireless link during the downlink transmission comprises a preemption indication frame explicitly indicating that the non-AP wireless device has terminated reception of the downlink transmission, refer to Figure 5E and paragraph [0079] shown above.
Regarding claim 18 – Fang discloses claim 14. Fang discloses determine to not reduce a downlink transmission rate for the non-AP wireless device based at least in part on the signaling from the non-AP wireless device on the second wireless link during the downlink transmission, refer to paragraph [0021] - Another objective of the group is to increase the throughput of WLAN networks, especially at different SNR levels, which can have a significant impact on network performance. Finally, the study group aims to reduce device-level power consumption, which is a critical consideration for mobile devices and other battery-operated devices that use WLAN connectivity. The Wi-Fi 8 ultra-high reliability study group aims to provide a more reliable and efficient WLAN experience for users by addressing these key areas of concern. Low latency data refers to information that needs to be transmitted, processed, and delivered with minimal delay or latency. In other words, low latency data is time-critical information that needs to be transmitted and received as quickly as possible to achieve a desired outcome, also, Figure 5E and paragraph [0079] shown above.
Regarding claim 19 – Fang discloses claim 14. Fang discloses receive an uplink transmission from the non-AP wireless device, refer to Figure 5E – first UL PPDU and receive a block acknowledgement for the Uplink transmission from the non-AP wireless device after the uplink transmission is received from the non-AP wireless device, refer to Figure 5E – BA after first UL PPDU and paragraph [0079] shown above.
Regarding claim 20 – Fang discloses claim 14. Fang discloses transmit a trigger frame to the non-AP wireless device to trigger an uplink transmission based at least in part on the signaling received from the non-AP wireless device on the second wireless link during the downlink transmission, refer to Figure 5E - RTS from STA1 followed by CTS (trigger event) from AP.
and receive an uplink transmission from the non-AP wireless device in response to the trigger frame, refer to Figure 5E – first UL PPDU from STA1 after receiving CTS from AP, also, paragraph [0079] shown above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicants have claimed uniquely distinct features in the application, which are not found in the prior art, either singularly or in combination. The independent claims identify the following uniquely distinct features:
I. The primary reason for the allowance of the claims are the inclusion of the limitation in the claims which are not found in the prior art references. The following claim elements “wherein the request-to-send frame includes an amount of padding selected to provide sufficient time to switch a main radio of the non-AP wireless device from the first wireless link to the second wireless link; and receiving a clear-to-send frame from the AP wireless device on the second wireless link in response to the request-to-send frame, wherein the clear-to-send frame is received using the main radio of the non-AP wireless device, wherein the preemption signaling is transmitted to the AP wireless device using the main radio of the non-AP wireless device after the clear-to-send frame is received from the AP wireless device.” together with the other elements are the reasons for allowance.
1. Regarding claim 2 – The method of claim 1, wherein the non-AP wireless device is an enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) wireless device, wherein the preemption signaling comprises any signaling from the non-AP wireless device on the second wireless link during the downlink transmission on the first wireless link.
2. Regarding claim 3 – The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: transmitting a request-to-send frame to the AP wireless device on the second wireless link using an auxiliary radio of the non-AP wireless device, wherein the request-to-send frame includes an amount of padding selected to provide sufficient time to switch a main radio of the non-AP wireless device from the first wireless link to the second wireless link; and receiving a clear-to-send frame from the AP wireless device on the second wireless link in response to the request-to-send frame, wherein the clear-to-send frame is received using the main radio of the non-AP wireless device, wherein the preemption signaling is transmitted to the AP wireless device using the main radio of the non-AP wireless device after the clear-to-send frame is received from the AP wireless device.
3. Regarding claim 11 – The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the preemption signaling comprises one or more of: a frame configured to implicitly indicate that reception of the downlink transmission is terminated by being transmitted on the second wireless link by an enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) wireless device during the downlink transmission on the first link; a preemption indication frame configured to explicitly indicate that reception of the downlink transmission is terminated; or a preemption request frame configured to explicitly request termination of the downlink transmission.
4. Regarding claim 12 – The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the preemption signaling comprises fields indicating one or more of: a wireless link identifier for a wireless link that is being preempted; a power management bit for the wireless link that is being preempted; a starting sequence number of a packet that is being preempted; a traffic identifier (TID) value of the packet that is being preempted; or whether retry of the packet that is being preempted is requested.
5. Regarding claim 13 - The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the preemption signaling further comprises fields indicating one or more of: a request to send a trigger frame on the first wireless link; a tolerable delay bound of uplink traffic for which preemption of the downlink transmission is requested; a queue size of the uplink traffic for which preemption of the downlink transmission is requested.
6. Regarding claim 15 - The AP wireless device of claim 14, wherein the non-AP wireless device is an enhanced multi-link single radio (eMLSR) wireless device, wherein the AP wireless device is further configured to: determine that the signaling from the non-AP wireless device on the second wireless link is an implicit preemption indication for the downlink transmission based at least in part on the signaling being received during the downlink transmission on a different wireless link than the downlink transmission and the signaling being received from an eMLSR wireless device.
The closest prior art, either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render the above limitations obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Zeng (US 2018/0365066 A1) discloses method and apparatus for allocating computing resources of processor, and terminal.
2. Gan et al. (US 2023/0109874 A1) communication method and apparatus.
3. Ke et al. (US 2021/0144579 A1) discloses apparatus and method for managing connections in wireless communication system.
4. Kim et al. (US 2024/0163948 A1) discloses wireless communication method using multi-link, and wireless communication terminal using same.
John Pezzlo
29 July 2026
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465B