CTNF 18/750,446 CTNF 87740 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 18-19, 22-24, and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable CN112015475B in view of JUNG et al. (US 2017/0371509 A1, hereinafter "Jung"). Claim 1: CN112015475B teaches An interface display method applicable to an electronic device, the electronic device supporting running of a first system and a second system (Fig. 1, [0014], [0031], [0057], a first system unit running a first operating system in an electronic device, wherein the electronic device further supports a second operating system) , and the method comprising: displaying, by the first system, an application list interface in response to a list starting operation ( CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0060]); sending, by the first system, an application starting message to the second system in response to a selection operation of a first application in the application list interface, wherein the first application is run by the second system (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0071], prior to execution of step S101, the first system unit sends to the second system unit and receives a response message including icon data of application programs of the second operating system) ; and starting, by the second system, the first application and displaying, by the second system, an application interface based on the application starting message (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0071], sending, by the first system, an application starting message to the second system in response to a selection in the application interface) . However, CN112015475B does not explicitly teach that the application list interface comprises both an application run by the first system and an application run by the second system . Jung explicitly discloses displaying, by the first system, an application list interface, wherein the application list interface comprises an application run by the first system and an application run by the second system (“Jung”, Fig. 15, [0098]-[0101], shortcut icons corresponding to applications installed in one operating system are displayed together with icons corresponding to applications installed in another operating system) . It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the application interface of CN112015475B to include applications run by both the first system and the second system as taught by Jung in order to provide a unified application list interface through which applications associated with different operating systems may be conveniently accessed from a single interface, thereby improving usability and reducing the need for manual switching between operating systems. Claim 2: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein displaying, by the first system, the application list interface, comprises: obtaining, by the first system, a stored application identifier and associated display information and displaying an application interface based on obtained application information (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0059]-[0060], sending, by the first system, an application starting message to the second system in response to a selection in the application interface). However, CN112015475B does not teach storing application layout information representative of a layout manner of each application identifier on the application list interface. Jung explicitly teach stored application layout information of at least one application, wherein the application layout information is configured to represent a layout manner of each application identifier on the application list interface (“Jung”, Fig. 15, [0098]-[0101], displaying shortcut icons corresponding to applications installed in one operating system are displayed together with icons corresponding to applications installed in another operating system) . It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store and utilize application layout information for arranging application identifier obtained in CN112015475B according to the icon arrangement techniques as taught by Jung in order to provide a unified application list interface through which applications associated with different operating systems may be conveniently accessed from a single interface, thereby improving usability and reducing the need for manual switching between operating systems. Claim 6: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 2, further comprising: sending, by the second system, an application list update message to the first system, wherein the application list update message comprises at least one of an application installation message, an application uninstallation message, and an application update message; and updating, by the first system, the stored application identifier and the stored application layout information based on the application list update message (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0065]-[0066], [0082]-[0083]) . Claim 7: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: in response to a return operation, sending, by the second system, an interface switching message to the first system based on the return operation; and obtaining, by the first system, a screen control authority from the second system, and displaying, by the first system, a target interface based on the interface switching message, wherein the target interface is a system main interface of the first system or the application list interface (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0062]-[0073]) . Claim 8: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 7, wherein in response to the return operation, sending, by the second system, the interface switching message to the first system based on the return operation, comprises: in response to a first return operation, sending, by the second system, a first interface switching message to the first system based on the first return operation, wherein the first interface switching message is configured to indicate the first system to switch to display the system main interface; and/or in response to a second return operation, sending, by the second system, a second interface switching message to the first system based on the second return operation, wherein the second interface switching message is configured to indicate the first system to switch to display the application list interface (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0062]-[0073]) . Claim 18: claim 18 is directed to an electronic device for implementing the method steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 19: claim 19 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for implementing the method steps of claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 22: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: controlling, by the first system, a screen to display the application interface run by the first system; and controlling, by the first system, the screen to display a system main interface in response to receiving a starting operation of a main interface; or wherein the method further comprises: controlling, by the second system, a screen to display the application interface run by the second system; and controlling, by the first system, the screen to display a system main interface in response to receiving a starting operation of a main interface (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0062]-[0071]) . Claim 23: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: during a process where the first system displays the system main interface, switching, by the first system, a system main interface to the application list interface in response to receiving the list starting operation; and/or during a process where the first system runs the application, switching, by the first system, a currently displayed application interface to the application list interface in response to receiving the list starting operation (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0058]-[0071]) . Claim 24: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: during a process where the second system runs the application, switching from the second system to the first system in response to receiving the list starting operation, and displaying, by the first system, the application list interface (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0058]-[0071]) . Claim 26: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the method further comprises controlling, by the first system, a screen to display the application interface run by the first system; and controlling, by the first system, the screen to display the application list interface in response to receiving the list starting operation, and the second system being in a sleep state; or wherein the method further comprises: controlling, by the second system, a screen to display the application interface run by the second system; and switching from the second system to the first system in response to receiving the list starting operation, controlling, by the first system, the screen to display the application list interface; and switching the second system to a sleep state (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0058]-[0071], placing the second system into sleep state after control is transferred away from the second system) . Claim 27: claim 27 is directed to the electronic device as claimed in claim 18 for implementing the method steps of claim 7. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 28: claim 28 is directed to the electronic device as claimed in claim 27 for implementing the method steps of claim 7. Therefore, claim 28 is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 29: claim 29 is directed to the electronic device as claimed in claim 28 for implementing the method steps of claim 8. Therefore, claim 29 is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 30: CN112015475B and Jung teach the electronic device as claimed in claim 28, wherein the at least one program is further configured to be executed by the processor to perform: waking up, by the first system, the second system before starting, by the first system, the application in the second system (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0058]-[0071], first system causes/wakes the second system when an application to be run by the second system is selected or started) . Claim 31: claim 31 is directed to the electronic device as claimed in claim 28 for implementing the method steps of claim 22. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected under similar rationale. Claims 9, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable CN112015475B in view of JUNG et al. (US 2017/0371509 A1, hereinafter "Jung"), and further in view of Connell et al. (US 2014/0351617 A1, hereinafter “Connell”. Claim 9: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein after sending, by the second system, the first interface switching message to the first system based on the first return operation (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0062]-[0071]) . However, neither CN112015475B and Jung expressly teach the following feature, taught by Connell who teaches switching the second system from a wake-up state to a sleep state; after sending, by the second system, the second interface switching message to the first system based on the second return operation, the method further comprises: remaining, by the second system, the wake-up state during a wake hold period; and/or switching the second system from the wake-up state to the sleep state in a case where the wake hold period is reached and the application starting message is not received (“Connell”, Fig. 2 & 6, [0043]-[0044], [0060]-[0061], electronic device including an adjunct processor and a primary processor, wherein the primary processor is awakened and maintained in an awake state while a timeout timer is running) . It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface-switching system of CN112015475B and Jung to incorporate the timeout-based wake-state management taught by Connell in order to reduce unnecessary power consumption while preserving the ability to receive a subsequent application starting message and thereby improve battery efficiency and power management of the electronic device. Claim 12: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, However, neither CN112015475B and Jung expressly teach the following feature, taught by Connell who teaches wherein operating power consumption of the first system is lower than that of the second system (“Connell”, [0023], [0043]) . It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface-switching system of CN112015475B and Jung to incorporate the timeout-based wake-state management taught by Connell in order to reduce unnecessary power consumption while preserving the ability to receive a subsequent application starting message and thereby improve battery efficiency and power management of the electronic device. Claim 21: claim 21 is directed to the method as claimed in claim 1 for implementing the method steps of claim 9. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable CN112015475B in view of JUNG et al. (US 2017/0371509 A1, hereinafter "Jung"), and further in view of ZAMBETTI et al. (US 2020/0110522 A1, hereinafter “Zambetti”. Claim 25: CN112015475B and Jung teach the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second system sends a second interface switching message to the first system in response to receiving a user operation, and the second interface switching message is configured to indicate the first system to switch to display the application list interface (CN112015475B, Fig. 1, [0064]-[0067], the second system sends an interface switching message to the first system in response to a user operation, and the interface switching message causes or indicates the first system to switch to display a target interface, such as an application list interface) . However, CN112015475B and Jung do not explicitly teach that the electronic device is a smartwatch having a watch crown, nor does it expressly teach that the user operation causing the second interface switching message is a pressing operation on the watch crown. Zambetti explicitly teaches a wearable device is the smartwatch with a watch crown, receiving crown position information associated with a physical crown and controlling a displayed view based on the crown input (“Zambetti”, Figs. 5 and 6, [0038]) . It would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interface-switching system of CN112015475B and Jung to implement the electronic device as a smartwatch having a watch crown, as taught by Zambetti . The motivation would have been to provide a convenient and intuitive physical input mechanism for wearable devices, allowing a user to quickly return to or invoke and application list interface on a small-screen smartwatch. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (U.S. 2017/0315829 A1) discloses method and electronic device for starting application. Examiner has cited particular columns and line and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c). Point of Contact Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUONG H NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1300. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30-4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Bashore can be reached at 571-272-4088. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 2 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 3 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 4 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 5 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 6 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 7 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 8 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 9 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 10 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 11 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 12 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/750,446 Page 14 Art Unit: 2174