DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Efremkin, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0100839 A1.
With regard to claim 1, Efremkin figs. 10 and 10A discloses an optical fiber cable that connects a light source (laser source) and a treatment device (700 with distal end 706), the optical fiber cable comprising: a connector connected to the light source (where unlabeled tube and fiber 708 connect to laser source); an optical fiber (708) having one end fixed to the connector and the other end fixed to the treatment device; and a protective tube (unlabeled tube between laser source and hand-held device 740) and covers the optical fiber (708) from the connector to the treatment device (700/706), the protective tube being fixed to the connector but being not fixed to the treatment device, wherein the protective tube and the optical fiber (706) are not fixed to each other [0099].
Efremkin does not expressly disclose that the that has a bending rigidity of the protective tube is larger than a bending rigidity of the optical fiber. Generally optical fibers are thin glass or thin plastic which is transparent and does not have high structural rigidity [0030], while protective tubing generally has higher structural rigidity to protect the optical fibers and other components within the tube against damage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that in the Efremkin optical fiber cable, the protection tube has a bending rigidity larger than a bending rigidity of the optical fiber so that the protection tube protects the optical fibers from damage.
With regard to claim 2, Efremkin discloses that since the optical fiber (708) is longer than the protective tube, the optical fiber is disposed in a state of being bent in the protective tube [0099].
With regard to claim 3, Efremkin discloses that an end part of the protective tube on a treatment device side is fitted to a fixing member (hand-held device 740 fixes the protective tube the treatment device 700/706) fixed to the treatment device (700/706) in a rotatable manner around an axis [0099].
With regard to claim 4, Efremkin discloses that a fitting member (hand-held device 740 fixes the protective tube the treatment device 700/706) that is fitted to the fixing member so as not to come off from the fixing member is provided at the end part of the protective tube on the treatment device side [0099].
With regard to claim 5, Efremkin discloses that an inner diameter of the protective tube larger than an outer diameter of the optical fiber, however it does not expressly disclose the ratio of inner diameter to outer diameter.
One skilled in the art would understand that the ratio of inner diameter of the protective tube and the outer diameter of the optical fiber would be selected such that the optical fiber had freedom to move within the tube without becoming tangled. Therefore an optical ratio between the inner diameter of the protective tube and the outer diameter of the optical fiber would be selected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one skilled in the art to select an optical ratio between the inner diameter of the protective tube and the outer diameter of the optical fiber, such as equal to or more than 1.2 times an outer diameter of the optical fiber, to allow for protection of the optical fiber while preventing tangling.
With regard to claim 6, Efremkin discloses that a part of the optical fiber cable is fixed in a state of forming a loop having a radius equal to or larger than an allowable bending radius of the optical fiber (looping around a spool shown in figs. 5 and 5A).
Conclusion
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874