Priority
This application claims the benefit under 35 U.S.C. § 119 (e) of U.S. Provisional Patent Application 63/558,557 (Attorney Docket No. SFDCP224P) by Padmanabhan, titled “GENERATIVE LANGUAGE MODEL DATABASE SYSTEM INTEGRATION ARCHITECTURE”, filed on Feb. 27, 2024, and to U.S. Provisional Patent Application 63/558,580 (Attorney Docket No. SFDCP225P) by Padmanabhan, titled “GENERATIVE LANGUAGE MODEL DATABASE SYSTEM INTEGRATION INTERFACE CONFIGURATION”, filed on Feb. 27, 2024, and to U.S. Provisional Patent Application 63/558,641 (Attorney Docket No. SFDCP226P) by Padmanabhan, titled “GENERATIVE LANGUAGE MODEL DATABASE SYSTEM ACTION CONFIGURATION AND EXECUTION”, filed on Feb. 27, 2024, and to U.S. Provisional Patent Application 63/558,653 (Attorney Docket No. SFDCP227P) by Padmanabhan, titled “GENERATIVE LANGUAGE MODEL DATABASE SYSTEM ACTION CUSTOMIZATION AND EXECUTION”, filed on Feb. 28, 2024,
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 14 and 19 are amended. Claims 4, 7, 9, 17 and 20 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16 and 18-19 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 103 rejection-
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16 and 18-19 and have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure submitted on 5/27/2026 was before the mailing data of the first office action. The /submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16 and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/817,976 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of Co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/817979 claims all the limitations set forth in the application claim 1. Although the claims are not exactly same the co-pending application reads on the current application and has additional limitations.
Regarding claims 14 and 19 , claim 17 and 20 of copending application claims all the limitations set forth in the application claims 14 and 18 respectively.
Regarding claims 2-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18 and 19, claims 1-20 of the copending application claims all the limitations set forth in the application claims 2-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18 and 19, respectively.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-16 and 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/817,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of Co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/817996 claims all the limitations set forth in the application claim 1. Although the claims are not exactly same the co-pending application reads on the current application and has additional limitations
Regarding claims 14 and 19, claim 13 and 17 of copending application 18/817996 claims all the limitations set forth in application claims 13 and 19 respectively.
Regarding dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18 and 19, claims 1-20 of co-pending application 18/817996 reads on claims 2-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18 and 19, of instant application.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 10-13 include one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: a database system, an application server, an orchestration and planning service, computing service environment, communication interface in claim 1, trust layer in claim 10-11 and conversational chat studio in claim 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (environment include …processor ( fig 9, 11, Para 0141, 171; FIG. 11 illustrates one example of a computing device. According to various embodiments, a system 1100 suitable for implementing embodiments described herein includes a processor 1101, a memory module 1103, a storage device 1105, an interface 1111, and a bus 1115 (e.g., a PCI bus or other interconnection fabric.) System 1100 may operate as variety of devices such as an application server, a database server, or any other device or service described herein, Para 0141; layer is a part of computing environments and processor performs the function, Fig 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu ( US 20250094465)
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a computing services environment comprising: a database system storing a plurality of database records for a plurality of client organizations accessing computing services via the computing services environment ( agents associated with enterprise, Para 0044, Fig 2; provisional – Para 0026, Fig 2) , the computing services including a plurality of conversational chat assistants ( Enterprises may use one or more bot systems to communicate with end users through a messaging application, Para 0039, provisional- Para 0022); an application server receiving natural language user input for a conversational chat assistant corresponding to a client organization of the plurality of client organizations ( multiple agents, Fig 2; instances, the agents can be developed by an enterprise and then added to a digital assistant using DABP 105. In other instances, the agents can be developed and created using DABP 105 and then added to a digital assistant created using DABP 105. In yet other instances, DABP 105 provides an online digital store (referred to as an “agent store”) that offers various pre-created agents directed to a wide range of tasks and actions. The agents offered through the agent store may also expose various cloud services. In order to add the agents to a digital assistant being generated using DABP 105, a user 110 of DABP 105 can access assets via tools 120, select specific assets for an agent, initiate a few mock chat conversations with the agent, and indicate that the agent is to be added to the digital assistant created using DABP 105, Para 0048, provisional- Para 0038); a generative language model interface providing access to one or more generative language models ( prompting LLM – DA input pipeline, Fig 2, where there are plural digital assistant associated the agents ( plural agents), Para 0047, 0050, provisional - Para 0026-0026) ; a metadata framework including a plurality of action definitions corresponding to a plurality of actions performed via the computing services environment and defining inputs and outputs to the plurality of actions, each of the action definitions being identified by a respective unique identifier ( The list may be determined by running a search, such as a semantic search, on a context and memory store that has one or more indices comprising metadata for all agents 145 available to the digital assistant 115A. Metadata for the candidate agents 145A-N in the list of candidate agents is then combined with the user input to construct an input prompt for the one or more LLMs 140., Para 0052, 0060-0061, Fig 2; provisional - Para 0040-0041, Fig 2; additionally ( Metadata for the candidate agents 145A-N in the list of candidate agents is then combined with the user input to construct an input prompt for the one or more LLMs 140, Para 0052; wherein the metadata includes The list of candidate agents includes the metadata (e.g., metadata extracted from artifacts 217 and assets 219) from the context and memory store 214 that is associated with each of the candidate agents, Para 0060 and artifacts include The artifacts 217 for the digital assistant include information on the general capabilities of the digital assistant and specific information concerning the capabilities of each of the agents 218 (e.g., actions) available to the digital assistant (e.g., agent artifacts), Para 0060, provisional – Para 0041-0046); an orchestration and planning service configured to; (1)analyze the natural language user input via a generative language model of the one or more generative language models to identify a subset of the unique identifiers ( execution plan that identifies the bot to execute, Para 0045, Fig 2) corresponding to a subset of the action definitions to fulfill an intent expressed in the natural language user input ( search, Para 0059 Fig 2; provisional, - Fig 2, Para-0045-0046; identifier for e.g. “401k contribution” as an assets, Para 0045, Fig 2), provisional – digital assistant 106 may generate an execution plan that identifies the bot or agent to execute and perform one or more actions or operations responsive to the understood meaning or goal of the user, Para 0030, fig 2 ),id and (2)execute a subset of the plurality of actions corresponding to the subset of the action definitions to determine a natural language response message (determine a response, Fig 2, Para 0045) ; and a communication interface configured to transmit the natural language response message to a client machine via the application server(text is generated to communicate the response to the user, Fig 2, Para 0066-0067; provisional- Para 0041-0044, Fig 2)
Regarding claim 2, Xu as above in claim 1, teach , wherein identifying the plurality of actions comprises: determining an intent identification input prompt that includes the natural language user input ( identify intent and generates a goal, Para 0053-0054; provisional - Para 0030) and one or more natural language instructions executable by the generative language model to identify the plurality of actions ( goal, Para 0053-0054, Provisional - Para 0030) ; transmitting the intent identification input prompt to the generative language model for completion ( feeding the data to the LLM, Fig 2) ; receiving an intent identification prompt completion from the generative language model; and identifying the plurality of actions by parsing the intent identification prompt completion ( identify an action plan, Fig 2, Para 0058-0068; Provisional- Para 0042-0044, Fig 2)
Regarding claim 3, Xu as above in claim 2, teach , wherein the intent identification input prompt identifies a plurality of predetermined actions executable by the computing services environment, wherein the plurality of actions are a subset of the plurality of predetermined actions, and wherein the plurality of actions are identified in the intent identification prompt completion ( identify the plan based on the goal, Para 0058-0068, provisional - Para 0042-0044)
Regarding claim 5, Xu as above in claim 1, teach , wherein identifying the plurality of actions comprises: determining a topic identification input prompt that includes the natural language user input and a second one or more natural language instructions executable by the generative language model to identify a topic based on the natural language user input ( 401K or Pizza); transmitting the topic identification input prompt to the generative language model for completion ( plan based on goals, Para 0042-0043) ; receiving a topic identification input prompt completion from the generative language model; and identifying a topic of a plurality of topics by parsing the intent identification prompt completion, wherein each of the plurality of topics corresponds with a respective topic- based subset of the plurality of actions ( different topic for e.g. 401k contribution vs. contribution limit, Fig 2)
Regarding claim 6, Xu as above in claim 5, teach , wherein the intent identification input prompt identifies a plurality of predetermined actions executable by the computing services environment, wherein the plurality of actions are a subset of the plurality of predetermined actions, wherein the plurality of actions are identified in the intent identification prompt completion, and wherein the plurality of predetermined actions are those corresponding with the identified topic ( fig 2)
Regarding claim 13, Xu as above in claim 1, teach wherein an action of the plurality of actions comprises retrieving one or more database records from the database system, the one or more database records being associated with a client organization of the plurality of client organization ( agent associated with enterprise, Fig 2,/para 0026, Provisional - DA and agent artifacts, Fig 2)
Regarding claim 14, arguments analogous to claim 1, are applicable. In addition, Xu teaches steps (method) to perform the functions of claim 1 (Abstract)
Regarding claim 15, arguments analogous to claim 2, are applicable.
Regarding claim 16, arguments analogous to claim 3, are applicable.
Regarding claim 18, arguments, analogous to claim 5, are applicable.
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to claim 1, are applicable. In addition, Xu teaches non transitory computer readable medium ( Para 0014)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
And
KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
See MPEP § 2143 for a discussion of the rationales listed above along with examples illustrating how the cited rationales may be used to support a finding of obviousness. See also MPEP § 2144 - § 2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determination.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ( US 20250094465) and further in view of Fan ( US 20250078823)
Regarding claim 8, Xu as above in claim 1, does not teach further comprising a conversational chat studio configured to customize the conversational chat assistant based on graphical user input provided via a graphical user interface
However, Fan teach method further comprising a conversational chat studio configured to customize the conversational chat assistant based on graphical user input provided via a graphical user interface (skill component can be customized, Para 0069-0070)
It would have been obvious to POSITA having the teachings of Xu to further include the concept of Fan before effective filing date so to handle a specific user input ( Para 0069-0070, Fan)
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ( US 20250094465) and further in view of Bazzo (US 20250138986)
Regarding claim 10, Xu as above in claim 1, does not teach system further comprising a trust layer, wherein the trust layer is configured to mask sensitive data included in an input prompt before the input prompt is transmitted to a generative language model for completion
However, Bazzo teach system further comprising a trust layer, wherein the trust layer is configured to mask sensitive data included in an input prompt before the input prompt is transmitted to a generative language model for completion ( replacing PII with mask characters, thereby de-identifying or redacting the PII before it is sent to the LLM 118, Para 0078, 0035, 0111)
It would have been obvious having the teachings of Xu to further include the concept of Bazzo before effective filing date to protect privacy ( Para 0035, Bazzo)
Regarding claim 11, Bazzo as above in claim 10, teach ,wherein masking the sensitive data includes replacing a text portion with a unique identifier, and wherein the trust layer is further configured to demask a prompt completion received from the generative language model by replacing the unique identifier with the text portion ( The response generation component 216 may postprocess “raw” responses from the LLM 118 to transform the responses into final output that can be presented to a user (e.g., at the user device 106 via the web client 112). For example, where original data items where replaced with alternative or placeholder data items in order to de-identify or shorten the input prompt, and one or more of the alternative or placeholder data items appear in the response from the LLM 118, the response generation component 216 may automatically replace them with the corresponding original data items (e.g., to re-identify the information in the response to make the output understandable or relevant to the user)., Para 0088; (] De-identification may be performed by the change data preprocessing component 208 by replacing PII with alternative data items or placeholders, such as unique identifiers (e.g., USER_NAME_1, ADDRESS_2, or CLIENT_NAME_3), or replacing PII with mask characters,, Para 0078)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ( US 20250094465) and further in view of Baldua ( US 20250110957)
Regarding claim 12, Xu as above in claim 1, does not teach the one or more generative language models includes a first generative language model hosted outside the computing services environment, wherein the one or more generative language models includes a second generative language model hosted outside of the computing services environment
However, Baldua teaches the one or more generative language models includes a first generative language model hosted outside the computing services environment, wherein the one or more generative language models includes a second generative language model hosted outside of the computing services environment(fig 1—outside of the network )
It would have been obvious having the teachings of Xu to further include the concept of Baldua before effective filing date to address latency and/or other performance issues associated with a computing system or network ( Para 0033, Baldua)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12586578 discloses where the plan generation component 135 generates more than one task to be completed in order to perform the action responsive to the user input, the plan generation component 135 may further maintain and prioritize the list of tasks as the processing of the system 100 with respect to the user input is performed. In other words, as the system 100 processes to complete the list of tasks, the plan generation component 135 may (1) incorporate the potential responses associated with completed tasks into data provided to other components of the system 100; (2) update the list of tasks to indicate completed (or attempted, in-progress, etc.) tasks; (3) generate an updated prioritization of the tasks remaining to be completed (or tasks to be attempted again); and/or (4) determine an updated current task to be completed. The plan generation component 135 may generate and send task processing data 137 representing the selected task to be completed and various other information needed to perform further processing with respect to the task (e.g., the user input data 127, an indication of the selected task, potential responses associated with previous tasks, the remaining task(s), and context data associated with the user input data 127, as described in detail herein below with respect to FIG. 2) to the LLM shortlister component 140.( Col 8, line 30-50)
Azire How To: Text PII Anonymization for Chatbot Systems with Presidio
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Richa Sonifrank/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654